Outside opinions of Limerick City

roundball.
good man , have ye heard of effin eddie ? gas man know his family very well.

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 01/09/2010 18:56:19    762849

I have good Limerick friends and like the city centre but the housing estates on the outskirts need knocking !! And its always raining !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 01/09/2010 19:08:22    762861

No problems with limerick just the minority s**mbags who have held the city to ransom for the last number of years. id feel alot safer walking down o'connell street in limerick then the same street in dublin.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 01/09/2010 19:37:20    762872

ta32

762849 roundball.
good man , have ye heard of effin eddie ? gas man know his family very well

Eddie Moroney! That is quality stuff.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 02/09/2010 14:56:26    763483

roundball.
yes indeed the little pub in lisvernanne is a gas place to be for the craic , they have a good gaelic club there as well , been succesful this last while .
eddie is a gas man .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 02/09/2010 15:05:24    763496

Thanks lads
As a Limerick man myself I see both sides to the story. I know Limerick isnt as bad as its portrayed, I know Limerick is a great town to go out in. Savage in fact! And I know that in 27 years in Limerick I have never, and I mean EVER been involvef in any scrapes on a night out, and I know the vast majority of people feel safe on a Saturday night in town. But, I also know that to walk the streets of Limerick on any given day, we have a disproportionate amount of "scobes" tracksuits tucked into socks, bad hair cuts, horrible accents, travel in troops, spit, sware, roar in public, tops off, Tupac tatoos. They make the place look worse than it is. Most of these are harmless idiots who just like the image, These creatures love the stab city image, it makes them feel hard cos "i'm from Limerick cuz" etc etc....drives me mad. People see them and think "oh no, danger here" gives Limerick an awful image. If only we could get all these "wa's" we call them down here for obvious reasons and cull them....Limerick would be such a nicer place.

Mikeynora (Limerick) - Posts: 888 - 02/09/2010 15:09:47    763504

You pretty much have got it summed perfectly in one post there MikeyNora!

My experience is that if you stick to the city centre you're fine. Very little violence has happened in the heart of the city over the years. Drift out towards the bad estates & you're taking a bit of a risk. I've worked with people from all these estates, some really sound & could never help you enough, pay their way for everything, but they can all tell you stories of the folk they live among. It's not pretty.

I personally don't like the city centre. You have too far to walk in between good night venues and Limerick lacks the compact friendly atmoshpere that say Galway has. For example if you have a pint in Flannery's and decide to go to the Clohessey's there is every chance you could meet the track suited legends you refer to. But have I ever felt unsafe there? Nope and I've walked from the City Centre out 2 miles to places I've stayed from time to time. I've never actually had hassle in the city centre at all.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 02/09/2010 15:44:39    763533

Which Flannery's Slayer? We have about 48 of them ;)

But seriously, Cruises St, Limerick's anwer to Grafton St/Shop St/Quay St is depressing.

On a Friday night at say 9pm you would expect it to be thronged with tourists, partys, street entertainment and people going from bar to bar.
But no, your more likely to see 2 cops playing football with a tumbleweed cos they know they are safe on the empty street!

Mikeynora (Limerick) - Posts: 888 - 02/09/2010 16:06:04    763558

My mate went to college there so i was down a few times. It was a great spot to go out it in and never had any hint of trouble in it. I was on a train into Limerick since and it was delayed for whatever reason and could'nt get into the station so it stopped a bit outside the city and a load of kids in the field beside us threw a cinder block through the window! nothing ya wouldn't see anywhere else though!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 02/09/2010 16:26:43    763586

Horrible city with horrible people based on my experiences there to be honest. That's not to say all locals are like that but certainly the worst place in Ireland I've ever visited by quite a bit. Funny you should say you've never had a scrap in 27 years because I think I've had one every single time I've been down there

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 02/09/2010 16:34:51    763599

