Meath V Tyrone

Replying To SheridansTry:  "His kick outs were very poor one was kicked to someone inside the D , which is not allowed and many more were scuffed to Opponents . I feel sorry for him as not many of our team were running free to look for the ball . It is very hard to pick out a man when no movement as they are all marked up. I actually thought they would sub him at half time so probably the right call but do feel for Yorke."
Disagree, wrong call I taught Daris was worst. Not Daris fault either.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 29/01/2020 14:33:41    2263519

Replying To meathgaa91:  "I actually cannot believe the overreaction to Yorke, from both fans and the management team. Seriously, how bad were his kick outs? Did they just not reach his man? Were any of them successful? Was he suspect in any other areas other than kickouts? Any keeper in the world can have an off day on kick outs, never mind just one half! (and on your competitive debut!)."
You are correct. Guys here who are all experts have been blaming the many keepers for the last 5 years, guys who see little or no club games included. You need players out the field who can make runs to allow the keeper space to kick into. You need midfielders who can win the odd long ball. Posting that we were missing a lot of players! although we started with 15 players. All teams are missing players and that is why the panel is quite large. You need defenders who can play the odd long accurate ball to a forward and you need good accuracy inside 40m with a good free taker-all basics of the game. Posters should be a bit more careful in blaming individual players and should take time to look in the mirror and ask yourself what have I played. Some of the guys who criticise most are the ones who never played, maybe tried to play occasionally. The best of luck to all on Sunday and nobody goes out to get beaten.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 29/01/2020 16:05:32    2263541

Learning points from recent past including Tyrone match. It is easy to identify our shortcomings in the last yearor two
1 INJURIES ...i assume not much can be done on this maybe. Every team has to cope with injuries anyway. Perhaps outside our control. 2 Most annoying are areas of "neglect" inside our control,and in particular areas within management and coaching. For example i refuse to accept we cannot improve Kickout strategy after such poor standards over a prolonged period in this area Kickouts are 2 sided.... Delivery and Receipt ........Goalkeepers in particulat need confidence building assistance. ANY manager who does not see this,and act accordingly should consider his position . Same goes for the coach! On the receiving end of kickouts goalkeeper can be assisted by making options available to him. Why do players not help here. Why stand like statues so often?Is this not covered in coaching/ training ?? 3 Midfielders must have high fielding as a basic skill. This skill CAN be improved through coaching..It seems our midfielders try to often to catch a ball with one hand only raised. Why??? Life is very difficult for our goalkeeper ...no matter WHO he is because of poor coaching in these areas. 'Mucking"around changing goalkeepers even during the match is not the answer.The answer is address the real problem by coaching when shortcomings are identified. NOT more of the same and expexct a different outcome. HELP THE GOALKEEPER to critisize him is the easy bit . Not carrying a torch for any of
our keepers ...i dont even know them.
Forward play ...Why do our forwards not anticipate more often by running to open spaces and making options available? The last player i saw doing this on a regular basis was Stephen Bray. We need help from him or someone like him for our forward coaching...By the way i dont know Stephen either !
Most of our shortcomings are in the acquired skills areas ,and thus can improve with coaching .That even includes free taking with specialists
No doubt i will be slated for being disloyal here. My stance is you can critisize constructively and still be a full blooded supporter..........We have to show we are in Div 1 by being a lot smarter by learning from mistakes... No excuses or apologies!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 29/01/2020 17:02:00    2263553

Replying To nobull456:  "Learning points from recent past including Tyrone match. It is easy to identify our shortcomings in the last yearor two
1 INJURIES ...i assume not much can be done on this maybe. Every team has to cope with injuries anyway. Perhaps outside our control. 2 Most annoying are areas of "neglect" inside our control,and in particular areas within management and coaching. For example i refuse to accept we cannot improve Kickout strategy after such poor standards over a prolonged period in this area Kickouts are 2 sided.... Delivery and Receipt ........Goalkeepers in particulat need confidence building assistance. ANY manager who does not see this,and act accordingly should consider his position . Same goes for the coach! On the receiving end of kickouts goalkeeper can be assisted by making options available to him. Why do players not help here. Why stand like statues so often?Is this not covered in coaching/ training ?? 3 Midfielders must have high fielding as a basic skill. This skill CAN be improved through coaching..It seems our midfielders try to often to catch a ball with one hand only raised. Why??? Life is very difficult for our goalkeeper ...no matter WHO he is because of poor coaching in these areas. 'Mucking"around changing goalkeepers even during the match is not the answer.The answer is address the real problem by coaching when shortcomings are identified. NOT more of the same and expexct a different outcome. HELP THE GOALKEEPER to critisize him is the easy bit . Not carrying a torch for any of
Forward play ...Why do our forwards not anticipate more often by running to open spaces and making options available? The last player i saw doing this on a regular basis was Stephen Bray. We need help from him or someone like him for our forward coaching...By the way i dont know Stephen either !
Most of our shortcomings are in the acquired skills areas ,and thus can improve with coaching .That even includes free taking with specialists
No doubt i will be slated for being disloyal here. My stance is you can critisize constructively and still be a full blooded supporter..........We have to show we are in Div 1 by being a lot smarter by learning from mistakes... No excuses or apologies!"
I agree with this. Can never understand why there isn't more movement at the kick out from the outfield players

