Hurling League Final 2024

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Will any of the missing Clare players start at weekend?think it's more important for Clare to get silverware after being so close for the last few years..could be very interesting match ups on Saturday night..kk might find David Fitz a real handful,he has been outstanding and is probably best hurler Clare have had for over 2 years and I would say probably more important than fellas who are missing..I'd like to see both teams go full on but not sure what will happen..I would say a Clare win by maybe 4 points.."
I predict KK to win. I don't think that they beat Limk in the semi-final to go and leave the final behind them, regardless of how good Clare are motoring at the moment. The cats will have too much craft and cuteness again for Clare!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1942 - 04/04/2024 17:31:21    2535672

Forewarned is forearmed. There should be worries about red cards if both teams learn to behave themselves.
Slashing clothes, ducking and diving and other theatrics need to be eliminated. Will be intriguing to observe how both teams "play the ref" as both are adept at the cleverness and over the edge tactics. Sauce for the goose is sauce or the gander definitely applies . Limerick on the other hand play a hard physical but fair and lovely brand of hurling.
Bring it on!.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 04/04/2024 20:10:46    2535695

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Forewarned is forearmed. There should be worries about red cards if both teams learn to behave themselves.
Slashing clothes, ducking and diving and other theatrics need to be eliminated. Will be intriguing to observe how both teams "play the ref" as both are adept at the cleverness and over the edge tactics. Sauce for the goose is sauce or the gander definitely applies . Limerick on the other hand play a hard physical but fair and lovely brand of hurling.
Bring it on!."
Good lord almighty

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2506 - 04/04/2024 20:59:25    2535707

Patological..please don't try and paint us as angels..we have also engaged in these tactics that you talk about..I'm as passionate about limerick hurling as anyone,and I'll defend them but it can't be looked at through green coloured glasses..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2242 - 04/04/2024 21:52:20    2535714

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Forewarned is forearmed. There should be worries about red cards if both teams learn to behave themselves.
Bring it on!."
Well said Patiillogical, Us savages still have some way to go

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2482 - 04/04/2024 23:46:02    2535725

Clare team v KK:

1. Eibhear Quilligan (Feakle)

2. Adam Hogan (Feakle)
3. Conor Cleary (St Joseph's Miltown)
4. Conor Leen (Corofin)

5. Diarmuid Ryan (Cratloe)
6. John Conlon (Clonlara)
7. Cian Galvin (Clarecastle)

8. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona)
9. Darragh Lohan (Wolfe Tones)

10. Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge)
11. Mark Rodgers (Scariff)
12. Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin)

13. Aidan McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona)
14. Ian Galvin (Clonlara)
15. David Reidy (Éire Óg)

16. Cian Broderick (Clarecastle)
17. Rory Hayes (Wolfe Tones)
18. Paul Flanagan (Ballyea)
19. Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)
20. David McInerney (Tulla)
21. Paddy Donnellan (Broadford)
22. Shane O'Donnell (Éire Óg)
23. Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones)
24. Shane Meehan (Banner)
25. Patrick Crotty (Scariff)
26. Gearoid Sheedy (Ogonnelloe)

Surprised Kelly hasnt made it. All the talk down here was he was ready to go. Bit worried now he wont be ready for the Limerick match. I expected exactly the team above to be named. That is a strong bench too with 5 or 6 lads that can make a serious impact. Cant wait to see how Leen goes. Himself and Galvin are our finds of the league.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2506 - 05/04/2024 09:03:57    2535759

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Good lord almighty"
He is right, Clare known for theatrics.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 644 - 05/04/2024 09:05:33    2535761

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Clare team v KK:

2. Adam Hogan (Feakle)
4. Conor Leen (Corofin)

Surprised Kelly hasnt made it. All the talk down here was he was ready to go. Bit worried now he wont be ready for the Limerick match. I expected exactly the team above to be named. That is a strong bench too with 5 or 6 lads that can make a serious impact. Cant wait to see how Leen goes. Himself and Galvin are our finds of the league."
I think Reidy and Rogers will switch, as will Malone and Fitz

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2506 - 05/04/2024 09:19:56    2535765

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I think Reidy and Rogers will switch, as will Malone and Fitz"
That's a strong Clare Team and with at least three/four players on the bench that wouldn't weaken any county team if selected. In my opinion nothing beats competitive matches to sharpen up for Munster Championship action and one for sure is Brian Lohan will know his best team after this one.

I think it will be tight, but assuming something like a stupid red card doesn't decide this game I think Clare to win by 3 points.

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 59 - 05/04/2024 09:52:17    2535770

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I think Reidy and Rogers will switch, as will Malone and Fitz"
Pity TK wont get any game time I suppose this was team he had to go with its a bit test for Leen & Galvin but I suppose they have to step up sometime well covered with Davy M & Rory on bench.

