Dublin v Donegal

good luck dublin.since 2005 3 semi finals lost (they could have won all three)and involved in some epic games (tyrone 05, mayo 06, cork 10).remind me of waterford in the hurling. who could begrudge them?whoever wins,dublin or donegal, i hope they win the final

9801 (Galway) - Posts: 126 - 24/08/2011 19:23:09    1018411

tomaoo7

1017719 This worth a read for both supporters

https://www.facebook.com/notes/hill-16/vodafone-big-match-stats-from-last-two-games-reveal-interesting-similarities/271796006180762
Was reading that earlier toma interesting stuff...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 24/08/2011 19:56:42    1018437

9081 don't forget 02 semi final against armagh when ray cosgrove hit a free kick off the post for the last kick of the game . We have gone true more pain than most

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/08/2011 21:05:10    1018467

I thought it was Goggins hit that Upright?

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 25/08/2011 14:58:00    1018924

anybody looking for tickets there is nally terrace after been released on tickets.ie

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/08/2011 16:04:40    1018997

This was posted as a new thread but since the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

MayoHead21
Mayo
25/08/2011
16:29

The Game Next Sunday

i wish both teams the best of luck and cannot wait for this match. could be the match of the year.. after our game against cork of course!ha id fancy the dubs if they can play at the top of their game but donegal if they get their tactics right will make it near impossible to break down. il be up for my neighbours but would love to see either team in the final . best of luck to ye both !

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 25/08/2011 16:37:47    1019031

good luck dublin.since 2005 3 semi finals lost (they could have won all three)and involved in some epic games (tyrone 05, mayo 06, cork 10).remind me of waterford in the hurling. who could begrudge them?whoever wins,dublin or donegal, i hope they win the final

Don't forget the 07 Semi v Kerry...also epic and best atmosphere I have ever experienced.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 25/08/2011 16:43:03    1019038

Should be a cracking game,dublin wont get it all their own way against donegal like the did against tyrone,think dublin might just nick it,and with croke park sold out should be great atmosphere

Billy_Bob_Rob (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 25/08/2011 16:45:00    1019044

I'd love to see Donegal winning but I think if Dublin win it'd be a much better and more open final.

headsup (Wexford) - Posts: 28 - 25/08/2011 20:26:47    1019222

Donegal are the form team all the pressure is on them. They have beaten all before them with ease this summer. Sure the team and supporters already have their hotels booked for the final. Should Dublin even bother turning up for this game? most people in the other 31 counties are convinced (hoping) that Dublin will "bottle" it again.
May the best team win.

bangbang (Dublin) - Posts: 113 - 26/08/2011 10:03:39    1019361

My greatest fear is how we will react if(probably should be when) Dublin score a goal(s).

They were hammering them in during the league and on any other day would have had 3 or 4 against Tyrone. It's a complete unkown as to how we will react against a goal during normal play, the only one we've conceded so far was a consolation penalty against Cavan. But a dublin goal, with all the noise and it will bring, I just wonder will that knock the stuffing out of us and leave us for dead, I hope not!

Antifa (Donegal) - Posts: 143 - 26/08/2011 12:19:10    1019504

What we (Dublin) need to do is go all guns blazing early on. The longer this game stays close and low scoring, the less confident I will be
If with 10 to go there is only a point in it either way, I will be very worried
but
Go for them early. Blitz start. If Dublin were to score and early 1-3 say, that could be job done very very early

Donegal are brilliant at what they do, but how good will they be chasing a team, especially if that means abandoning their game plan and leaving the Brogans and Connolly free in the process?

If Dublin were to take a 5 point lead at any point in the game, even in the first 10 minutes, I would then be very confident

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 26/08/2011 15:04:21    1019713

I agree Liam. We have been notoriously slow starters in all of our matches thus far. I'd be extremely worried if Dublin burst out of the traps and got into a 5 point lead.

That said though I think if we can contain the Dubs up until the hour mark we'll have the fitness and belief to get over the line!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9151 - 26/08/2011 15:28:24    1019738

Lockjaw would you agree that if Dublin were to get a 5 point lead at any point, even the first 10 mins, that it will look extremely grim for Donegal?
I would also re state my opinion that if this game is level to a point with 10 to go, Dublin will more likely lose than win

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 26/08/2011 15:46:35    1019759

My prediction for the weekend is that we might be about to see one of the most congested half forward lines in the history of the GAA. The groundsmen in Croker are going to be frantically re-seeding the area between the 30 and half-way to try and get some grass there before the All-Ireland hurling final.

I think Dublin will try and play quick ball in at the start but Donegal will frustrate them. Dublin's plan B will be to keep the ball as much as possible and try to weork it in, which won't work as Donegal really cover the "scoring zone" around the D. After that, Dublin will revert to the shoot from long range policy, taking pot shots from somewhere around the 45. The amount of criss crossing and running sideways Dublin will have to do will turn Croker into a dustbowl.

Personally, I reckon Dublin are a far better side, but Donegal won't let the Brogans have space. Connelly has had his big game for the summer and without these the Dubs will be relying on sharpshooters like Michael Darragh McCauley, which won't do. So I'm gonna go for a Donegal victory.

diablodeKingdom (Kerry) - Posts: 210 - 26/08/2011 16:02:14    1019789

Lads unsung hero so far this year micheal fitzsimons , he got a few roastings last year but has been very solid this year.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/08/2011 20:59:19    1020061

Lads unsung hero so far this year micheal fitzsimons , he got a few roastings last year but has been very solid this year.

If McBrearty starts he won't get a kick of the ball,fitzsimons is having a solid year

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 26/08/2011 21:37:58    1020090

as a kildare supporter after watching our team play both in croker...i dont know who i want to win this one.. on one hand dublin are in our provenice there the neighbours but then they are dublin and got by us by a controversial ref 'free' that 'free'!! on the other hand donegal are not dublin! are culchies! but again got by us by a controversial ref decision!

all in all the head says dublin have been here too many times! too many that the cant mess it again surely!? donegal havent been here in a while as a gud few says that bit of experience should get the dubs over the line... the heart says i dont care! who wins... because the both fell over the line against kildare! haha yes yes i am still a bit bitter! i also think kerry will maybe get another all ireland which means 2011 in hindsight bit of a boring championship compared to 2010 not as many up tempo exciting games!

and on another note in the local shop today..i think it was a jack in the bog (a dub in kildare) with the accent he had anyway..his words were ''well if dublin do,do it this year i think they'll be the new armagh of leinster and kildare will be the tyrone'' i thought to myself i wouldnt mind that!!! great for leinster football!
anyways
best of puke * ! I mean luck to the teams and please god no controversail ways of winning its not fair on any team at this level!
*puke football

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 27/08/2011 15:27:04    1020290

Call it

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 27/08/2011 18:19:00    1020366

Dublin by 7. You?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/08/2011 18:24:40    1020370