JP McManus Donates €1M To Each County Board

JP is GAA to the core and what a wonderful generous thing to do. Although you could argue that is should be split based on playing numbers this is a hugh injection for the smaller counties. There seems to be a huge anti GAA sentiment out their which is a little worrying for the GAA and something like this gives the anti GAA brigade an opportunity to rant.

journeyman (Limerick) - Posts: 114 - 15/12/2023 15:57:43    2516957

Replying To PattyONeill:  "It is perfectly natural to feel bitterness towards millionaires, it is not unique to Ireland. I am bitter towards them, any half sane person would be bitter. I am not going to spend my time sticking up for billionaires online."
Plenty of millionaire republicans up your end, Mystery how that came to be. Wasn't from working anyway.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2595 - 15/12/2023 15:59:00    2516958

Replying To PattyONeill:  "It is perfectly natural to feel bitterness towards millionaires, it is not unique to Ireland. I am bitter towards them, any half sane person would be bitter. I am not going to spend my time sticking up for billionaires online."
Why would it bother you how much money a lad has? I talk to people the very same money is irrelevant. I've met sound rich and sound poor people. I know millionaires who you would think haven't a penny. And I know lads who used to hire a big car in England to come home here at Christmas and tell everyone how well they were doing.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12134 - 15/12/2023 16:11:12    2516960

Just wanted to acknowledge the very kind gesture by JP, hopefully our County Board puts this wind fall to positive use.

Also Happy Christmas to all on this site.

St.Mologga (Cork) - Posts: 109 - 15/12/2023 16:23:48    2516964

Replying To journeyman:  "JP is GAA to the core and what a wonderful generous thing to do. Although you could argue that is should be split based on playing numbers this is a hugh injection for the smaller counties. There seems to be a huge anti GAA sentiment out their which is a little worrying for the GAA and something like this gives the anti GAA brigade an opportunity to rant."
They hate us anyway. Some weird post colonial thing. Lots of them hate anything they associate with traditional Ireland; GAA, language, music and - whether you are religious or not it was the faith of most of our antecedents - Catholicism.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2595 - 15/12/2023 16:55:20    2516970

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Oh I agree Barney its brilliant but if your club was anywhere else besides Dublin or Cork they d get a good bit more.However im just knitpicking as its great news for every club."
Why mention it so? It obviously bothers you.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 848 - 15/12/2023 17:19:19    2516972

You have a funny way of looking at things. The richest in Ireland are the same people who give more to the government in taxes. A big thank you to the man would suit better rather than run the man down. Can a man not better himself so does that not suit you. He should get the freedom of Ireland for what he has done for every county , not just his own.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2019 - 15/12/2023 18:37:19    2516977

Replying To Viking66:  "Why would it bother you how much money a lad has? I talk to people the very same money is irrelevant. I've met sound rich and sound poor people. I know millionaires who you would think haven't a penny. And I know lads who used to hire a big car in England to come home here at Christmas and tell everyone how well they were doing."
Very well put. I also knew guys coming back fromEngland back in the day at Christmas flashing pay packets and tolls of cash. Many of them did not fare well as they got older. I don't know JP personally but I practically rubbed shoulders with him on a few occasions at Leopardstown at Christmas time. He always stood down at the end of the stand among the ordinary Joe's. I was at a funeral another day in a Kildare Church. I happened to be late and just stood in the porch and there, with a few other latecomers, stood the bould JP. A quiet unassuming man, in my opinion and every penny he has he made himself, and is entitled to live where he wants and spend his money whatever way he wants.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1009 - 15/12/2023 19:05:23    2516983

Fair play to him and the 32 counties that will benefit but what about London and New York-are they not part of the all-Ireland series as well-and plenty of young kids coming thru their systems as well!!

Bruno@1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 170 - 15/12/2023 19:51:31    2516987

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "The Irish Mentality of finding something negative in absolutely everything, in this case a €32m donation is sickening, I just don't get it.

If he didn't give a cent, nobody would be saying a thing, he didn't need to give anything at all.

