Limerick Hurling thread 2024

Replying To updwell:  "Getting out of Munster will be though alright but the biggest obstacle this year will be getting a fair deal from the refs, looking at the game yesterday Galway should have had at least 2 sending offs and on the other hand Limerick players are being penalised at every opportunity. If teams aren't playing on the edge against us we get teams diving against us winning handy frees and getting us yellow cards and reds."
Welcome to the world we love in. Domination is loathed by all. It's a human response. No one likes a team dominating. You need to be so much better than your opposition when in that position. We'll get very little this year and no one will care. Just gotta be that much better and not allow the officials to have an impact. Don't make them relevant.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1134 - 17/03/2024 20:39:22    2531788

Replying To Shocs07:  "Yo be honest, Galway clearly have a discipline problem. 3 off the last day and one definitely should have walked today.
Great heart by our lads to grind out a result"
Dead right and remember (1) the result was not a big deal for us as if Galway had edged through we would have been in the Semi Final anyway, with Tipp gone, (2) the game was played on their home pitch, (3) for fifty minutes we played with fourteen men and (4) the ref gave us very little throughout the game. For all those those reasons I felt this was a great result for Limerick.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4344 - 17/03/2024 23:47:39    2531832

Replying To daveboy:  "Perfect time for a match..very child friendly. Great stadium. Great pitch. Two excellent teams. I'm going saturday with the kids. It was years we didn't get many at all. Youd hate to look back in time and say sure why we're we giving out. I know you're not saying that. I just don't get the giving out from some quarters. If you love the game of hurling it's worth every penny on the diesel and a good 20 minute walk never hurt anyone."
I get where your coming from but it's not as simple as that for some people at the moment, cost of living has soured across the board so if people have financial commitments particularly they might have to pick and choose what games they go to or not, it's a decent time for a game but no matter what time its scheduled it won't suit someone e.g alot of underage soccer on this time of the year weather permitting on Saturday's so might no feasible for some families there for example, just to clarify that's not complaining just showing its impossible to facilitate everyone.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 18/03/2024 00:00:18    2531834

Replying To updwell:  "Getting out of Munster will be though alright but the biggest obstacle this year will be getting a fair deal from the refs, looking at the game yesterday Galway should have had at least 2 sending offs and on the other hand Limerick players are being penalised at every opportunity. If teams aren't playing on the edge against us we get teams diving against us winning handy frees and getting us yellow cards and reds."
To be fair after Saturdays match,we can't be giving out about other teams diving,people in glass houses.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 779 - 18/03/2024 09:42:59    2531864

Replying To cityman73:  "To be fair after Saturdays match,we can't be giving out about other teams diving,people in glass houses."
I was at the match on Saturday, conditions under foot were terrible, I didn't see much diving, just players loosing their footing on the bad ground. It was same for both sides.

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 56 - 19/03/2024 16:03:25    2532187

Score pre throw-in:
Galway 0-8 Limerick 0-0

Same as last year ..
Limerick will start every season game 8 points down plus or minus , except for All- Ireland final 2023 when we won by 9 points due to 1st decent ref.. John Keenan.
Reason reffing , media, prejudiced pundits and Croke Park obsolescent back- office - way overdue for a makeover there.

New championship season.. same old shenanigans by the begrudgers
Not fair to young men who give so much of their time and effort.

Galway lucky to NOT get 3 red cards # 5 , #11 and 1 other?
Henry will be very pleased with today's reffing.

Red card to Shane O'Brien dubious.. who could see through the crowd xcpt for the Clareman but probably red card.

Free against Gearoid and yellow card? .. for what?? How many times do Limerick players have to turn the other cheek?

Looks like Limerick are still seen as intruders in the parlor of the big three and a few more now. .. Long may it continue
PS Galway need to learn to behave themselves.
PSS: Have since been informed that 3rd Galway RED CARD coulda, shoulda,woulda been to their #8.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1360 - 19/03/2024 22:25:59    2532260

Be interesting to see Limerick team for Match Saturday, how many newer players will get the start , Adam English , is Fergal O Connor Ok , Mike Casey ?. Will O Donoghue had a great game against Galway as well whilst Hannon not surprisingly looked Rusty.

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 678 - 20/03/2024 15:15:19    2532346

Replying To OpenStand:  "Be interesting to see Limerick team for Match Saturday, how many newer players will get the start , Adam English , is Fergal O Connor Ok , Mike Casey ?. Will O Donoghue had a great game against Galway as well whilst Hannon not surprisingly looked Rusty."
I'd imagine they'll use this match to get quality championship like game time into Hannon, Finn, Hayes, WoD, Gillane, Flanagan, Casey whove had very little time so far on the pitch. Nash Dan Morrissey too. Marked difference this year to last years league where the front line players have had very little league minutes keeping them fresh for munster. Last year the first 15 played a lot more in the league and possibly suffered for it in munster. The approach has been markedly different this year but still are in a league semi which I'm sure kiely really wanted.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1134 - 20/03/2024 16:22:35    2532360

Is it my imagination but have some limerick players looked smaller this year physically..I think there is a huge difference in lynch,gearoid and donohue especially..have the toned down on gym work??

