Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "No its completely different, majority of our wins over Kilkenny were deserved wins, 2022&23 they won because of our missed chances rather than anything positive they did, yesterday is self explanatory."
We were certainly fortunate yesterday, Last year and year before we won because we were the better team and wanted it more, To claim otherwise is like saying that Clare were better than Limerick yesterday because they led for over an hour.

It is a pity they don't do as in Munster and change the running order of the games a bit more. Entirely possible that Galway and Cats be looking at their final rather than ourselves in last game, although Dublin haven't beaten Galway down there since Lar Foley's time I think, in league.

Anyway, be great to see a rematch in Croke Park in the final. Unlikely but might be another mad year like 2019.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2590 - 22/04/2024 10:17:07    2539745

Replying To Viking66:  "I'm no more fearful than I was before tbh.
We knew Dublin would be big and hungry and so they were. We were lacking in height at the back, and Dublin played quick ball in to exploit that so we couldn't get set with extra bodies. They were also a little lucky with the way the ball broke. Maybe we could've sat a little deeper and let them have the points, and hopefully that will be the learning for management.
The learning for the younger players should be if you give away a free out the field with seconds left you absolutely must stop that free being taken quickly. Even if you have to lie on the ball or kick it away. Yes when you are on a yellow you will be sent off, but it wouldn't really matter that deep into injury time, and you won't be banned for a double yellow. That will give your team mates time to get set.
The learning for the referee should be that if a puckout is taken before you blow the whistle you should order it to be retaken, and not let a resultant goal stand.
All in all it was great to see some of the lads back and looking near enough fit. Looking ahead hopefully we grind out a win in Belfast without getting any injuries. That will be 70 more minutes into lads like Mogie, Rory, Dooley etc which should sharpen them up for the Galway game. Hopefully Ryan will be back for that and we can get something out of it. Apparently Lawlor was touch and go going into the game yesterday, so hopefully he will be fully fit for next Saturday.
Casey and Lawlor didn't get on much ball but that wasn't entirely their fault. Most ball played forwards was played to Chin and Rory. I know they are the marquee forwards but as they were starting in the half forward line when they moved forwards to claim puckouts they were effectively closing the space for the inside lads to run out into. They have to hold their positions around the opposition 65 to leave space for the inside forwards to work in. That was the space our inside men used so effectively earlier in the season. If that means pucking the ball slightly shorter then so be it. Because we stretched the middle 3rd by those lads pushing forwards it left too much space for Dublin to run through around the middle 3rd when they got the ball back, either from turnovers or restarts."
Surprised the officials haven't been mentioned here at all, I'll admit I'm 100% biased but they were worth 3-4 points to Dublin yesterday in my opinion, 1st half Crummey gave the most blatant throw 3 yards in front of the linesman on the open stand side, nothing given and Dublin work the ball up and win a free, 1 of the 3 points right before half time, near the when we were 4 or 5 points up Paddy Doyle was dragging out of Rory O'Connor when the dropping ball was landing right infront of the linesman and he did nothing, there was an incident in front of main stand which incensed the crowd near the end, Sutcliffe got a yellow but somehow the end result was a sideline to Dublin, there's a few more I could mention too.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 22/04/2024 10:22:20    2539748

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "I am not going to kick you when you are down lads. I have a soft spot and a heart and the car was quiet on the way home.
We got out of jail, but you never finished the game off. High balls always challenge Wexford backs and they can't deal with it. It is the oldest trick on the book, pepper the square when you need 2 goals. You won't score 2 goals messing around out in the middle of the park as I have seen teams do before. How were you not ready for it?
I didn't think we deserved to get anything from the game, but with how it finished I thought Wexford got exactly what they deserved.
I know its round 1 of 5 but I give us every chance. As I do yourselves. Both of us are written off as Leinster contenders after round 1, I hope 1 of us set the cat amongst the pigeons.
Somebody said 3-4 goal chances, no good if you don't rattle the net. Simple as that.
Goals win games, at every level. Wexford just do not do enough of it. Minors, no goal. U20's v Laois, no goal. I would say if you look back at every level in Wexford, the average goals per game is below 1. To me, this is the mindset change needed. Kilkenny, Limerick, Munster counties, go for goals. Try to work them, tap the point if it isn't working. Wexford are trying to defend with extra men, sweepers, and robbing peter to pay paul. At u14 club matches you see sweepers. Teach a corner and full-back how to defend his own patch and how the rest of the defence need to help and get scores up the other end and stop leaving forward lines with a numerical disadvantage. It sounds old school but its a fact, there is a time for both.
Not since Rory O'Connor have Wexford produced an underage player with the "wow" factor. This is a fact.
Schools are poor in Leinster comps, I am blue in the face talking about combined colleges, hurling is losing ground to soccer across the county, but our clubs are great for playing both games. Jack of all trades, master of none.
A lot of hurling to be done in this championship, but I don't see how anyone could think things were rosy in the garden."
I agree with you regarding us producing underage players with wow factor. I am worried about our future once the older lads steps away in the next few years.

