Limerick Hurling thread 2024

Oh great!!

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2232 - 22/03/2024 22:48:24    2532740

Replying To bruffgael:  "James Owens"
Thanks... James Ownes is very off and on, as in misses a lot, still better than Lyons who should not allowed into pitch due to exreme Limerick bias.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 23/03/2024 12:53:51    2532805

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Thanks... James Ownes is very off and on, as in misses a lot, still better than Lyons who should not allowed into pitch due to exreme Limerick bias."
Lyons isn't a Wexford fan either.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12114 - 23/03/2024 13:15:06    2532814

Limerick v Kilkenny

Score pre throw-in:
Kilkenny 0-8 Limerick 0-0

Not a whinge.. just my long-held view.

Same as last year ..
Limerick will start every game 8 points down plus or minus , except for All- Ireland final 2023 when we won by 9 points due to 1st decent ref.. John Keenan. ( the benchmark)...James Owens is off and on ,as in in goes missing.
Reason: reffing , media, prejudiced pundits and begrudgers and Croke Park obsolescent back- office - way overdue for a clean out and overhaul.

Looks like Limerick are still viewed as intruders in the parlor of the big three and a few more now. .. Long may it continue

PS Kilkenny's strong-arm tactics have just about become acceptable and justifiable via the mantra of recently departed manager: "It's a man's game" or "let the game flow". .. all disguised prompts for the ref to "keep the whistle in your while we play over the edge" approach. This was usually fed to media in the week before the game through recently retired hero's and icons of the black and amber, not by "the man" himself.

Kilkenny need to learn to behave themselves.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 23/03/2024 13:24:29    2532817

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Limerick v Kilkenny

Score pre throw-in:

Same as last year ..
Limerick will start every game 8 points down plus or minus , except for All- Ireland final 2023 when we won by 9 points due to 1st decent ref.. John Keenan. ( the benchmark)...James Owens is off and on ,as in in goes missing.
Reason: reffing , media, prejudiced pundits and begrudgers and Croke Park obsolescent back- office - way overdue for a clean out and overhaul.

Looks like Limerick are still viewed as intruders in the parlor of the big three and a few more now. .. Long may it continue

PS Kilkenny's strong-arm tactics have just about become acceptable and justifiable via the mantra of recently departed manager: "It's a man's game" or "let the game flow". .. all disguised prompts for the ref to "keep the whistle in your while we play over the edge" approach. This was usually fed to media in the week before the game through recently retired hero's and icons of the black and amber, not by "the man" himself.

Kilkenny need to learn to behave themselves."
A bit of a paranoid post, imo. It's true what you say about Cody and the likes of Eddie Keher coming out the week before games about not letting the game becoming a namby-pamby game with no physicality in it and to let it flow. However, that hasn't happened in years now. This Limerick team is one of the most physical teams ever to play the game. It is not in other counties interests these days to adopt the mantra "let the game flow' as 'it's a man's game" because from what I see the likes of Tipp, KK, and Galway can go toe-to-toe with Limerick for 55-60 minutes but not for a full 70-80 minutes. That could all change this year, though.

Have you not seen all the cry-babbie comments all over the place over the past 5-6 years when the likes of Byrnes, Hegarty or WOD flex muscle? It is more in Limerick's interests these days that the ref keeps the whistling to a minimum.

It is the exact opposite of what you claim is happening that is actually happening. PatO, you were never much good at sizing things up properly.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1937 - 23/03/2024 14:36:21    2532832

Score pre throw-in:

Same as last year ..

"Kilkenny need to learn to behave themselves"

Kilkenny need to learn FA. Will you stop your whingeing, it's embarrassing.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2482 - 23/03/2024 18:18:13    2532889

Score pre throw-in:

Same as last year ..

Any comment on Peter Casey's latest indiscretion

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1506 - 23/03/2024 18:38:43    2532894

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""Kilkenny need to learn to behave themselves"

Kilkenny need to learn FA. Will you stop your whingeing, it's embarrassing."
Just ignore Pal.. It's easier in the long run.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1067 - 23/03/2024 18:40:55    2532897

Replying To foreveryoung:  "A bit of a paranoid post, imo. It's true what you say about Cody and the likes of Eddie Keher coming out the week before games about not letting the game becoming a namby-pamby game with no physicality in it and to let it flow. However, that hasn't happened in years now. This Limerick team is one of the most physical teams ever to play the game. It is not in other counties interests these days to adopt the mantra "let the game flow' as 'it's a man's game" because from what I see the likes of Tipp, KK, and Galway can go toe-to-toe with Limerick for 55-60 minutes but not for a full 70-80 minutes. That could all change this year, though.

