Dublin v Donegal

Lifford Gael

Tom:

I do think it'll be a very close game but I do get a sense that a lot of Dublin posters including yourself see this game as a bit of a stroll in the park for the Dubs. Obviously you're entitled to your opinion but I'm just conscious of the fact that Dublin teams and supporters have underestimated teams at this stage of the championship before and ended up with egg on their faces. I mean ye have always been there or thereabouts in August for the last 16 years and should have been in a couple of finals by the law of averages.

I don't think your forwards will get the same space as ye got against Tyrone... in fact I feel ye might be reading far too much into the Tyrone game...theres not a hope in hell ye will put 22 points over on us. I think theres still a tendency for Dublin teams to get frustrated when things don't go their way and theres no better team than Donegal to frustrate teams. Despite what ye think, Donegal have a very potent forward line which has always stood up to the mark if andd when required....

It's a 50/50 game and will be a lot closer than what the bookies are predicting....and may the better team win....which will hopefully be Donegal.....but if it's not I for one will not be begrudging you victory...!!

Lifford Gael

Tom:

I do think it'll be a very close game but I do get a sense that a lot of Dublin posters including yourself see this game as a bit of a stroll in the park for the Dubs. Obviously you're entitled to your opinion but I'm just conscious of the fact that Dublin teams and supporters have underestimated teams at this stage of the championship before and ended up with egg on their faces. I mean ye have always been there or thereabouts in August for the last 16 years and should have been in a couple of finals by the law of averages.

I don't think your forwards will get the same space as ye got against Tyrone... in fact I feel ye might be reading far too much into the Tyrone game...theres not a hope in hell ye will put 22 points over on us. I think theres still a tendency for Dublin teams to get frustrated when things don't go their way and theres no better team than Donegal to frustrate teams. Despite what ye think, Donegal have a very potent forward line which has always stood up to the mark if andd when required....

It's a 50/50 game and will be a lot closer than what the bookies are predicting....and may the better team win....which will hopefully be Donegal.....but if it's not I for one will not be begrudging you victory

Without even talking about our forwards,i just feel that we can cope with the Donegal attack of M McHugh , M Hegarty, R Bradley; P McBrearty , M Murphy, C McFaddenand if these boys don't do damage your goosed,1-8 against Kildare in 70 mins your going to need that in 35 to be in this game,do you think he will start McBrearty might be a bit much for a younster

In 92 we were 1/5 on maybe that gives you hope

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 23/08/2011 17:31:03    1017480

Not sure whether McBrearty will start or not Tom.... there's a feeling that he may not start...that it'll be Brick Molloy who will get the nod ahead of him......there's also a case to be made for Christy Toye to start....Suppose its McGuinness who will make the decision depending on the gameplan he wants to employ!!

I wouldn't honestly read too much into the 1-8 against Kildare...it was just that type of game....the game against Kildare in the League was similarly low scoring - something like 1-4 to 0-7. By the same argument we put up 2-18 against Derry in the League and 0-15 against Meath.....it's the team we're playing that will ordinarily dictate matters..... I would be concerned about our midfield, however, didn't perform at all against Kildare..... 11/4 with Paddy Power seems too generous to miss out on though....:)

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 23/08/2011 17:43:28    1017496

Yes it's true that a lot of Dublin fans have become complacent and are expecting a relatively easy win... reason being that people feel this Dublin team are anything but complacent and are expecting a huge battle on Sunday...the irony eh?

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 23/08/2011 18:07:20    1017512

Dubfan Abroad

1014939 Well "Gammy-Knee" you should not make comments about something you know NOTHING about. I could spend the next hour outlining for you what WE here in Denver have done to promote the GAA over the past FIFTEEN years since our club was formed. And all of it with predominately AMERICAN BORN players. I wont mention the Mens football team, the 2 Mens Hurling teams, The Camogie team, our youth program which developed young AMERICAN Players that have grown up to be part of our Adult program, the fact that 2 of those youth players made it onto the NACB minor team that beat Ney York and London 2 years ago. We also spent 2 years preparing to host what was considered one of the BEST North AmericanFinals ever in 2004.
By the sound of your moniker "Gammy Knee" you have not played or probably participated in GAA sports for many years, Gammy Knee sounds like an excuse to me??? Probably based in New York where developement of GAA games is no exisitant for American Born players due to the money going to bring in the mercenaries from home each year, or am I out of line for ASUMING??
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
you''ve posted this on the wrong thread by the way. 'Dublin carry the GAA again' was the place for this, Dubfan Abroad you said looks like we are contributing again to the well being of the association and consequently the rest of the country. "Semi Final between Dublin and Donegal to be a sellout" and the highest gate in Croker so far this year was when Dublin played Kildare.
I wish the likes of Kerry and Mayo would start pulling their weight and at least try to put on a spectacle that would interest or attract more people.
In fact the rest of the country should too.
WHAT EXACTLY HAVE YOU CONTRIBUTED TO THE WELL BEING OF THIS COUNTRY. YOU'RE LIKE A LOT OF OTHER LADS WHO UPPED AND LEFT THIS COUNTRY WHEN THINGS GOT TOUGH, SO PLEASE DONT BE CLAIMING YOU'VE DONE ANYTHING FOR THE WELL BEING OF THE GAA OR THE REST OF THE COUNTRY. YOU CERTAINLY CANT TAKE ANY CREDIT FOR THE POSITION OF THE GAA IN 2011, YOU CONTRIBUTED NOTHING HERE SO YOU'RE SOME CHEEKY BOY TELLING PEOPLE FORM OUTSIDE OF DUBLIN TO START PULLING THEIR WEIGHT.

