Stay Safe.

The thing I don't understand is they say the peak is in 3 months or whatever, how will it be any better after that? if the virus is still active it can spread rapidly unless we maintain this distancing etc,
the place will shut down altogether eventually. I think pubs etc will have to be closed down too, crazy times.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2736 - 14/03/2020 14:55:17    2273803

Replying To royaldunne:  "Despite my love of riling some people on here, at this time I wish all posters and staff at hogan stand the very best wishes in these uncertain times.
We all have loved ones with immune issues. So do as we are asked. And may we all return at end of March safe and healthy"
Good man Royaldunne. Keep her lite.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 14/03/2020 15:14:43    2273807

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "The thing I don't understand is they say the peak is in 3 months or whatever, how will it be any better after that? if the virus is still active it can spread rapidly unless we maintain this distancing etc,
the place will shut down altogether eventually. I think pubs etc will have to be closed down too, crazy times."
We need the US to work overtime to find and rush a vaccine out. All kinds of talk about them being close to nailing it but they would have to try and fast track the clinical trials and certification processes I think. Elderly and vulnerable first. I have an underlying condition myself and would be in serious trouble if I picked it up so laying low at the moment. Fingers crossed everyone stays hygenic, keeps distance and maybe it will run its course and we all come out the other side. Fingers crossed.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 14/03/2020 16:23:34    2273811

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I turned on the late late show for a few minutes last night just to see if they were keeping the 1to 2 meter rule and no there was a full audience side by side singing away with some young lad on stage.

Shouldn't our national broadcaster be leading by example."
As usual Tom, you're on the ball.
Jaysus above.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 14/03/2020 16:26:05    2273812

Pubs should be the first thing to be shut down, anyway wake me when the pandemonium and paranoia is over. Social media is a sea of idiots and life without sport is not a life I want.
Im old enough to be worried but yet im more worried about not being able to watch any football i suppose ill get what i deserve.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 14/03/2020 17:02:48    2273815

Replying To catch22:  "As usual Tom, you're on the ball.
Jaysus above."
He obviously didn't watch the show from the start, where Tubridy showed there was no audience there. Played playback interviews during the show.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 14/03/2020 17:05:51    2273816

Replying To lilypad:  "Pubs should be the first thing to be shut down, anyway wake me when the pandemonium and paranoia is over. Social media is a sea of idiots and life without sport is not a life I want.
Im old enough to be worried but yet im more worried about not being able to watch any football i suppose ill get what i deserve."
Can't fathom anyone wanting to go to a pub at the moment, lets be realistic a mens lavertry in an Irish pub is hardly a hub of good hygiene...

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 14/03/2020 18:07:57    2273818

Replying To wexico15:  "Can't fathom anyone wanting to go to a pub at the moment, lets be realistic a mens lavertry in an Irish pub is hardly a hub of good hygiene..."
All closed this evening in Mullingar at 6pm

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/03/2020 20:44:02    2273828

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ok talking to a politician friend of mine, there is absolutely no need for the panic buying, last year the gov put in a plan for a no deal brexit , basically doubled in some cases tripled the supply chain in the event of a crash out, there is warehouses all over the country stocked with dry goods, and toiletries (yes even loo roll) . Freezer Containers full of frozen goods and meets etc, we have enough supply that if we didn't get one shipment into country for next six months we wouldn't run short. People need to not believe what is been written or said on the likes of fb WhatsApp or Twitter. For god sake people stop the bloody panic buying. So much for a new tolerant country my ass, everyone for themselves mentality is absolutely disgraceful."
You and a politician friend came up with that? Well done. Panic over. Every light bulb in Mullingar must have exploded when you put your heads together in that one

The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 15/03/2020 00:51:15    2273836

On my e-mail today.

Weekly report from National Disease Centre Ireland.

In this Influenza Season (20019 -2020) from November 2019 until now there have been 101 deaths from Seasonal Flu and over 600 ICU admissions.

Not wanting to belittle the possible threat to some vulnerable people of Covid-19, and to agree that it is a new and novel threat, I am confident that it will pass and cause no major added devistation other than any other flu virus epidemic that passes through our shores.

Yes we should all practice good respiratory and hand hygiene etiquette but the country should not be locked down. This is an appalling over reaction and is driven by public demand throughout Europe and the World rather than on scientific facts.

Essentially it's mob rule and the lunatics running the asylum.

