Dean Rock Announces His Retirement.

Replying To MesAmis:  "Won 2 Dublin Senior Championships and a Senior Leinster Championship with a relatively small club.

Many would take that to be fair."
Should have won the AI Senior Club Championship also - but BK were unlucky that day.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3743 - 17/01/2024 17:10:17    2520688

Farewell to an absolute legend and thank you.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 17/01/2024 22:37:01    2520732

Replying To Square_B:  "God so bitter. Is it any wonder ye are one of the most hated fans in Ireland."
Ah feck, I thought we were the most hated :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 17/01/2024 22:40:30    2520733

Replying To Fionn:  "Cop on will you - massive difference in playing Senior Club Football in Dublin to Junior football in kerry. Intermediate this year...."
Don't you realise he played and was top scorer in the Kerry senior championship as well… mostly from play as well… Rock rarely scored from play unless the ball was handed to him…never great at winning his own possession…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1964 - 18/01/2024 07:57:17    2520744

Replying To realdub:  "Ah feck, I thought we were the most hated :D"
You have a bit to go. When you are beaten you tend to put you hands up and accept it rather than blame everyone and everything else. Which is not too often unfortunately ;)
Be interesting to see who is thereabouts in July with ye, would like to see Derry finally get over the line after the improvements they have made since being relegated to Div 4 football in 2018, some rise from drawing with us in Celtic park in 2020

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 464 - 18/01/2024 09:03:36    2520751

Replying To realdub:  "Ah feck, I thought we were the most hated :D"
You have a bit to go. When you are beaten you tend to put you hands up and accept it rather than blame everyone and everything else. Which is not too often unfortunately ;)
Be interesting to see who is thereabouts in July with ye, would like to see Derry finally get over the line after the improvements they have made since being relegated to Div 4 football in 2018, some rise from drawing with us in Celtic park in 2020

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 464 - 18/01/2024 09:41:36    2520760

Best of luck in retirement, Dean. A great servant to the GAA and from a family of the same. Well done. There's a wealth of knowledge there to bring to some prominent sidelines in the years ahead.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 912 - 18/01/2024 10:01:03    2520765

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Don't you realise he played and was top scorer in the Kerry senior championship as well… mostly from play as well… Rock rarely scored from play unless the ball was handed to him…never great at winning his own possession…"
When DC has won what Deano has won - come back to me then.... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3743 - 18/01/2024 10:23:15    2520767

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Don't you realise he played and was top scorer in the Kerry senior championship as well… mostly from play as well… Rock rarely scored from play unless the ball was handed to him…never great at winning his own possession…"
19 goals and 160 points from play in Championship alone, I suppose they were all handed to him.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 686 - 18/01/2024 11:50:34    2520792

Replying To Fionn:  "When DC has won what Deano has won - come back to me then.... ;o)"
It's not all about what you win you know… By your reckoning Eoin O Gara was a better player than David Clifford and a host of other top forwards around the country who never even played in an All Ireland Final .. Just shows how little you know about the game inside or outside Dublin…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1964 - 18/01/2024 11:51:59    2520793

Replying To sligo joe:  "19 goals and 160 points from play in Championship alone, I suppose they were all handed to him."
Most were

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1964 - 18/01/2024 11:56:02    2520795

Replying To gaelsboy:  "You have a bit to go. When you are beaten you tend to put you hands up and accept it rather than blame everyone and everything else. Which is not too often unfortunately ;)
Be interesting to see who is thereabouts in July with ye, would like to see Derry finally get over the line after the improvements they have made since being relegated to Div 4 football in 2018, some rise from drawing with us in Celtic park in 2020"
If Kerry don't win it this year I'll be very surprised.
If Derry learned anything from Kerry game they might do it.
Our appetite has been sated for now, so surely someone else will win jt.
If not, they need to take a good look at themselves, especially Leitrim.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 18/01/2024 12:07:14    2520800

Replying To Fionn:  "When DC has won what Deano has won - come back to me then.... ;o)"
Thats a silly statement Fionn.Not many players will ever win as much as Dean at intercounty but medals dont make a player better than others.Dean was a very good player and an absolute brilliant free taker but imo Matt Connor was a much better player but by your reckoning Matt was nt near Dean s level.Peter Canavan Shane Walsh etc did nt win a fraction of what Deam won but they are/were class players .I also think Diarmuid Connolly was brilliant but he did nt win as much as Dean.Dean is retired now and best of luck to him.I would admire Dean as a person aswell as a player but not because of his medals .more because he was a great servant to Dublin who was sp dependable and a very clean player.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3685 - 18/01/2024 13:03:10    2520807

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Thats a silly statement Fionn.Not many players will ever win as much as Dean at intercounty but medals dont make a player better than others.Dean was a very good player and an absolute brilliant free taker but imo Matt Connor was a much better player but by your reckoning Matt was nt near Dean s level.Peter Canavan Shane Walsh etc did nt win a fraction of what Deam won but they are/were class players .I also think Diarmuid Connolly was brilliant but he did nt win as much as Dean.Dean is retired now and best of luck to him.I would admire Dean as a person aswell as a player but not because of his medals .more because he was a great servant to Dublin who was sp dependable and a very clean player."
Mick that other dude came on here dissing Deano for no other reason but to diss him

I wasnt having it....

