Dublin v Donegal

Worst game of football EVER!

Ros4life (Roscommon) - Posts: 15 - 29/08/2011 21:41:57    1022407

I am trying to give a reasonable defence to yesterday's match after listening to RTE slating donegal at 6.30,

1. It was not a classic but what is a classic,
2. the highest figure for a gaa match yesterday with some 35 -40,000 donegal supporters contributing to a great atmosphere, nobody left early
3. the biggest audience for gaa match on tv - neilson market research (934,000)
4. dublin was also defensive
5. better team won
6. one of the reasons why donegal lost because karl lacey who was instrumental indefence was injured, donegal lost their way then,
7. barry cahill took lacey out of it
8. connolly deserved a straight red for a striking action (3 times) but the donegal man was lucky to escape without a caution or even more
9. mr spillane or o'rourke believe that donegal and dublin played negative and that the purist is turning in his grave........ they may have a point but do we really believe that a team goes out to play 15 against 15 and hpes for the best. I remember Monaghan playing Kerry at their own game in the 1979 all -ireland semi final 5-16 -07 (i think) or the 9 goals that Clare conceeded against kerry in the milltown massacure, I have seen many a one sided game, teams getting hammered well before half-time, remember'88 monaghan v cork , monaghan had some very good footballers but the game was over by 3.45 What jim McGuinness did ensures that all counties, if fit and well drilled could succeed......

but none of these point were taken on board by rte, just the shear delight that donegal lost.... a national media station should be impartial not biased...

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 29/08/2011 21:44:06    1022410

Wayne if other counties copy there style it will ruin football , no one will want to watch it. That was pure rubbish yesterday ,the whole of Ireland is saying it, surely you didn't enjoy there style of play? It was funny yesterday when donegal were leading there fans were delighted but the minute we took the lead there fans started going mad at there players for not attacking and started giving out about there tactics

That type of football is scary,could you imagine losing a game like that Dublin have to be giver credit for beating that system.....its like everything in life seen is believing..I would say Kerry are happy to be playing the Dubs...

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 29/08/2011 21:46:33    1022411

cuchulainn35 agree but its RTE very BBC and defo not PC

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 29/08/2011 21:48:05    1022413

cuchulainn35
County: Armagh

Barry Cahill took no one out-take off your nordie glasses and go back and watch Rory'OCarroll being taking out of the game

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 29/08/2011 21:51:49    1022422

Can any poster honestly say that they enjoyed the game (not the result) and would be prepared to fork out 25 euro a game for 5 or 6 of these a year. Or would be prepared to put in all the time and effort parents must if their sons (or daughters) were to play like that. I for one certainly would not. And to me that means we are talking about the future of the game.

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 29/08/2011 21:54:58    1022430

I can assure you Ulsterman is not speaking for me

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 29/08/2011 21:56:35    1022436

Would you stop donegal are a disgrace to the game.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/08/2011 21:57:17    1022437

well said cuchculainn - This has to give hope to teams like Cavan, Louth and Sligo.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 29/08/2011 21:58:29    1022440

Why did some people HAVE to drag Tyrone and Armagh into the Donegal arguement? That is my point, these teams had some cracking footballers but once again it seems to be an excuse to attack ALL Ulster teams.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 29/08/2011 21:59:43    1022443

Cuchulainn35, none of your 8 points above are about football bar the point about the better team winning and that certainly was articulated. The fact that there was a big crowd or large TV audience is hardly what the panelists are employed to analyse.

thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 29/08/2011 22:00:25    1022445

"If I could I'd build a wall around old Donegal, the North and South tp keep them out, by God I'd build it tall".... well, ye did, and it almost came off too. Have to say, as a very wet Dub on the Hill yesterday, I was worried at half-time, but thought we showed great character to win out. Connolly was unlucky to get a red card, as Marty Boyle took a better dive than any B-movie actor or end of card prize-fighter, but that said poor Diarmuid was having a poor game yesterday, and he did strike out, so I don't hold out much hope for him at the appeals.

