Wexford Hurling thread 2024

One thing I don't understand is our approach off puck-outs. With Liam Ryan and Jack O'Connor missing, we have a lack of height both down the spine of our defence and in the half-forward line. Chin was our only real threat today in terms of winning high ball in the half-forward line, Rory was able to win ball as well but that was from lower ball in. It felt like in the first-half that we had no short option and were forced to hit it long to a half-forward line who were unable to win ball. This was less of a problem in the second half when we moved Chin out the field and was probably why we put in a better performance in the second half.

What I don't understand is that our team was not very big today and not really capable of winning physical duels but what they were capable of doing was playing a short game and running at Dublin. We didn't do that and that really hurt our ability to hit good ball into the full-forward line. Seamus Casey hardly touched the ball and yet I couldn't really say he played that poorly mainly because we didn't even give him the chance to play poorly with the lack of ball that went in!

We worked the ball well going short in the league, why did we deviate from our plan today? A short game is what suits us best (And ironically Dublin like to play short even though they'd probably be better off going direct) and yet we seemed to prefer going long the whole time to players who prefer short ball to long ball. Limerick don't really go long that often to their half-forward line but then again, they drop Hannon into the full-back line and O'Donoghue and O'Donovan into the half-back line off puck-outs, creating two banks of four. Don't press up on the puck-out and Limerick are able to work it out easily; press up on the puck-out and Limerick can then play the ball long into their big men 1v1 in acres of space.

Why can't we do the same? If we had Damien Reck dropping into the full-back line off the puck-out and then Kevin Foley and Conor Hearne into the half-back line, we'd be able to work the ball out no bother if they didn't push up on us. If they did push up on us, that would leave Lee and Rory with 1v1s in acres of space. Why don't we do this? It would suit our team down to the ground and would stop us from getting in our own way

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 280 - 21/04/2024 20:45:27    2539612

If you take Lee Chin,Rory O Connor &Damien Reck out of that panel of 26 players, Wexford are on par with the Carlos's, Westmeath, Laois, Offaly and possibly Kerry's.

Basically 3 players and especially 1 main player are keeping us out of Joe McDonagh level hurling from what I can see over the past 12 months of championship hurling.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 744 - 21/04/2024 21:03:18    2539621

Replying To Past hurler:  "If you take Lee Chin,Rory O Connor &Damien Reck out of that panel of 26 players, Wexford are on par with the Carlos's, Westmeath, Laois, Offaly and possibly Kerry's.

Basically 3 players and especially 1 main player are keeping us out of Joe McDonagh level hurling from what I can see over the past 12 months of championship hurling."
We retained division 1 status with 2/3 of those players missing for all or most of the campaign. We routinely beat Kilkenny who've contested the last two AI finals. Liam Ryan, Matthew O'Hanlon, Shane Reck, Dee, Moggy, etc. are all above McDonagh level players without question. Today was terrible and we may slip to McDonagh standard in the future, the pipeline looks a little grim at the moment, but you're way off in your evaluation of the current panel.

Are we good enough to win an AI? No, 2019 was this team's best chance. Are we McDonagh cup level? Nope, definitely not.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 232 - 21/04/2024 21:22:49    2539623

Replying To hunting:  "Will clubber or any of those be showing the wexford v antrim game does anyone know?"
On GAAGO.

Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 153 - 21/04/2024 21:24:17    2539625

I don't think I have never read the likes of what goes on on this page. For talk sake, lets just say that game today was blown up at 71mins and we won by the 5/6 points we were ahead by at that time, the same people that are on here slating the management and players at the minute, would be saying they could see us winning Leinster , its baffling. I don't think the whole set up has any chance regardless with the 'supporters' that post here, they draw a match and they're shite, they win a match and there is total unrealistic expectations of them potentially winning Leinster, its laughable! If anyone has looked back at the second goal, there was a quick puck out after Cathals point and the backs didn't have a chance to set back up at all, not an excuse, but thats just life!
We are not a top tier hurling county for the past 20 years and maybe us supporters should accept that! All in all it wasn't a wonderful performance, but maybe that's what we're capable of and the level we're at.

wexfan09 (Wexford) - Posts: 32 - 21/04/2024 21:24:23    2539627

Replying To zinny:  "I am not sure what will torment me the longest, the half time entertainment or conceding two goals in 90 secs in injury time."
Well to be honest my reaction to both was "ah here, seriously like, come on!"

A powerful voice and singer but like come on!

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1353 - 21/04/2024 21:30:48    2539630

Replying To Past hurler:  "If you take Lee Chin,Rory O Connor &Damien Reck out of that panel of 26 players, Wexford are on par with the Carlos's, Westmeath, Laois, Offaly and possibly Kerry's.