cabbage (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 29/01/2020 19:23:12    2263593

Replying To nobull456:  "Learning points from recent past including Tyrone match. It is easy to identify our shortcomings in the last yearor two
No doubt i will be slated for being disloyal here. My stance is you can critisize constructively and still be a full blooded supporter..........We have to show we are in Div 1 by being a lot smarter by learning from mistakes... No excuses or apologies!"
No disagrement from me, you have highlighed the majority of our problems all of which should have been addressed. What are we doing at training ? Kickouts and kickout strategy should be a basic at intercounty level. We witnessed on Sunday how an experienced management team addressed their shortcomings, at h/t. Tyrone realised they had problems and changed their system to address issues. Once again we could not cope with a defensive set up and looked like we had never played against such a system. Our only response is to change like for like on the field. No plan B. no ability to influence game from sideline.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 29/01/2020 19:33:43    2263598

New season...... same old forum. Everyone with all the answers. Thinking the management team are clueless novices dragging their nuckles around dunganny all week every week.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 29/01/2020 20:08:45    2263608

Colgan gone for 6 months.

Meathmaster (Meath) - Posts: 251 - 29/01/2020 21:24:37    2263630

Replying To Meathmaster:  "Colgan gone for 6 months."
Time to call Duffy or Burlingham... or both!

GenderNeutral (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 29/01/2020 21:40:27    2263637

Another one gone, who gets the nod for Sunday, Is it a poison chalice at this stage?

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 29/01/2020 21:48:25    2263640

christ !

Must be a bad injury on the lad..

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 29/01/2020 22:02:36    2263642

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "christ !

Must be a bad injury on the lad.."
What the heck is going on with all the injuries all of sudden ?

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 30/01/2020 08:14:02    2263679

Replying To GenderNeutral:  "Time to call Duffy or Burlingham... or both!"
Realistic alternatives would be appreciated. I would be certain that either Cian Flynn from Dunboyne or Andrew Beakley from St Colmcilles will be called in now and will probably go straight into the number one jersey. Both are solid goalkeepers especially Flynn who has a lot of size as well and has trained with the panel in the past.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 30/01/2020 09:12:07    2263690

Will Yorke be dropped off the panel if he is no longer regarded to be an option?

I remember this happening with Donal Smith in Sean Boylan's time so its not totally unprecedented.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 30/01/2020 11:05:35    2263713

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Will Yorke be dropped off the panel if he is no longer regarded to be an option?

I remember this happening with Donal Smith in Sean Boylan's time so its not totally unprecedented."
Yorke - Who knows, I think dropping him completely would wreck an future chance for him. I think it would be extremely unfair to do so given he had no preparation time for this match, away from home to an all ireland finalist and semi finalist in the last two years.

Smith - I think you are right on this. Boylan had a thing of dropping Smith and McQuillan routinely during the late 80's and early nineties. Don't even remember who our third choice was back in those days (John Sullivan from St Patricks or the keeper from Skryne (Philip something) possibly)

Think Andy really needs to stick on a keeper now.
Colgan is gone for the season essentially.
Yorke's confidence must be shattered so he's likely out
Dardis is not a goalkeeper and shouldn't be put there.

Beakey was our U20 keeper last season and a panellist during the year so why not give him a chance

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 30/01/2020 11:26:10    2263718

The comments regarding dropping Yorke are shocking. The lad has made his first start for meath and only with 10 mins to throw in I'd say. He would have been nervous we all would. Tyrone not the best place to make a debut in. If it was navan it would have been perfect. Give him a chance like. He deserves a game in front of the home crowd. Dropping him would kill him.

