Kerry v Cork

I know I look at life through red tinted glasses but in the last 5 or 6 minutes I thought the Ref gave everything to Kerry, and effectively made a draw of it. Overall I thought we shaded it and should have won so I'm a little disappointed. Having said that I would have taken a draw before the ball was thrown in .We have won our recent replays in Cork so heres hoping we can do it again. On a personal note its worked out fine for me, couldn't get to Killarney today but will get to Cork ok for replay.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 06/06/2010 17:51:33    669028

i can only comment on the first 15 minutes of it because that was all i could bring myself to watch.that was woeful stuff,poor defending poor tackling,poor just about everything.these are the two favourites for the all ireland,neither will get far if they play anything like that for the rest of the season.

shapes42 (Cavan) - Posts: 383 - 06/06/2010 18:00:35    669037

some of the know it alls got this won badly wrong

jailhouse.usa (Galway) - Posts: 1155 - 06/06/2010 18:17:50    669046

i thought it was a great game also, had it all. you have got to hand it to kerry they never panic and showed a huge amount of self belief to come back like that

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4655 - 06/06/2010 18:20:51    669050

Why can't referees allow a few yards advantage to the team that are given a free kick. Stopping play and bringing the ball back 4 or 5 feet is penalising the team with the free and stopping them getting an advantage and is also slowing down the game. If its only a yard or two it should be let go !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 06/06/2010 18:37:11    669069

Cavan_Slasher

Frees are to be taking to from foul accurs and few yards yes but players today where trying to steal 10 o 15 .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 06/06/2010 18:49:57    669090

As a Kerryman , I'm happy with a draw. I know the Kerry team can build on this, and they now have momentum on their side ,and should win the replay. Cork can be beaten, and come saturday, we will see a much improved Kerry team.

Bigapple (Kerry) - Posts: 495 - 06/06/2010 18:55:14    669099

What a game, atmosphere was brilliant, not great for the heart though! The park looked radiant as ever amidst the glorious sunshine in one of Ireland's most glorious and picturesque towns.

Some of the best point taking you'll see all year- sheehan and kissane.

Our midfield was poor,We need to get it sorted. Galvin had an immense impact and showed why he is one of the countries top footballers.

How aidan walsh managed to stay on the field confounded me, he was atrocious i thought.

Usual ulster knockers on here harping on about kerry crowding the backline, bit rich considering they invented it. We play it when we need to. But we haven't been doing for decades as some certain people ridiculously claim again, again and again, any opportunity to knock kerry...spose being at the top consistently year after year does annoy people.

I dont see us winning above there next week, but shoud we make to croke park via the qualifier route, id fancy taking them. I came out of the game alot more assured that we could take them later in the champ than I was before the game.

Finally, I feel we could be a crossroads. Are we like what were in the 70's where young lads mite start to pop out and rescue us? or are we like the late 80's where could be entering the barren years. Something tells me we could be at the latter.

Great hear lads...roll on nxt wknd.

nok02 (USA) - Posts: 534 - 06/06/2010 19:07:42    669111

It is difficult for referees with all of these new rules and I feel they have a tough job. However, one rule that should have been changed is this pick up nonsense. Does anybody feel that it adds something to Gaelic Football? I personally do not. Marc O Se was harshly penalised today for it and Cork got a certain score. Possibly realizing his mistake, he gave the Gooch a free for falling over himself at the other side (no contact from any Cork player), then trying to be consistent he also blew Colm O Neill for a pick up.

On another note, Joe Brolly, Pat Spillane and Colm O Rourke are just too harsh in their criticism of players. Aidan Walsh made his championship debut for Cork today at 19 years of age. He hit a few wides and missed a clear goal chance, otherwise was probably the best midfielder on view today. Comments that he is unstylish and incapable of hitting a barn gate from five yards are unwarranted and if that is the best that these "experts" can come up or if this is what is called analysis then I actually feel sorry for them...it is petty in the extreme. How good was Brolly at 19? Did he ever pick up a hurley in his life? Aidan Walsh can be very pleased with his first championship performance .

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 06/06/2010 19:14:27    669118

Excellent points Bennybunny. We'll see what these experts have to say before this decade is out about Aidan Walsh. At just 19 years of age that young boy has all the makings of a gaelic football giant. It was Cork's first Championship game and it showed. The Rebels took time to get going often taking many wrong options. However, they still seemed to have a lot more scoring options and scored more freely than Kerry when they got going. At times they looked a serious team and clearly the superior side now to Kerry.

