The Donegal/Armagh Row

I assume that some form of suspension will be handed out to several players.

In the name of consistency of course.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 28/03/2022 22:05:37    2407914

Noting more unseemly scenes at the end of the Armagh Donegal game. Are the Armagh lads the common denominator in all of this rowdiness in Ulster?And this isn't new for them - Was just thinking back to their carryon vs Cavan in 2014..

P.Mckenna (Louth) - Posts: 105 - 29/03/2022 09:38:24    2407939

Replying To Wally:  "I assume that some form of suspension will be handed out to several players.

In the name of consistency of course."
I'd be surprised if there wasn't to be honest. From the footage, you can see Rian O'Neill punch Shane O'Donnell on the head. You can also see Jemar Hall swing at Shane O'Donnell. I couldn't see what Shane O'Donnell did but it would be a good trade off to have SOD suspended along with O'Neill. I tried to find incidents of Donegal players throwing digs but was unable to but I'm sure the footage only showed half of what happened.

It'll be interesting to see what comes off it.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 29/03/2022 09:40:59    2407944

Replying To Wally:  "I assume that some form of suspension will be handed out to several players.

The Tyrone panel are probably sweating now in case they get blamed for another one of Armagh's skirmishes!

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 29/03/2022 10:14:45    2407965

Yeah in the interests of consistency there probably should be a few suspensions dished out. I wouldn't like to be on the committee having to decide who though. I would hazard a guess that Odhran McFadden-Ferry and Aiden Nugent will be in bother as they seem to have been identified as the instigators. Then Rían O'Neill and Jemar Hall look like they may face sanction based on what can be seen. The Donegal sub keeper Micael Lynch looked to be in the thick of it too and anyone found guilty of headlocking but good luck identifying them.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9171 - 29/03/2022 10:22:28    2407972

They'll have no problem selling tickets for the 24th.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7380 - 29/03/2022 10:24:03    2407973

I believe the refs report will lead to two maybe three from each panel facing bans.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1149 - 29/03/2022 10:33:09    2407979

No real room for this in the game. Hundreds of kids sitting watching on (watching their idols) and seeing this is not ideal but there probably wasn't too much in it. Was a few attempts at punches thrown but at the end of the game when all is over this is uncalled for.
Second incident like this for Armagh which doesn't look good. I am not saying Tyrone nor Donegal are angels either but Armagh involved in both says something. Tyrone lost 4 players over the row earlier in the year and Armagh lost 1. Their row seemed less intense than the one Sunday.
Will leave their Ulster championship game hot and heavy which is good too just without the fighting. O'Neill be a massive loss for Armagh, he seemed to clearly strike out which should be a red card and suspension. Seemed to be a lot of subs involved so will be good to see what the CCCC come back with on this one.

If right is right this should result in suspensions for the relevant players/back room members on both teams and let them miss the championship match or else there is a massive inconsistency there which needs sorted. If there is no suspensions handed out it would be a disgrace to be honest. The next week or two will tell a lot.

From a Monaghan POV, the dubs players, management and support must be recognized for how gracious in defeat they were on Sunday. After their massive success over the last number of years they were relegated with a last minute free (seemed a little harsh maybe as were both penalties) but they put their hands out to Monaghan players, management and supporters respectively and took defeat on the chin. This is very admirable and no doubt they will be there or thereabouts come summer contending for the All Ireland. There was a tangle with Howard and McCarron after the free and the final whistle was blown while it happened, both players got up and shook hands no other players came running pushing and shoving. Very sportsmanship of both teams in what was a brilliant game.

countymonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 273 - 29/03/2022 10:36:29    2407983

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah in the interests of consistency there probably should be a few suspensions dished out. I wouldn't like to be on the committee having to decide who though. I would hazard a guess that Odhran McFadden-Ferry and Aiden Nugent will be in bother as they seem to have been identified as the instigators. Then Rían O'Neill and Jemar Hall look like they may face sanction based on what can be seen. The Donegal sub keeper Micael Lynch looked to be in the thick of it too and anyone found guilty of headlocking but good luck identifying them."
Odhran McFadden-Ferry and Aiden Nugent were definitely at the start of it the were pulling at each other and then when Odhran was walking away Nugent definitely swung out at him which the linesman seen as he was walking out to the incident but stopped when the final whistle went. Either way Odhran should have walked away so if he gets suspended he can have no argument. Our sub goalie looked to be the worst from our side of thing and will definitely be suspended if suspensions are handed out. Rian O'Neill knew he messed up cause once he swung out he immediately walked away from it.

naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 482 - 29/03/2022 10:42:20    2407986

From what I've seen of this row,a lot of fellas in bins and not involved in match seemed to be stuck in it??also there looks to be a nasty stamping incident with an Armagh player..seeing as they handed suspensions in Armagh/Tyrone game,they'll probably have to act on this one to..who will want to ref championship match in s few weeks??

