RTE And Older GAA Fans

Replying To Viking66:  "https://m.independent.ie/opinion/comment/hugh-oconnell-ministers-can-barely-hide-their-delight-as-rte-scandal-takes-heat-off-coalition/a184049369.html"
If RTE as an organisation was scrapped tomorrow; do people think that the GAA would put all televised games on GAAGO? It would certainly give croke park reason to reduce the number of games that are shown on RTE presently even if virgin media were willing to take over some televising of the games. It is hard to see RTE being scrapped but if ever there was a time when such an option was considered by the government, it is surely now.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1918 - 30/06/2023 14:01:55    2490851

Replying To wicklowsupport:  "If RTE as an organisation was scrapped tomorrow; do people think that the GAA would put all televised games on GAAGO? It would certainly give croke park reason to reduce the number of games that are shown on RTE presently even if virgin media were willing to take over some televising of the games. It is hard to see RTE being scrapped but if ever there was a time when such an option was considered by the government, it is surely now."
There should be some element of public broadcasting. Otherwise everything be dumbed down to suit lowest common denominator. Virgin is hardly a great example of any alternative to RTÉ judging by its listings and the odd time I've seen anything on it.

On other hand, GAA games be huge audience attraction if there was a dedicated sports channel. My preference would be for TG4 to have first call. That would have dual advantage of increasing its audience and revenue, and allowing it to replace some of the imported rubbish it shows with more Irish language content! Win/win.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2595 - 30/06/2023 14:34:21    2490857

just the events of the last 7 or 8 days puts it all in perspective, RTE not showing some big name fixtures, "oh Gaa Go have them" (pay per view)...and who is/was a director of Gaa Go???..if ya dont know go and find out..clue..was on holiday, then resigned, and now has a medical condition so as they can attend the PAC meeting...enough said...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 30/06/2023 14:38:30    2490860

Nothing but utter rubbish and n RTE today while 2 great quarter final fixtures are on. It's just wrong.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 01/07/2023 14:14:28    2491026

Replying To avonali:  "Nothing but utter rubbish and n RTE today while 2 great quarter final fixtures are on. It's just wrong."
stick on the radio like the ol days. or better yet head to the game?

HarriBowe (Laois) - Posts: 27 - 01/07/2023 14:26:01    2491028

Replying To HarriBowe:  "stick on the radio like the ol days. or better yet head to the game?"
It's a long way from Cornwall to Croke Park.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 01/07/2023 17:11:47    2491072

I've a feeling that Paudie Clifford really enjoyed himself. Some scores settled out there today,

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 01/07/2023 17:44:30    2491082

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "just the events of the last 7 or 8 days puts it all in perspective, RTE not showing some big name fixtures, "oh Gaa Go have them" (pay per view)...and who is/was a director of Gaa Go???..if ya dont know go and find out..clue..was on holiday, then resigned, and now has a medical condition so as they can attend the PAC meeting...enough said..."
That's a shocking conflict of interest and speaks to a lot of what's wrong in Ireland's closed-shop executive class. I want to thank you for bringing it to my attention, but also kind of wish you hadn't.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 01/07/2023 19:11:52    2491097

Replying To avonali:  "I've a feeling that Paudie Clifford really enjoyed himself. Some scores settled out there today,"
Good to see you taking time off being "embarrassed" by our hurlers to worshipping at the Clifford altar.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2595 - 01/07/2023 23:01:41    2491195

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Good to see you taking time off being "embarrassed" by our hurlers to worshipping at the Clifford altar."
Get your facts right horse. I never, EVER said I was embarrassed. Go back and check and then apologise like a good lad.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 02/07/2023 11:04:11    2491253

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Good to see you taking time off being "embarrassed" by our hurlers to worshipping at the Clifford altar."
It was realdub who used the word 'embarrassing". But of course Barney never bothers to check his "facts".

