Dublin v Donegal

Rebel2010 if your saying 8 5 you should take two more off you cause in 89/90 only for two kildare men you would never have won Sam.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/08/2011 18:40:22    1024212

Donegalman

i have watched the replay of the game a few times now, and believe it or not, Dublin were equally slow at taking frees.

Thats because the Donegal players were trying to put off Cluxton while he was about to take the Frees! They were mouthing off at him and wouldnt move the proper distance away from him, they even done it for one of his kick outs! Disgracefull stuff altogether!

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 31/08/2011 19:22:44    1024238

PJ

They didn't do it for one kick out. Because (and this is one of the reasons that Donegal were getting slated in the press) Donegal brought everyone back behind the 45 for kickouts and allowed the Dublin defence win them uncontested.

Do you enjoy being shown up as a sham PJ?

Break_er (Donegal) - Posts: 798 - 31/08/2011 19:48:04    1024260

Goodman Cuchuliann35 about time someone somewhere got the facts of this game half right, your absolutely totally 100% right in everything that you say. The biggest factor in the game was the blatant foul on Karl Lacey been taken out of the game totally by Barry Cahill and not a twinkle out of the boyos in the studio about that, all they were concerned was the limp effort of a punch by Connolly that got him send off, if he was stupid enough to raise his hand he should have made some sort of a decent effort at making a connection as he was going to walk. He deserved to get sent off for being stupid enough to raise his hands in the first instance.

I've been in Croke Park on way too many occasions when Donegal have just fallen in a heap, I recall games against both Armagh and Cork when they were just pure useless but on Sunday when it came to the crunch and i have to say that they were right in the game up until the ref blew the final whistle early in the game. How long was the Dublin player down injured before Cluxton took that last kick, there was no fear of a final Donegal attack just In-case they did manage to bang one into the back of the net.

I though the game was indeed an absolute classic, it was brilliant to watch the Dubs Panic again under pressure and but for their cynical tactics and dirty play they could well have lost this game, but not a mention of this in the national media in the last day or so.

The Dubs did not have a single player on that pitch on sunday that wanted to stand up and be counted, there was no go to player what so ever, every one of the Donegal lads knew exactly what they had to do and executed it to perfection and boy did it come close to working.

I have absolutely no time what so ever for Kerry as history has proven them to be very flaky over the decades when real opposition is put in their way, you can trace this right back to the 40s, into the 50s and 60s even the 70s and 80s if you do a proper analysis on how the game have evolved and right into the 00s when our Northern friends took care of them, but one thing that this present team does have are players that will deliver when the pressure is on them. They have a number of players (3-4), who when a score is required will take hold of the ball and fire any opposition player that is in their way out of it and get a point.

The principle example of this being Thomas OShea, Dublin has no one but no one capable of doing this. The next thing you might see on all Ireland final day is the reappearance of Mossy Quinn or Mark Vaughan to same them, ohhhhhh God help them.

sdicndt (Louth) - Posts: 42 - 31/08/2011 20:57:21    1024341

I may have hit a nerve there clondalkindub and hill16no1man. The bottom line is ye probably regard Dublin as a super power of Gaelic football. But as i've shown - they may have been a super power up to 1925, but certainly not after that. 8 titles in that time period is nothing to write home about!

Rebel2010 (Cork) - Posts: 8 - 31/08/2011 22:03:22    1024426

sdicnt - your post makes no sense. Dublin did not play particularly well but to claim that they panicked or did not 'stand up' is ludicrous. How do you think they managed to win? It was a game of nerves if ever there was one and Dublin's held the better. They have often been criticised in the past for losing tight games (and Bernard Brogan admitted that they would most likely have lost a game like that two/three years ago) so credit where credit is due for turning that around.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 01/09/2011 08:15:44    1024429

Yes it has to be said that Dublin have been massive under achievers, what is it 2 All Ireland victories in the last 30 odd years?? For the nations capital, with the amount of clubs they have and pick of players, this must be a source of great frustration, maybe even embarrassment to the Dublin supporters.

Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 01/09/2011 08:52:40    1024442

sdicndt,

I have absolutely no time what so ever for Kerry as history has proven them to be very flaky over the decades when real opposition is put in their way, you can trace this right back to the 40s, into the 50s and 60s even the 70s and 80s if you do a proper analysis on how the game have evolved and right into the 00s when our Northern friends took care of them, but one thing that this present team does have are players that will deliver when the pressure is on them.

This is probably the most ridiculous post I have ever read. As a Louth man you'll understand very well what flakey is, with your boys kicking the ball to Meath at every opportunity in the Leinster final last year.

I can never quite understand this Kerry bashing - on one hand we're flakey, but on the other hand Tyrone for example, were a great team.