Have you not seen all the cry-babbie comments all over the place over the past 5-6 years when the likes of Byrnes, Hegarty or WOD flex muscle? It is more in Limerick's interests these days that the ref keeps the whistling to a minimum.

It is the exact opposite of what you claim is happening that is actually happening. PatO, you were never much good at sizing things up properly."
Your omniscient remarks frequently convey that you are firmly convinced of what just isn't so.
Re-watch with an eye to all the coulda , woilda, shoulda been frees ,yellow and red cards. The balance would be heavily in Limerick's favor ( maybe to the tune of 10 points).
Will you sit and watch as Hegarty gets slapped several times with hurley when they play the likes of Clare , only to have a free awarded against him. You can sit in your comfy seat and not worry as you won't feel a bit of it. Wake up and smell the coffee or flowers, then engage brain before operating jaws.
"Not sayin nuttin, juss makn a comment"

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 23/03/2024 19:27:32    2532908

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Your omniscient remarks frequently convey that you are firmly convinced of what just isn't so.
Re-watch with an eye to all the coulda , woilda, shoulda been frees ,yellow and red cards. The balance would be heavily in Limerick's favor ( maybe to the tune of 10 points).
Will you sit and watch as Hegarty gets slapped several times with hurley when they play the likes of Clare , only to have a free awarded against him. You can sit in your comfy seat and not worry as you won't feel a bit of it. Wake up and smell the coffee or flowers, then engage brain before operating jaws.
"Not sayin nuttin, juss makn a comment""
Can you redo that in English please

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 23/03/2024 19:58:41    2532918

Replying To skillet:  "Just ignore Pal.. It's easier in the long run."
Skillet take note that you are not the definintive word even on this anonymous forum. Maybe get out and get some fresh air once in a while .

Below from an apparent Carlow poster:

"Well said pat. They introduced the strong arm stuff but don't like it now that it doesn't suit them. Eddie keher has been their go to man lately for the pre match advice/warning to the officials on how to ref it. Also DAIRE in fairness to kerry they compete at the hurling and their club championship is very competitive whereas the cats make no effort whatsoever."

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 24/03/2024 15:21:32    2533084

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Nonsense, where is the evidence to back that claim. I was at the game and watched on TV in total afterwards and I saw no clear cut evidence of diving on Limerick men's' part."
You have to be joking.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 779 - 24/03/2024 16:57:25    2533179

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Can you redo that in English please"
Amnesia is best policy for some of of the creative uses (slaps), Clare have with the hurley. BTW there were videos of them practicing their "diving" from the Cliffs of Moher last year. May still be AV onGoogle.....great viewing ..skill almost perfected.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1361 - 24/03/2024 17:09:30    2533188

Replying To cityman73:  "You have to be joking."
Cause you are a genuine poster,watch the game again and watch the Limerick player holding his head,rolling around and grand after,he got hit in the chest,held his head to get the Galway lad sent off.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 779 - 26/03/2024 16:31:25    2533935

Replying To cityman73:  "Cause you are a genuine poster,watch the game again and watch the Limerick player holding his head,rolling around and grand after,he got hit in the chest,held his head to get the Galway lad sent off."
Maybe not, Maybe this was a case of referred pain after a belt down on the Collar Bone (Clavicleal)

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4344 - 26/03/2024 23:12:38    2534022

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Maybe not, Maybe this was a case of referred pain after a belt down on the Collar Bone (Clavicleal)"
Ah hear :D

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 27/03/2024 20:05:19    2534173

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Maybe not, Maybe this was a case of referred pain after a belt down on the Collar Bone (Clavicleal)"
:-D

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12114 - 28/03/2024 08:11:47    2534225

So the fun and games are over and the countdown begins to the real stuff.