In those circumstances, I thought Kerry did very well to get draw that did not look likely. The bit of cuteness at the finish was still there in this old Kerry team. However, I still hold that Cork are now a way better side and will improve immensely from having their first game of the Championship under their belts. Unless something unforeseeable happens I can't see anything but a massive win for Cork in the replay.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 06/06/2010 20:51:42    669185

thought it was an exciting game galvin made all the difference when he came on. think kerry have to play the likes of moran maher and young keane the need the experience now. quirke and scanlon a bit too slow against this cork team. the ref didn't help the game at all in the first half very annoying with those calls although he really gave kerry every call in last 15 min. cork will prob. win the replay, though i cant see donnaghy and gooch play this bad again, as for the "blanket" didn't see much of that today, it was a the two best teams in a sort of a heavyweight battle of wits.

chicago09 (Kerry) - Posts: 694 - 06/06/2010 21:16:40    669216

I also thought that Aidan Walsh played very well. He was everywhere, and him running out of steam in the last 10 minutes partly contributed to Kerry getting back into it.

Walsh reminded me a bit of Kevin Hughes for Tyrone. People (mainly Tyrone people, it must be said), slag him off because his shooting or distribution isn't always great, but they ignore the huge amount of work and fine positional play that is required to get on the ball that often in the first place. Young Walsh can be very pleased with how he played. Counihan was obviously happy, as he was the only midfielder to survive the 70 minutes. Deservedly so.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 06/06/2010 21:20:15    669219

Well said about Aidan Walsh, after 3 turnovers in his first 3 possessions most 19 year olds would have hidden in their shell but he stuck at it and had a solid outing...looking forward to seeing more of him in the future....

RunOfThePigs (Donegal) - Posts: 131 - 07/06/2010 09:22:20    669262

Great intense game reminded me of Tyrone /Armagh in the 2005 All-Ireland Semi-Final. This poor Kerry team have shown everybody else how the mighty Cork can be beaten. Get in their faces from the throw-in and stay there for the rest of the match. Yet again Cork threw it away and although they might win the replay they will not win the All-Ireland with team of bottlers. Just like last year when they meet Kerry later in the summer they will get beaten.

P.S The ref had a shocker. Why did the GAA allow a man who had never refreed in Munster before have this game - madness.

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 799 - 07/06/2010 09:43:47    669274

1:thought all the lads who made their senior debut for cork were very good. (sheehan, o sullivan, walsh)

2: the ref was doing a grand job for the first half but after about 10 mins in 2nd half he did lean towards kerry IMO. he gave a free to gooch for falling over himself when in fact in should have been a free to cork as gooch touch the ball on the ground.

3: paul galvin made a HUGE difference when he came on and im sure he'll be full fit for the replay.

rebelsrock (Cork) - Posts: 550 - 07/06/2010 11:16:22    669370

Sam. Don't understand why you are saying Cork bottled it. They fought to the last second and twas a couple of dodgy frees that saved Kerry. Had Colm O Neills point proved the winner everyone would have been talking about Corks bottle, having lost a 4 point lead been the victim of some dodgy ref decisions and still coming back for the winner. So one more non free to Kerry after that point which earned them the draw makes Cork bottlers, I don't think so.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 07/06/2010 12:01:44    669426

Would you not agree corkcelt that this Kerry team are poor maybe the worst kerry team in 10 years. It is on this premeise that I said that Cork bottled it. On the flip side this is the best Cork team in 20 years and they still couldn't avenge last years All-Ireland defeat. Come on!!!

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 799 - 07/06/2010 12:37:26    669485

sam People keep saying how bad this Kerry team is but they keep winning All-Irelands. O.K. maybe Cork do freeze in Croker when faced with Kerry but don't put all the blame on Cork, remember what they did to Dublin last year. The only team that has been able for them in recent years have been Tyrone. Killarney is an extremely hard place to go for a Championship game and the draw there plus extra game could do Cork a lot of good. I think we will beat them next Sunday but I am sure they will work their way through the qualifiers and if they reach Croke Park no County in Ireland will fancy playing them.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 07/06/2010 14:12:30    669633

I should have emphasied that I meant when I said Kerry were poor! This 2010 team is much worse than the 2009 team. The 2009 team were worthy All-Ireland winners in the end but do you not think Cork should have beaten them last year in the AIF on the form both teams showed last year? This Kerry team without O'Shea and one or two others are not a All-Ireland winning team this year and Cork yesterday missed a golden opportunity to put them in their place or make a statement of intent for the rest of the year. Cork will regret yesterday very much come September.

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 799 - 07/06/2010 14:45:20    669676

I dont see how will regret yesterday come next Septemer. We might regret it come next week but not next September. The championship has changed. If we win lose or draw, we might end up playing them in September anyway. We will deal wityh that when it happens. As the results of the counties' last meetings in the past few Septembers are anything to go by, the month of June means nothing.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 07/06/2010 16:22:10    669811