Hurling League Final 2024

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Is like to think we have moved on from people claiming we are reliant on Kelly. I saw someone comment the other day that Clare will go nowhere as we are too reliant on Fitzgerald. It's laughable really. It seems like whenever we are going well, it's because of a reliance on one player or another. League and championship are deferent animals but we are unbeaten having used a flake of new hurlers this campaign. More than any other team I'd suggest.

I am not not sure what the story is with Kelly. Lohan himself said 2 weeks ago Kelly should be ready for todays game. Maybe they didn't want to risk the ankle on the soft ground, I don't know. I am hopeful he will play versus Limerick buts it's the not the big deal it used to be as we have plenty of options. You will never replace a fella like Kelly but you have any aspirations of winning the big trophy's you have to have a panel capable of dealing with the loss of key players like Limerick proved last year."
That's precisely what I said

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1139 - 06/04/2024 14:13:43    2536021

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Is like to think we have moved on from people claiming we are reliant on Kelly. I saw someone comment the other day that Clare will go nowhere as we are too reliant on Fitzgerald. It's laughable really. It seems like whenever we are going well, it's because of a reliance on one player or another. League and championship are deferent animals but we are unbeaten having used a flake of new hurlers this campaign. More than any other team I'd suggest.

I am not not sure what the story is with Kelly. Lohan himself said 2 weeks ago Kelly should be ready for todays game. Maybe they didn't want to risk the ankle on the soft ground, I don't know. I am hopeful he will play versus Limerick buts it's the not the big deal it used to be as we have plenty of options. You will never replace a fella like Kelly but you have any aspirations of winning the big trophy's you have to have a panel capable of dealing with the loss of key players like Limerick proved last year."
I always wondered at that too. Of course every team has more important players.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12212 - 06/04/2024 14:47:14    2536030

Nice to get a bit of silverware. Aiden McCarthy's best game for Clare. Adam Hogan immense. Other positives, O Donnell back and firing, Shanagher still great option to come off the bench. Daragh Lohan and Cian Galvin still settling in at this level. Great stuff, but I think Clare will be stronger in two weeks.

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 304 - 06/04/2024 21:17:47    2536105

Congrats to Clare on a deserved hard fought win.Well done ! ( from one with green colored shades)

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 06/04/2024 21:40:23    2536108

Nice win for Clare without Tony Kelly, etc. Any win over Kilkenny is always hard fought and a relief at the final whistle.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2144 - 06/04/2024 21:41:02    2536109

Replying To MiAmigaVERONICA:  "Nice to get a bit of silverware. Aiden McCarthy's best game for Clare. Adam Hogan immense. Other positives, O Donnell back and firing, Shanagher still great option to come off the bench. Daragh Lohan and Cian Galvin still settling in at this level. Great stuff, but I think Clare will be stronger in two weeks."
Congrats to clare. The effort that was put in there tonight to win that was outrageous

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1139 - 06/04/2024 23:01:17    2536123

Great game to watch. Stripey lads never lie down. Important win for Clare.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2651 - 07/04/2024 00:58:54    2536135

Good game to watch but played within itself, except for the last 10 minutes maybe, as you would expect. Congratulations to Clare on the win!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12212 - 07/04/2024 09:12:52    2536146

Great for Clare to win… 2nd half was brilliant after a fairly dour error riddled first half… subs on both teams did well… sets Clare up nicely for a tilt at Limerick in a couple of weeks…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1973 - 07/04/2024 09:14:21    2536148

Replying To Viking66:  "I always wondered at that too. Of course every team has more important players."
I saw a comment on another site this morning Viking from someone saying Clare are too reliant on Aidan Mc. You couldn't make it up

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2506 - 07/04/2024 09:22:21    2536149

Delighted with that win now we needed a reward after our efforts over the last few years but hoping this is only the beginning. We need to back it up in 2 weeks

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2506 - 07/04/2024 11:21:49    2536166

Great win for Clare..some of their defending was outstanding..big bonus getting o Donnell and Mcinerney back on pitch..2 weeks time will be cracking and Clare are in a very good position..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2242 - 07/04/2024 12:17:30    2536173

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I saw a comment on another site this morning Viking from someone saying Clare are too reliant on Aidan Mc. You couldn't make it up"
Aidan seems a nice fella though I only got talking to him once after he played well against us in the League last year, but he's still not even a guaranteed starter! That lad obviously doesn't follow Clare hurling too closely!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12212 - 07/04/2024 12:22:30    2536175

