The Donegal/Armagh Row

Replying To moc.dna:  "The farce continues, the CAC today wagging the finger at referees, telling them to sharpen up their reporting skills. Refs hung out to dry again. You just couldn't make this up.

Who would be a ref when you have to now have a legally fool proof match report as well. Some of these committees overseen by the legal profession. GAA now heading the same route as our Judical & Legal system nationally.

GAA Disciplinary system once labelled as the alphabet soup with CCCC, CHC, CAC & DRA, it's become a joke. So many committees & so many people on them & they produce a mess like this. May as well give an amnesty to all at this stage as there is no consistency & surely leaves the door open to all to successfully appeal as precedents have now been set.

Donegal & Armagh game has been completely overshadowed by the incompetence of GAA administrators, instead of talking about the game it's all about the legal"
I hinted at it yesterday in my comment about a ref boo boo being the technicality of why the Armagh players got off. I dont want to go in to detail on a public forum but if its true (and the telling off today would lead me to believe it is) then its a really poor error on behalf of the ref and it was a fair statement.

Hope all this **** in the build up blows over quick and we have a great game of football to look forward to.
Donegal with home advantage and their experience (as well as some classy players) are rightful favs in my book
Hope our lads turn up and give it a proper go.

ArmaghAndProud (Armagh) - Posts: 32 - 21/04/2022 18:29:05    2412150

Replying To Lockjaw:  "You said it lad. Those poor folks suffering due to the MICA crisis ate having to fight tooth and nail fir crumbs to fix their houses. Yet when Covid hit there was suddenly billions available. Similarly with the Ukrainian refugee situation. All of a sudden billions are being plucked out of thin air. Now don't get me wrong, in both cases I think it was/is the right thing to do in order to help. But when there's a literal humanitarian crisis on our own door step it's death by a thousand cuts for a lot of people."
Now we have the Irish government homing cats and dogs for the refugees while some Irish people live on the streets and working families struggle to get by.Arguing about football is the least of some Irish families North and South.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2023 - 21/04/2022 20:48:06    2412173

It's hard enough having to read whinging comments about the GAA, for Gods sake leave your political comments elsewhere. This is Hogan Stand.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 597 - 22/04/2022 09:52:19    2412198

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "It's hard enough having to read whinging comments about the GAA, for Gods sake leave your political comments elsewhere. This is Hogan Stand."
Don't read it if it bothers you, public forum here so if the mods allow an odd relevant point I see no harm in it.
Great country as long as your not from here it seems they'll bend over backways to help you and look good in Europe, screw their own people though and make them fight tooth and nail for crumbs.
Roll on Sunday and getting stuck into Armagh.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2766 - 22/04/2022 10:39:46    2412216

Replying To ardmhacha:  "'Thugs', 'cheats' and reference to a 'wee orange fleg' (do I sense a vague West Brit sectarian undertone?) Maybe not, but very disappointing from so called fellow gaels overall. Thankfully not representative of the large majority of Donegal GAA people."
Don't let it worry you. I just hope there's no nonsense on Sunday and we have pulsating game between two good teams. Armagh folk always welcome to Donegal. Don't let a forum or comments from eejits like myself change that for ya. Good luck on Sunday.

fielder (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 22/04/2022 12:23:00    2412242

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Don't read it if it bothers you, public forum here so if the mods allow an odd relevant point I see no harm in it.
Great country as long as your not from here it seems they'll bend over backways to help you and look good in Europe, screw their own people though and make them fight tooth and nail for crumbs.
Roll on Sunday and getting stuck into Armagh."
If I wanted to debate about politics (which I don't), I would go on the Facebook or Twitter, or on the Journal, or Irish Times or whatever you're having youreself. But this is Hogan Stand, and the title of the debate is The Donegal/Armagh Row. The clue is in the name.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 597 - 22/04/2022 12:37:05    2412244

Replying To Saynothing:  "Now we have the Irish government homing cats and dogs for the refugees while some Irish people live on the streets and working families struggle to get by.Arguing about football is the least of some Irish families North and South."
Criticising aid given to victims of a war zone, using false equivalence and whataboutery, is pathetic behaviour. Talk to Ukrainian families about their horrific experiences and it might open your mind.

themaddog (Wicklow) - Posts: 130 - 22/04/2022 19:19:59    2412352

Disappointing to see Oisin McConville and Steven McDonnell weighing in on the conspiracy theories. Steven McDonnell in particular, willing to make the claim that Donegal engineered this whole thing but wasn't willing to divulge his theory with any detail. Clearly all trying to build a siege mentality this week based on BS. Not impressed at all with this craic. Anyway, nearly game time so let's hope the game delivers!

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 23/04/2022 08:34:08    2412411

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Disappointing to see Oisin McConville and Steven McDonnell weighing in on the conspiracy theories. Steven McDonnell in particular, willing to make the claim that Donegal engineered this whole thing but wasn't willing to divulge his theory with any detail. Clearly all trying to build a siege mentality this week based on BS. Not impressed at all with this craic. Anyway, nearly game time so let's hope the game delivers!"
Yeah it's crazy stuff, I heard McConville talk about how Rian was picked out and how protocol wasn't followed in terms of that initial suspension which is fair enough to have gripes about how the whole process was handled... but then he jumps from that to Donegal orchestrated the whole thing and were "pulling a fast one" by accepting the suspensions we got. As another poster mentioned on here we must have some set up in Donegal to be so assured of the outcome of that game in Letterkenny that we would be planning all that out and luring those poor innocent Armagh bucks into a melee.

