RTE And Older GAA Fans

Replying To DCFCGAA:  "simple business model really.

Old people will be dead soon so cant make money from someone in the ground. Younger people more willing to splurge than the last generation so marketing to them is 100% the correct choice from a business perspective. I doubt people in many fields sit around a board room and think "how can we make less money and cater to a cliental that wont be around for much longer""
Jesus Christ. Did I just read that????

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 23/06/2023 12:37:28    2488637

Replying To Midleton:  "The license fee is not a paywall. If you don't pay it, you can still watch TV. I've always paid it, myself, but I've know people who have avoided paying it for years.

GAAGO is a paywall; if you don't pay it, you can't watch whatever event it covers.

A paywall is a paywall; how many games it covers is beside the point.

The GAA will tell you it is an amateur organization. That is true. The core of the organization, the players, are not paid. For what reason then, has it become so greedy? Is it to pay its executives business-style salaries?

https://www.offtheball.com/football/gaa-executive-pay-croke-park-averaged-e125845-2019-965684#:~:text=It%20reveals%20there%20are%2014,14%20is%20%E2%82%AC125%2C%20845.

Despite what some people on here like to aver, there are people who cannot access services like GAAGO because they cannot understand how to do it. Because of things like upbringing , education and -yes, age, as well -, all people are not alike. So we should just abandon them? I also consider it an insult that people on here expect people like that, who have been independent all their lives, to go begging for assistance to relatives or friends."
Ah here. You think it's insulting to a person if they have to ask for advice or assistance on something they haven't done before?

A few weeks ago, I had to re-roof a small shed here. Hadn't a clue how to get started. Asked for advice from a neighbour who's a builder. He set me on the right track. Job done, and I'll know now how to do the same if I ever have to do it again in future.

Do I feel insulted by having to ask for advice and assistance? No.

Have already told how my parents in their late 70s and early 80s have learned how to stream any match they want. How do you think they learned? I showed them.

Were they insulted by having to take my advice and follow my instructions? No.

Do you ever have to learn how to do something new, whether it be in work, leisure, or anything else? Do you feel insulted by having to learn from others rather than having automatic and limitless knowledge of everything?

Please answer those ones yourself.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2258 - 23/06/2023 13:04:51    2488640

Replying To Saynothing:  "Lockjaw, I'm sure you're hoping " that other crowd " have an off day. Time for Tyrone to get their year underway, they play better under pressure. Can't wait and then Galway v Mayo to come."
Haha yeah "yous other crowd". I see McCurry and McShane are back. Earlier in the week I was cautiously optimistic but the nearer the game comes I just think your superior bench will see you home. Kinda like the Derry match where we matched them for an hour or so but then ran out of steam.

That said, if McBrearty and Gallen could catch fire together, we still have a decent chance.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9171 - 23/06/2023 13:50:40    2488647

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Haha yeah "yous other crowd". I see McCurry and McShane are back. Earlier in the week I was cautiously optimistic but the nearer the game comes I just think your superior bench will see you home. Kinda like the Derry match where we matched them for an hour or so but then ran out of steam.

That said, if McBrearty and Gallen could catch fire together, we still have a decent chance."
Still something to look forward to. Donegal took awful stick all year, just like Aidan O Shea last year and now look. Better team will win so who knows. Good luck anyway. Championship hairs on neck time already.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2019 - 23/06/2023 14:56:35    2488674

Replying To Saynothing:  "Still something to look forward to. Donegal took awful stick all year, just like Aidan O Shea last year and now look. Better team will win so who knows. Good luck anyway. Championship hairs on neck time already."
Yeah it's s*** or get off the pot time. So we should start seeing some proper full-on-intensity football now.
This will be the weekend when things well and truly take off.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9171 - 23/06/2023 15:09:41    2488680

If anything summed up RTEs championship coverage, it was last Sunday. They give us hours of scowling punditry all season long, whinging and moaning constantly about the new football format, which drained everyone's enthusiasm, and then when this format actually delivered some intrigue on day3 of the group matches, RTEs coverage of these group climaxes was hopelessly inadequate.

Mayo lost in Cork, and if you hadn't GAAGO, no one seemed to pass a blind bit of notice. The significance of the Galway Armagh result in group terms, being so intrinsically linked to the outcome of the Tyrone Westmeath match, was a factor that unfortunately escaped RTEs attention in real time also. If Skysports were covering that, Armagh's winner, and Heslin's free, might have made for splitscreen AGUERRROOOO moments. Take a bow son, and all that malarkey.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3483 - 23/06/2023 15:13:13    2488681

Replying To Saynothing:  "Still something to look forward to. Donegal took awful stick all year, just like Aidan O Shea last year and now look. Better team will win so who knows. Good luck anyway. Championship hairs on neck time already."
Jes things were bad but don't be conflating us with the monster in the waves for Gods sake!!
getting close now and you can feel the buzz of a real Championship game on the way,
atmosphere should be electric hope it stays dry for the game. Good luck to both teams.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2761 - 23/06/2023 15:54:47    2488691

Replying To Midleton:  "The license fee is not a paywall. If you don't pay it, you can still watch TV. I've always paid it, myself, but I've know people who have avoided paying it for years.

