Dublin v Donegal

30000 thousand donegal fans??? More like forty thousand jayus they had some support. Delighted to be in the final can't wait for Kerry. Donegal I'm sorry but that was horrible, you are ruining gaelic football with that c..p. honestly if other teams copy that people won't go to matches anymore. I'm sorry lifford but that was puke football at its best. Surely donegal fans are not happy with this style of play? To say Dublin were defensive aswell is a joke , what can our defence do when all the donegal forwards our in there own half. If donegal supporters are happy with that I give up.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/08/2011 19:34:13    1022212

It's not Donegal who give me the boke, it's the anti-Ulster hatred on these threads from yesterday. We all knew it was there but now it's become a torrent from the Mexicans who have collectively vented their venom for Donegal, Ulster and the North. The Banana Republic should never forget that without our taxes they would be the European Zimbabwe by now. That is all!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 29/08/2011 19:54:39    1022234

stop talking rubbish . Donegal did not ruin gaelic football. Gaelic football is alive and well. We have a good 10 or 11 teams who on their day are capable of beating anyone in the sport from all 4 provences. No-one believed Donegal would achieve what they achieved yesterday and all season long. No1 predicted Mayo to beat Cork , Nobody expected Meath to do so poorly and not many people (including myself admittedly) thought Dublin would get to an all ireland final.. As usual Football provided the better entertainment this year. Kilkenny and Tipp final Again in the hurling , No disrespect they are both a class apart but its too repetative its boring. For fans of both counties its fantastic , For the neurtal its terribly boring. Football is on the up despite what people think. Its far far more competitive. I do agree watching that game was terrible yesterday. As a neutral it mustve been even worse , but whatever.. It was refreshing to see 3 new semi finalists this year and like down last year , A different team in the final instead of Kerry v cork or Cork v tyrone etc.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 29/08/2011 20:05:08    1022249

Ulsterman

It's not Donegal who give me the boke, it's the anti-Ulster hatred on these threads from yesterday. We all knew it was there but now it's become a torrent from the Mexicans who have collectively vented their venom for Donegal, Ulster and the North. The Banana Republic should never forget that without our taxes they would be the European Zimbabwe by now. That is all!

Ha! The north of Ireland = longest bale-out in European history!

JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 29/08/2011 20:10:17    1022260

I'm sure everyone who is bashing Donegal's style, also refused to celebrate when Ireland reached the quarter-finals of Italia '90 with their Route 1 hoofing the ball up to Niall Quinn and Tony Cascarino. Soccer, as you all surely now know, was ruined forever by Ireland's relative success by playing anti-football, just as gaelic football is now ruined. Fair play to the entire country for not being hypocrites!

Texas (Donegal) - Posts: 163 - 29/08/2011 20:14:09    1022271

The Donegal 'puke football' is an excuse to vent their hatred texas and hide other agendas. Most of them still believe Donegal is in the North anyway; welcome to our world as Jim Reeves sang.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 29/08/2011 20:18:46    1022280

Ulsterman, Ulsterman, over 4000 posts wow. I for one hold nothing against Northern Ireland and indeed the GAA in Ulster deserve huge credit for keeping the games alive and well during tough times. Having been born in the R.O.I, but currently living abroad, can you please clarify who you are calling "Mexicans"? Secondly while I'm certainly not going to defend Irelands finances, and lack of manaement in that arena, not sure that has any part on this thread, but since you opened the door, enlighten all of us to 1) Northern Irelands total annual expenditure and 2) what percentage of that amount is financed by NI treasury. I'm waiting for your answer sir, and with 4000 posts I know you're not shy about replying. Sincerely!!

Gaelfan21 (Dublin) - Posts: 13 - 29/08/2011 20:22:37    1022286

I have some down time here, not usually on this much, but I have to mess with Texas, LOL. Wasn't it a Donegal man that was hoofing the ball up to Quinn and Co. Damn Donegal to blame again, you know that Charlton was telling him to lay it off to Mcgrath and Whelan etc, but he would have none of it, hoofing it up the field, like it was trying to teach the ball a lesson. I'm only kidding lads, but in fairness that performance yesterday was something special. Nobody has a bias against people from other parts the bias is against poor football, that's all.