Disappointing to hear DoD will not be available but every county (no more than limerick) will have to deal with injuries and overcome them if they ever want to win trophies. Peters red card was very avoidable and he'll know that. Frustration is a natural human feeling but he'll know limerick get more attention than most as reigning champions and the only way to take it is as a compliment.

The team seem to be in a very good place regardless. The only slight concern will be Dan Morrissey but hopefully he's fit to start. My feeling is kiely would prefer to ease Finn back in so having Dan back for Ennis would be the proffered road leaving Casey Dan and Nash in the FB line. All the talk is that cathal o neill won't be moving from 7 and its a good move imo. He's a natural hurler. Great in the air. Can shoot from anywhere. He's been working hard on his final pass and distribution I know and once that is cleaned up he'll be a big headache at 7.

Hannon sounded very positive in his interview yesterday and along with byrnes that's a very strong HB line both in the air and in the attacking sense. The replacement for DoD will be interesting. Lynch lined out v kk but seemed to be smothered for space. Hayes could also be an option here. But my preferred replacement would be David Reidy. Imo he's the most like for like sub for DoD. He may not have DoD strength and ability to clear into space but he's an excellent fielder, shooter snd distributor which he showed when he really led conlon on a trip around the GG in last years munster final and his link up with gillane especially was very impressive. For me id go WoD and Reidy.

The HF line is straight forward. Hego Lynch and Tom. Tom needs to up his level of work but he switched it on in munster last year effortlessly. Hego looks 3 years younger out there in his speed of movement and overall touch. I believe he has dropped nearly a stone so he must have curtailed his prep and it looks to have improved him. Lynch will find more space at 11 than 9 and he'll be a major handful as always.

The inside line with Peters red, Shane o brien with a slight injury makes kielys job that bit easier. O Dalaigh and English really have put pressure on this line. Mulcahy has also some merit to be used in a 40 minute capacity. The tension and atmosphere will likely be as close to.an AI final as anything you'd see. Kiely might look for experience to start here.

I'd go with Gillane Flanagan Hayes. Kyle inside may not have worked perfectly in the past but I'd go looking again at it for this match up. Seamus had a super munster final in 22 feeding off breaking ball when the vice like grip of cleary had gillane well shadowed. Adam hogan gave an exhibition of speedy first touch aggressive corner back play v kk. I wonder would the likes of Hayes inside and direct aerial ball challenge him in another way.

I felt clares puckouts v kk were v poor. Maybe not giving anything away? Bar o donnell in second half there wasn't much fielding from Fitz or Duggan . Will limerick push up on Quilligans puck outs early or will they wait for the second half?

Limericks bench even without casey and DoD will still be strong. With the possibility of holding back Finn Adam English Donncha O Dalaigh Fergal o Connor Conor Boylan Shane o Brien Greame Mulcahy they still have plenty of options whatever way they go.

Clare are in a good place. Their work rate v kk was off the charts. They still looked shaky against what I felt was a largely out of sorts kk. Mullen had a lot of poor wides. TJ was solely missed on the frees/penalty and general set up play. They had 2 great goal chances also saved by heroic clare corner backs putting all on the line. I felt clare tired but that was a heavy pitch.

The narrative coming into the match in ennis has shifted in the mast month or so. The drive for five hasn't been uttered. Its about whether this clare team are ready. Can they back up their league success in what is a hugely important home match for them with cork away the following week. The pressure has slightly moved from limerick to clare could I dare say?

Anyway tickets secured and looking forward to a great day out. Ennis a great place to relax and enjoy the build up with the banter with the clare fans. But once inside the shed the war begins on and off the pitch.

Savage Sunday awaits and I can't wait

Luimneach abú

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1134 - 09/04/2024 12:39:52    2536869

That selection looks good. I was feeling Hayes would go to wing back (that is if it's alright with Baire) with O'Neill going forward, but you selection seems at least as good and more horses for courses and of course Hayes did get the goal in Ennis last time.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4344 - 09/04/2024 15:43:13    2536933

Replying To Oldtourman:  "That selection looks good. I was feeling Hayes would go to wing back (that is if it's alright with Baire) with O'Neill going forward, but you selection seems at least as good and more horses for courses and of course Hayes did get the goal in Ennis last time."
Put him in goals, he needs to be on his best behaviour considering the 2 year suspension!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1823 - 09/04/2024 15:55:58    2536937