The Musings Of Tom Smith

Holding out the Hand of friendship to our minority Brethern

Tomsmith here

I feel that Nothern Irish Clubs up in the six Counties could start a campaign of inclusiveness by extending the hand of friendship to other communities that are not involved in the Gaa.
This could be no Gaa games during local Sunday service
This could be Gaa County players visiting non Gaa Schools
This Could be the second weekend in July ( usually falls around the 12th July) being a free weekend from all Sports
This could involve inviting the local Flute Band to play at your GAA Games
This could involve local Gaa teams to organise local fund raisers for local places of wordship.
This could involve all and I say all elected Politian's to local Gaa functions.
This could involve asking / requesting all types of local businesses to sponsor Gaa teams
This could involve handing out free membership to people who not / or would not normally go to Gaa games

These are afew suggestions probably many more suggestions out there from say Viking 66 or Killing Fields or Patty o Neill

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 06/02/2024 15:39:33    2524782

Replying To Administrator:  "2524711 - Will Power Sharing Extend To The GAA - New Topic
06/02/2024 10:52:45 - tomsmith (3823) - National

Tomsmith here

We here in Southern Ireland have a wonderful organisation called the GAA which some advocates of other sports call the Grab All association.
I feel with our wonderfull acsssociation that we should hold the hand of friendship out to other minority Sports.
Sports like Rounders, LGFA, Soccer, Cricket are all struggling for money for spectators and indeed some are in dier needs of accomodation.
It is also noted that some of these Sports are played in Nothern Ireland by what is now by a minority .
So I say invite these people who are struggling to keep ones tradition going to participate in our wonderfull game ie GAA."
Tom… I like your idea of county boards providing transport for supporters. It's been done recently by Crystal Palace FC. They provided a free bus to Liverpool from Selhurst Park for a recent FA cup game against Everton. On top of that,tickets for pensioners were 10 pounds. Now, Cavan have a league game in Cork coming up…. Buses from Cavan town down to Cork would swell the attendance as football in Cork is not well supported. If the game is in pairc Ui Rinn it would at least create an atmosphere, and might make for an interesting spectacle.Pubs and restaurants would give a rousing welcome for the Cavan supporters!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 217 - 06/02/2024 16:21:27    2524797

Replying To tomsmith:  "Holding out the Hand of friendship to our minority Brethern

Tomsmith here

I feel that Nothern Irish Clubs up in the six Counties could start a campaign of inclusiveness by extending the hand of friendship to other communities that are not involved in the Gaa.
This Could be the second weekend in July ( usually falls around the 12th July) being a free weekend from all Sports
This could involve local Gaa teams to organise local fund raisers for local places of wordship.
This could involve asking / requesting all types of local businesses to sponsor Gaa teams
This could involve handing out free membership to people who not / or would not normally go to Gaa games

These are afew suggestions probably many more suggestions out there from say Viking 66 or Killing Fields or Patty o Neill"
I'll get the ball rolling with a suggestion, SU.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2018 - 06/02/2024 16:32:57    2524800

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Tom… I like your idea of county boards providing transport for supporters. It's been done recently by Crystal Palace FC. They provided a free bus to Liverpool from Selhurst Park for a recent FA cup game against Everton. On top of that,tickets for pensioners were 10 pounds. Now, Cavan have a league game in Cork coming up…. Buses from Cavan town down to Cork would swell the attendance as football in Cork is not well supported. If the game is in pairc Ui Rinn it would at least create an atmosphere, and might make for an interesting spectacle.Pubs and restaurants would give a rousing welcome for the Cavan supporters!"
Forget about the pubs and restaurants, them Cavan lads and lassies will bring their own sandwiches and they'll also bring plastic beakers filled with Ribena, you'll get no spend out of them !

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 06/02/2024 16:50:59    2524802

Replying To tomsmith:  "Holding out the Hand of friendship to our minority Brethern

Tomsmith here

These are afew suggestions probably many more suggestions out there from say Viking 66 or Killing Fields or Patty o Neill"
Great suggestions Tom! However with the current illness to King Charles, we're looking at a possibility of another coronation, King Billy the second! In that regard our northern brethren will be consumed with patriotism. In fact, as I have spent a fair amount of time around Antrim, I put some of your proposals to a friend of mine in Carrickfergus. Not well received, Tom… she even suspected I was taking a hand at her. They know what GAA is, but do not want any part of it. Tom… they might need further cajoling!!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 217 - 06/02/2024 17:39:20    2524819

