Meath V Tyrone

Replying To glover:  "I dont know why people are so hung up about who plays in goals. With any new players they have to be tried and tested at some stage meaths obyrne cup matches were hardly much to go by. Gale force wind v louth can you judge kickouts based on that? miserable winter weather for much of the games. Yeah it would be absolutely fantastic for the county if they survive div 1 but the league is also the time were you get to judge players against better opponents than what they faced in the obyrne cup to see when it comes to championships are these players good enough. Everyone will have a different opinion on loads of different players but why write them off without giving them a chance? That's just not about goalkeepers but any position on the pitch. You cant form opinions on one or two matches played in miserable DECEMBER weather Andy will put out who he sees fit against Tyrone and we should get behind the team and support them."
Very well said, these lads could be from Timbuktu but if they're wearing our beloved Meath jersey I'll be cheering them on regardless.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 22/01/2020 15:11:13    2261580

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/gaa/allianz-football-league-division-1-our-team-by-team-guide-and-predictions-976890.html

May be of interest to some, John Fogarty gives his views on Division One. Hopefully he is well off the mark.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 22/01/2020 15:39:32    2261585

Replying To seadog54:  "https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/gaa/allianz-football-league-division-1-our-team-by-team-guide-and-predictions-976890.html

May be of interest to some, John Fogarty gives his views on Division One. Hopefully he is well off the mark."
Best ignored. Standard GAA journalist ie rubbish.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 22/01/2020 15:57:29    2261590

Replying To Crinigan:  "Best ignored. Standard GAA journalist ie rubbish."
Shocking bad. Like he says , this journalist says this is Galway 5th consecutive year in div 1 in the article. This is Galways 3rd consective year in div 1. Galway were promoted from div 2 in 2017. You think he would get that right. He has Galway in div 1 in 2016 , the year Galway drew with Meath in Salthill in div 2. He then says Graham Reilly is still on the Meath panel. Graham has gone back to his club and might be called in. But Graham is not on the Meath panel. He hasnt played any part in the Byrne cup and will not be anywhere near the match day panel on Sunday. Yet this journalist says Graham Reilly is commited to Meath panel again this year. Like these are poor mistakes. Its wonder he doesnt say Mick O Dowd is still Meath manager. And Mick Dwyer is back managing kildare.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 22/01/2020 17:18:34    2261622

Replying To Crinigan:  "Best ignored. Standard GAA journalist ie rubbish."
Have queried his inclusion of GR in Meath panel.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 22/01/2020 19:02:45    2261642

Has the panel for league been announced? If so where can I view it.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 22/01/2020 19:37:07    2261645

Replying To seadog54:  "Has the panel for league been announced? If so where can I view it."
I don't think we'll see one announced, Andy seems to like working with an extended panel and then bringing players in and out of the match day squad as he deems necessary and that's a good sign.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 23/01/2020 09:35:08    2261713

Replying To BigJoe14:  "
Replying To brian:  "What North Meath glasses are you on about. That's a bit of a jump. But whatever suits your argument..

Yorke is third choice in your opinion. In a lot of other people's opinions he's first and in a lot of other people's opinions Colgan shouldn't be anywhere near this squad. That's the way of the world, people have opinions.

Yes you're right the team is picked on talent and not location, no one is arguing with you about that and right now Colgan isn't the most talented keeper in the county. Our opinions differ but that's whats great about forums.

Also some like to believe in order to excuse their region of the county for not developing any decent footballers in twenty years. Ollie Murphy, Daithi Regan, Michael Newman. I suppose they're rubbish are they. This arbotrary North Meath debate has been done to death, they're all Meath players when they pull on the jersey"
I agree that there are 4 or 5 better goalkeepers in the county than Colgan and Yorke who for whatever reason can't commit to the county scene or haven't been asked but out of what we have andy Colgan is the best of the three and Yorke is third choice with Harry Hogan second (possibly pushing for first) in my opinion, which is based on the evidence i have seen with my two eyes. Also the year is now 2020 and Ollie Murphy was produced in the 90's with Daithi Regan in the very early 2000's. Newman yes within the last twenty years. While i understand the population is greater in east meath than in north Meath there are still some very small clubs in east Meath with similar playing numbers to those in north Meath who have produced extremely talented players and have been successful without huge numbers and that is down to organisation and quality coaching, which has probably been the biggest down fall of other smaller clubs in meath rather than just not having as many numbers and blaming dubs for moving into ratoath, ashbourne and Dunboyne."
@Bigjoe: you seem to have a close allegiance to Colgon for whatever reason and you can't see past the facts. He cost us at the business end of last season, plain and simple. The pressure got to him at key moments in those two games when we had the momentum. We all make mistakes so fine to keep him on the panel but not as #1.
A team needs to have confidence in their keeper and IMO this has unfortunately been lost since last year. To add to that, the guy doesn't seem to be near inter-county fitness levels.
Time for change and York is the front runner that should be given a chance in a tough test in Omagh.

Tweety (Meath) - Posts: 30 - 24/01/2020 09:17:16    2261885

when will the team be announced?