Basically 3 players and especially 1 main player are keeping us out of Joe McDonagh level hurling from what I can see over the past 12 months of championship hurling."
Whatever about Reck and Rory… if you took chin out of that team we would be in very serious trouble.

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 67 - 21/04/2024 21:33:00    2539631

Way over the top

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2720 - 21/04/2024 22:11:47    2539640

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "One thing I don't understand is our approach off puck-outs. With Liam Ryan and Jack O'Connor missing, we have a lack of height both down the spine of our defence and in the half-forward line. Chin was our only real threat today in terms of winning high ball in the half-forward line, Rory was able to win ball as well but that was from lower ball in. It felt like in the first-half that we had no short option and were forced to hit it long to a half-forward line who were unable to win ball. This was less of a problem in the second half when we moved Chin out the field and was probably why we put in a better performance in the second half.

What I don't understand is that our team was not very big today and not really capable of winning physical duels but what they were capable of doing was playing a short game and running at Dublin. We didn't do that and that really hurt our ability to hit good ball into the full-forward line. Seamus Casey hardly touched the ball and yet I couldn't really say he played that poorly mainly because we didn't even give him the chance to play poorly with the lack of ball that went in!

We worked the ball well going short in the league, why did we deviate from our plan today? A short game is what suits us best (And ironically Dublin like to play short even though they'd probably be better off going direct) and yet we seemed to prefer going long the whole time to players who prefer short ball to long ball. Limerick don't really go long that often to their half-forward line but then again, they drop Hannon into the full-back line and O'Donoghue and O'Donovan into the half-back line off puck-outs, creating two banks of four. Don't press up on the puck-out and Limerick are able to work it out easily; press up on the puck-out and Limerick can then play the ball long into their big men 1v1 in acres of space.

Why can't we do the same? If we had Damien Reck dropping into the full-back line off the puck-out and then Kevin Foley and Conor Hearne into the half-back line, we'd be able to work the ball out no bother if they didn't push up on us. If they did push up on us, that would leave Lee and Rory with 1v1s in acres of space. Why don't we do this? It would suit our team down to the ground and would stop us from getting in our own way"
We did it so well from the start of the year and didn't try it once today.

If we had I genuinely think we could have won so handy.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2720 - 21/04/2024 22:14:05    2539641

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "High ball into the square was our undoing last year against Westmeath…same v cork in the league and then again today. It was so important to win today and have the head to head advantage over Dublin. Chin and Rory were outstanding…same with Matt ohanlon (need to see the goals again to see if he could have done better defending them). Missed 2 great goal chances
Same old problems there with our puck outs and I actually feel sorry for mark fanning with lack of options available to him. Honestly don't think there's a goalkeeper in the country who would do any better.
Just sick. That game had to be shut down. Management need to have a good look at themselves for that. I remember chin was brought back to defend the goal in the '19 Leinster final. Same should've been done today."
Hate to say it. Matt was badly at fault for both goals.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2720 - 21/04/2024 22:17:38    2539643

Looking back on it there on replay, the second goal was unfortunate, ball could have broken anywhere but happened to break right into O'Sullivan's path, anywhere else and we probably would have won the game

Shouldn't have allowed Dublin to win possession for the first goal that late on although I'm not sure I saw much of a handpassing action there. Mind you, TJ Reid got pinged for a throw late on last year against us that was an actual handpass and we would've been relegated otherwise

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 280 - 21/04/2024 22:19:36    2539644

Replying To Yellowhelmet:  "Not too many positives to take from a draw. If chin or Rory get injured we are in serious trouble.

5 up at 70 mins. Criminal to only get a draw from there.

I thought we were too late with some substitutions. Rory and Foley out on their feet for a while before they were taken off.

Anyway looking forward to trip to Belfast next weekend.

This could all come down to score difference at the end."
I actually thought it damaged the game plan we've worked on all year.

Instead of head up, taking our time, spreading the ball and stretching the defence it was just give it to Chinner. He's amazing obviously, but it made our forward unit worse.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2720 - 21/04/2024 22:19:41    2539645

Saw the goals again in the Sunday game. First goal. 3 on 3 with no extra man back to deal with the expected long ball dublin had to launch. Second goal. 3 on 3 again, knowing a long ball was coming and murphy didn't track the run of his marker.

Only ourselves to blame.

Yellowhelmet (Australia) - Posts: 89 - 21/04/2024 22:21:07    2539646

Replying To Yellowhelmet:  "We only had 5 of the starting 15 score. Dublin had 9. Tells its own story.

At least the sun was shining and it was quiet warm in the park for once."
Obviously you'd like a larger share of scorers but if you're trying to say that's why we didn't win well I can't agree. We were the better team and just one of those endings. I actually thought we were good today, not brilliant but good. We need to see out games a lot better.

