JP McManus Donates €1M To Each County Board

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Wouldn't it have been better if McManus had donated the money to the GAA, and asked/instructed them to distribute the money to the counties in an equitable manner?"
It has been distributed in an equitable way. 1 million per county. If it was done per club the bigger counties would have received most of the money.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12141 - 17/12/2023 19:28:49    2517220

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I just made a valid point and im sure many can divide numbers .You seem to have a problem with my facts.I have explained already.You brought up about JP McManus and his taxes.Do you begrudge JP his wealth.You obviously have a problem with it.!You see its easy swith tne narative.If you cant inderstand my point then either ask someone that does or just ignore."
In that case the fact you made was completely pointless unless you think people can't divide numbers. If you have no issue with smaller counties receiving more money why make the point so? Bizarre.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 848 - 17/12/2023 19:55:45    2517225

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Wouldn't it have been better if McManus had donated the money to the GAA, and asked/instructed them to distribute the money to the counties in an equitable manner?"
The short answer is No. He has made it very simple and clear. One million to every County Board and they are obliged to distribute every cent to the club's. It's his money and he is entitled to do what ever he wishes with it.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1680 - 17/12/2023 20:14:04    2517228

Fair play to Mr McManus. I don't know much about him or how he became so rich, nor do I care, but it's nice to see someone donate to something that affects so many young lives in a positive fashion. And please remember: HE DOESNT HAVE TO DO THIS!!!

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2140 - 17/12/2023 21:32:02    2517239

Replying To Square_B:  "In that case the fact you made was completely pointless unless you think people can't divide numbers. If you have no issue with smaller counties receiving more money why make the point so? Bizarre."
Yerra, be glad SquareB, the handful of clubs in Leitrim should all be gleefully rubbing their hands at the Limerick man's largesse!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1939 - 18/12/2023 01:12:34    2517249

Replying To Square_B:  "I'll ask the question again... do you think people cannot divide numbers? Your original point or fact as you call it yourself, was offered up without any further context which you make it out to be an issue that needs to be considered. Your message above offers some context but ultimately the point your making is pointless unless you consider it to be an issue on the way the money is divided (i.e. counties with more clubs get less money)?"
"The point you're making is pointless".
Jesus wept it's worse this forum is getting.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1744 - 18/12/2023 05:28:01    2517250

Replying To Galway9801:  ""The point you're making is pointless".
Jesus wept it's worse this forum is getting."
Well said Galway 9801. Some posters are just using this forum as a debating rostrum, forgetting that in most civilised debates you get one shot at making your point, so they keep on at it like a dog with a bone. Then, if they feel they are not getting their "point" across they can get a bit personal. The vast majority of supporters of our games welcome Mr McManus's wonderful gesture. There will always be begrudgers but I get the feeling that not all those putting up differing arguments on here actually fall into this "begrudgery" category. This thing of counties with large numbers of clubs versus smaller counties is, to me, just something that is as it is. I would imagine that if the benefactor had to have somebody calculate the number of clubs in the country and allocate the funds accordingly, some clubs in the lesser populated counties would feel aggrieved. I know that one of the smaller rural clubs in my own county would be a tad annoyed if they were put on a par with say Crokes in Dublin. The parable of the labourer in the vineyard comes to mind.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1012 - 18/12/2023 08:35:09    2517254

Replying To Trump2020:  "Fair play to Mr McManus. I don't know much about him or how he became so rich, nor do I care, but it's nice to see someone donate to something that affects so many young lives in a positive fashion. And please remember: HE DOESNT HAVE TO DO THIS!!!"
He does not. Much is also made of his involvement in horse racing, but unlike other wealthy owners he seems to spread his money about. You see the JP colours in all sorts of races and from a fair spread of stables including smaller operators.

I somehow doubt that most of his horses are making money. He seems genuinely to enjoy his part in it, and as others have said you see him pottering about with the ordinary punters at courses.

Same with GAA. Despite the nasty comments about his support for Limerick, their success is not all down to him, nor is it his vanity project.

I used to be well on the left but as i grow older i feel completely divorced from the begrudgers and state worshippers who given 32 million would either spend it on their friends under the pretence of "helping" or otherwise waste it.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2601 - 18/12/2023 08:47:25    2517255

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "He does not. Much is also made of his involvement in horse racing, but unlike other wealthy owners he seems to spread his money about. You see the JP colours in all sorts of races and from a fair spread of stables including smaller operators.

I somehow doubt that most of his horses are making money. He seems genuinely to enjoy his part in it, and as others have said you see him pottering about with the ordinary punters at courses.

Same with GAA. Despite the nasty comments about his support for Limerick, their success is not all down to him, nor is it his vanity project.

I used to be well on the left but as i grow older i feel completely divorced from the begrudgers and state worshippers who given 32 million would either spend it on their friends under the pretence of "helping" or otherwise waste it."
I am in total agreement with all your points. I, like yourself, used to be on the left, but when that became overpopulated, in my opinion, with zealots some of whom never held down a job in their lives, I mellowed a little. I would be still a little left of centre - not that my political views matters to things relevant to this forum. . As regards JP, whilst he certainly has horses with the high profile trainers he also has, as you say, many with smaller struggling trainers and for some of these, his might be the only "guaranteed" monthly cheque. I would also imagine that the tax take from his Adare Manor including construction and refurbishment, is pretty significant. So, while we won't move to beatify him - just yet - he deserves a big thank you, again, in my humble opinion.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1012 - 18/12/2023 11:19:50    2517277

