Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To Viking66:  "Most of our u12s had a Rackard League, an u12 hurling game, an u12 football game, an u13 soccer game, and an u12 soccer game, and/or an u11 soccer game all in the last 8 days. The bad weather and an extended soccer season is really getting their fitness levels up!"
Yeah its really gone from feast to famine for lads that age, February March even early April was nearly wrote off with the weather.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 22/04/2024 00:23:00    2539670

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Absolutely livid. Better side again.

What is it with Dublin. Under pressure now already."
Its bugging me big time at this stage, to be lucky 1 year is one thing but they've been lucky 3 years in a row.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 22/04/2024 00:25:44    2539671

Replying To wexfan09:  "I don't think I have never read the likes of what goes on on this page. For talk sake, lets just say that game today was blown up at 71mins and we won by the 5/6 points we were ahead by at that time, the same people that are on here slating the management and players at the minute, would be saying they could see us winning Leinster , its baffling. I don't think the whole set up has any chance regardless with the 'supporters' that post here, they draw a match and they're shite, they win a match and there is total unrealistic expectations of them potentially winning Leinster, its laughable! If anyone has looked back at the second goal, there was a quick puck out after Cathals point and the backs didn't have a chance to set back up at all, not an excuse, but thats just life!
We are not a top tier hurling county for the past 20 years and maybe us supporters should accept that! All in all it wasn't a wonderful performance, but maybe that's what we're capable of and the level we're at."
Spot on, if we won we would be heading for an All Ireland, we drew now we are ready for the Joe MC Cup.Did better than the last 2 years when we lost to Dublin. If we can get past Carlo and Antrim safely, why fear Kilkenny or Galway, the latter who I think are completely overrated. I'm staying positive, we only won 1 game in the round robin in 2019.

Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 153 - 22/04/2024 06:24:58    2539679

Replying To wexfan09:  "I don't think I have never read the likes of what goes on on this page. For talk sake, lets just say that game today was blown up at 71mins and we won by the 5/6 points we were ahead by at that time, the same people that are on here slating the management and players at the minute, would be saying they could see us winning Leinster , its baffling. I don't think the whole set up has any chance regardless with the 'supporters' that post here, they draw a match and they're shite, they win a match and there is total unrealistic expectations of them potentially winning Leinster, its laughable! If anyone has looked back at the second goal, there was a quick puck out after Cathals point and the backs didn't have a chance to set back up at all, not an excuse, but thats just life!
We are not a top tier hurling county for the past 20 years and maybe us supporters should accept that! All in all it wasn't a wonderful performance, but maybe that's what we're capable of and the level we're at."
I still think we can win Leinster.

We've not been outside the top tier of league in nearly a decade, or championship ever. How exactly are we not a top tier county?

People are right to be frustrated. Dublin are gone a massive bogey for us. We keep being better than them and finding ways to keep them in it. We needed to bury them today. Had the tools and couldn't.

It's over now. We have to beat Antrim.

We can't have any slip ups now.

I've said it before and I'll say it again... We need a good sport psychologist.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2719 - 22/04/2024 07:08:53    2539681

After that display I would be fearful for our prospects in our remaining games.
We really should have had it all wrapped up. 70 minutes gone, 5 points up but then we handed them 2 goals. I agree with other posters saying that we should have defended much better in those last few minutes. Fair play to Dublin, they exploited our weakness which was our inability to cope with the high ball into the danger area. Ryan is hugely missed at full back.
Òur forwards with the exception of Chin and Rory were easily outplayed and never got into the game.
Mogie, Dunbar, Casey and Richie were poor to put it mildly. Mac and Cian Byrne would have been more potent if started. Changes were so slow to happen when it should have been obvious to management that some of our lads weren't up to scratch.
The positives-- Chin and Rory were brilliant. Let's hope and pray that they can stay injury free for the duration.
We didn't lose.
Surely we can learn from our mistakes made yesterday.
Going forward we should take 4 points in our games against Antrim and Carlow.
We must hope that Dublin slip up when they play Kilkenny and Galway.
I believe with the right team formation against the big two we can put it up to them and get at least one win.
Big improvement needed but it is achievable with the right mindset.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 286 - 22/04/2024 07:16:45    2539682

The old adage of there being a huge difference between league and championship definitely ring true anyway but to have 3 minutes injury time, be 5 points up, score a point and still draw is pretty ridiculous in all honesty.