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Delighted with that win now we needed a reward after our efforts over the last few years but hoping this is only the beginning. We need to back it up in 2 weeks"
Good day for the Banner yesterday. I thought they were the better team, but typical Kilkenny got back into the game late on. The penalty was controversial, but Eoin Cody Mishima the shot.
All eyes on 21/04 24 v Limerick in Ennis.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1757 - 07/04/2024 12:59:12    2536180

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Well said Patiillogical, Us savages still have some way to go"
Ye will need someone like Kiely as character witness, CC, to get ye off!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1844 - 07/04/2024 14:06:22    2536193

Replying To baire:  "Ye will need someone like Kiely as character witness, CC, to get ye off!"
As a certain venerable Cork broadcaster would say:
"Oh Dear!".

Seems the hurling Gods and would be Gods with a few All Irelands and high priced managers cannot still cannot accept Limerick at the head table or that there is a new sheriff in town.

This "sour grapes" attitude continues as we fail to acknowledge that Limerick have not just achieved a phenomenal feats of winning:
4 in a row
5 of last 6
Beaten Kilkenny in 2 consecutive All Irelands and League final.
Beaten Galway in 2 consecutive semi- finals and an Sll-Ireland in 2018
Beaten Clare in 2 consecutive Munster finals .
Have had to win 9 games on the way to winning All-irelands and beaten all of the superpowers in turn, not to mention some referees with agendas for good measure ,whereas Kilkenny had sometimes only to win 4 games in their way to All- Ireland glory.

Limerick are GREAT even if they never win another quarter of a game going forward, with or without water breaks. These players owe us nothing and we are proud of every one of them!

I invite all hurling fans to sit back and admire greatness.

And the best part is we're still young.

Come On Ye Boys in Green

Stay tuned.. more at 11.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 07/04/2024 18:23:49    2536268

Replying To baire:  "Ye will need someone like Kiely as character witness, CC, to get ye off!"
Limerick still living rent free in your little brain baire

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 08/04/2024 10:11:51    2536478

Replying To PatOLogical:  "As a certain venerable Cork broadcaster would say:
"Oh Dear!".

Seems the hurling Gods and would be Gods with a few All Irelands and high priced managers cannot still cannot accept Limerick at the head table or that there is a new sheriff in town.

This "sour grapes" attitude continues as we fail to acknowledge that Limerick have not just achieved a phenomenal feats of winning:
4 in a row
5 of last 6
Beaten Kilkenny in 2 consecutive All Irelands and League final.
Beaten Galway in 2 consecutive semi- finals and an Sll-Ireland in 2018
Beaten Clare in 2 consecutive Munster finals .
Have had to win 9 games on the way to winning All-irelands and beaten all of the superpowers in turn, not to mention some referees with agendas for good measure ,whereas Kilkenny had sometimes only to win 4 games in their way to All- Ireland glory.

Limerick are GREAT even if they never win another quarter of a game going forward, with or without water breaks. These players owe us nothing and we are proud of every one of them!

I invite all hurling fans to sit back and admire greatness.

And the best part is we're still young.

Come On Ye Boys in Green

Stay tuned.. more at 11."
"Have had to win 9 games on the way to winning All-Irelands"

9 games? When did Limerick have to win 9 games to win an All-Ireland?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2482 - 08/04/2024 10:38:29    2536493

Well if Hayes had been sentenced to Jail and had his sentence reconfirmed on Appeal, we, as in Limerick GAA People, would not have risen the equivalent of about Fifty Thousand Euros in today's money to fund a Supreme Court Appeal, as GAA Supporters from another county did, in a even more celebrated case. Apart from all that the Judge did ask for Testimonials, which several other prominent people gave like Jim Bolger, members of the University Staff, which Hayes attended, and his employer. Kiely has worked closely with Hayes for the past eight or nine years - who would be in a better position to speak for him. BTW, when is the Galway players court hearing set for.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4349 - 08/04/2024 11:10:02    2536509

Replying To updwell:  "Limerick still living rent free in your little brain baire"
Raw nerve! School principal with such principles, savage simulation! ;) Shhhh....

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1844 - 08/04/2024 11:14:56    2536511