We needed good leadership on this but we let Social Media rule and now the whole world will suffer a dire consequence. not in terms of Corona Virus deaths but in terms of public confidence. Hundreds of thousands of people around the globe will be left destitute and without employment because of global over-reaction. Children and families will go without basic food and medicines. Homelessness in developed countries will increase with more deaths on our streets from hypothermia and malnutrition. But these will not be mentioned in the media as they did not have the Corona-19 virus and in a sense will be regarded as deaths of a lesser value!!

Viruses have been coming and going since the birth of time. Covid-19 is no different. Our response in 2020 however is unprecedented. We should grow up and be rational. Take the best measures (as we always should) to protect ourselves and our neighbours. But we should not panic and over re-act and drive the whole world into an apoplectic frenzy.

Regrettably it seems the more we know the less we can cope.

Sláinte,

Dr. P.

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts: 278 - 15/03/2020 01:45:30    2273838

Replying To dingle2:  "On my e-mail today.

In this Influenza Season (20019 -2020) from November 2019 until now there have been 101 deaths from Seasonal Flu and over 600 ICU admissions.

Not wanting to belittle the possible threat to some vulnerable people of Covid-19, and to agree that it is a new and novel threat, I am confident that it will pass and cause no major added devistation other than any other flu virus epidemic that passes through our shores.

Yes we should all practice good respiratory and hand hygiene etiquette but the country should not be locked down. This is an appalling over reaction and is driven by public demand throughout Europe and the World rather than on scientific facts.

We needed good leadership on this but we let Social Media rule and now the whole world will suffer a dire consequence. not in terms of Corona Virus deaths but in terms of public confidence. Hundreds of thousands of people around the globe will be left destitute and without employment because of global over-reaction. Children and families will go without basic food and medicines. Homelessness in developed countries will increase with more deaths on our streets from hypothermia and malnutrition. But these will not be mentioned in the media as they did not have the Corona-19 virus and in a sense will be regarded as deaths of a lesser value!!

Viruses have been coming and going since the birth of time. Covid-19 is no different. Our response in 2020 however is unprecedented. We should grow up and be rational. Take the best measures (as we always should) to protect ourselves and our neighbours. But we should not panic and over re-act and drive the whole world into an apoplectic frenzy.

Sláinte,

Dr. P."
On my e-mail today, a Nigerian prince wants to give me 2 million quid.

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 561 - 15/03/2020 09:49:23    2273840

Sláinte,

Dr. P."
That's it , it's like a modern day version of War of the Worlds. Panic created by social media and mainstream media rather than just radio.
Take precautions as you should with any Flu and we'll be fine.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 15/03/2020 10:09:05    2273844

Sláinte,

Dr. P."
I would take issue with those influenza figures in that they do not take account of the many vulnerable people that were vaccinated for it, thus keeping those death and ICU numbers down.

As there is no vaccine for Covid 19, the vulnerable are completely exposed to the risk of death and critical illness, therefore the only and best way to keep them safe is to prevent them getting it until a vaccine does arrive in a year or so. Their safety is in all our hands, sort of speak.

What people are forgetting is that we are no longer try to contain this virus, we are now trying to delay it, so as the health service (such as it is) can deal with those most compromised when they inevitably get infection. This virus will remain viable until we build up herd immunity to it, by way of vaccine or infection, that's the harsh reality. All of the current restrictions etc are to protect the vulnerable and should be adhered to and indeed expanded for an extended period

People should also focus on optimising their immune system, especially in the vulnerable, and perhaps it's telling that products that do so are widely available in outlets. Perhaps an indication of complacency or denial

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 15/03/2020 12:47:47    2273850

Replying To catch22:  "That's it , it's like a modern day version of War of the Worlds. Panic created by social media and mainstream media rather than just radio.
Take precautions as you should with any Flu and we'll be fine."
I don't know who you are or where you are from but your ignorance is absolutely staggering.

Let me spell it out for you.

At least a million (probably a lot more) in the US are going to die from this and close to a hundred thousand will die in Ireland (hat tip to the dregs who went to Cheltenham). Your elderly relations and friends will most likely perish over the next year due to this virus and the subsequent exhaustion of the frontline staff while you sit at home muttering to yourself that it's just a flu.

Come back on here and post next sunday when the army and guards are patrolling the streets making sure fools like you are kept indoors.

I'd be surprised if admin let this be posted but as someone from a family of frontliners who's lives will be at risk for the next year because of ignorance like this, I think it should be posted so fools will wake up.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 15/03/2020 13:02:12    2273854

Replying To Crinigan:  "I don't know who you are or where you are from but your ignorance is absolutely staggering.