I don't blame Jim McGuinness one bit for sending his team out using 'negative defensive' tactics. In order to get this far in the All-Ireland series, they had to. Donegal have played nice attacking football for years, but where has it got them? However, Donegal's new system is so defensive, far more so than Armagh or Tyrone's version of 'blanket defence' that it would be unlikely to deliver an All-Ireland title.

Eventually, a rule change will have to be introduced to counteract so-called 'blanket defence systems' as I can't see crowds continue to attend in large numbers if Gaelic football is to become as low-scoring as this. Maybe, a rule curtailing the hand-pass, or stipulating that at least four forwards must be within the opposition's half of the field, but I'm not sure?

Anyway, hard luck Donegal, but as a Dub it's great to be back in an All-Ireland decider, and against Kerry too! Like many more I now have a major headache...how do I get my hands on a final ticket? It's a big problem.....but, a nice one too!

PatdeVerse (Dublin) - Posts: 107 - 29/08/2011 22:02:45    1022447

agreed mayo play 6 defenders and a sweeper donegal play 6 defenders and 7 sweepers..its just ridiculous...plus mayo hit 1-11 amd had 5 serious goal chances against kerry at least they attcked in numbers...like not one dublin kickout was contested. literally unbelievable!! imagine if donegal had reached the final 2 things would have happened..firstly nearly every club team would have copied the system..this can be seen in the trends of recent years ie tyrone armagh bringing a sweeper back..kerry with donaghy every club team started playin a big man in full forward..can you imagine going to watch games like last sunday every weekend??secondly we would also have the lowest television audience for an all ireland final in history..im an avid gaa supporter and i definately would not have watched it if donegal were in it imagine other non gaa people how they would have viewed it....its easy for donegal people to say the end justifies the means..no it doesnt ye should be embarrassed at what football has become in donegal if ye play one of the most talented forwards in the game as basically a sweeper..if any donegal person comes on here and says they enjoyed sundays match there is something seriously wrong with them

jibber (Mayo) - Posts: 117 - 30/08/2011 08:14:58    1022452

BettystownRoyal

well said cuchculainn - This has to give hope to teams like Cavan, Louth and Sligo.

I would prefer us to be relaged to div 4 and to never win another championship game rather than resort to this type of gameplan.

but the thing is . all teams have being playing the same system for years. put 15 men out in the same positions every match. 3 fullbacks, 3 half backs, 2 midfielders, 3 half forwards,3 full forwards. there is nothing in the rules that say you have to do that. i have played in and watched games where full forwards barely got a kick of the ball because the opposition were too strong and were scoring at will. the ball was never coming up to the losing team's full-forward line. yet management wouldn't allow or encourage full-forwards to funnel back and help out the defence. if they did it would have crowded the defence and made it more difficult for the stronger team to score. but historically the weaker team meekly surrendered by staying rigidly to their positions. and in effect some weaker club teams do this every game. the only players who get to play any football are the midfielders and backs. managers need to waken up and vary the tactics. However Donegal don't need to take it to such extremes they are better than that. they could have easily won that game without being so defensive.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 30/08/2011 08:36:42    1022463

Hillman, again you've missed the point. My point is that while Donegal's play is horrible & made for a terrible semi (and I'm not condoning that style of play by the way), but with that style they've won a Division 2 Title, a Provincial title and gotten to an AI semi - that is an impressive run in 1 year and that has to be acknowledged

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 30/08/2011 09:10:01    1022479

ulsterman.
this is unreal fair play to you for standing up to this type of abuse that is common on these boards the venom that is spat at northern gaels it is despicable and sickening i am fed up with it and all these wannabe g.a.a men from the capital spouting it big time . I HOPE AND I REALLY HOPE KERRY RUN AWAY WITH SAM ,M IN FAIRNESS TO THEIR SUPPORTERS THEY ARE GENUINE G.A.A SUPPORTERS WHO I HAVE MET MANY OF THEM , and they have not came out with the crap that be spoted on these boards .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 30/08/2011 09:18:17    1022488

