Mickey Harte Leaves Louth To Become The New Derry Manager

Obviously Louth have a tinge of bitterness when they decided that they, ano not Derry would announce Harte as the next manager. Harte probably feels that he was unfairly shafted with Tyrone but that decision by the Co board was vindicated when they went off and won the All Ireland. Ulster titles are notoriously difficult to win and with both previous Dery managers winning one each Mickey will have to win that just as a starting off point. Nothing only winning Sam will suffice for Derry now. It's a huge ask.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1672 - 20/09/2023 12:02:03    2504914

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Six figures?? Have the Saudis taken over Derry too?"
You clearly don't know much about the brown envelope brigade.

External managers with the slightest bit of experience are getting €20k minimum of most clubs. My own club has paid €60k+ to a previous county manager.

You don't think that one of the most successful managers of the past 20 years couldn't ask for 6 figures for such a high profile inter county position?

You are obviously very naive.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 20/09/2023 12:09:29    2504916

Replying To Whestofthewest:  "that fella wally is a wally, wouldnt listen to a word. seems the type who is 'well connected' but knows nothing"
And how exactly do you know that?

I am from Tyrone, and live on the Derry/Tyrone border.

Surely I am in a much better position to speak on this topic than someone from Clare who is just reading headlines from papers and social media.

Like it or not but external managers at club and county level are extremely well paid. The dog in the street knows this.

If you think someone with the profile of Mickey Harte is going to manage one of this native counties most bitter rivals just out of the goodness of his heart then you are deluded.

This is a retirement fund, no more, no less.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 20/09/2023 12:15:14    2504917

Replying To Lockjaw:  "In fairness to Brolly he does a lot of important work outside of the GAA. His day job for starters, and then he has been a huge advocate of the Opt For Life organisation, even going so far as to donate an organ himself. So he does put his money where his mouth is in some respects.

But in GAA terms, I find it difficult to agree with some of the things he says. Like it or not, it's 2023 and young players nowadays are a whole lot different than they were in the 90s when he was playing himself. With the proliferation of sports science information available on the Internet and qualifications on the subject, GAA preparation has moved light years away from the old two trainings a week, game on Sunday routine.

Young players nowadays require proper S&C programs, nutritional information, data analysis etc and will seek out anything else, e.g. sports psychology to give them an extra % or two. For Brolly to be so dismissive of that shows that he isn't quite as in tune with the modern game as he'd make out to be."
Sure Lockjaw, he does good things for Opt for life, but he sure lets people know about it. He talks less about the organisation but more about name dropping. He's full of what the cat licks his **** with. When he has a dislike for someone he will find any opportunity to have a go. If Fay Devlin a past Tyrone player did what Sean Cavanagh did against Monaghan Joe would have praised him , but himself and Sean have never seen eye to eye so Joe went off on one. Same with Micky.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2018 - 20/09/2023 12:23:25    2504919

It's all a bit disingenuous from Harte. He had verbally committed to us for another year. As far as Tyrone were concerned, Harte was done, his tactics were out of date. Louth CB chairman got fitzer in and we were all delighted, the slogan was" whatever mickey wants, mickey gets" Derry saw us as a weaker county and they pounced. MH had given our players the belief that they coukd beat anyone and it gave Harte a new lease of life. Derry bet us by 1 pt in the league, we played well against the dubs in the league in Croke Park, we should have beaten Mayo in Castlebar and the Dubs brought us back to reality in the Leinster Final. Its the timing of the exit I have an issue with, the players will be gutted and very disappointed with the manner of his exit. They will be back training in 6-8 weeks for pre season and with a new man in charge, not the plan we wanted, but there ye go.

joej (Louth) - Posts: 1599 - 20/09/2023 13:10:13    2504932

Replying To Saynothing:  "Sure Lockjaw, he does good things for Opt for life, but he sure lets people know about it. He talks less about the organisation but more about name dropping. He's full of what the cat licks his **** with. When he has a dislike for someone he will find any opportunity to have a go. If Fay Devlin a past Tyrone player did what Sean Cavanagh did against Monaghan Joe would have praised him , but himself and Sean have never seen eye to eye so Joe went off on one. Same with Micky."
Yeah he definitely has a vindictive streak no doubt about it. The stuff with Endy McNulty is obviously very personal.
Just because Joe has no time for performance gurus he disparages the entire industry, despite many of the world's top sports men and women swearing by it.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9165 - 20/09/2023 13:45:32    2504940

Replying To Wally:  "And how exactly do you know that?