If DC wasnt mentioned in all this would you have posted about it - I think not.
Please take off the Green and Gold glasses for a second.
With all due respect, too quick to come in when a kerry player is referred to.

People go on about DC as the Greatest of ALL TIME - give me a break....
Not near that yet - probably will be but people are falling over themselves comparing other players to him.

When people compare Ronaldo to Messi - they always said but Messi hasnt done it for his country. Wins the World Cup and now no debate. So clearly that debate was judged on who won what.

Yes, you cant always judge how good a player is by his medal collection, but the poster showed little respect to Dean and was out of order.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3743 - 18/01/2024 15:39:23    2520839

Replying To Fionn:  "Mick that other dude came on here dissing Deano for no other reason but to diss him

I wasnt having it....

Not near that yet - probably will be but people are falling over themselves comparing other players to him.

When people compare Ronaldo to Messi - they always said but Messi hasnt done it for his country. Wins the World Cup and now no debate. So clearly that debate was judged on who won what.

Yes, you cant always judge how good a player is by his medal collection, but the poster showed little respect to Dean and was out of order."
Yes Fionn.I probably would nt have commented iif DC was nt mentioned but he was..None of us can stop people saying or thinking things but your disdain for Kerry constantly comes to the fore if anything or body from Kerry is praised.Even after last years final you commented that Tomas O Se was sick on TSG after Kerry losing.Now i let it slide at the time cos i did nt want it to seem like sour grapes but Tomas O Se is a very gracious loser and was very kind in his praise of Dublin.This is tbe same player that after losing the 2011 final walked the length of the field to give the matchball to Cliuxton.A very classy act. David Clifford is also a classy guy but so is Dean Rock.Dean has prpven himself for yeats and yes some will always see things different but anyone that looks back on big games can see Rock always stood up when it mattered.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3685 - 18/01/2024 16:04:49    2520841

Replying To Fionn:  "Mick that other dude came on here dissing Deano for no other reason but to diss him

I wasnt having it....

Yes, you cant always judge how good a player is by his medal collection, but the poster showed little respect to Dean and was out of order."
Nobody said Clifford was the greatest of all time.. that's rubbish.. but what he can do is win any type off ball that is played into him .. high or low.. That's something Dean Rock could never do and anyone with any football knowledge would say the same… Rock was a brilliant free taker but not at the same level from general play as a Walsh , McManus , Clifford , Cooper , Canavan and a host of other County players who didn't come close to his medal collection… There was no intention of showing disrespect to Dean Rock as you seem to think… just saying it as it is

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1964 - 18/01/2024 16:21:58    2520844

This topic is about praising a great player who has retired.

I am not interested in continuing to bring in other topics into it....

Time and a place lads.....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3743 - 18/01/2024 16:33:53    2520847

In fairness, Dean Rock was a fine footballer but you couldn't have him in the same category as a Bernard Brogan or a Paul Flynn, let alone trying to compare to Clifford.

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 18/01/2024 20:16:09    2520876

Dean Rock was an outstanding Dublin footballer. He is steeped in Dublin football with generations of the Rocks associated with the GAA. He is top scorer in the history of Dublin football, scoring 24 goals and 591 pts. in 132 league and championship matches. He was very much a team player. His ability to score points from play and to make use of the ball was exceptional, he also had a great ability to foot pass from distance. He was a class player and a great goal poacher. Prior to Dean Rock playing football for Dublin, they did not have a reliable free taker and Dean Rock filled that role with distinction. He will probably be best remembered for scoring crucial frees such as the late free in the All-Ireland final in 2017 against Mayo which won the match. Again in last years final, he was involved in the last 2 pts. that won the match for Dublin, racing across the field to win possession from a Stephen Cluxton kick out and then soloing before kicking in towards goal which Shane Ryan could only parry it out to an incoming Dublin player,resulting in the winning point and then scoring the last point from a free. He is the greatest free taker in modern times.
Dean Rock is a household name and is very recognizable due in no small part to his free taking role and his many appearances on television. He is an affable person and always willing to give time to others and the many autograph hunters.
Is laoch é gan amhras. Ní beidh a leitheid ann arís mar peileadóir don cíocanna saor.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 18/01/2024 22:04:25    2520886

Great player…ice cool under pressure kicks. I've never got the "from play" debate when it comes to scoring. Does a scoring record matter if it's from play or from dead balls? No it don't. If it dies let's star rating all Ireland winners by how much they scored from play…it's all bull.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11248 - 18/01/2024 22:44:22    2520891