Gaelfan21 (Dublin) - Posts: 13 - 29/08/2011 20:28:21    1022294

Gael, I stopped reading after your well used patronising cliche "Well done for keeping the games going up there"..........yaaaawwwwnnn.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 29/08/2011 20:28:21    1022295

Wayne if other counties copy there style it will ruin football , no one will want to watch it. That was pure rubbish yesterday ,the whole of Ireland is saying it, surely you didn't enjoy there style of play? It was funny yesterday when donegal were leading there fans were delighted but the minute we took the lead there fans started going mad at there players for not attacking and started giving out about there tactics

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/08/2011 20:29:30    1022296

If you want to call me names, that's fine, I can assure you I was being sincere, but thats okay. Now could you please just answer the questions I asked of you?

Gaelfan21 (Dublin) - Posts: 13 - 29/08/2011 20:34:21    1022305

Okay Gael I will take your sincerity at face value. Firsty I have had enough of the nasty, hateful, venemous attacks on Donegal, Ulster and the North over the past 24 hours from on HS and various other GAA and sporting websites. Dublin won, fair enough but to use that to attack Tyrone, Armagh, 'Nordies' etc etc is not on. We get "British b***ards", "F**king dirty Unionist so and so's" threw at us on these sites and at various GAA grounds around the country. I will always hit back at this and if the terms 'Mexcians, Banana Republic' etc offend you well then you know how many Ulster and Northern Gaels feel. As for finance and economics of course the North is a financial backwater dependant on the British Exchequer but my God man the Republic is in a far worse state and NO I don't take any enjoyment or satisfaction at that. If people want to keep it sporting only so will I but I won't lie back and take this 'second class Nordie, you are not really Irish crap'; I didn't take it from the Brits and Loyalists and I certainly won't take it from other so called Irishmen.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 29/08/2011 20:49:31    1022325

Thank you, I appreciate the candid nature of your answer! Of course nobody should be subjected, to the type of name calling that you've referenced, it demonstrates a sense of arrested development that has no place anywhere and is totally out of order. The history of Ireland is a tricky one to say the least, and the tribal nature of its evolution and its unfortunate past have seeded deep insecurities and mistrust, that is unfortunately brought to the fore at times of intense competition. It won't be solved on here, but the least we can do is not make it worse!

Gaelfan21 (Dublin) - Posts: 13 - 29/08/2011 21:11:44    1022353

Get down off the cross Ulsterman and concentrate on football. Typical Ulster siege mentality crap.

kingdomfan (Kerry) - Posts: 393 - 29/08/2011 21:23:42    1022368

Gael, who was it said 'sport is war by another name'? It does unfortunately bring out the worst in people at times, myself included.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 29/08/2011 21:24:44    1022371

1-08 in 73 minutes of QF, 0-06 in 73 minutes of SF. that's 15 scores in almost 150 minutes. 1 score every 10 minutes. Most counties have had low scoring days but it wasn't for the lack of trying to score. Donegal haven't scored out of choice.
The only attacking Donegal highlight on the Sunday Game in the last 30 minutes was a single disposseion on Dublin's 21.
I don't understand it.

thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 29/08/2011 21:26:06    1022376

Ulsterman, there are people who contribute to this site who fully understand, sympathize and support the irish/nationalist/republican communities in the 6 counties. There are also a lot of people who have lived with the tyranny and prejudice that the britsh/unionist communities have dished out up there for years. I have never actually met you but you must be a monster of a man physically because you have been carrying around that enormous chip for some time now. If i was you I would put down the chip/rock and go and see a chiropractor as your back must be in an awful state from dragging it around with you. You seem to turn every argument into a north v south rant and 99% of posters dont intend their posts to be read that way. People had a problem with donegals brand of football yday and all year. People dont want to see the game of football go down the road Mcguiness looks like he is intent on taking it and that is really what all the sensible posters on here are saying.

JohnMitchel (Dublin) - Posts: 178 - 29/08/2011 21:26:07    1022377

Ulsterman

Your like a broken record

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 29/08/2011 21:32:47    1022382

No kingdom I like it up here. I'm Spartacus and so's my wife!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 29/08/2011 21:33:05    1022384

Lads it is all very good praising Mcguinness or the improvements and I can accept that but they wasted a massive opportunity yesterday. You can talk about next year and 5 year plans all you want but nothing is guaranteed,look at Kildare for an example. If Michael Murphy is not restored to his proper position next year than i for one won't be watching Donegal.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 29/08/2011 21:34:11    1022388