The out of city shopping centres were a disaster, they have killed the shops in the city centres - so many boarded up shops now. Need to get people back into the city for shopping/socialising

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 02/09/2010 17:25:40    763703

PomeroyPlunkett,

Thats because you broke the golden rule i.e. DON'T MENTION THE WAR, you're always at it !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 02/09/2010 17:55:55    763741

Pomeroy,

Ever thought the problem might have been you? Don't know Limerick but from the outside it seems a minority are holding it to ransom. Appears to be a very proud sporting city and I can't get my head around the fact that the guards haven't sorted the criminal element out yet. They didn't seem to have any problems in the 70's with the 'heavy gang' and 'state subversives'. I think the fact that working class people are being mainly affected by the violence, drugs and crime has resulted in a level of tolerance from successive governments. If they wanted to do something about it they would and could. Everything from phone tapping, close surveillance, bugs, non jury courts were used against Republicans so why not with the gangs?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 02/09/2010 19:13:34    763828

'Ever thought the problem might have been you?'

It could be down to jealousy I guess

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 02/09/2010 19:52:36    763870

Limerick appears to me to be a City of Contrasts. It strikes me as if there is a particularly huge social divide there. There are some absolutely beautiful places and there are areas with exceptional top class housing and then there are areas of absolute devestation. I do agree with an earlier poster that if you walk in Limerick City Centre during the day you will come across an inordinate number of extremely tough looking track suited men and some of the women are even scarier. I encountered a group of Limerick women on holidays one year, they were away for a week celebrating the release of one of their group from jail, believe me they were the roughest scariest group I have ever seen in my life, if their menfolk were even half as rough I pity anybody who would have had to deal with them. I now go to Limerick primarily for matches both GAA and Rugby, there are indeed some great pubs there but to be honest its not a place I would go to for a midweek or week-end break.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 03/09/2010 10:51:57    764123

Appears to be a very proud sporting city and I can't get my head around the fact that the guards haven't sorted the criminal element out yet.

In my opinion the guards in Limerick are the absolute top in the country at solving murder cases, but lack the resources to prevent them. I know some rank & file guards & they do not want to get into trouble involving the criminal gangs. Like was suggested, sometimes it's easier to be seen walking in Cruises street than being more active in other areas. Hard to blame them when the govt is cutting their wages too.

People slag off PomeroyPlunkett, but believe me there are people from Limerick City that I would run a mile from. Maybe it's a Limerick thing, but being fairly familiar with the city I (and probably most Limerick folk) know where not to go, what not to do & how to avoid trouble. Believe me it's the best way as certain Shams in our city need no excuse to get involved.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 03/09/2010 12:58:02    764288

Understandable about you and other residents staying out of the road slayer but I can't accept that about the guards not wanting to get involved. They should be lying on top of these thugs 24 hrs a day 7 days a week like they did with Martin Cahill and hassling them at every turn. Limerick isn't massive but why do the criminals there seem to have less fear of the law and authority than anywhere else?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 03/09/2010 18:39:59    764652

The taxi men dont do a lot for tourism, they seem to thrive on the" danger around every corner "angle. Was at a stag in it and had good craic, there was a Leinster Munster game on that night so the Sin Bin pub was wedged. I enjoyed it anyway.

jarhead (Westmeath) - Posts: 285 - 03/09/2010 20:56:48    764759

Lads Limerick is like any other city there's a few bad apples... if you go to the wrong places at the wrong time or go looking for trouble you'll get it same as any other city in ireland... I lived worked and socialised in Limerick got into the odd scrape but that was my own fault....Lived in dublin for many a year too in some of the rougher area's too you just need to have a bit of cop on.

Also all the trouble that caused by gangs down there in fairness there only a couple or families and hoods causing that!!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 03/09/2010 21:38:57    764803

Every city and town has it's own tough areas,and Limerick is no different!
It could use an image makeover, though

Bigapple (Kerry) - Posts: 495 - 04/09/2010 18:23:41    765153