Is Noel McGrath better than Joe Canning?

Rhodejim, you must be in Australia when you are using words like mate???!!!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 08/09/2010 16:12:22    768949

No comparrison at all Ccanning way ahead of Mc Grath and everyone else with the exception of a fit King Henry. if i were to pick two from other counties for my team it would be those two, both class hurlers and great sports men

shrewdjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 290 - 08/09/2010 16:16:57    768958

Joe's older brother Ollie Canning saw off McGrath comfortably in the quarterfinal and McGrath had to be subbed. Don't think Joe has ever been subbed!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3456 - 08/09/2010 16:23:11    768967

Joe's older brother Ollie Canning saw off McGrath comfortably in the quarterfinal and McGrath had to be subbed. Don't think Joe has ever been subbed!
tommy k , 08/09/2010 at 16:23

he should have been after Paul Curran didnt give him a puck!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 08/09/2010 16:44:20    768992

Noel McGrath way ahead of him
thats why he got young hurler of the year last year instead of Canning.

Canning is only any good from placed balls Ive never seen him score a goal against Tipp at any level senior minor or u 21

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 08/09/2010 16:47:21    769003

Pinkie

Joe Canning is 22 Noel McGrath is 19

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 08/09/2010 16:49:28    769008

Joe scored one of the goals of the year against Tipp in the league final a couple of years ago with about 8 players trying to pull him down. Obviously thurlesblue only started watching tipp this year and has had amnesia up to now!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3456 - 08/09/2010 16:59:21    769032

HAG_AND_CHEESE
County: Tipperary

How's every thing in d'village, any tipp lads spilling in over the border on the session.... we know how much the offaly folk love tipp folk!

Ah its grand up in the village mate, ya may call over some day. No, havent seen air a tipp lad lately.was talking to Seamus Darby there a few weeks ago, ment to be calling down to his pub in the next few month's. Will i keep ya a pint in it?

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 08/09/2010 16:59:36    769033

Joe scored one of the goals of the year against Tipp in the league final a couple of years ago with about 8 players trying to pull him down. Obviously thurlesblue only started watching tipp this year and has had amnesia up to now!
tommy k , 08/09/2010 at 16:59

that was the league who cares about that??

Tipp won that league game too didnt they?

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 08/09/2010 17:04:23    769039

Tommy K, I was just going to make the same point.Thurlesblue for someone with an awful lot to say you get an awful lot wrong or are you just stuck to the computer all the time.As for the question about who is better they are both great players,I would love to see them play together.McGraths pass to Lar last Sunday was Joe Canning like in its execution and vision.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 08/09/2010 17:07:34    769046

Re: Rhodejim

Do that I'll have to give the liver a chance to recover first... thankfully tipp didn't need a seamus darby moment we'd 3 of them from lar instead to stop the 5 in a row.

UP THE VILLAGE!!

richiej:

What the blazes are you on about we'er saying on the majority canning is still better but noel maybe classed as better in the comming years... and sure his brother might be joining himon the team in a few years time (don't want to tempt faith).

There only one tipp poster here that has shown this supposed arrogance so enough out of ya!!!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 08/09/2010 17:08:58    769051

Henry Shefflin was asked on Champonship Throw In [/u]who's the best hurler in the country at the moment and he said JOE Canning........ I think he'd be a pretty good judge.... End of Subject

snowchance10 (USA) - Posts: 149 - 08/09/2010 17:09:31    769053

Tommy K, I was just going to make the same point.Thurlesblue for someone with an awful lot to say you get an awful lot wrong or are you just stuck to the computer all the time.As for the question about who is better they are both great players,I would love to see them play together.McGraths pass to Lar last Sunday was Joe Canning like in its execution and vision.

Canning would never be able to lay off a pass like McGrath although Joe is a great freetaker

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 08/09/2010 17:11:04    769056

Henry Shefflin was asked on Champonship Throw In who's the best hurler in the country at the moment and he said JOE Canning........ I think he'd be a pretty good judge.... End of Subject
snowchance10 , 08/09/2010 at 17:09

Id say if you asked him now after what Noel McGrath did to them last Sunday he might have a different opioion !ha ha ha!!

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 08/09/2010 17:13:32    769065

tommy k:

Ollie got the better of him in the second half Noel did a bit of damage on him in the first.... saying that canning was well marshalled as well that day I don't think he scored from play.... Mcgrath was subbed that day scoring 1 point from play but i think the substitution and the inspired move to center forward proved vital for Noel this year he scored 7 point i think against waterford and only a goal against kilkenny but his link up play was very good.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 08/09/2010 17:23:17    769089

hag and cheese I have to agree with you
Canning scored nothing from play that day he rarely does against Tipp

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 08/09/2010 17:32:03    769096

Terrible, terrible thread. Tipp have their best year since 2001 while Galway yet again have a disappointing one. This was by far Joe's worst year at intercounty level yet the majority of people still think he's better than Noel. If Galway win Liam next year and Joe has a big year people will talk as him as the best hurler of all time, it wasn't so long ago that people on here were already making that claim. Noel's very good and all that, but he's not got anything on Joe.

throw_it_over (Galway) - Posts: 769 - 08/09/2010 18:35:49    769203

Id have Noel McGrath on my team before Joe Canning. McGrath brings other players into the game as well as getting scores from play.

Canning has been hyped up far too much. RTE have him on tv every chance they get. Cant understand why they cant just wait for him to actually win something with Galway before they give him the accolades. He still hasnt played in a semi-final never mind a final!! Eoin Kelly should have got an all star instead of him last year.

eden (Offaly) - Posts: 20 - 08/09/2010 18:49:36    769222

Joe Canning just a freetaker! Are ye having a laugh or what?

Joe Canning is one of the best players any of us will ever see. Ask Damien Hayes if Joe Canning is just a free taker. His vision is unreal and he constantly sets scores up for the players around him. One sticks out in particular....a hand pass that sent Hayes through on goal for Portumna I think which was identical to McGraths.

Noel McGrath is a brilliant young talent, bit to go to be as good as Canning but who knows how good he can be. Making comparisons is ridiculous tho. Noel McGrath can play anywhere from 5 to 15 and be brilliant in all positions. Joe Canning could go down as the greatest full forward of all time if he stays injury free.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 08/09/2010 18:59:26    769234

Joe Canning is a celebrity , and probably the best known personality in the GAA:
A golden boy for sure, but, he hasn't reached his full potential as a hurler!

Bigapple (Kerry) - Posts: 495 - 08/09/2010 19:22:03    769253