That comes down to in game management which doesn't just fall down to the manager, to concede one goal like that is bad, to concede two is just stupid, o hanlon badly exposed twice. Again we brought mc Donald in and then started spraying ball intonthe corner, that's not his game, he never had a rapid trun of pace, again in game management.

Physicality is a huge issue, looking at the warm up you could see the sheer size of the Dublin team and the dominated us physically, particularly our attack apart from Chin and O Connor. That's why we miss players like Ryan and Jack O Connor badly. We had 2 forwards that showed up yesterday, and there's nothing wrong with saying that, it's just a fact.

There's a reason most of our success in recent years has come from a running game and we didn't do enough of it yesterday, we were a bit of a mish mash of all things to all men.

We are still in this but we need to smarten up and quickly.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1353 - 22/04/2024 08:19:28    2539688

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "what was the entertainment? or should i ask"
They had some fella belting out Boolavogue over the public address system. One thing for sure he left nothing on the field.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1806 - 22/04/2024 08:30:01    2539692

Replying To Magpie2:  "After that display I would be fearful for our prospects in our remaining games.
We really should have had it all wrapped up. 70 minutes gone, 5 points up but then we handed them 2 goals. I agree with other posters saying that we should have defended much better in those last few minutes. Fair play to Dublin, they exploited our weakness which was our inability to cope with the high ball into the danger area. Ryan is hugely missed at full back.
Òur forwards with the exception of Chin and Rory were easily outplayed and never got into the game.
Mogie, Dunbar, Casey and Richie were poor to put it mildly. Mac and Cian Byrne would have been more potent if started. Changes were so slow to happen when it should have been obvious to management that some of our lads weren't up to scratch.
The positives-- Chin and Rory were brilliant. Let's hope and pray that they can stay injury free for the duration.
We didn't lose.
Surely we can learn from our mistakes made yesterday.
Going forward we should take 4 points in our games against Antrim and Carlow.
We must hope that Dublin slip up when they play Kilkenny and Galway.
I believe with the right team formation against the big two we can put it up to them and get at least one win.
Big improvement needed but it is achievable with the right mindset."
I'm no more fearful than I was before tbh.
We knew Dublin would be big and hungry and so they were. We were lacking in height at the back, and Dublin played quick ball in to exploit that so we couldn't get set with extra bodies. They were also a little lucky with the way the ball broke. Maybe we could've sat a little deeper and let them have the points, and hopefully that will be the learning for management.
The learning for the younger players should be if you give away a free out the field with seconds left you absolutely must stop that free being taken quickly. Even if you have to lie on the ball or kick it away. Yes when you are on a yellow you will be sent off, but it wouldn't really matter that deep into injury time, and you won't be banned for a double yellow. That will give your team mates time to get set.
The learning for the referee should be that if a puckout is taken before you blow the whistle you should order it to be retaken, and not let a resultant goal stand.
All in all it was great to see some of the lads back and looking near enough fit. Looking ahead hopefully we grind out a win in Belfast without getting any injuries. That will be 70 more minutes into lads like Mogie, Rory, Dooley etc which should sharpen them up for the Galway game. Hopefully Ryan will be back for that and we can get something out of it. Apparently Lawlor was touch and go going into the game yesterday, so hopefully he will be fully fit for next Saturday.
Casey and Lawlor didn't get on much ball but that wasn't entirely their fault. Most ball played forwards was played to Chin and Rory. I know they are the marquee forwards but as they were starting in the half forward line when they moved forwards to claim puckouts they were effectively closing the space for the inside lads to run out into. They have to hold their positions around the opposition 65 to leave space for the inside forwards to work in. That was the space our inside men used so effectively earlier in the season. If that means pucking the ball slightly shorter then so be it. Because we stretched the middle 3rd by those lads pushing forwards it left too much space for Dublin to run through around the middle 3rd when they got the ball back, either from turnovers or restarts.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12109 - 22/04/2024 09:20:46    2539704