Both sides want it but Clare need to break the hold KK have on them over last few years need to go all out for a win need a lot more scores from our forward line bar Fitzgerald who is on form

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 896 - 05/04/2024 14:20:23    2535837

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Well said Patiillogical, Us savages still have some way to go"
Congrats big man! First step in solving a problem is in admitting that there is a problem.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 05/04/2024 14:29:12    2535839

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Patological..please don't try and paint us as angels..we have also engaged in these tactics that you talk about..I'm as passionate about limerick hurling as anyone,and I'll defend them but it can't be looked at through green coloured glasses.."
3 points:

1 My opinions ( on over the edge stuff)were formed long before 2017 and current Limerick resurgence.
Long may the resurgence continue.

2 Strongly disagree!. Limerick use a strong physical but fair brand of hurling as opposed to deliberate skulduggery designed to do whatever it takes without regard to rules or limbs.

3 God forgive you. God grant that I never become an apologist for my county. Pass my green shaded glasses please. The naïveté is blinding!

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 05/04/2024 14:46:03    2535843

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Good lord almighty"
You have to expect this and you set yourself when you whinge about a Limerick referee 2 weeks before Clare play Limerick. Of course you are first to the press with your alibi in case it's needed. Kudos for thinking ahead!

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 05/04/2024 17:32:28    2535892

Replying To countyman2022:  "He is right, Clare known for theatrics."
I taught it was Irish music.

Newyorkkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 130 - 05/04/2024 19:55:43    2535916

Replying To Newyorkkat:  "I taught it was Irish music."
We love our traditional music but we love our hurling as well

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2506 - 05/04/2024 20:53:14    2535927

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "We love our traditional music but we love our hurling as well"
No complaints from the Clare camp
re today's U 20. And why would they after he awarded a point to Clare for an obvious wide ball among other dubious decisions . Just another case of the ref being "neutral in favor of who ?"

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 05/04/2024 22:53:42    2535942

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Clare team v KK:

2. Adam Hogan (Feakle)
4. Conor Leen (Corofin)

Surprised Kelly hasnt made it. All the talk down here was he was ready to go. Bit worried now he wont be ready for the Limerick match. I expected exactly the team above to be named. That is a strong bench too with 5 or 6 lads that can make a serious impact. Cant wait to see how Leen goes. Himself and Galvin are our finds of the league."
It's been the word down these parts since March that Kelly was unlikely to feature v Limerick. I had it from a couple of sources so I was curious listening to dalos pod that the talk was he was flying. Clare have to realise to win it all they can't rely on any one player and in fairness through the league so far they haven't really missed him.. but league and championship are different animals.

If the match goes ahead tomorrow and that's a big if I think it'll be close but kilkenny have definitely kicked on tactically from last year and the ballyhale lads look fresher. Kk by 3 for me.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1139 - 05/04/2024 23:27:18    2535947

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "We love our traditional music but we love our hurling as well"
But not theatrics

Newyorkkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 130 - 05/04/2024 23:36:35    2535948

Replying To PatOLogical:  "No complaints from the Clare camp
re today's U 20. And why would they after he awarded a point to Clare for an obvious wide ball among other dubious decisions . Just another case of the ref being "neutral in favor of who ?""
You're some victim Pat. Both teams were guilty of giving soft goals, ye gave us 1, we gave ye 2. Ye also led at halftime and had the wind in the second half, yet despite all this ye still couldn't get the job done. You can deflect all you want but the winning of the game was in Limericks hands and ye couldn't do it.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2506 - 06/04/2024 12:23:00    2535995

Replying To daveboy:  "It's been the word down these parts since March that Kelly was unlikely to feature v Limerick. I had it from a couple of sources so I was curious listening to dalos pod that the talk was he was flying. Clare have to realise to win it all they can't rely on any one player and in fairness through the league so far they haven't really missed him.. but league and championship are different animals.

If the match goes ahead tomorrow and that's a big if I think it'll be close but kilkenny have definitely kicked on tactically from last year and the ballyhale lads look fresher. Kk by 3 for me."
Is like to think we have moved on from people claiming we are reliant on Kelly. I saw someone comment the other day that Clare will go nowhere as we are too reliant on Fitzgerald. It's laughable really. It seems like whenever we are going well, it's because of a reliance on one player or another. League and championship are deferent animals but we are unbeaten having used a flake of new hurlers this campaign. More than any other team I'd suggest.

I am not not sure what the story is with Kelly. Lohan himself said 2 weeks ago Kelly should be ready for todays game. Maybe they didn't want to risk the ankle on the soft ground, I don't know. I am hopeful he will play versus Limerick buts it's the not the big deal it used to be as we have plenty of options. You will never replace a fella like Kelly but you have any aspirations of winning the big trophy's you have to have a panel capable of dealing with the loss of key players like Limerick proved last year.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2506 - 06/04/2024 12:27:53    2535997