Roscommon Vs Tyrone

Thoughts? Team news? Predictions?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 23/01/2023 11:38:17    2453584

I wouldn't be as doom and gloom like the media about Tyrone's chances here. Yes they were completely outplayed by Derry in the McKenna cup final but it was no where near either of the 2 teams starting 15. I would suggest it would be in Tyrone's best interest to have Darragh Canavan available and starting at 11 with McShane , Donnelly and McCurry inside. That would allow Kilpatrick and Kennedy to partner up in midfield and have the usual runners on the wings, McGeary Sludden Meyler Harte Mckernan or whoever you prefer. Think Munroe has done enough to start at 3 beside Hampsey with McCarron or Mckernan. Burns or Harte possibly at 6? If they can sharpen up the hand passing and cut out silly mistakes I think they can do ok in this game.

p_play (Tyrone) - Posts: 34 - 23/01/2023 12:08:01    2453597

Also where's the best place to park? A few years ago…..the match where it was a draw, I think, cars were clamped outside a shop? Could be completely wrong on that but thought I heard it.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 23/01/2023 12:12:45    2453598

20 years on from when we lost to Roscommon on the opening day of the league but still won the league, Ulster Championship and the All-Ireland maybe it is not that important in January. Yet this still looks like a game we must target to get two points as there are some massive games ahead.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 23/01/2023 12:55:28    2453615

Tyrone need to hit the ground running in Division 1 I would go with this team.
Niall Morgan
Michael McKernan
Cormac Munroe
Padraig Hampsey
Frank Burns
Peter Harte
Kieran McGeary
Brian Kennedy
Conn Kilpatrick
Conor Meyler
Darragh Canavan
Niall Sludden
Darren McCurry
Mattie Donnelly
Cathal McShane.
The Hyde is no easy place to go to we need a good start to the league.

TyroneUltra (Tyrone) - Posts: 307 - 23/01/2023 13:13:59    2453627

Replying To Byanthon:  "20 years on from when we lost to Roscommon on the opening day of the league but still won the league, Ulster Championship and the All-Ireland maybe it is not that important in January. Yet this still looks like a game we must target to get two points as there are some massive games ahead."
We'll be quite happy to lose to ye on Sunday and ye are more than welcome to the 2 points in The Hyde if Roscommon go on this year to win the League, the Connacht championship and the All Ireland title.We're not greedy.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2166 - 23/01/2023 13:14:54    2453628

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Also where's the best place to park? A few years ago…..the match where it was a draw, I think, cars were clamped outside a shop? Could be completely wrong on that but thought I heard it."
Good parking in Roscommon Town. There is a large car park behind the mart, where Tesco and Dunnes Stores are. (10 -15 mins from pitch) Another car park on the other side of the main street. Have a look at Google maps.
Hope that it is a good game and that we are competitive. We will be missing a few players due to injuries and Sigerson Cup matches. Some players likely to be making their league debut.
Do you expect many Tyrone supporters to travel?

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 23/01/2023 13:26:19    2453638

Very hard to know how Roscommon are fixed for this. A long injury list and the worthless prepartion the indoor FBD provides. I wonder if Davy Burke was in the job longer would he have taken Roscommon out of the FBD and played challenge matches instead? Anyways, hopefully they can put in a good performance this weekend. Are there any Strokestown lads in the panel? It didn't look like it from the two FBD games.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 23/01/2023 13:35:04    2453647

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Good parking in Roscommon Town. There is a large car park behind the mart, where Tesco and Dunnes Stores are. (10 -15 mins from pitch) Another car park on the other side of the main street. Have a look at Google maps.
Hope that it is a good game and that we are competitive. We will be missing a few players due to injuries and Sigerson Cup matches. Some players likely to be making their league debut.
Do you expect many Tyrone supporters to travel?"
From where I am, only about 80 miles on quiet roads, pleasant trip compared to the traffic misery of going to Dublin. It should be a close game.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 241 - 23/01/2023 13:50:13    2453653

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Good parking in Roscommon Town. There is a large car park behind the mart, where Tesco and Dunnes Stores are. (10 -15 mins from pitch) Another car park on the other side of the main street. Have a look at Google maps.
Do you expect many Tyrone supporters to travel?"
It'll be a fair bit cooler than a couple of years back in the super 8s. Good game that day and a full house. More of the same would do, but it won't be easy for Tyrone.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 23/01/2023 14:40:43    2453677

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Also where's the best place to park? A few years ago…..the match where it was a draw, I think, cars were clamped outside a shop? Could be completely wrong on that but thought I heard it."
There has never been clamping in Roscommon, you must be thinking of somewhere else

reffingmad (Roscommon) - Posts: 371 - 23/01/2023 17:04:48    2453745

Not much confidence going around for this game.. injuries, sigerson, no proper games in preparation, need to blood young lads, most of whom seem to have undergone little S and C, new manager finding his feet etc etc etc.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1420 - 23/01/2023 19:44:54    2453795

Really looking forward to Sunday after the long break from inter county. I'm not a fan of the split season at all. Beware Tyrone the Rossies are chomping at the bit to get going after an early early exit last year. Hope the weather isn't too bad for the next few days and we see a decent game on Sunday. Both counties will see this as an important game to get two points and a good start to the league. Think Roscommon will edge it by a few points.

Rossieforever (Roscommon) - Posts: 85 - 25/01/2023 19:30:40    2454296

Replying To Rossieforever:  "Really looking forward to Sunday after the long break from inter county. I'm not a fan of the split season at all. Beware Tyrone the Rossies are chomping at the bit to get going after an early early exit last year. Hope the weather isn't too bad for the next few days and we see a decent game on Sunday. Both counties will see this as an important game to get two points and a good start to the league. Think Roscommon will edge it by a few points."
Jesus I wish I had your confidence. I just hope we are really competitive on Sunday.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1057 - 26/01/2023 12:47:39    2454388

Replying To dave1988:  "Jesus I wish I had your confidence. I just hope we are really competitive on Sunday."
Confidence payed off but I was a bit worried when Tyrone went 3 points up in the second half. Great to see the young lads get a game and perform so well . The more experienced lads coming off the bench when things looked a bit dodgy was a huge lift. I thought C Murtagh and E Smith in particular caused panic in the Tyrone defence every time they got the ball. Looking forward to Pearse Stadium next week.

Rossieforever (Roscommon) - Posts: 85 - 29/01/2023 18:35:50    2455045

Replying To dave1988:  "Jesus I wish I had your confidence. I just hope we are really competitive on Sunday."
We certainly were competitive!
Great result and performance , the young lads impressed and the older lads didnt do too bad either.
Imaging having Subs like Enda, Ciaráin and Donie.
I could watch Ben O'Carroll 24 hours a day while Niall Daly was excellent.
Great to get 2 points on day 1.
A lot done, an awful lot more to do!

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1420 - 29/01/2023 19:26:54    2455067

Onto the next game till we have 6 points we are favs to go down.
1 game at a time good start.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 29/01/2023 20:44:37    2455117

Replying To Rossieforever:  "Confidence payed off but I was a bit worried when Tyrone went 3 points up in the second half. Great to see the young lads get a game and perform so well . The more experienced lads coming off the bench when things looked a bit dodgy was a huge lift. I thought C Murtagh and E Smith in particular caused panic in the Tyrone defence every time they got the ball. Looking forward to Pearse Stadium next week."
Definitely payed off.. great win that I didn't see coming especially against a strong Tyrone team. Couldn't believe how Ben O'Carroll just stepped up like that. He won every ball that came into him and showed he's well able..Really impressive performance..

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1057 - 30/01/2023 20:11:46    2455406