At least a million (probably a lot more) in the US are going to die from this and close to a hundred thousand will die in Ireland (hat tip to the dregs who went to Cheltenham). Your elderly relations and friends will most likely perish over the next year due to this virus and the subsequent exhaustion of the frontline staff while you sit at home muttering to yourself that it's just a flu.

Come back on here and post next sunday when the army and guards are patrolling the streets making sure fools like you are kept indoors.

I'd be surprised if admin let this be posted but as someone from a family of frontliners who's lives will be at risk for the next year because of ignorance like this, I think it should be posted so fools will wake up."
Unbelievable. There are people if the house was burning down would say the fire was out. Some just expressing an opinion but how many of them are a danger to us all by how they might behave.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2653 - 15/03/2020 14:11:51    2273862

Replying To Crinigan:  "I don't know who you are or where you are from but your ignorance is absolutely staggering.

I'd be surprised if admin let this be posted but as someone from a family of frontliners who's lives will be at risk for the next year because of ignorance like this, I think it should be posted so fools will wake up."
We'll they posted it so you're ability to be surprised is only surpassed by your love of drama.
One hundred thousand will die from this in Ireland you say.Currently 3000 in China.
Over a million in the US ? I'm sure you'll find someway to contribute every death that occurs to this virus in order to keep the panic at maximum.
Well, as there will most likely be a vaccine by August/ September that is just another demonstration of how ridiculous you're prediction is and if as you predict we have guards and the army keeping people from leaving their homes sure that is only more likely to prevent the Armageddon you love to wallow in.
God help us if your what's on the frontline.

I'll let you get back to you're advisors on Twitter and Instagram after you rush out to buy more pasta and toilet roll.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 15/03/2020 14:55:21    2273867

It is staggering a poll shows that 60% believe that the worst is yet to come and 40% not. This despite the science that exists that it will get worse before it gets better. You all remember a week ago where that congress man Gates in the U.S. went into the house with a gas mask and made a big joke of the virus. Three days later he tested positive and had passed it on. Trump call it a democratic hoax and a week later call a state of emergency. It is scary when people like that behave in this way. Leaders who are expected to know better. Yes there needs to be a balance or mid point between concern and out right panic but people who are in denial are dangerous. I hope and pray that it does not effect any of their family before this is over and they have to do a back flip like Gates and Trump.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2653 - 15/03/2020 15:28:36    2273874

Replying To catch22:  "We'll they posted it so you're ability to be surprised is only surpassed by your love of drama.
One hundred thousand will die from this in Ireland you say.Currently 3000 in China.
Over a million in the US ? I'm sure you'll find someway to contribute every death that occurs to this virus in order to keep the panic at maximum.
Well, as there will most likely be a vaccine by August/ September that is just another demonstration of how ridiculous you're prediction is and if as you predict we have guards and the army keeping people from leaving their homes sure that is only more likely to prevent the Armageddon you love to wallow in.

I'll let you get back to you're advisors on Twitter and Instagram after you rush out to buy more pasta and toilet roll."
Somewhere between both your opinions resides the truth. I agree that there won't be 100,000 deaths here and over a million in America, but only because people will have to abide by the restrictions placed on them. The point about China only goes to prove this. They locked the place down over a month ago. It is a given fact that the death rate is somewhere between 2 and 4% and that not delaying the virus will result in 80% infection rate. Do the math. I hope you are right about a vaccine by September

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 15/03/2020 15:47:21    2273877

Replying To catch22:  "We'll they posted it so you're ability to be surprised is only surpassed by your love of drama.

I'll let you get back to you're advisors on Twitter and Instagram after you rush out to buy more pasta and toilet roll."
You're talking absolute ill-informed sh*te. I sincerely hope you're hubris doesn't effect anyone in your life in the coming months. Cop On.

Morty (Westmeath) - Posts: 209 - 15/03/2020 16:41:06    2273888

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Somewhere between both your opinions resides the truth. I agree that there won't be 100,000 deaths here and over a million in America, but only because people will have to abide by the restrictions placed on them. The point about China only goes to prove this. They locked the place down over a month ago. It is a given fact that the death rate is somewhere between 2 and 4% and that not delaying the virus will result in 80% infection rate. Do the math. I hope you are right about a vaccine by September"
Vaccines are at human testing stage and while obviously care has to be taken there are a number of pharmaceutical companies working night and day on this with that timescale projected.
That pisters silly stuff is what we don't need.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 15/03/2020 17:07:07    2273892