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2231 - 20/03/2024 16:56:36    2532372

Replying To cityman73:  "To be fair after Saturdays match,we can't be giving out about other teams diving,people in glass houses."
Could you please provide any evidence to support your loose, vague, unsubstantiated comment?

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1937 - 20/03/2024 17:04:43    2532377

Replying To daveboy:  "I'd imagine they'll use this match to get quality championship like game time into Hannon, Finn, Hayes, WoD, Gillane, Flanagan, Casey whove had very little time so far on the pitch. Nash Dan Morrissey too. Marked difference this year to last years league where the front line players have had very little league minutes keeping them fresh for munster. Last year the first 15 played a lot more in the league and possibly suffered for it in munster. The approach has been markedly different this year but still are in a league semi which I'm sure kiely really wanted."
Dave, you're always spot on about things Limerick hurling. However, I'd have to question why you included Dan Morrissey in not seeing game time. I think he started out first 3 league games. Indeed, I'd say if you measured all the game time clocked up by all the players in all games since this great run began in 2018, I'd doubt that few if any player, incl. Nickie, has more time that Dan. Hail, rain or shine, wing, center, or full, Dan Morrissey is always there!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1937 - 20/03/2024 18:02:56    2532385

I genuinely don't know who your talking about, I didn't see any of it on either side in Salthill.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 20/03/2024 21:30:58    2532406

Replying To updwell:  "I genuinely don't know who your talking about, I didn't see any of it on either side in Salthill."
I'm guessing it was when David Burke gave Peter Casey a belt into the chest and he went down (and rightly so). Red card all day long

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 20/03/2024 22:12:05    2532412

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Dave, you're always spot on about things Limerick hurling. However, I'd have to question why you included Dan Morrissey in not seeing game time. I think he started out first 3 league games. Indeed, I'd say if you measured all the game time clocked up by all the players in all games since this great run began in 2018, I'd doubt that few if any player, incl. Nickie, has more time that Dan. Hail, rain or shine, wing, center, or full, Dan Morrissey is always there!"
Dan has played league matches yes you are right but mostly against weaker opposition and I think kieky would like to get a good competitive match into him this weekend. Its why i didnt have him in the first row of lads as he has had minutes. Dan is one of the first names on the teemsheet for kiely. Every day.He will be our number 3 all year and that's a certainty. Colossal player.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1134 - 21/03/2024 00:25:36    2532423

Nonsense, where is the evidence to back that claim. I was at the game and watched on TV in total afterwards and I saw no clear cut evidence of diving on Limerick men's' part.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4344 - 21/03/2024 08:53:45    2532432

Replying To OpenStand:  "Be interesting to see Limerick team for Match Saturday, how many newer players will get the start , Adam English , is Fergal O Connor Ok , Mike Casey ?. Will O Donoghue had a great game against Galway as well whilst Hannon not surprisingly looked Rusty."
I thought Hannon settled to the game as it went on. If he plays like he did in the Second Half last Sunday, I would have no fears of him playing at CHB.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4344 - 21/03/2024 08:55:49    2532434

Replying To daveboy:  "Welcome to the world we love in. Domination is loathed by all. It's a human response. No one likes a team dominating. You need to be so much better than your opposition when in that position. We'll get very little this year and no one will care. Just gotta be that much better and not allow the officials to have an impact. Don't make them relevant."
Exactly, Begrudgery is rife and more so because we are not one of the Big Three. The Landlords do not like little Minnows, also referred to as Pixies, getting above their Station and worse still other Minnows don't like it either.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4344 - 21/03/2024 09:00:17    2532435

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I can't speak for the whole of Kilkenny, but why would we not 'like it one little bit'? If Limerick win 5 in a row. good luck to them, they're a great team.
I can't understand why people can't admire and praise a great team like Limerick, without resorting to sneering at other counties."
I agree with you CC. I am a Limerick man who is half Cork and I was reared right on the CK/Lk Border. My wife is from Wexford. When KK were ruling the roost I heard all sorts of begrudging remarks made about them from a small minority of my Social Circle. To drive these crowd mad, all one had to say and I often did, was 'Ah, but this Kilkenny team are a truly great team'. I still believe they were BTW.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4344 - 21/03/2024 09:06:27    2532437

Does anyone know the ref is for tomorrow v Kilkenny or where where might this info be posted?

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1360 - 22/03/2024 15:20:26    2532669

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Does anyone know the ref is for tomorrow v Kilkenny or where where might this info be posted?"
James Owens

bruffgael (Limerick) - Posts: 150 - 22/03/2024 20:44:12    2532714