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 146 - 22/04/2024 10:42:09    2539755

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "You make your own luck as they say. Yesterday was the first of those 3 years that you deserved a win, on the other 2 occasions you didn't deserve anything."
Fair play to ye yesterday for sticking at it and that was a brilliant finish by O'Sullivan to draw the game but in 2022&23 we didn't deserve to win because of our wayward shooting but that doesn't hide the fact you relied on opposition mistakes to win those games more than anything else.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 22/04/2024 10:44:01    2539757

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Surprised the officials haven't been mentioned here at all, I'll admit I'm 100% biased but they were worth 3-4 points to Dublin yesterday in my opinion, 1st half Crummey gave the most blatant throw 3 yards in front of the linesman on the open stand side, nothing given and Dublin work the ball up and win a free, 1 of the 3 points right before half time, near the when we were 4 or 5 points up Paddy Doyle was dragging out of Rory O'Connor when the dropping ball was landing right infront of the linesman and he did nothing, there was an incident in front of main stand which incensed the crowd near the end, Sutcliffe got a yellow but somehow the end result was a sideline to Dublin, there's a few more I could mention too."
Dublins first goal was a clear throw and the goalie pucked the ball out straight away after Dunbars point well before any whistle leading to the second goal

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 146 - 22/04/2024 10:45:57    2539759

Was it master stroke by Michael at the end drafting think 3 subs into mid/forward line to give them extra zip fresh legs point to prove in last 10 min . Or jyst giving lads game time thinking game was over .
A few of out better performers on the day were out on their feet .
I don't blame management flor that . As its hard to change defenders in last 10 min when they had held out well all game and looked like we were hone and hosed
What I would say and it always goes back to the players on the field to take it into their own hands to make the decision to sit back and ensure they don't get the ball they needed, same as its the forwards responsibility to put pressure on their out ball . Slowing down the puck out after our point . Tactical fouling no one should get the chance to hit un contested ball into our full back line where we ere left man on man for prob only tine in the game twice it happened . Excuse the first but the 2nd time was so niave.
Saying all that bar the end we liked the better team without hitting the top level.
Chin and Rory were our best forwards but are we not set up to get them on the ball and our main shooters.
Can't say the others are not up to it if that is the game plan . All u could say us it worked . And we git sicker punched at the end . I'm sure the lads are hurting more than anyone and know they let it slip .
We have to stay behind them as we are improving in most aspects and our destiny is still in our own hands.
Bar the last puck of the game we d be singing their praise .
Fine margins .

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 184 - 22/04/2024 10:48:23    2539761

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "We were certainly fortunate yesterday, Last year and year before we won because we were the better team and wanted it more, To claim otherwise is like saying that Clare were better than Limerick yesterday because they led for over an hour.

It is a pity they don't do as in Munster and change the running order of the games a bit more. Entirely possible that Galway and Cats be looking at their final rather than ourselves in last game, although Dublin haven't beaten Galway down there since Lar Foley's time I think, in league.

Anyway, be great to see a rematch in Croke Park in the final. Unlikely but might be another mad year like 2019."
If relying on the opposition fluffing there lines being the better team then yes you were the better team. As I said fair play to O'Sullivan for that last chance yesterday it was a brillant finish.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 22/04/2024 10:48:37    2539762

I would love to go to Corrigan Park on Saturday. Is there a supporters bus running from anywhere in the county?

Sliotharyslope (Wexford) - Posts: 136 - 22/04/2024 10:49:03    2539763

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "We were certainly fortunate yesterday, Last year and year before we won because we were the better team and wanted it more, To claim otherwise is like saying that Clare were better than Limerick yesterday because they led for over an hour.

Anyway, be great to see a rematch in Croke Park in the final. Unlikely but might be another mad year like 2019."
I disagree but there's really no point getting into it at this stage.