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Great suggestions Tom! However with the current illness to King Charles, we're looking at a possibility of another coronation, King Billy the second! In that regard our northern brethren will be consumed with patriotism. In fact, as I have spent a fair amount of time around Antrim, I put some of your proposals to a friend of mine in Carrickfergus. Not well received, Tom… she even suspected I was taking a hand at her. They know what GAA is, but do not want any part of it. Tom… they might need further cajoling!!"
Don't feed the crocodile Ryan i.e. the attention seeking, boringly repetitive smithy from Cavan!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1823 - 07/02/2024 11:43:52    2524895

Replying To baire:  "Don't feed the crocodile Ryan i.e. the attention seeking, boringly repetitive smithy from Cavan!"
"Don't feed the crocodile" - > Immediately feeds the crocodile

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12130 - 07/02/2024 12:30:06    2524909

Tomsmith here

Get on to Jeffrey Donaldson tom, he will be only to happy to hear from you.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1140 - 07/02/2024 12:40:58    2524911

Tomsmith here live from Cavan

Ryan Team from County CorkI
Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 178

Tomsmith here
Its Odious how that wan frae Carrickfergus would feel about the Hand ,
Hopefully you explained that it was the eminent / experienced/ senior Poster Tomsmith who made these wonderfull suggestions and it wasent someone like Viking or Killing Fields ( Ough what an outrageous handle) or Patty from L, Derry who made it.
I feel that the Irish Hockey Club, Cricket Club , FAI or FIA and Gaa could all have a closed weekend on say the second weekend in July. Sure it would give all the young people a free weekend to Travel to parades which mainly feature
lovely Pipe and Flute music Bands These Twelfth of July Parades organised by local Brethern celebrate the anniversary of the defeat of Catholic King James by Protestant King William in the Battle of the Boyne in 1690. These parades are held annually and involve the Orange Order marching through Belfast and other cities in Northern Ireland and indeed Rosnowlagh near Sligo. .
It would be agreat hand of friendship for all people irrespective of your views to attend these gatherings .
I am sure Ryant eam your wan up in Carrickfergus would have a different view on u down South

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 08/02/2024 14:19:48    2525101

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here live from Cavan

Ryan Team from County CorkI
Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 178

Tomsmith here
Its Odious how that wan frae Carrickfergus would feel about the Hand ,
Hopefully you explained that it was the eminent / experienced/ senior Poster Tomsmith who made these wonderfull suggestions and it wasent someone like Viking or Killing Fields ( Ough what an outrageous handle) or Patty from L, Derry who made it.
I feel that the Irish Hockey Club, Cricket Club , FAI or FIA and Gaa could all have a closed weekend on say the second weekend in July. Sure it would give all the young people a free weekend to Travel to parades which mainly feature
lovely Pipe and Flute music Bands These Twelfth of July Parades organised by local Brethern celebrate the anniversary of the defeat of Catholic King James by Protestant King William in the Battle of the Boyne in 1690. These parades are held annually and involve the Orange Order marching through Belfast and other cities in Northern Ireland and indeed Rosnowlagh near Sligo. .
It would be agreat hand of friendship for all people irrespective of your views to attend these gatherings .
I am sure Ryant eam your wan up in Carrickfergus would have a different view on u down South"
Tomsmith here

I feel with Michelle O Neill and JGaa president Jarlet Burns attending a soccer game at Winsor park that the odds have shortened on a closed weekend around the 12th July .

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 28/02/2024 00:16:23    2528751

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here

I feel with Michelle O Neill and JGaa president Jarlet Burns attending a soccer game at Winsor park that the odds have shortened on a closed weekend around the 12th July ."
They should close this thread while their at it

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2389 - 28/02/2024 10:26:34    2528778

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here

I feel with Michelle O Neill and JGaa president Jarlet Burns attending a soccer game at Winsor park that the odds have shortened on a closed weekend around the 12th July ."
Jesus but will ye ever give over about the 12th. You're like a stuck record.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2018 - 28/02/2024 12:57:11    2528793

Stop replying lads. It's 2024. Everyone should know how these things go

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12130 - 28/02/2024 13:28:48    2528801

Jarlath Burns and Michelle O'Neill must have nearly have got whiplash they were so eager to get to that Norn Ireland soccer game, like to see them going to a Norn Iron men's international match, be some craic.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2761 - 28/02/2024 18:57:54    2528843