GAAGO is a paywall; if you don't pay it, you can't watch whatever event it covers.

A paywall is a paywall; how many games it covers is beside the point.

The GAA will tell you it is an amateur organization. That is true. The core of the organization, the players, are not paid. For what reason then, has it become so greedy? Is it to pay its executives business-style salaries?

https://www.offtheball.com/football/gaa-executive-pay-croke-park-averaged-e125845-2019-965684#:~:text=It%20reveals%20there%20are%2014,14%20is%20%E2%82%AC125%2C%20845.

Despite what some people on here like to aver, there are people who cannot access services like GAAGO because they cannot understand how to do it. Because of things like upbringing , education and -yes, age, as well -, all people are not alike. So we should just abandon them? I also consider it an insult that people on here expect people like that, who have been independent all their lives, to go begging for assistance to relatives or friends."
You didn't answer my question.

'because they cannot understand how to do it.' Can 'they' use a mobile phone, add contacts, make calls, send texts, instal Whatsapp, send messages, add videos, stream YouTube? If you know some of 'they' why don't you show them how to.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7376 - 23/06/2023 16:00:00    2488693

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "If anything summed up RTEs championship coverage, it was last Sunday. They give us hours of scowling punditry all season long, whinging and moaning constantly about the new football format, which drained everyone's enthusiasm, and then when this format actually delivered some intrigue on day3 of the group matches, RTEs coverage of these group climaxes was hopelessly inadequate.

Mayo lost in Cork, and if you hadn't GAAGO, no one seemed to pass a blind bit of notice. The significance of the Galway Armagh result in group terms, being so intrinsically linked to the outcome of the Tyrone Westmeath match, was a factor that unfortunately escaped RTEs attention in real time also. If Skysports were covering that, Armagh's winner, and Heslin's free, might have made for splitscreen AGUERRROOOO moments. Take a bow son, and all that malarkey."
They were too busy trying to coverup backhanders. How many more got backhanders, Dunphry, Giles, Pat Kenny, Byrne ?

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2019 - 23/06/2023 16:05:36    2488695

Replying To GreenandRed:  "His sponsors and ads around the Late Late and radio show gives RTE a lot more revenue than his salary."
I don't think that stacks up.

The Late Late Show is RTE's flagship show in the primetime Friday night slot. Advertisers would be paying top dollar for that show, and have done in the past no matter who is presenting it. Tubridy offers nothing in that regard that many others wouldn't and indeed viewership figures were higher for Tommy Tiernan's show at one stage last year.

It's like people justifying the royal family in the UK because they bring in a lot of tourists. People would still go even if they weren't there. There hasn't been a royal family in over 200 years yet tourists still flock to Versailles to see the palace.

Tubridy's attempt to distance himself from this is the kind of snide behaviour I would have expected from him and makes a mockery of his statements about taking pay cuts over the last few years.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 23/06/2023 16:39:17    2488702

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "If anything summed up RTEs championship coverage, it was last Sunday. They give us hours of scowling punditry all season long, whinging and moaning constantly about the new football format, which drained everyone's enthusiasm, and then when this format actually delivered some intrigue on day3 of the group matches, RTEs coverage of these group climaxes was hopelessly inadequate.

Mayo lost in Cork, and if you hadn't GAAGO, no one seemed to pass a blind bit of notice. The significance of the Galway Armagh result in group terms, being so intrinsically linked to the outcome of the Tyrone Westmeath match, was a factor that unfortunately escaped RTEs attention in real time also. If Skysports were covering that, Armagh's winner, and Heslin's free, might have made for splitscreen AGUERRROOOO moments. Take a bow son, and all that malarkey."
Yes...it's amazing how RTE package these matches. There's no reference whatsoever to matches happening concurrently' It's as if the match they are featuring is happening in a vacuum. By bringing reports from other crucial matches they can heighten the intensity and the unfolding drama of the day.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 23/06/2023 17:14:15    2488707

Rte and the gaa I might add do not give a fiddler's about older fans, no such thing as free to air, is tv license free???

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 922 - 23/06/2023 19:37:45    2488723

Replying To GreenandRed:  "You didn't answer my question.

'because they cannot understand how to do it.' Can 'they' use a mobile phone, add contacts, make calls, send texts, instal Whatsapp, send messages, add videos, stream YouTube? If you know some of 'they' why don't you show them how to."
I forgot to answer your question, but you pick up on this because you can't dispute my points.

Let's see: what was your question?

"What should RTE and the GAA be doing differently, do you think, on current budget ?"

Is that your question? It has nothing much to do with the issue at hand.

I think the GAA should not be putting its games behind a paywall, if their intention is to promote them. If their only intention is to make money, then let the GAA become fully professional.

RTE is the national broadcaster. It should not be charging its customers extra on top of its license fee. It also earns revenue from advertisements. After all those years, the BBC stills runs on its license fee alone. I see that just lately questions are being asked as to how RTE spends some of its money.