I wonder will every wee scuffle for the rest of the year is also gonna be orchestrated with grand plans etc. Everyone knows that the best players get targeted during the game, Murphy has been dealing with it for years, but the idea that Donegal tried to get a bunch of Armagh lads suspended is a stretch to say the least.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 23/04/2022 14:08:27    2412485

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Yeah it's crazy stuff, I heard McConville talk about how Rian was picked out and how protocol wasn't followed in terms of that initial suspension which is fair enough to have gripes about how the whole process was handled... but then he jumps from that to Donegal orchestrated the whole thing and were "pulling a fast one" by accepting the suspensions we got. As another poster mentioned on here we must have some set up in Donegal to be so assured of the outcome of that game in Letterkenny that we would be planning all that out and luring those poor innocent Armagh bucks into a melee.

I wonder will every wee scuffle for the rest of the year is also gonna be orchestrated with grand plans etc. Everyone knows that the best players get targeted during the game, Murphy has been dealing with it for years, but the idea that Donegal tried to get a bunch of Armagh lads suspended is a stretch to say the least."
I wonder what the undercover codename was for the Letterkenny fracas "we instigated."

Operation Orchard?!

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 23/04/2022 16:56:54    2412520

Replying To themaddog:  "Criticising aid given to victims of a war zone, using false equivalence and whataboutery, is pathetic behaviour. Talk to Ukrainian families about their horrific experiences and it might open your mind."
Any chance of you reading the posts before you reply to them. Animals homed before our own people, is that false? Now your on the subject of war zones, there are plenty of war zones around the world and very few have been welcomed like the Ukrainians, Oh yes they are white. Plus I'd like to hear both sides of this war but can't.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2023 - 23/04/2022 19:43:21    2412574

Just to let you know lads - a couple of pundits opinions is not representative of Armagh supporters in general. The large majority thought our players were idiots to be actively involved in the 'melee' but also that it was 50/50 involving both teams equally.
Here's to a great game tomorrow!

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 23/04/2022 19:45:54    2412577

Replying To Saynothing:  "Any chance of you reading the posts before you reply to them. Animals homed before our own people, is that false? Now your on the subject of war zones, there are plenty of war zones around the world and very few have been welcomed like the Ukrainians, Oh yes they are white. Plus I'd like to hear both sides of this war but can't."
A small country was invaded by a large neighbouring - what other side are you wishing to hear? You would think you might have a bit of empathy for this situation given some possible parallels.
The mind baffles ….

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 23/04/2022 20:54:00    2412603

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Yeah it's crazy stuff, I heard McConville talk about how Rian was picked out and how protocol wasn't followed in terms of that initial suspension which is fair enough to have gripes about how the whole process was handled... but then he jumps from that to Donegal orchestrated the whole thing and were "pulling a fast one" by accepting the suspensions we got. As another poster mentioned on here we must have some set up in Donegal to be so assured of the outcome of that game in Letterkenny that we would be planning all that out and luring those poor innocent Armagh bucks into a melee.

I wonder will every wee scuffle for the rest of the year is also gonna be orchestrated with grand plans etc. Everyone knows that the best players get targeted during the game, Murphy has been dealing with it for years, but the idea that Donegal tried to get a bunch of Armagh lads suspended is a stretch to say the least."
I'd you want to know about Oisin McConville check out his record as a manager and coach with both club and county.

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 727 - 23/04/2022 21:28:26    2412619

Replying To greysoil:  "A small country was invaded by a large neighbouring - what other side are you wishing to hear? You would think you might have a bit of empathy for this situation given some possible parallels.
The mind baffles …."
I'd say you'd be easy baffled right enough.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2766 - 23/04/2022 21:33:57    2412623

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I'd say you'd be easy baffled right enough."
Take it easy on each other tomorrow, winners could make it to final with Tyrone if they make it.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2023 - 23/04/2022 21:49:38    2412633

Replying To Saynothing:  "Take it easy on each other tomorrow, winners could make it to final with Tyrone if they make it."
Well suppose if Armagh lose they can always appeal.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2766 - 23/04/2022 21:52:56    2412637

Congrats to Donegal - a convincing win. Really looked like men against boys today.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 24/04/2022 15:43:18    2412747

Well done Donegal on a good and convincing win. On to meet Cavan now and should be a good game. Will be a bit of revenge wanted for 2020. Armagh are an odd one. All talk and bluster, but not much to back it up. Win a big League game on February is different than backing it up in Championship later in the year. Flaky enough team, as are management and some supposed big players

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2411 - 24/04/2022 16:04:12    2412751

After all the whinging, lawyers and strokes, when push came to shove Armagh had nothing to offer. Donegal won at their ease without even playing that well themselves.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 24/04/2022 16:36:48    2412762