I am from Tyrone, and live on the Derry/Tyrone border.

Surely I am in a much better position to speak on this topic than someone from Clare who is just reading headlines from papers and social media.

Like it or not but external managers at club and county level are extremely well paid. The dog in the street knows this.

If you think someone with the profile of Mickey Harte is going to manage one of this native counties most bitter rivals just out of the goodness of his heart then you are deluded.

This is a retirement fund, no more, no less."
Im a steelstown man, grew up on the culmore road, lived there for 36 years and decided to move down here, family is all from plumbridge, my grandparents were ther original owners of the melon country inn outside omagh. I still have a few connections up in derry and tyrone and no one with any actual knowledge of the county has mentioned an figures except a few keyboard warriors, not yourself obviously, you clearly saw the contract and have enlightened us all

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 152 - 20/09/2023 14:17:46    2504948

Replying To Wally:  "You clearly don't know much about the brown envelope brigade.

External managers with the slightest bit of experience are getting €20k minimum of most clubs. My own club has paid €60k+ to a previous county manager.

You don't think that one of the most successful managers of the past 20 years couldn't ask for 6 figures for such a high profile inter county position?

You are obviously very naive."
you club sound like a pack of muppets, salthill dont even pay that kind of money

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 152 - 20/09/2023 14:18:45    2504949

"Surely I am in a much better position to speak on this topic than someone from Clare who is just reading headlines from papers and social media."

i believe i am the only person on this entire website who called this appointment last week......must have been all that facebook scrolling I do eh?

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 152 - 20/09/2023 14:24:03    2504952

I wish Mickey all the luck with Derry and feel sorry for Louth that he's gone, no doubt he will be on a lucrative package from the Oak Leafers, some joke too in this 'amateur' organisation, very Irish.
I just can't see this Derry team winning an All Ireland though I have no doubt that Mickey will improve them with his vast knowledge and experience to draw on.
I think Ulster will mean less to Derry and he'll be focussing on Sam, for ourselves I think and Ulster next year would be a big booster and hopefully a decent showing in the All Ireland series.
Donegal v Derry, I can see the prelim round draw already.
Glad to have Mickey back in Ulster, never thought he'd manage against Tyrone though.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2760 - 20/09/2023 14:44:29    2504959

The Ulster Championship will be as keenly fought as ever next year.

McGuinness, Harte, Corey, McGeeney, Laverty all patrolling the line. Galligan was an interesting choice in Cavan too.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9165 - 20/09/2023 15:07:02    2504964

Replying To Whestofthewest:  ""Surely I am in a much better position to speak on this topic than someone from Clare who is just reading headlines from papers and social media."

i believe i am the only person on this entire website who called this appointment last week......must have been all that facebook scrolling I do eh?"
So you are going to claim you are some sort of oracle now. Just because you posted it on social media.

I have been hearing talk about this appointment for the past fortnight.

But it looks like it is your word against mine.

I will let everyone on this forum make up their own minds.

They can believe a man that lives in Clare who seems to think that external managers are not paid handsomely. And he has sources that claim Mickey Harte has decided to leave Louth and manage his local county rivals Derry out of the goodness of his heart. There is absolutely no monetary incentive.

Or they can believe a man like me, who lives locally to all parties and has sources who claim that Mickey has made this decision because he was made an offer that he simply couldn't refuse. He is going to get a huge remuneration package that will be totally tax free.