Anyway, your post says that you have no time for Kerry as they are flakey while simultaneously stating that the current team have players that perform well under pressure. Great analysis.

diablodeKingdom (Kerry) - Posts: 210 - 01/09/2011 09:57:01    1024469

Rebel2010

I may have hit a nerve there clondalkindub and hill16no1man. The bottom line is ye probably regard Dublin as a super power of Gaelic football. But as i've shown - they may have been a super power up to 1925, but certainly not after that. 8 titles in that time period is nothing to write home about!

we have still won the the second most all irelands since then anyway as was already pointed out

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/09/2011 10:44:38    1024501

Laytown Legend

Yes it has to be said that Dublin have been massive under achievers, what is it 2 All Ireland victories in the last 30 odd years?? For the nations capital, with the amount of clubs they have and pick of players, this must be a source of great frustration, maybe even embarrassment to the Dublin supporters.

couldnt be far away form the truth dublin have won as many matches and lost as many as kerry in the last 10 years
dublin footballers have given us so many great days in croker alot more then did the couple of bad ones and would never be an embarrassment which is proven by the support they still reiian

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/09/2011 10:47:27    1024502

couldnt be far away form the truth dublin have won as many matches and lost as many as kerry in the last 10 years
dublin footballers have given us so many great days in croker alot more then did the couple of bad ones and would never be an embarrassment which is proven by the support they still reiian

That doesn't count for anything. My point is that for the resources available to Dublin, 2 All Ireland wins in over 30 years is almost inexcusable. Maybe embarrassing is the wrong word, inexcusable would be more accurate.

Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 01/09/2011 10:55:23    1024509

Hill16,

I'm actually enjoying this.
Right, so Dublin have played the same number of games as Kerry have in the last 10 years. In this time Kerry have won 6 All-Irelands, Tyrone 3, Cork, Armagh and Galway.

So right there you have proof that Dublin have underachieved in the last 10 years. Cork, Tyrone, Armagh and Galway have all played less games and have more titles. Kerry have the same number of games and 6 All-Ireland titles.

If anything says underachievement, I think that'd be it.

diablodeKingdom (Kerry) - Posts: 210 - 01/09/2011 11:00:31    1024515

Sdic.....whatever

That has to be the most nonsensical post in the history of HS and that's counting my own as well

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 01/09/2011 11:04:36    1024518

Anybody that's embarrassed by their team is not a true supporter. I have never been embarrassed by any Dublin team nor will I ever.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 01/09/2011 11:08:49    1024524

Point take Jackeen - as posted embarrassing was probably the wrong choice of word.

But I ask the question - surely Dublin supporters must have felt some sort of embarrassment when Westmeath knocked them out of the Leinster a few years ago? I mean from my own point of view, I was highly embarrassed by Meaths exit at the hands of Limerick a couple of years ago.

Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 01/09/2011 11:47:04    1024554

No laytown I was annoyed and disappointed but as we all know anything can happen in sport.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 01/09/2011 12:21:08    1024609

Laytown Legend

But I ask the question - surely Dublin supporters must have felt some sort of embarrassment when Westmeath knocked them out of the Leinster a few years ago?

Westmeath were bettter on the day and deserved to win the game! Thats sport! Nothing to be embarrassed about there!

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 01/09/2011 13:10:48    1024660

You getting ahead of yourself there diablodeKingdom? I agree with your sentiment, just not your maths.

6 All-Irelands - 2000, 2004, 2006, 2007 and 2009 is 5 All-Ireland in anyones book. Also the quote was the past 10 years so you could also drop 2000 from that list.

to quote yourself Kerry have 6, Tyrone 3, Galway, Armagh and Cork have 1. That's 12 All-Irelands in the past 10 years

spyboy (Antrim) - Posts: 343 - 01/09/2011 14:23:51    1024734

----

Ye Gads!!

Spyboy, you're spot on. An elementary mistake. In my defence, the last 10 years could easily have been taken as the last 10 winners, so 2000 would apply there :-). Still not sure where I got 6 from though.

So, yes, its Kerry 4, Tyrone 3, Cork, Armagh and Galway.

diablodeKingdom (Kerry) - Posts: 210 - 01/09/2011 14:39:57    1024748

----
Hill16:
rubbish im talking about football only here so hurling is irrelavant dublin have won 22 all irelands say what you want about dates players,but when it was put to cork people about there last all ireland win(20 years ago before last year) that they possessed outside players they were saying it didnt matter the slightest whats good for the goose is good for the gander

I don't get the post, but I do think a discussion about a GAA county underachieving does need to take into account their performance in both codes. You wouldn't say Kilkenny have underachieved in GAA terms?
I think it might have been you Hill16 who brought up the number of clubs in Cork as a defence of Dublin so to defend Cork (a horrible thought for any Kerryman) you'd have to remove the clubs that are hurling only. If you did this, Cork's football pool suddenly becomes very small. Even clubs with Hurling and Football teams are more often than not focused on Football. by right, the rebel footballers should be called 'West Cork and a bit of the City'

diablodeKingdom (Kerry) - Posts: 210 - 01/09/2011 14:49:55    1024753