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 02/07/2023 11:07:07    2491256

Remember on the Sunday Game Sean C said Donegal were put out of their misery by Tyrone i guess Kerry done same to them

highdropingball (Donegal) - Posts: 99 - 02/07/2023 11:11:51    2491260

Replying To festinog:  "That's a shocking conflict of interest and speaks to a lot of what's wrong in Ireland's closed-shop executive class. I want to thank you for bringing it to my attention, but also kind of wish you hadn't."
And just to add another layer of possible conflict of interest, Rory Coveney (yes a brother of Simon) is/was a "strategic advisor" of the now resigned Director General...so don't be expecting too much prices to be paid for such corruption...those that walk away or get fired can well afford to do so and will be rehired at a different "political influence d trough"...this requires water charges like response now and i hope the masses have the backbone to do it..country is ferocious corrupt..always has been..

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 02/07/2023 11:58:18    2491276

Replying To avonali:  "Nothing but utter rubbish and n RTE today while 2 great quarter final fixtures are on. It's just wrong."
What was 'great' about Kerry v Tyrone?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2482 - 02/07/2023 13:32:51    2491301

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "What was 'great' about Kerry v Tyrone?"
The final whistle. Same for us today mind!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7376 - 02/07/2023 18:29:32    2491444

Replying To avonali:  "Get your facts right horse. I never, EVER said I was embarrassed. Go back and check and then apologise like a good lad."
Mea culpa. Tá brón orm :-(

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2595 - 04/07/2023 09:17:29    2492036

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Mea culpa. Tá brón orm :-("
Fair play. Thanks Barney. They're a great bunch of lads and their day will come.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 04/07/2023 15:48:12    2492204

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "And just to add another layer of possible conflict of interest, Rory Coveney (yes a brother of Simon) is/was a "strategic advisor" of the now resigned Director General...so don't be expecting too much prices to be paid for such corruption...those that walk away or get fired can well afford to do so and will be rehired at a different "political influence d trough"...this requires water charges like response now and i hope the masses have the backbone to do it..country is ferocious corrupt..always has been.."
Your post is certainly a mouthful !
Firstly, i don't know any of the people involved in the RTE scenario being played out currently.

I would however take issue with your assertion that the 'country is ferocious corrupt..always has been.'

I don't agree with that assertion.

Of course we have had our share of those who have worked the system and tried to get away with things, but I don't think we are 'ferocious corrupt and have always been'.

Overall, the systems of checks and balances that have been placed on society have helped enormously to ensure that corruption is minimal.

I also think we should all be very careful with naming names before due process has concluded.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 04/07/2023 16:49:59    2492226

Replying To avonali:  "Fair play. Thanks Barney. They're a great bunch of lads and their day will come."
Sorry for the mix up. Was in pig's humour when i saw it first and mistook the target!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2595 - 04/07/2023 16:58:49    2492229

Replying To carlowman:  "Your post is certainly a mouthful !
Firstly, i don't know any of the people involved in the RTE scenario being played out currently.

I would however take issue with your assertion that the 'country is ferocious corrupt..always has been.'

I don't agree with that assertion.

Of course we have had our share of those who have worked the system and tried to get away with things, but I don't think we are 'ferocious corrupt and have always been'.

Overall, the systems of checks and balances that have been placed on society have helped enormously to ensure that corruption is minimal.

I also think we should all be very careful with naming names before due process has concluded."
I can not say if our Country is ferociously corrupt or not but what I can say when we are corrupt we are then ferociously corrupt, absolutely.

I can rattle of numerous examples of corruption but I'll just give you a few, 1. The Beef Tribunal. 2. The FAI scandal. 3, The houses that were fraudulently built with concrete containing the mineral "Mica" new houses crumbling down and mortgaged owners expected the take the rap for a percentage of the cost to rebuild them. 4. The collapse of the Anglo Irish Bank and the consequences of it's collapse. 5. The Nation wide Building society.

So that is only 5 examples, the list goes on and on. our country may not be ferociously corrupt never the less corruption is in all of our DNA.

Our current national embracement is not about corruption as of now in my view, rather it's about (a) the inability to manage it's business affairs and it's people, (b) greed / vanity, (c) been economical with the truth when needed. (d) being insensitive to the little people and being overly generous to the bigger people.
They are coming out now one by one admitting to small wrong doings or misdemeanour.

I don't think we as a country will ever be squeaky clean.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2911 - 04/07/2023 20:21:35    2492285