I want to make it clear, I don't blame Mickey in the slightest. He is not getting any younger and he is right to take advantages of opportunities like this. He will likely manage quite a few other counties and clubs for more cash before he is finished.

But men like you are either delusional or you are part of the 'Mickey can do no wrong parade'. I actually don't know which one is worse.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 20/09/2023 16:13:16    2504975

Replying To gunman:  "Harte obviously believes he can win an All Ireland with Derry. If he does what a legacy he will leave.There is a lot of talk about how all this will spice up the Ulster Championship but I think Mickey is wise enough not to put too much emphasis on that with the new system in operation for the All Ireland.After all Gallagher and Meenagh have both won Ulsters with this squad and winning another title wouldn't add a lot to his reputation.Whether he is over estimating Derry or not remains to be seen."
I think his legacy will be tarnished whatever the outcome. Derry have been getting closer to a final for the past 2 years so only an ai will do. If harte wins one then the obivous and correct point will be derry were close to winning it anyway. He didnt put in the hard work RG did to get them there so he cant really claim too much credit.

Conversely if he doesnt win an AI then it wont have added really anything to team. If he fails to win ulster or an ai then its a backward step for derry.

Either way he wont get full credit for winning an ai and if he doesnt he will get blamed for taking them backwards. All to prove a point to a tyrone county board who stood by him for 12 years without a trophy. He was too arrogant to accept times have changed and that he no longer was the right person for tyrone.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 20/09/2023 17:50:12    2505002

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "How does Brolly donating an organ have anything to do with his constant sneering at other people?

His mocking of Mayo, if someone did the same about others, would have him affecting outrage. They were not the only ones of course, Marty Morrissey, Cavanagh, and now Mickey Harte.

He is well deserving of any kickback that comes his way."
No bother to you Barney Grant...nothing wrong with your memory and you can throw in his slating of Cavan a few years ago...when a couple of Cavan wags showed up with a brolly is a tool banner he went ballistic...
...hope his stands by his shout that he's not going back to watch Derry Seniors play... that'll do me grand...

spudmunky (Derry) - Posts: 33 - 20/09/2023 19:16:04    2505012

If I was a Tyrone man I'd be a little disgruntled, if I was a Derry man, I'd be delighted.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 20/09/2023 19:46:42    2505013

Replying To Saynothing:  "Except maybe the Ireland ladies soccer team. Heard Joe Brolly on this morning coming out with his usual hateful and vile comments against Micky. Micky has more decorum and decency in his wee finger than Joe will ever have."
Well I'm no fan of Brolly at all but jeez, get real about Mickey.

Have you seen how some of his players conducted themselves over the years, the diving cheating, feigning injury, other antics even less palatable?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1736 - 20/09/2023 21:02:55    2505019

Replying To Wally:  "You clearly don't know much about the brown envelope brigade.

You are obviously very naive."
Amazing how these sworn to secrecy brown envelope figures make it into the public domain with such clarity, isn't it? Who's being naive Kay?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2388 - 21/09/2023 00:18:10    2505025

Good luck to Mickey Harte & Gavin Devlin.

Shearer (Louth) - Posts: 830 - 21/09/2023 13:53:31    2505062

Replying To Whestofthewest:  ""Surely I am in a much better position to speak on this topic than someone from Clare who is just reading headlines from papers and social media."

i believe i am the only person on this entire website who called this appointment last week......must have been all that facebook scrolling I do eh?"
Great to see Clare win something. the 'I called it last week' All ireland.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 643 - 21/09/2023 14:44:40    2505073

Replying To Galway9801:  "Well I'm no fan of Brolly at all but jeez, get real about Mickey.

Have you seen how some of his players conducted themselves over the years, the diving cheating, feigning injury, other antics even less palatable?"
That goes on in all counties where Micky has no input including your own. Mc Manus was praised for winning a free in the dying seconds against Armagh. Once again with people, it depends who's involved.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2018 - 21/09/2023 14:55:03    2505075