100+ things culchies love!

Ah, the turkey plucker song, a classic in culchie circles! Also available in the pheasant variety! Thanks for your tutelage Slasher, I'm sure with your help I can upgrade to at least a C grade in no time!

And JC, what can I say, the man who has given culchies the world over, and indeed wannabe culchies, many happy memories is a proud Monaghan man, Oram's most famous son - Big Tom! From a culchie point of view he is right up there with Patrick Kavanagh and Barry McGuigan in the annals of Co. Monaghan! Many, many couples have met at his dances, and I wouldn't be surprised if a few were conceived to his music! No Barry White or Marvin Gaye, Big Tom is the culchie choice!

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 23/10/2008 12:22:47    124861

Jayo, you were Dustin time with that one, very good.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 23/10/2008 12:23:14    124862

Plucking hell..........thats fast

Chester1970 (Armagh) - Posts: 509 - 23/10/2008 12:30:53    124870

powder monkeys

ACtribe (Galway) - Posts: 401 - 23/10/2008 12:52:51    124894

Ah don't worry Slasher, I wouldn't be hanging around with the likes of those D4 bucks, sure most of the ones I work with are ex-culchies themselves! As are most of my friends from college etc, sure there's plenty of country folk about to keep the head right!

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 23/10/2008 12:58:22    124901

What about

wearing old ira coats, suits and ties while out working
walking around and kicking the tyres of a neighbours new car "that's a fine yoke ye have"
saying "look it" in the middle of every sentence
going up to dublin even though they live in Louth

realgaa (UK) - Posts: 128 - 23/10/2008 13:00:45    124905

you can walk into mammy's house but you have to be rolled back out ye cant beat a good culchie feed. you have a general distrust for city folk with their fancy cars trying to sell us life insurance.

barrow (Carlow) - Posts: 128 - 23/10/2008 13:47:49    124962

you have a general distrust for city folk with their fancy cars trying to sell us life insurance.
barrow , 23/10/2008 at 13:47

No Barrow - this is also a well placed distrust among us City Slickers as well - believe me!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 23/10/2008 14:00:24    124989

only scored 30 but i can sing rattling bog so does that get me bonus points

jim jim (Mayo) - Posts: 117 - 23/10/2008 15:04:01    125106

No mention of licking 99 cones and going around with no top on in the summer showing off our pasty torso's and our madly scorched arms. No mention of poxy jumper collections that every country man i know posess. No mention of men chewing "wisps" of grass. No mentionof complaints bout prices of animals. The list of 100 omitted some vital aspects of being a culchie that i'd have to dismiss it as lazy research.

bananapublican (Leitrim) - Posts: 878 - 23/10/2008 15:12:27    125119

hehe great stuff lads. I'm no culchie but I can vouch that they certainly love to fight and in the North they love watching the rally car programme, "hey boy, did ye see RPM last night?"

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1550 - 23/10/2008 15:12:28    125120

I'm 72% culchie. From the hills of Connemara so expected to get a higher score to be honest.

And if someone could tell me what or who a 'helicopter' is it might bump my score up a wee biteen.

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 23/10/2008 15:13:15    125123

Wests_Awake

A helicopter is where you take a certain part of your body in your hand, and twirl it around in a circle....... at least that's what all the donegal lads in college used to call it!

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 23/10/2008 15:28:35    125147

culchies love wearing gaa tops tucked into skin tight jeans and their da's old shoes out to night clubs, horrendous!!!!

pest_from_west (Antrim) - Posts: 27 - 23/10/2008 15:34:15    125160

Haha, good man black&white! Though we happen to call that particular excercise 'sheep worrying'.

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 23/10/2008 15:35:20    125164

Having more soil inside your car than outside is country . Using a bush for a gate is country . Owning a sheepdog is country . Owning a mongrel is more country . Using baling twine as a belt is country . Tea in a glass bottle is country . tk lemonade is country . tho not as country as country spring 3 l bottles . Going to mass in a tractor, with a dog in the transport box is country . Having an obese full forward on your gaa team is country . Having more soil in your underpants than outside is country . Smoking major cigarettes . Loving the smell of hay . Sunburn from the bog . Having the guy who got sent down twice for gbh as your full back is country . Hating crows is country . Calling potatoes "spuds" is country . Putting plastics bags in your leaking wellies is country . Using a hurley to drive cattle is country . Owning a gaa bag from 1987 is country . Always being afraid of the pto is country . Thinking wearing lynx makes ya sophisticated is country . Drinking Harp is country . Knowing more about the bovine reproductive system than the human one is country . Checked shirts in cps is country . Thinking standing outside the door of the church for 40 minutes on sunday counts as mass is country . Having more dogs than kids is country . Pronouncing tea as tae . Winning the junior C hurling, and going on the beer for a week afterwards is country . Going around the parish with 12 kids hanging out of your car after winning any underage title is country . Putting three bales of hay into the back seat of your car is country . Saying 'i'll buy you a pint' instead of actually paying for something is country . Knowing why 10-10-20 is better than 18-6-12 is country!!!!! . Driving around with two bags of cement on your bonnet is country . Having a 17 year old playing for the under 12s football team, and claiming you didnt know his age afterwards is country . Using a hay-shed as the base of operations for your poiteen empire is country . Knowing the proper mixture for a 2-stroke engine instinctively . Treating anyone from beyond athenry as foreigners . Pronouncing meat as mate is country

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 23/10/2008 16:21:23    125215

i always thought drinking Harp makes you a northerner. Also i would say this is written by a Galway person references to cps and Athenry.

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 23/10/2008 17:01:37    125280

Asking how's she cuttin'?

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 23/10/2008 17:45:56    125346

bad.monkey
County: USA

Asking how's she cuttin'?

Ha ha, i used to say that a lot........then i moved to a big bad City and became a hoodie, Na wa i mean rooood boiiiiii?

Only got 30% in the test, reminds me of my GCSE results!!!

Bald Eagle (None) - Posts: 1009 - 24/10/2008 08:55:32    125648

Interpreting your score: 0-30%- You need more bovril in your belly. If your a city slicker its fine but if you living in the country your more than likely a "blow-in". 30-50%- Could do better. Use more country phrases like: "finest", "how'ya now" and "tis very close". 50-70%- Start adding "een" to the end of every word to move up a level. Your a fierce yoke though and your score isn't bad. 70-80%- oh, your a cute h**r. You know your farming and you like a nice feast of porter. 80-100%- oh Lord. YOu need to spend some time somewhere else. You probably smell of silage wraps and sheep.

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 24/10/2008 10:08:32    125690