You're tone deaf, aren't you? People who have been independent all their lives don't want to be beholden to anyone. But you seem not to understand that, so there is little point in me repeating it, I suppose.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 23/06/2023 19:56:56    2488727

Replying To Whammo86:  "I was never for the Sky deal for the reasons you mention mainly around availability.

I think the GAA GO is a different issue. RTE only has so much bandwidth.

I'd be interested in whether TG4 would have the capacity to show All Ireland Championship to the production level required.

It'd be great if they could but I think that gets lost in the conversation here, there is a cost to providing these games and it has to be covered somewhere along the line.

You know what I'm not an expert on it but I'd be very interested if someone had figures on how much GAA GO makes less costs. I'd be surprised if it was actually a major money spinner for the GAA. If it was very profitable I'd have bigger questions. If it's small profitable then it's providing access that wouldn't otherwise be available and isn't screwing the membership in the process and I can't see how people could have issue with that."
Most new enterprises don't make very much money at the start. Some are even prepared to lose it on the promise of reward down the road. I'm sure you've noticed how every new offer is "for the first 12 months". Slowly, over time, the price increases. The user has got comfortable and doesn't like changing. I've been with the Sky basic package since I don't know when. The price has slowly increased as the package has got smaller. Most of it is rubbish, anyway. I've occasionally though about changing, but that's all I've done. I did change my electricity supplier recently because they were blatant about overcharging. After telling me that my latest bill was over 600 euros for the two month; after I switched, they sent me the "real" bill for 100 euros. They have a very low opinion of their customer's intelligence.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 23/06/2023 20:14:54    2488728

Funny how this story breaks as Tubridy has left the Late late and Forbes is due to leave anyway, it's like they waited till the easiest time to break the story.
Only good thing is I think we won't be seeing Tubridy on RTE again, every cloud as they say.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2761 - 23/06/2023 21:56:42    2488733

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Ah here. You think it's insulting to a person if they have to ask for advice or assistance on something they haven't done before?

A few weeks ago, I had to re-roof a small shed here. Hadn't a clue how to get started. Asked for advice from a neighbour who's a builder. He set me on the right track. Job done, and I'll know now how to do the same if I ever have to do it again in future.

Do I feel insulted by having to ask for advice and assistance? No.

Have already told how my parents in their late 70s and early 80s have learned how to stream any match they want. How do you think they learned? I showed them.

Were they insulted by having to take my advice and follow my instructions? No.

Do you ever have to learn how to do something new, whether it be in work, leisure, or anything else? Do you feel insulted by having to learn from others rather than having automatic and limitless knowledge of everything?

Please answer those ones yourself."
Was the shed used to install any aerial or satellite dish? If not then how is it relevant to the thread? Well done by the way, no mean feat. Was your neighbour Bob by any chance?

In this thread I actually think Midleton is spot on. Couldn't agree more.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 24/06/2023 07:50:50    2488750

There are still plenty of live games available for free on RTE all throughout the season. The only matches that were shown live when I was growing up were the all-Ireland semi-finals and finals. It is completely unreasonable to expect every championship match to be broadcast for free.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 997 - 24/06/2023 10:27:58    2488758

Replying To avonali:  "Yes...it's amazing how RTE package these matches. There's no reference whatsoever to matches happening concurrently' It's as if the match they are featuring is happening in a vacuum. By bringing reports from other crucial matches they can heighten the intensity and the unfolding drama of the day."
Nail on the head avonali. RTÉ's presentation of the group matches on Sunday was very poor. There were very few updates from the second game in either group. As you said the Galway Armagh game happened in a vacuum even though the team's fortunes were changing hugely as a result of what was happening between Westmeath and Tyrone. Sky would have been all over that with updates, inserted clips and league tables. RTÉ were amateurish at best. The intensity and the changing fortunes should have been communicated.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 24/06/2023 10:28:48    2488759

Replying To Greengrass:  "Nail on the head avonali. RTÉ's presentation of the group matches on Sunday was very poor. There were very few updates from the second game in either group. As you said the Galway Armagh game happened in a vacuum even though the team's fortunes were changing hugely as a result of what was happening between Westmeath and Tyrone. Sky would have been all over that with updates, inserted clips and league tables. RTÉ were amateurish at best. The intensity and the changing fortunes should have been communicated."
Sky aren't the only example of doing it well either. TG4 were 'flipping' 3or4 and maybe more NFL games simultaneously earlier this season, with real time league table updates, to keep everyone fully abreast of how the relegation/promotion battles were brewing to a finish. TG4 do GAA coverage superbly well of course. Last Sunday's coverage of the 'group situations' was an opportunity missed by The Sunday Game to cover the story well.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3483 - 24/06/2023 11:35:55    2488767

I considered driving to my sister's house to watch the games on GAAgo but that would be £10 worth of diesel driving to North Derry so you can't win either way.

PattyONeill (Derry) - Posts: 226 - 24/06/2023 11:51:08    2488771