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2237 - 29/03/2022 10:44:04    2407990

Armagh have form at this craic tbh, just seen on TG4's highlights last night I think one of the Armagh players stood on Michaels head after he scored that backways point? from Michaels reaction I could tell something happened, the umpire should have informed the ref, he was standing right beside the incident,
if there are suspensions we will deal with them, it can't be overlooked though that these rows keep happening when Armagh are involved, you wouldn't need to be Einstein to see the cause of the problem.
I agree with the Monaghan poster above, the Dubs have a bit of class about them win or lose, I always found their players and supporters that way anyway.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2763 - 29/03/2022 10:56:55    2408000

Didn't someone point out on the Donegal GAA Thread that suspensions here will only affect league next year and not championship game?

That correct?

If so, no one will care too much.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 246 - 29/03/2022 11:00:57    2408002

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "Didn't someone point out on the Donegal GAA Thread that suspensions here will only affect league next year and not championship game?

That correct?

If so, no one will care too much."
That's not correct. May apply to a red card received in a match.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 29/03/2022 11:11:00    2408009

Wonder what has Oisin Mc conville to say about it. He does a lot of media work, hopefully he's asked about the brawl.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2417 - 29/03/2022 11:26:30    2408021

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Armagh have form at this craic tbh, just seen on TG4's highlights last night I think one of the Armagh players stood on Michaels head after he scored that backways point? from Michaels reaction I could tell something happened, the umpire should have informed the ref, he was standing right beside the incident,
if there are suspensions we will deal with them, it can't be overlooked though that these rows keep happening when Armagh are involved, you wouldn't need to be Einstein to see the cause of the problem.
I agree with the Monaghan poster above, the Dubs have a bit of class about them win or lose, I always found their players and supporters that way anyway."
They're fond of the stamping. I can remember one of their midfielders, not sure if it was Grimley, Rafferty or Sheridan stamped on Eoghan Ban's leg in a league match a few years ago on a horrible night in Ballybofey.

Maybe they're desperate just to emulate their UFC hero McGeeney or something what with their headlocking and choke holds. Lets not forget they were at the same carry on in 2014. Two of them attacked Karl Lacey in choke hold type clinches. Another one of them acting the big man by shoving over our team doctor as well. But sure look, they have their hardmen reputation to live up to I suppose...

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9171 - 29/03/2022 11:27:55    2408022

The GAA need to come down hard on subs and backroom teams running on to the pitch to get involved. Even if well intentioned it always escalates the row.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4627 - 29/03/2022 12:00:02    2408040

Replying To sourmilk93:  "I believe the refs report will lead to two maybe three from each panel facing bans."
If it comes down to anything more than pushing and shoving then it won't be 2/3 from each panel, can only see one Donegal player in that instance and 3 from Armagh. Hopefully they look at what took place in detail rather than throwing the book at the two teams evenly.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 29/03/2022 12:21:23    2408051

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "Didn't someone point out on the Donegal GAA Thread that suspensions here will only affect league next year and not championship game?

That correct?

If so, no one will care too much."
No that's not right. Suspensions will apply to the next intercounty game, league or championship

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 479 - 29/03/2022 12:48:56    2408060

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yeah in the interests of consistency there probably should be a few suspensions dished out. I wouldn't like to be on the committee having to decide who though. I would hazard a guess that Odhran McFadden-Ferry and Aiden Nugent will be in bother as they seem to have been identified as the instigators. Then Rían O'Neill and Jemar Hall look like they may face sanction based on what can be seen. The Donegal sub keeper Micael Lynch looked to be in the thick of it too and anyone found guilty of headlocking but good luck identifying them."
The GAA don't do consistency !

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 29/03/2022 13:17:10    2408072

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "If it comes down to anything more than pushing and shoving then it won't be 2/3 from each panel, can only see one Donegal player in that instance and 3 from Armagh. Hopefully they look at what took place in detail rather than throwing the book at the two teams evenly."
What I heard was 3rd hand info allegedly from the horses mouth. The ref was from Roscommon. So what was passed onto me was 2 maybe 3 from each panel might be facing bans. Time will tell if its bull or not

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1149 - 29/03/2022 13:18:33    2408073