2020Vision (Meath) - Posts: 29 - 24/01/2020 16:35:06    2261957

Replying To 2020Vision:  "when will the team be announced?"
Usually left as late as possible.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 24/01/2020 18:38:30    2261973

Replying To 2020Vision:  "when will the team be announced?"
Saturday morning I'd say.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/01/2020 19:13:38    2261986

Replying To Tweety:  "
Replying To BigJoe14:  "[quote=brian:  "What North Meath glasses are you on about. That's a bit of a jump. But whatever suits your argument..

Yorke is third choice in your opinion. In a lot of other people's opinions he's first and in a lot of other people's opinions Colgan shouldn't be anywhere near this squad. That's the way of the world, people have opinions.

Yes you're right the team is picked on talent and not location, no one is arguing with you about that and right now Colgan isn't the most talented keeper in the county. Our opinions differ but that's whats great about forums.

Also some like to believe in order to excuse their region of the county for not developing any decent footballers in twenty years. Ollie Murphy, Daithi Regan, Michael Newman. I suppose they're rubbish are they. This arbotrary North Meath debate has been done to death, they're all Meath players when they pull on the jersey"
I agree that there are 4 or 5 better goalkeepers in the county than Colgan and Yorke who for whatever reason can't commit to the county scene or haven't been asked but out of what we have andy Colgan is the best of the three and Yorke is third choice with Harry Hogan second (possibly pushing for first) in my opinion, which is based on the evidence i have seen with my two eyes. Also the year is now 2020 and Ollie Murphy was produced in the 90's with Daithi Regan in the very early 2000's. Newman yes within the last twenty years. While i understand the population is greater in east meath than in north Meath there are still some very small clubs in east Meath with similar playing numbers to those in north Meath who have produced extremely talented players and have been successful without huge numbers and that is down to organisation and quality coaching, which has probably been the biggest down fall of other smaller clubs in meath rather than just not having as many numbers and blaming dubs for moving into ratoath, ashbourne and Dunboyne."
@Bigjoe: you seem to have a close allegiance to Colgon for whatever reason and you can't see past the facts. He cost us at the business end of last season, plain and simple. The pressure got to him at key moments in those two games when we had the momentum. We all make mistakes so fine to keep him on the panel but not as #1.
A team needs to have confidence in their keeper and IMO this has unfortunately been lost since last year. To add to that, the guy doesn't seem to be near inter-county fitness levels.
Time for change and York is the front runner that should be given a chance in a tough test in Omagh."]If anyone was in Simonstown at the Feis Cup game tonight they'd be wondering why Burlingham from Simonstown isn't the number 1 or at least hasn't been given another chance on the panel as he's still only 25

ClashofTheAsh13 (Meath) - Posts: 31 - 24/01/2020 23:15:41    2262042

One thing I've noticed is that last year before the league nobody fancied our chances. They were hardly mentioning us. Colm Parkinson thought we might drop to Div 3. Here we are in Div 1 and nobody gives us much chance before a ball is kicked. I think we're going to surprise a few people. Staying up is going to be tough but the likes of Tyrone, Mayo and Donegal aren't going to be as strong as they were last year for various reasons. Tyrone are bit like us in 2005 where it was a while since our last success. We had a long standing manager but doubts were starting to circulate around him. We had young talent coming on but it didn't seem to bear fruit in terms of trophies. From there, there was a slow decent. Mayo might be going on a downward trend too. Donegal are vulnerable through retirements and injuries but they beat us 3 times last year so we will need to find a higher gear if we're to change that trend.

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 452 - 25/01/2020 00:18:30    2262049

Replying To royaldunne:  "Saturday morning I'd say."
Team Annonuced
1 Colgan
2 Clarke
3McGill
4 Toner
5 J McEntee
6 Ryan
7 Keoghan
8 Menton
9 B Conlon
10 Brennan
11 McMahon
12 E Wallace
13 Sullivan
14 Reilly
15 Walsh

Gallagher must be injured. So we are down S Mcentee Lavin, Devine, Gallagher, Harnan, Lenihan, Newman. That team has 9 changes to the team that played v Donegal in the super 8s last July.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 25/01/2020 08:17:14    2262069

Colgan
Robin Clarke
Mc Gill
Toner
James Mc Entnee
Ronan Ryan
Keoghan
Conlon
menton
Brennan
Mc Mahon
Wallace
C S0'ullivan
Thomas Oreilly
Shane walsh

Is the team on Meath GAA. At first glance the team looks light starting Emmon Wallace is risk if it happens after been out for year. Clogan stays in goal. I am not as convinced we can get the win now but lets see.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 25/01/2020 08:45:28    2262074

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Colgan
Robin Clarke
Mc Gill
Toner
James Mc Entnee
Ronan Ryan
Keoghan
Conlon
menton
Brennan
Mc Mahon
Wallace
C S0'ullivan
Thomas Oreilly
Shane walsh

Is the team on Meath GAA. At first glance the team looks light starting Emmon Wallace is risk if it happens after been out for year. Clogan stays in goal. I am not as convinced we can get the win now but lets see."
The team is light starting Wallace? He is a seasoned footballer with the Meath team and will be one of the most experienced players on the pitch.