Heartandhand96 (Wexford) - Posts: 14 - 21/04/2024 23:13:04    2539658

Replying To Doylerwex:  "We did it so well from the start of the year and didn't try it once today.

If we had I genuinely think we could have won so handy."
Yeah, we were able to rack up a good score against Waterford in the second-half when we played to our strengths (Although they helped us out on the day) but today, it was as if we just bypassed our half-back line, midfield, and most of our half-forward line and instead decided to double down on playing ball into Rory and Lee.

Hurlers like Kevin Foley and Conor Hearne need a running game and we're better off with Richie Lawlor out the field rather than pigeon-holing him inside, we're our own worst enemies at times, we've caused teams problems when we've run at them and yet we didn't run at Dublin that much today!

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 280 - 21/04/2024 23:33:10    2539660

Sickening result today lads . High balls into the square caused panic just like against Westmeath last year. Was dissapointed with our play overall. I agree we were way too predictable with our play .We forgot the way we had been playing all through the league and went route one with everything. Thought Hanlon was the best of the backs but could have done better for the last goal. Think we really need Jippo's height and physicality back there but Rossi said his injury is coming along slowly sounds like he might not be back until the Carlow game. I'd expect Conor Mac and Cian Byrne to start in Antrim next week . Jacko May start if fit enough . We need more aerial ability in the half forward line. Keith was very positive on the radio saying he was very pleased with the second half performance. In reality I'd say there is a lot of aspects the management team will review. I expect a reaction from the players next week we must be fully focused and deliver a performance. We were in this exact same position in 2019 so all is not lost yet. However I agree with another poster I'd be very worried about where we will be in 2-3 years time when Chinner, Liam Og , Dee , Mac etc have all stepped away . I'd be looking at investing more in our coaching structures rather than putting more money into the park

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 146 - 21/04/2024 23:44:40    2539661

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "High ball into the square was our undoing last year against Westmeath…same v cork in the league and then again today. It was so important to win today and have the head to head advantage over Dublin. Chin and Rory were outstanding…same with Matt ohanlon (need to see the goals again to see if he could have done better defending them). Missed 2 great goal chances
Same old problems there with our puck outs and I actually feel sorry for mark fanning with lack of options available to him. Honestly don't think there's a goalkeeper in the country who would do any better.
Just sick. That game had to be shut down. Management need to have a good look at themselves for that. I remember chin was brought back to defend the goal in the '19 Leinster final. Same should've been done today."
Brian Cody used to say that if grown adult players can't lead and make decisions on the field of play for themselves in game management situations he didn't want them on his team.

Michael Fennelly used to take it upon himseif in big matches to drop into defence when Kilkenny were ahead to pack out the defence and reduce a goal chance.

Management me hole, surely lads are hurling long enough to close out a 5 point lead in the 71st minute.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 744 - 21/04/2024 23:58:43    2539664

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Looking back on it there on replay, the second goal was unfortunate, ball could have broken anywhere but happened to break right into O'Sullivan's path, anywhere else and we probably would have won the game

Shouldn't have allowed Dublin to win possession for the first goal that late on although I'm not sure I saw much of a handpassing action there. Mind you, TJ Reid got pinged for a throw late on last year against us that was an actual handpass and we would've been relegated otherwise"
Murphy was ball watching for starters but after just conceding a goal surely MOH should be dropping off and letting someone else compete with the first ball. Foul them if needs be with time up. Liam Ryan is a loss but he was at the same craic last year v Westmeath. Age old problem I'm afraid of heart overruling heads in critical moments.

Antrim took a right hiding today in KK but gave us plenty of it last year.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 217 - 22/04/2024 00:12:21    2539666

If ever a post had a bang of those lads who call in on Talksport giving out about their favourite PL team.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 22/04/2024 00:14:07    2539667

Replying To wexfan09:  "I don't think I have never read the likes of what goes on on this page. For talk sake, lets just say that game today was blown up at 71mins and we won by the 5/6 points we were ahead by at that time, the same people that are on here slating the management and players at the minute, would be saying they could see us winning Leinster , its baffling. I don't think the whole set up has any chance regardless with the 'supporters' that post here, they draw a match and they're shite, they win a match and there is total unrealistic expectations of them potentially winning Leinster, its laughable! If anyone has looked back at the second goal, there was a quick puck out after Cathals point and the backs didn't have a chance to set back up at all, not an excuse, but thats just life!
We are not a top tier hurling county for the past 20 years and maybe us supporters should accept that! All in all it wasn't a wonderful performance, but maybe that's what we're capable of and the level we're at."
I wouldn't pass much heed on alot of what posted here and social media, plenty of valid stuff but plenty of knee jerk stuff too, I'd agree and disagree on your last sentence plenty of players didn't stand out today but I firmly believe their capable of much more.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 22/04/2024 00:18:19    2539669