It was a miracle ye won in croke park last year.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2720 - 22/04/2024 10:54:35    2539768

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Surprised the officials haven't been mentioned here at all, I'll admit I'm 100% biased but they were worth 3-4 points to Dublin yesterday in my opinion, 1st half Crummey gave the most blatant throw 3 yards in front of the linesman on the open stand side, nothing given and Dublin work the ball up and win a free, 1 of the 3 points right before half time, near the when we were 4 or 5 points up Paddy Doyle was dragging out of Rory O'Connor when the dropping ball was landing right infront of the linesman and he did nothing, there was an incident in front of main stand which incensed the crowd near the end, Sutcliffe got a yellow but somehow the end result was a sideline to Dublin, there's a few more I could mention too."
Yeah I thought the referee was poor enough (boys on the radio couldn't believe some of the frees awarded to both sides as well), but from watching the Clare-Limerick game, it seems to be a broader issue across the top table.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1424 - 22/04/2024 11:05:30    2539775

Replying To zinny:  "They had some fella belting out Boolavogue over the public address system. One thing for sure he left nothing on the field."
Think they heard him in Boolavogue

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12109 - 22/04/2024 11:17:51    2539778

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I still think we can win Leinster.

We've not been outside the top tier of league in nearly a decade, or championship ever. How exactly are we not a top tier county?

People are right to be frustrated. Dublin are gone a massive bogey for us. We keep being better than them and finding ways to keep them in it. We needed to bury them today. Had the tools and couldn't.

It's over now. We have to beat Antrim.

We can't have any slip ups now.

I've said it before and I'll say it again... We need a good sport psychologist."
We have one. But theres little he could do about what way a ball breaks, how quickly a ball is played in, or how a ref referees a passage of play.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12109 - 22/04/2024 11:19:19    2539779

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "I am not going to kick you when you are down lads. I have a soft spot and a heart and the car was quiet on the way home.
We got out of jail, but you never finished the game off. High balls always challenge Wexford backs and they can't deal with it. It is the oldest trick on the book, pepper the square when you need 2 goals. You won't score 2 goals messing around out in the middle of the park as I have seen teams do before. How were you not ready for it?
I didn't think we deserved to get anything from the game, but with how it finished I thought Wexford got exactly what they deserved.
I know its round 1 of 5 but I give us every chance. As I do yourselves. Both of us are written off as Leinster contenders after round 1, I hope 1 of us set the cat amongst the pigeons.
Somebody said 3-4 goal chances, no good if you don't rattle the net. Simple as that.
Goals win games, at every level. Wexford just do not do enough of it. Minors, no goal. U20's v Laois, no goal. I would say if you look back at every level in Wexford, the average goals per game is below 1. To me, this is the mindset change needed. Kilkenny, Limerick, Munster counties, go for goals. Try to work them, tap the point if it isn't working. Wexford are trying to defend with extra men, sweepers, and robbing peter to pay paul. At u14 club matches you see sweepers. Teach a corner and full-back how to defend his own patch and how the rest of the defence need to help and get scores up the other end and stop leaving forward lines with a numerical disadvantage. It sounds old school but its a fact, there is a time for both.
Not since Rory O'Connor have Wexford produced an underage player with the "wow" factor. This is a fact.
Schools are poor in Leinster comps, I am blue in the face talking about combined colleges, hurling is losing ground to soccer across the county, but our clubs are great for playing both games. Jack of all trades, master of none.
A lot of hurling to be done in this championship, but I don't see how anyone could think things were rosy in the garden."
Tbh since Rory O Connor came of age in 2019 I don't think any county has produced a hurler with consistent wow factor. They don't come along very often. Most counties except Cork have pretty much the same top forwards they had in 2019. Modern hurling doesn't suit flair sadly. Lads are encouraged not to give the ball away. Not beat a man. Tackling, size and physicality are up so it's harder to beat your nan with pure talent any more. And it's the same trend in most team sports unfortunately.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12109 - 22/04/2024 11:25:41    2539783

Replying To beano:  "It'd be churlish in the extreme to write off Galway as mediocre- they have the same physicality as Dublin (as in, bigger and stronger than us) but a better spread of top level hurlers.

But do you know what, after yesterday's disappointment, I still think we will sneak through. Why? Because since the round robin was introduced (save for the covid-hit years) we have always played Kilkenny in the final group game (why is it always that way? Surely they could shake it up occassionally and put us againt Galway last and KK vs Dublin). And from my reckoning, KK have only needed a win ONCE in those games, and have been already guaranteed at least the top 3 otherwise (in 2018, when they beat us by a point in Nowlan Park).

Which kind of puts an asteriks beside our recent good form vs. them when the pressure levels have been weighted almost entirely in our favour everytime. So win the games we are expected to win here on out, hope KK do likewise and maybe sneak a draw in Nowlan Park then when they have one eye on the knock-outs already.