I have no problems with the fact that Donegal played negative football to try and win, its disappointing to see but that was their choice. Its just when you see a quality forward like Murphy being forced to sit in midfield and just be another cog in the machine. I am sure Donegal could have played him up there with McFadden and been a tad more adventurous going forward. I think Armagh and Tyrone proved you can stifle the opposition and still be adventurous going forward. My biggest bug bear after the game was the way Donegal, slowed the game down holding onto the ball when a free conceded and standing in front of teh free taker, a simple way to conteract this is for the ref to dish out a few yellow cards, then they would soon have stopped it.
Whilt watching the game I was wondering if Dublin should have tried the old basketball technique of just going man on man, each player take a player and basically do a full court press, think though it may have led to an even more dour game, but would have counteracted Donegals short passing game.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 30/08/2011 09:47:04    1022507

First of all I'd just like to congratulate Dublin on their well merited victory. It looked as though Donegal had done enough to frustrate you but your boys dug deep, were very patient and took their scores in that vital last 12 minutes following Connolly's sending off. It wasn't exactly a haymaker, Boyle went down like one of the Klitschkos had hit him but if you raise your hads at all then you're asking for trouble.

There were a few instances that were turning points in the game. If McFadden had goaled just after half time and put us 5 up I don't think Dublin would have turned that around. Karl Lacey was a huge loss to us aswell as he often instigates many of our attacks. Looking back, I'd say Jim will be kicking himself a small bit that he didn't gamble more in those last 10 minutes or so. It's all ifs and buts though, and at the end of the day Dublin are in the final and deservedly so.

Yes it was a horror show to watch. The drama and tension were the game's only redeeming qualities. Jim set out at the start of the year to make us hard to beat and winning games again. He has acheived that and more, with league and Ulster medals won. I'd hazard a guess and say that even Jim would admit we have over-achieved a small bit in getting as far as we did this year. He is not an idiot though and will have learned that next year he will have to find a better balance between defence & attack.

Finally to all those absolutely castigating Donegal's players and management I'd ask that you lay off a bit. Them men have given some lift to this county this year. We suffer more than most with emigration and unemployment up here and so we grasp anything that lifts the gloom somewhat. The colour, excitement and sheer goodwill in the county was great to experience these past few months and I hope we can recreate even half of it next year.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9151 - 30/08/2011 10:24:38    1022553

thykingdomcome,

my 8points were there to reflect that rte on monday evening were slating donegal, but everyone knew it would be a negative game - more than 81,500 attended the game, more than any other fixture,

more people watched it on tv than any other fixture - so it had an appeal!!!!

RTE kept on quoting the 'fact that it was good for the game, football won,

This is forgetting that both sides played negativately, obviously donegal more so,
Do we want an open all-ireland were mayo can't defend and kerry hammer them, or kilkenny hammer waterford, - both very poor finals,

most observers will agree that the Kilare v donegal second half was very compelling viewing.......
as i said earlier i didn't see anyone leave at half-time in Croke Park on sunday.... the result was in doubt until the last few minutes,

pretty no, exciting yes

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 30/08/2011 10:25:31    1022557

Just reading some of the posts on here about the match on Sunday.

To be honest bar a few rationale posters the rest of you have lost the plot completely. Are you not able to make up your own minds or do you have to have the likes of Spillane and RTE make them up for you? The venom etc is nothing short of outrageous and indeed incitement to hatred.

Donegal broke no rules and committed no cynical fouls. The only cynical foul all day was Lacey being taken out of it by Barry Cahill. I also didnt agree with Connollys sending off but thats another days comment. If you dont like our style of football, fine but some of you need to take a long hard look at yourselves as regards your knowledge of GAA (Dublin played similar tactics). Also for your info, Donegal scored 4 points from play, Dublin scored 2.

Just sickened to the teeth of some of the posts I've seen on these boards.

And as for the KIldare crowd....to use the issue to justify your own misconceptions about the result of the Donegal Kildare game...what a sad sad shower you are!

Last time on this site for a long long time. Lost faith in the majority of you as decent individuals apart from the few who are able to see through the nonsense that is going on. I really do fear for the future of Irish society if ye are our future. God help us all!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 30/08/2011 10:30:14    1022568