Fair play to him, absolutely phenomenal gesture"
I agree with your post but could we stop with this "the old Irish thing of (insert negative attitude)",, human beings all over the world generally tend to be very similar in traits and attributes, and jealousy and begrudgery are not confined to this island.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1742 - 15/12/2023 19:57:52    2516988

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "They hate us anyway. Some weird post colonial thing. Lots of them hate anything they associate with traditional Ireland; GAA, language, music and - whether you are religious or not it was the faith of most of our antecedents - Catholicism."
Plenty of GAA clubs named after Protestants Barney.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12134 - 15/12/2023 20:12:40    2516989

Replying To Viking66:  "Wouldn't that even things up a bit overall Mick?"
Why?Its not the counties persais thats getting the money .Its the clubs so a county like Cork that have over 250 clubs obviously get less.Same with Dublin .Just cos the counties are gaa rich does nt mean the clubs are..

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3681 - 15/12/2023 20:14:20    2516991

Replying To Square_B:  "Why mention it so? It obviously bothers you."
It does nt bother me one iota.Im delighted for all the clubs in the country.Im just stating fact that the in the counties with the fewer clubs then those clubs will get more money.It does nt bother me at all.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3681 - 15/12/2023 20:22:34    2516994

Replying To jobber:  "Firstly he pays taxes in another county.No Irish person with our taxi bonanza of multinationals can criticise that while availing of very dubious taxi collection ourselves. Some people are just negative by nature and are to be more pitied than scorned.
Secondly this is a hugely generous thing he has done and of huge benefit to small counties particularly dual counties.Thank you JP now lets put It to good use"
Doesn't that make this donation all the sweeter. The more he gives to the GAA the more the Brits lose out in taxes.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2019 - 15/12/2023 20:53:58    2516998

Replying To mickcunningham:  "so will slow sligo hand it back"
Why would any County/Club give the money back?

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 686 - 15/12/2023 22:25:58    2517004

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Why?Its not the counties persais thats getting the money .Its the clubs so a county like Cork that have over 250 clubs obviously get less.Same with Dublin .Just cos the counties are gaa rich does nt mean the clubs are.."
Cork county board shouldn't get any handouts, as they will waste it. They have a fine big mostly unused stadium, so let them fundraise through hosting concerts and rugby games. Learn the hard way!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 217 - 16/12/2023 11:21:03    2517032

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Cork county board shouldn't get any handouts, as they will waste it. They have a fine big mostly unused stadium, so let them fundraise through hosting concerts and rugby games. Learn the hard way!"
The money is NOT for the county boards.The money JP donated is to be shared equally between the clubs and for both Ladies and Men.However as Cork have the most clubs in the country their clubs will get far less than clubs in other counties as its one million per county.For a Cork club thats 1 million divided by 270 or thereabout.For a Leitrim club its 1million divided by 27 or thereabouts.The money is for the clubs thankfully not the county boards.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3681 - 16/12/2023 13:20:26    2517049

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "It does nt bother me one iota.Im delighted for all the clubs in the country.Im just stating fact that the in the counties with the fewer clubs then those clubs will get more money.It does nt bother me at all."
You're stating fact.... a pointless fact to be stating if that's the case. You do know that people can divide numbers?

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 848 - 16/12/2023 14:33:00    2517057

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "The money is NOT for the county boards.The money JP donated is to be shared equally between the clubs and for both Ladies and Men.However as Cork have the most clubs in the country their clubs will get far less than clubs in other counties as its one million per county.For a Cork club thats 1 million divided by 270 or thereabout.For a Leitrim club its 1million divided by 27 or thereabouts.The money is for the clubs thankfully not the county boards."
Your wasting your time trying to explain this. Some people have it in their thick heads, not just on this forum but also from reading comments on newspaper articles that the Co Board will get their hands on this money . No matter how many times you say that it's going to clubs, people will chose to somehow bring the Co Board into it

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1678 - 16/12/2023 14:33:51    2517058

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Cork county board shouldn't get any handouts, as they will waste it. They have a fine big mostly unused stadium, so let them fundraise through hosting concerts and rugby games. Learn the hard way!"
We are on the same sheet here RT . Back in the Nineties, I did my level best to persuade Limerick County Board to desist from Developing the Ennis Road Grounds any further and to consider selling the site off the developers and develop a smaller Stadium, say 20,000 capacity, somewhere else. It was insane to have four 50,000 Stadia in the one Province. However it all went ahead anyway and I have no doubt it contributed to why Limerick were down for so long.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4344 - 16/12/2023 15:48:33    2517062