I am not going to kick you when you are down lads. I have a soft spot and a heart and the car was quiet on the way home.
We got out of jail, but you never finished the game off. High balls always challenge Wexford backs and they can't deal with it. It is the oldest trick on the book, pepper the square when you need 2 goals. You won't score 2 goals messing around out in the middle of the park as I have seen teams do before. How were you not ready for it?
I didn't think we deserved to get anything from the game, but with how it finished I thought Wexford got exactly what they deserved.
I know its round 1 of 5 but I give us every chance. As I do yourselves. Both of us are written off as Leinster contenders after round 1, I hope 1 of us set the cat amongst the pigeons.
Somebody said 3-4 goal chances, no good if you don't rattle the net. Simple as that.
Goals win games, at every level. Wexford just do not do enough of it. Minors, no goal. U20's v Laois, no goal. I would say if you look back at every level in Wexford, the average goals per game is below 1. To me, this is the mindset change needed. Kilkenny, Limerick, Munster counties, go for goals. Try to work them, tap the point if it isn't working. Wexford are trying to defend with extra men, sweepers, and robbing peter to pay paul. At u14 club matches you see sweepers. Teach a corner and full-back how to defend his own patch and how the rest of the defence need to help and get scores up the other end and stop leaving forward lines with a numerical disadvantage. It sounds old school but its a fact, there is a time for both.
Not since Rory O'Connor have Wexford produced an underage player with the "wow" factor. This is a fact.
Schools are poor in Leinster comps, I am blue in the face talking about combined colleges, hurling is losing ground to soccer across the county, but our clubs are great for playing both games. Jack of all trades, master of none.
A lot of hurling to be done in this championship, but I don't see how anyone could think things were rosy in the garden.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1140 - 22/04/2024 09:28:03    2539709

Cusack incredibly dismissive of our chance, or Dublin's for that matter, of making a Leinster final. KK or Galway aren't that strong for it to be a foregone conclusion. Our panel might be a lot stronger by the Galway game with players back from injury. I know it's Wexford so we can never be too confident but Antrim seem in complete disarray this year. Get the win and treat that Galway game like a Leinster final.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 217 - 22/04/2024 09:37:58    2539717

It'd be churlish in the extreme to write off Galway as mediocre- they have the same physicality as Dublin (as in, bigger and stronger than us) but a better spread of top level hurlers.

But do you know what, after yesterday's disappointment, I still think we will sneak through. Why? Because since the round robin was introduced (save for the covid-hit years) we have always played Kilkenny in the final group game (why is it always that way? Surely they could shake it up occassionally and put us againt Galway last and KK vs Dublin). And from my reckoning, KK have only needed a win ONCE in those games, and have been already guaranteed at least the top 3 otherwise (in 2018, when they beat us by a point in Nowlan Park).

Which kind of puts an asteriks beside our recent good form vs. them when the pressure levels have been weighted almost entirely in our favour everytime. So win the games we are expected to win here on out, hope KK do likewise and maybe sneak a draw in Nowlan Park then when they have one eye on the knock-outs already.

