Cheltenham Festival Tipping Competition

cheers loyal for the effort - i know little about horses but anything for a bit of craic

13.30 Kempes
14.05 Cornas
14.40 Patsy Hall (Nap)
15.20 Ashkazar
16.00 Wonderkid
16.40 Chomba Womba

bocerty (Tyrone) - Posts: 539 - 09/03/2009 21:49:17    228509

16.40 Quevega . my nap

The fourth race is 15.20 Binocular , But the only reason i put harcibald because he is one of my favourite horses .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 09/03/2009 21:59:42    228517

13.30 Counsin Vinny
14.05 Calgary Bay
14.40 Nenuphar Collonges
15.20 Binnocular NAP
16.00 Garde Champetre
16.40 Quevega

horn neck (None) - Posts: 28 - 09/03/2009 22:13:51    228531

Thank you dellboypolecat.

Yellabelly, can you please confirm your Nap? If you don't post a Nap, then I will assume it to be in the big race - which in your case is Brave Inca.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 09/03/2009 22:34:05    228560

Know nothing about horses but what the heck,

13.30 Kempes
14.05 Forpadydeplasterer
14.40 Star De Mohaison
15.20 Celestial Halo
16.00 Heads On the Ground (NAP)
16.40 Chomba Womba

By the way Loyal, Whats a rule 4?
Told ya I know nothing

mouldybags (Cork) - Posts: 108 - 09/03/2009 22:36:06    228563

Lets say 5 minutes before a race, the 2/1 favourite breaks its leg and can't run. Then chances are, the on course bookmakers won't have enough time to form a new market (one without the 2/1 favourite) so all the horses prices will remain the same. But every other horses' price had the participation of the favorite taken into account so its extremely unfair on the bookmakers/layers so then Rule 4 comes into play. Basically your winnings will be reduced. If the 2/1 favourite comes out, then the Rule 4 is 30c or 35c (I'm not sure) per euro.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 09/03/2009 22:48:44    228569

Rule4 is a deduction in the SP starting price if a Horse is withdrawn at the start of the race. i.e. if your selection wins at 10/1 then you might have a 20p in the pound deduction so you selection will be payed out at 8/1

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 09/03/2009 22:53:32    228570

Hoganstand.com/Lynn Publications have kindly decided to reward the winner of this competition with Eu100. Now there's incentive for everyone! I'm sure I speak for all when I say thanks a million and that it is very much appreciated.

Moderator: Please edit or delete this message if its not appriopiate for me to be saying this.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 09/03/2009 23:04:02    228582

13.30 Kempes
14.05 Planet of Sound
14.40 Wichita Lineman
15.20 Brave Inca (EW)
16.00 L'Ami (NAP)
16.40 Oscar Rebel

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 09/03/2009 23:06:39    228585

Lads, heres my tip. How to go to Cheltenham and come back with a small fortune. ??? Go there with a big one.

stranded (UK) - Posts: 408 - 09/03/2009 23:11:34    228590

Very nice gesture from the HS publishers and a Very nice incentive, Good luck to all,I wish I had given this a more scientific approach now.

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 09/03/2009 23:22:24    228597

13.30 Go Native
14.05 Kalahari King
14.40 Star De Mohaison (NAP)
15.20 Binocular
16.00 Garde Champetre
16.40 Chomba Womba

GREAT POST LOYAL, GOOD LUCK

Batman.No.1 (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 09/03/2009 23:54:22    228626

well done loyal- lot of work involved, i run this type of thing at work,but good fun.

red moloney
tartak
tot o'whiskey
celestial halo -nap
wonderkid
carole's legacy

pongo (Limerick) - Posts: 29 - 10/03/2009 00:23:33    228648

13.30 Cousin Vinny
14.05 I'msingingtheblues
14.40 Cailin Alainn
15.20 Binocular (NAP)
16.00 Dix Villez
16.40 Quevega

ramormania (Cavan) - Posts: 31 - 10/03/2009 00:26:25    228650

Thanks lads.

mouldybags (Cork) - Posts: 108 - 10/03/2009 00:42:03    228658

Now loyal look what you got your self into i only mentioned a bit of a competition in passing on a different thread this morning and you have an all out war!!Fair play to you you have taken it on.Is it all right i post for wed and thurs tomorrow as i fly for engerrrlland tommorrow night.

DABLACKSPOT (Westmeath) - Posts: 551 - 10/03/2009 03:07:21    228676

1.30 Medermit
2.05 Forpaddytheplaster
2.40 Witcha Lineman (nap)
3.20 Osana
4.00 L'Ami
4.40 Chomba Womba

All really each ways. i gota ew heinz on them. Fair Play to HS

Best of luck everyone hope all are up a few quid

uncle sam (Dublin) - Posts: 102 - 10/03/2009 03:22:23    228680

13.30. Go Native (e/w)
2.05 Tatenan
2.40 Wichita Lineman
3.20 Katchit
4.00 Garde Champetre ( NAp)
4.40 Chomba Womba
to everyone best of luck today!!!!!!!!

paudi (Meath) - Posts: 681 - 10/03/2009 09:18:23    228703

13:30 Kempes
14:05 Forpadydeplasterer
14:40 Comply or Die
15:20 Brave Inca (ew)
16:00 Garde Champetre (NAP)
16:40 Aura About You

Best of luck chaps!!

KunAguero (Sligo) - Posts: 98 - 10/03/2009 09:35:25    228716

Here's my prediction for the day.

13.30 Kempes
14.05 Calgary Bay (nap)
14.40 Possol
15.20 Binocular
16.00 Garde Champetre
16.40 Quevega

Thanks Loyal for setting up the comp and thanks Lynn Publishing for giving up a prize, will add more excitiment to an already exciting week.

Jones (Monaghan) - Posts: 27 - 10/03/2009 09:38:59    228721