Replying To Freethinker:  "I am in total agreement with all your points. I, like yourself, used to be on the left, but when that became overpopulated, in my opinion, with zealots some of whom never held down a job in their lives, I mellowed a little. I would be still a little left of centre - not that my political views matters to things relevant to this forum. . As regards JP, whilst he certainly has horses with the high profile trainers he also has, as you say, many with smaller struggling trainers and for some of these, his might be the only "guaranteed" monthly cheque. I would also imagine that the tax take from his Adare Manor including construction and refurbishment, is pretty significant. So, while we won't move to beatify him - just yet - he deserves a big thank you, again, in my humble opinion."
Exactly.
No need to lock his behind.
Just say thanks and move on.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1452 - 18/12/2023 11:49:59    2517283

Replying To Freethinker:  "I am in total agreement with all your points. I, like yourself, used to be on the left, but when that became overpopulated, in my opinion, with zealots some of whom never held down a job in their lives, I mellowed a little. I would be still a little left of centre - not that my political views matters to things relevant to this forum. . As regards JP, whilst he certainly has horses with the high profile trainers he also has, as you say, many with smaller struggling trainers and for some of these, his might be the only "guaranteed" monthly cheque. I would also imagine that the tax take from his Adare Manor including construction and refurbishment, is pretty significant. So, while we won't move to beatify him - just yet - he deserves a big thank you, again, in my humble opinion."
Exactly.
No need to lick his behind.
Just say thanks and move on.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1452 - 18/12/2023 11:50:17    2517284

Replying To Galway9801:  ""The point you're making is pointless".
Jesus wept it's worse this forum is getting."
Didn't know it was a dictatorship around here. Maybe you should move on somewhere else if you find it tough going.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 848 - 18/12/2023 13:26:11    2517298

Replying To Freethinker:  "Well said Galway 9801. Some posters are just using this forum as a debating rostrum, forgetting that in most civilised debates you get one shot at making your point, so they keep on at it like a dog with a bone. Then, if they feel they are not getting their "point" across they can get a bit personal. The vast majority of supporters of our games welcome Mr McManus's wonderful gesture. There will always be begrudgers but I get the feeling that not all those putting up differing arguments on here actually fall into this "begrudgery" category. This thing of counties with large numbers of clubs versus smaller counties is, to me, just something that is as it is. I would imagine that if the benefactor had to have somebody calculate the number of clubs in the country and allocate the funds accordingly, some clubs in the lesser populated counties would feel aggrieved. I know that one of the smaller rural clubs in my own county would be a tad annoyed if they were put on a par with say Crokes in Dublin. The parable of the labourer in the vineyard comes to mind."
This is a forum for discussion. I'm sorry that you don't understand that. I'll call out whatever point I want to call out, particularly the ones that are nonsensical to start with.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 848 - 18/12/2023 13:33:07    2517302

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "So he hasn't donated 1% of his earnings to charity then. It's a PR exercise to gain supporters in the GAA when he faces well-justified criticism for his tax avoidance."
Please explain how he's avoiding paying his taxes?
From everything I have read he pays his taxes everywhere he has to.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 18/12/2023 15:27:59    2517309

A man gives 32 million of his own free will, money he could keep for himself but out comes the begrudgers saying he isn't giving enough. It's true what the song says "Ireland is a very funny place sir, it's a strange and troubled land".
I would much rather he give his money direct to organizations that he thinks needs it than to the Government that would only trn around and give it to their stupid causes.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 18/12/2023 15:52:58    2517318

Replying To cluichethar:  "A man gives 32 million of his own free will, money he could keep for himself but out comes the begrudgers saying he isn't giving enough. It's true what the song says "Ireland is a very funny place sir, it's a strange and troubled land".
I would much rather he give his money direct to organizations that he thinks needs it than to the Government that would only trn around and give it to their stupid causes."
Nailed it, my Mayo chum.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2601 - 18/12/2023 19:22:14    2517340

Replying To Square_B:  "Didn't know it was a dictatorship around here. Maybe you should move on somewhere else if you find it tough going."
It is tough going tbh.
"The point you're making is pointless",

Then you reply by talking about dictatorships or something.

In any event fair play to McManus for his very generous donation, and fair play to him too for achieving such success in his life.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1744 - 18/12/2023 19:48:00    2517341

Replying To Galway9801:  "It is tough going tbh.
"The point you're making is pointless",

Then you reply by talking about dictatorships or something.

In any event fair play to McManus for his very generous donation, and fair play to him too for achieving such success in his life."
Maybe you should head on somewhere else so if that's the case. I wouldn't want you getting stressed. I'll call out whatever post I want to call out thanks very much, it's a forum not a dictatorship (just in case you were in any way unclear about what your posting into).

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 848 - 19/12/2023 16:24:57    2517407

Replying To MayoDan:  "What if everyone in the country took that approach... Don't bother paying tax, but give donations to sports organisations and charities instead?

The whole country would grind to a hault.

As someone interested in GAA it's a nice gesture from McManus, which he didn't have to do, but I wouldn't call him a great man or anything."
His not a resident in this country,me and you are,if you only knew the amount the man gives to charities, hospices,our national hospitals,schools etc and money goes straight to the place or the equipment is paid for,I wish could actually check.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 779 - 19/12/2023 17:54:39    2517418

Replying To Viking66:  "Plenty of GAA clubs named after Protestants Barney."
Sure we had a Protestant president as well.The father of republicanism was protestant.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 779 - 19/12/2023 18:08:21    2517419