Meath93 (Meath) - Posts: 1 - 30/01/2020 11:38:42    2263720

It really is just crazy that we went into the season with the same goalkeeper as last season who's confidence was on the floor and we didn't really go hard after locking down a definite number one, and here we are one week into the league and we have one goalkeeper injured for the season, one completely drained of all confidence and another one unproven at any level. Colgan is certainly good enough to be on the panel as a number two and good number one, but we really needed a top class keeper and instead we went with the same one again and two completely inexperienced back up keepers, with Yorke probably not up to the standard required and Harry Hogan hasn't played Gaelic football in a few years, however from what I have seen of him playing soccer his kickouts are excellent and has something to work with, he is a bit on he small side however. What is sickening is that we had since last August to sort this out and we didn't.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 30/01/2020 11:56:29    2263730

Replying To brian:  "Yorke - Who knows, I think dropping him completely would wreck an future chance for him. I think it would be extremely unfair to do so given he had no preparation time for this match, away from home to an all ireland finalist and semi finalist in the last two years.

Smith - I think you are right on this. Boylan had a thing of dropping Smith and McQuillan routinely during the late 80's and early nineties. Don't even remember who our third choice was back in those days (John Sullivan from St Patricks or the keeper from Skryne (Philip something) possibly)

Think Andy really needs to stick on a keeper now.
Colgan is gone for the season essentially.
Yorke's confidence must be shattered so he's likely out
Dardis is not a goalkeeper and shouldn't be put there.

Beakey was our U20 keeper last season and a panellist during the year so why not give him a chance"
If Colgan is gone. just goes to show what bad call to replacing Yorke on Sunday was. Instead of bringing Yorke in at half time and giving some words of encouragement, saying something listen a few things didn't go your way that half , That's gone now nothing can be done about it. Go out second half and lets see the real you etc.. Give the lad a chance to redeem himself and learn from it. Not that I taught he was particular bad that warranted changing in the first place. We where is worst position at the end of second half than we where in the first half. I would love to see him get another chance Sunday.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 30/01/2020 12:00:22    2263732

If yorke can't gather himself, dust himself off and come straight back in then last week was beneficial in finding out if he's up to it or not. So he got taken off..... big deal, the game went against him, was playing poorly, why does a gk deserve different treatment to an outfielder.....thomas oreilly was having a mare against carlow last year so he got called ashore after 25 mins and rightly so, I didn't hear lads saying he was finished, and to his credit he knuckled down and has always featured. Yorke had to come off, but in the same breath he shouldn't get dropped cause of 1 half of football...... but if it keeps happening then maybe he's not up to it. Everyone worrying about the keepers feelings....he's a big boy, and we are in with the big boys now, if he can't hack it he's out, if he comes back and plays well great and fair play to him.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 30/01/2020 13:33:34    2263758

Replying To southmeathgael:  "If yorke can't gather himself, dust himself off and come straight back in then last week was beneficial in finding out if he's up to it or not. So he got taken off..... big deal, the game went against him, was playing poorly, why does a gk deserve different treatment to an outfielder.....thomas oreilly was having a mare against carlow last year so he got called ashore after 25 mins and rightly so, I didn't hear lads saying he was finished, and to his credit he knuckled down and has always featured. Yorke had to come off, but in the same breath he shouldn't get dropped cause of 1 half of football...... but if it keeps happening then maybe he's not up to it. Everyone worrying about the keepers feelings....he's a big boy, and we are in with the big boys now, if he can't hack it he's out, if he comes back and plays well great and fair play to him."
I get your point but its a bigger deal than you are making out.

He, on his competitive debut as GK for his county, the biggest day of his sporting life, was taken off at HT. And he wasn't replaced by another competing GK, he was replaced by an outfield player!!! One who has never played a competitive match in his life as a goalkeeper, either for club or county!!! Its a statement to say that we think that you are irredeemably bad, so bad in fact that putting in somone who isn't even a goalkeeper is better than keeping you there for the second half.

Its a massive mistake and reflects the nagging doubts about McEntee - for his undoubted passion and love for the county to which we are very grateful, his treatment of players leaves a lot to be desired at times. It's hard to see a way back from that.

A GK needs to rely on instinct and confidence in modern game - pinging the ball 30 yards with a flat trajectory onto a lads chest while hes on the run and where 5 yards too far its out of play and 5 yards too short you've given away a certain goal chance - thats serious pressure and he needs to be being feeling as though he has the confidence of the setup.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 30/01/2020 14:10:41    2263770

I would expect York to start on Sunday, before Tyrone, management deemed him good enough to play for Meath, dropped from panel after a poor 35 minutes seems a bit of a knee jerk reaction. If that is the criteria to play for Meath, many a good lad would never have gotten a second chance.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 30/01/2020 19:28:43    2263854