But that'll be a moot point if we slip up again somewhere along the way."
They weren't guaranteed top 3 in 2022. If Dublin had of got something from their last game against Galway Kilkenny were out.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12109 - 22/04/2024 11:26:57    2539784

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Listening to Rossi after the game it sounds like Charlie and Jacko have a chance to be back for next week. We could be looking at later in the Leinster Championship for Dee and Jippo. Any update on Cian Molloy and Corey Byrne Dunbar lads havent heard their names mentioned in the injury updates? Molloy was going well the start of the league its a pity he hasnt figured since"
Molloy has height too, something we are lacking. Not sure who you would start Charlie instead of tbh

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12109 - 22/04/2024 11:28:26    2539785

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Right I think this is a showing your true colours post , to clarify 2018 was a defacto Leinster Semi Final both teams guaranteed top 3 but playing for a Leinster final spot, 2019 with Dublin beating Galway the loser was out and it finished a draw, 2022 as we won Kilkenny were relying Galway beating Dublin to get through, Dublin had beat Galway in Leinster only 12 months before, 2023 your right they had no nothing at stake.

Poor homework for someone who works in local media."
Okay, so we've beaten Kilkenny in the last two round robin deciders, but they still went on to win Leinster (something which would be regarded as a hugely successful season for us), and thus defeat meant feck all to them but victory was worth its weight its gold to us. I'll take your point on the draw in 2019, but the bigger freak there was the draw in the other game, and again the net result was that Kilkenny lived to fight another day as well (and weren't in danger of exiting the championship in any case). Obviously, our Leinster final win and semi-final win in 2017 against them are a different kettle of fish altogether and something I'll never forget.

But my initial point remains: our last two wins vs them had far more jeopardy riding on it for us than them, and thus has to be considered in that context. I hope its the same this time around, although seemingly KK lost Murphy, Mullen and Cody to injury yesterday so might be a bit more vulnerable all of a sudden.

Will ignore your last sentence, needless dig.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1424 - 22/04/2024 11:30:45    2539787

A lot of valid points being made here on yesterday.

-Goals have been mentioned and lack of, Wexford have simply got to go after goals more, goals kill games and win games. Liam Óg went in along the endline in second half and blazed wide, Conor Mac had another half chance and fumbled. These are the difference between winning games and losing or drawing. KK ruthlessly destroyed Antrim yesterday with goals and will do the same to other teams. Hurling and hurling tactics would really have you scratching your head - Wexford put a ball onto the edge of the square in the first minute of the game and we won a peno and scored a goal. Dublin were in big trouble in the last minute and decide to lob a few balls in and they got two goals. Who knew that playing balls directly into the danger zone can lead to goals?????? This obviuosly doesnt mean landing every ball directly in but teams need to cut out the fluting around every now and then and just go direct, its a symptom of over obsession with possession. How many more goals would Dublin have scored if they were more direct?? Coaches over complicating the game, when the backs are to the wall then players just take over and launch direct and look what happenned yesterday as was the same V Westmeath last year. Its not rocket science but not sexy enough for modern coaches obvioulsy.

-Referee - People commenting Wexford were hard done by the ref, I dont agree, I think the game suffered greatly because of the referee blowing far too often on both teams, the second half was littered with frees. Wexford are very poor and awkward in the tackle at times and this has been a problem for a while. A ball went into the corner in first half and the Recks had Cian O Sullivan or possibly Currie two to one outnumbered - no danger, Damien went high with the hurl clipped the helmet and its a tap over free. Thats only one example but there were several more, foolish use of the hurl that will always lead to frees..

Its up to Antrim now and they need to be ruthless up there, Antrim are miles off where there were last year with a lot of players gone so really anything but a 5-10 point win is acceptable and thats not being dismissive at all but if KK can put 5-30 something past Antrim we can surely beat them by a decent margin.

OasisorBlur (Wexford) - Posts: 31 - 22/04/2024 11:38:03    2539790

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I disagree but there's really no point getting into it at this stage.

It was a miracle ye won in croke park last year."
None!
It was a miracle that some top inter county players drove so many bad wides last year but if you don't take your chances, that's on you.
As I always say win lose or draw the scoreboard decides every match and everything else is just idle chat.
We all move on.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1140 - 22/04/2024 11:38:15    2539791

Bit off topic but surprised how quiet the Dublin supporters were yesterday, taught the 600 or 700 Kilmacud kids down towards the town end of the open side would have a bit of a Mini Galatasaray but you wouldn't have even noticed they were there from further up the open side.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 22/04/2024 11:40:41    2539792

Replying To Viking66:  "We have one. But theres little he could do about what way a ball breaks, how quickly a ball is played in, or how a ref referees a passage of play."
It is part of game management though. All we needed was a calm head somewhere to just hold to Ball up or commit a foul, literally anything to prevent the ball coming back. Or indeed park the bus. That was so painful yesterday. I can't imagine how the players are feeling, especially Matt

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2720 - 22/04/2024 11:47:47    2539795