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Great suggestions Tom! However with the current illness to King Charles, we're looking at a possibility of another coronation, King Billy the second! In that regard our northern brethren will be consumed with patriotism. In fact, as I have spent a fair amount of time around Antrim, I put some of your proposals to a friend of mine in Carrickfergus. Not well received, Tom… she even suspected I was taking a hand at her. They know what GAA is, but do not want any part of it. Tom… they might need further cajoling!!"
Would he not be Billy the fifth? Billy of Orange was Billy the third, and then there's been a Billy the fourth. He succeeded his brother Georgie the fourth and was succeeded by his niece Vicky.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1048 - 28/02/2024 21:31:40    2528854

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "Would he not be Billy the fifth? Billy of Orange was Billy the third, and then there's been a Billy the fourth. He succeeded his brother Georgie the fourth and was succeeded by his niece Vicky."
The first two 'Billys', William I (William the Conqueror) and William II (William Rufus), were never Kings of Ireland.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2482 - 28/02/2024 22:02:29    2528859

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "The first two 'Billys', William I (William the Conqueror) and William II (William Rufus), were never Kings of Ireland."
Actually the last king of Ireland was Brian Bóruma mac Cennétig, (c. 941-23 April 1014) i.e Brian Boro. He would have been 1010 next April if he wasn't killed in Clontarf. God rest him ;) we'll not see his likes again

ExiledCuCu (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 28/02/2024 22:41:56    2528862

I wonder what Tom thinks about it all. Tom?

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1048 - 28/02/2024 22:57:09    2528863

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "Would he not be Billy the fifth? Billy of Orange was Billy the third, and then there's been a Billy the fourth. He succeeded his brother Georgie the fourth and was succeeded by his niece Vicky."
Tacai ar La.
Ta na focail sin ionta deas, and for those that may not have a proficiency in Gaelige I will utter my opinion in English .
Now that the ice has been broken with M/S O Neill and our esteemed President Jarlet Burns attending a soccer Game ( a real British mainland sport ) I feel and the great Mrs T agrees that we could all in one voice say ... make the twelth weekend a closed one for the GAA.
Sure going forward if you had the local Brookeborough Flue band plaing at the Ulster final, see that band s predigree. The Brookeborough Flute Band is known for its lively performances and dedication to preserving the Ulster-Scots tradition. They play both flutes and drums, creating a vibrant and energetic sound. The band often participates in parades and events, showcasing their musical talents. If you're interested in joining the band, reach out to a band member. They welcome boys, girls, men, and women to be part of their musical community. You can also watch a short clip of the band playing "Gladiators Farewell" on their Facebook page.
Both bands contribute to the cultural fabric of their community and continue to share their love for music with audiences across Northern Ireland.

Now you have it a Band that plays at festivals and curtural events, If and its likely that L, Derry and Cavan will be in the Ulster final it would be a lovely sight to have them play the teams on to the field.
And in the opening of Casement Park up in Belfast have the Loyal Sons of the Shankill Road perform and sure Ireland call would be a sort of neutral anthem .
Ough what a reception these two events would get, sure it would be the talk of the weekends,

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 29/02/2024 00:05:32    2528867

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tacai ar La.
Ta na focail sin ionta deas, and for those that may not have a proficiency in Gaelige I will utter my opinion in English .
Now that the ice has been broken with M/S O Neill and our esteemed President Jarlet Burns attending a soccer Game ( a real British mainland sport ) I feel and the great Mrs T agrees that we could all in one voice say ... make the twelth weekend a closed one for the GAA.
Sure going forward if you had the local Brookeborough Flue band plaing at the Ulster final, see that band s predigree. The Brookeborough Flute Band is known for its lively performances and dedication to preserving the Ulster-Scots tradition. They play both flutes and drums, creating a vibrant and energetic sound. The band often participates in parades and events, showcasing their musical talents. If you're interested in joining the band, reach out to a band member. They welcome boys, girls, men, and women to be part of their musical community. You can also watch a short clip of the band playing "Gladiators Farewell" on their Facebook page.
Both bands contribute to the cultural fabric of their community and continue to share their love for music with audiences across Northern Ireland.

Now you have it a Band that plays at festivals and curtural events, If and its likely that L, Derry and Cavan will be in the Ulster final it would be a lovely sight to have them play the teams on to the field.
And in the opening of Casement Park up in Belfast have the Loyal Sons of the Shankill Road perform and sure Ireland call would be a sort of neutral anthem .
Ough what a reception these two events would get, sure it would be the talk of the weekends,"
I'd love to see you take this proposal up the Shankhill with you. I'd be very interested to hear how you got on.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2389 - 29/02/2024 08:03:35    2528877