But that'll be a moot point if we slip up again somewhere along the way.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1424 - 22/04/2024 09:39:44    2539719

Replying To zinny:  "They had some fella belting out Boolavogue over the public address system. One thing for sure he left nothing on the field."
It was Anthony Kearns

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2719 - 22/04/2024 09:40:22    2539720

Replying To zinny:  "They had some fella belting out Boolavogue over the public address system. One thing for sure he left nothing on the field."
Half-time 'entertainment'? Fine song and all that, but during HT of a hurling match on a sunny Sunday afternoon?
Who decides these things?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2481 - 22/04/2024 09:40:28    2539721

Replying To Timbertony:  "Murphy was ball watching for starters but after just conceding a goal surely MOH should be dropping off and letting someone else compete with the first ball. Foul them if needs be with time up. Liam Ryan is a loss but he was at the same craic last year v Westmeath. Age old problem I'm afraid of heart overruling heads in critical moments.

Antrim took a right hiding today in KK but gave us plenty of it last year."
Did Antrim give us plenty of it last year because they were good or because we didn't finish them off when we had the chance?

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 278 - 22/04/2024 09:41:41    2539724

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Its bugging me big time at this stage, to be lucky 1 year is one thing but they've been lucky 3 years in a row."
To be fair, you could say much the same about us when we have played Kilkenny in the last few years

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 278 - 22/04/2024 09:42:55    2539725

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "To be fair, you could say much the same about us when we have played Kilkenny in the last few years"
No its completely different, majority of our wins over Kilkenny were deserved wins, 2022&23 they won because of our missed chances rather than anything positive they did, yesterday is self explanatory.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 22/04/2024 09:54:39    2539732

Listening to Rossi after the game it sounds like Charlie and Jacko have a chance to be back for next week. We could be looking at later in the Leinster Championship for Dee and Jippo. Any update on Cian Molloy and Corey Byrne Dunbar lads havent heard their names mentioned in the injury updates? Molloy was going well the start of the league its a pity he hasnt figured since

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 146 - 22/04/2024 09:55:10    2539733

Replying To beano:  "It'd be churlish in the extreme to write off Galway as mediocre- they have the same physicality as Dublin (as in, bigger and stronger than us) but a better spread of top level hurlers.

But do you know what, after yesterday's disappointment, I still think we will sneak through. Why? Because since the round robin was introduced (save for the covid-hit years) we have always played Kilkenny in the final group game (why is it always that way? Surely they could shake it up occassionally and put us againt Galway last and KK vs Dublin). And from my reckoning, KK have only needed a win ONCE in those games, and have been already guaranteed at least the top 3 otherwise (in 2018, when they beat us by a point in Nowlan Park).

Which kind of puts an asteriks beside our recent good form vs. them when the pressure levels have been weighted almost entirely in our favour everytime. So win the games we are expected to win here on out, hope KK do likewise and maybe sneak a draw in Nowlan Park then when they have one eye on the knock-outs already.

But that'll be a moot point if we slip up again somewhere along the way."
Right I think this is a showing your true colours post , to clarify 2018 was a defacto Leinster Semi Final both teams guaranteed top 3 but playing for a Leinster final spot, 2019 with Dublin beating Galway the loser was out and it finished a draw, 2022 as we won Kilkenny were relying Galway beating Dublin to get through, Dublin had beat Galway in Leinster only 12 months before, 2023 your right they had no nothing at stake.

Poor homework for someone who works in local media.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 22/04/2024 10:04:19    2539737

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Did Antrim give us plenty of it last year because they were good or because we didn't finish them off when we had the chance?"
The latter I would say, started treating the second half like a challenge game and nearly paid the price. The first half we scored at our ease but didn't bury them. Going on results Antrim are nowhere near that level this season.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 217 - 22/04/2024 10:14:13    2539743

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Its bugging me big time at this stage, to be lucky 1 year is one thing but they've been lucky 3 years in a row."
You make your own luck as they say. Yesterday was the first of those 3 years that you deserved a win, on the other 2 occasions you didn't deserve anything.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1140 - 22/04/2024 10:14:45    2539744