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 23/08/2011 20:33:15    1017623

Best of luck Donegal.

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1794 - 23/08/2011 20:42:48    1017630

Can we not just talk about the match? Tomaoo you know your stuff buddy always like what you to say pal. I'm confident to jayus I'm pulling my hair out waiting for Sunday

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/08/2011 20:43:11    1017631

Clondalkindub....

You sure you're not mixing Tom up with myself...... knowing my stuff and all that...:)....??

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 23/08/2011 20:46:18    1017638

114 hours 45 mins left....... God but time is going by so slowly...:)

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 23/08/2011 20:47:57    1017640

Joxer

1017153 Lifford Gael

1016724 Dub Fans:

Spoiler Alert......

The Men from the Hills are coming to get ya.......:)

There's only one Hill and you'll be hearing a lot from it this weekend :)

Geeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrr up.....!! Love it!

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 23/08/2011 20:49:13    1017642

Haha you to lifford.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/08/2011 20:49:58    1017644

Haha Lifforgael.. you find th time goin slow aswell..... god the days are dragging .

up_donegal (Donegal) - Posts: 659 - 23/08/2011 21:20:31    1017683

Jesus lads enjoy the build up..... flags out a spring in the step a few pints in the pub and not forgetting some bowel tablets for those squeaky bums ah yes there's nothing like the GAA football championship................

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 23/08/2011 21:29:41    1017708

Lifford can mcfadden be a match winner for yous Sunday? I notice after the kildare game a lot of donegal supporters were giving him stick for his performance

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/08/2011 21:33:13    1017713

This worth a read for both supporters

https://www.facebook.com/notes/hill-16/vodafone-big-match-stats-from-last-two-games-reveal-interesting-similarities/271796006180762

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 23/08/2011 21:37:46    1017719

Clondalkin:

On his day he can be brilliant but on others you wouldn't even know he was on the pitch. Kildare was one of those days and if truth be told he should probably have been taken off a lot earlier than he was. Hopefully it'll be the brilliant McFadden that turns up on Sunday.... he's due a good game. I suppose one of the funny things about the KIldare game was that our full forward line and midfield didnt really function at all... that's why we would be hopeful come Sunday that if the lads in the full forward line and midfield can up their game, then anything is possible!!

Will Diarmuid Connolly play as well again this Sunday as he did in the Tyrone game do you think?

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 23/08/2011 21:40:25    1017725

Honestly lifford I don't know with connolly , if he scores early its lights out for donegal but if he struggles to get into early then his confidence seems to go. But one thing for sure is after the gooch he's the most naturally talented player in Ireland

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/08/2011 22:03:13    1017761

Im hopeful colm anthony plays well on sunday. He has been great for donegal this year and is still our top scorer.

As someone said and this is credit to kildare but donegals forward didnt play against kildare. With murphy back fit and if mc faddan plays well i think we can push the dubs if now win.

Connolly is a talent but he was 5yards away from marker for around 5of his points against tyrone. With donegal he will be making runs into other donegal players so hope he doesnt have big impact. tussle between a brogan and lacey will be massive

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 24/08/2011 10:01:27    1017801

Love to see Dublin win. Both teams play a strong defence this could be a very dour game for the neutral. Dublin won a lot of Ball in the Tyrone game in mid field but if you look at the Kildare game they were lucky to hang on for the win. Theres a lot of support for Donegal outside the county and that's understandable given the fairytale story if they were to go on to win against Kerry. This Dublin team are desperate to put past failures behind them and actually contest a final. This is going to be a tough contest hopefully Dublin will pull through but if they don't I hope Donegal have enough left in the tank to make a contest of it with Kerry. Kerry are a class side but Mayo did expose some weakness under the high ball and got behind them for a few good goal scoring opportunities.

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 24/08/2011 10:53:35    1017837

Best of luck to donegal but i think you ll have your work cut out to beat the present dublin team. Dublins pace and forward will prove very difficult for the donegal blanket defence. You gotta wonder how many scores donegal are going to score with such numbers back in defence. Ill have a dublin flag waving from the back garden just after the tunnel. Feel free to geneflect as you pass on sunday

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 24/08/2011 11:53:08    1017898

limeric1973
County: Limerick

1017375 dublin for sam and i think 2 or 3 changes for sunday but i wouldnt like to see them

limerick boy thought you'd be supporting your near neighbours - tut tut tut

traleeexile (Kerry) - Posts: 732 - 24/08/2011 12:47:08    1017976