He was part of Ratoaths first ever Meath championship.

Just because he opted out of the senior set up last year does not make the team light.

I think it is very unfair to state that his inclusion makes the team light. And in saying that I am not as fan of his style. I think he takes too much out of the ball but O Sullivan does the same.

I would be more concerned about the two corner backs and the return of the goalkeeper. Colgan worth 4 points to the opposition.

Unfortunately, Meath need a full squad for the League to have a chance at survival. It may be too late when key players return.

Hopefully Tyrone are missing a few core players to even things up a bit

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 25/01/2020 11:17:13    2262100

Happy with that team, it gives a chance for others to step up. Realistically we're only missing Lavin, Gallagher, Harnan and Newman off our starting team. Devine, Lenihan and Shane McEntee are not guaranteed to start, great to have off the bench though.

I'll be interested to see how Colgan, Clarke, Toner, Wallace and Conlon get on. While Wallace is seasoned with us, the jury is still out on him for all his ability he takes too much out of the ball.

I think O Sullivan will play deeper leaving O Reilly and Walsh in the scoring area. They caused the Kerry backs a bit of trouble last year (Kerry were probably in 3rd gear).

Expect a running game with Ryan, Conlon, McEntee, Wallace, Keoghan and Menton all named around the middle. Tyrone have showed in the past that if you counter at pace to the middle, then quick ball into space for forwards to win and supporting runs off that they are extremely vulnerable and can be got at. If we let them get numbers back though we will struggle to break them down.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 25/01/2020 12:21:17    2262109

Replying To Royalio11:  "The team is light starting Wallace? He is a seasoned footballer with the Meath team and will be one of the most experienced players on the pitch.

He was part of Ratoaths first ever Meath championship.

Just because he opted out of the senior set up last year does not make the team light.

I think it is very unfair to state that his inclusion makes the team light. And in saying that I am not as fan of his style. I think he takes too much out of the ball but O Sullivan does the same.

I would be more concerned about the two corner backs and the return of the goalkeeper. Colgan worth 4 points to the opposition.

Unfortunately, Meath need a full squad for the League to have a chance at survival. It may be too late when key players return.

Hopefully Tyrone are missing a few core players to even things up a bit"
Well your right, but I dont feel its right to make little of a lad that buts the effort in to become a inter county footballer.
But a few points, Wallace has had plenty of chances over the past few years but he has never been consistent for Meath.
I just cant get out of my head the ball he chipped into the goalkeepers hands against Rosscommon in Hyde park, from 20 meters out that would have sealed victory that day. Also he came on against Down in Newry that last time we played them and he was easiest dispossessed one on one, at a crucial time. This plays sucks the life of a team. Its just a few times I can recall.
Having said that one of the best times I seen him play was against Derry in Navan a few years ago where in operated at the 40 and was a brilliant link man putting in quality ball and setting up attack. I think a role like this suits Eamon so maybe that might be what is planed if he starts. Now you mentioned COS gives the ball away cheaply that's correct . But IMO in think Nally coming on board last year has brought on both COS McMahon especially. I taught this too guys improved immensely last year. Now in fairness maybe with Nally coaching Eamon this year he can improve aswell.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 25/01/2020 12:23:55    2262110

Not especially impressed with that starting team to be honest although I know we have a lot of injuries.

Colgan and Brennan, in my opinion, showed they weren't at required level last year so bit disappointed to see them now still involved. Full back line very untested also. Presumably will be a Reilly and Walsh 2 man ff line.

Will need a lot of players to move to next level for us to get a win but in my opinion, it looks like a weaker team than our Div 2 team of last year. I know there are injuries and I really hope I'm proved wrong tomorrow, but I can't help but be underwhelmed.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 25/01/2020 13:24:06    2262136

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Well your right, but I dont feel its right to make little of a lad that buts the effort in to become a inter county footballer.
But a few points, Wallace has had plenty of chances over the past few years but he has never been consistent for Meath.
I just cant get out of my head the ball he chipped into the goalkeepers hands against Rosscommon in Hyde park, from 20 meters out that would have sealed victory that day. Also he came on against Down in Newry that last time we played them and he was easiest dispossessed one on one, at a crucial time. This plays sucks the life of a team. Its just a few times I can recall.
Having said that one of the best times I seen him play was against Derry in Navan a few years ago where in operated at the 40 and was a brilliant link man putting in quality ball and setting up attack. I think a role like this suits Eamon so maybe that might be what is planed if he starts. Now you mentioned COS gives the ball away cheaply that's correct . But IMO in think Nally coming on board last year has brought on both COS McMahon especially. I taught this too guys improved immensely last year. Now in fairness maybe with Nally coaching Eamon this year he can improve aswell."
Quite simply he's not a natural footballer. He's an athlete alright no question, and fair play to him for giving all for his county, he has my respect - but technically he's a poor footballer. I wouldn't trust him to make right decision even when not under pressure, nevermind with 3/4 Dublin defenders closing in on him. When Cian Ward referred to himself and Brian Farrell being dropped for players who are fast but can't even solo the ball, it was clear who he was referring to.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 25/01/2020 13:28:30    2262138