Does Anybody Give A S**T About Hurling Classic?

I've written about those Toronto Skydome games myself on a separate thread over in the Wexford forum (hurling and football games were played there in both 1990 & 91). Think it shows you can play something more like 'proper' hurling in a baseball stadium, and that a crowd will turn up if you market it properly. This made-up Super 11s game is just muck.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2229 - 20/11/2019 09:41:11    2250450

Replying To Breezy:  "Jaysus the bitterness from Galway since we stopped her 2in a row is awful. Was always the second team for me and many in Limerick before but christ ye can go do one.

That post was so bitter I assumed it was the resurrection of the recently quiet former crazy mouthpiece Katzer"
I obviously touched a nerve there!

Watching from the outside it appears Limerick have made huge efforts to convince the country they don't celebrate to excess. That may have contributed to the players going mad on occasion. And no harm once some clowns keep the phone in the pocket. This will niggle badly at Kiely who is also very touchy when Limerick's style of play is ever mentioned.

This is a big year for Limerick- they have been telling everyone they're the coming team-remains to be seen. Teams appear to have figured them out a bit.

lowballplease (Galway) - Posts: 935 - 20/11/2019 11:25:12    2250472

Replying To lowballplease:  "I obviously touched a nerve there!

Watching from the outside it appears Limerick have made huge efforts to convince the country they don't celebrate to excess. That may have contributed to the players going mad on occasion. And no harm once some clowns keep the phone in the pocket. This will niggle badly at Kiely who is also very touchy when Limerick's style of play is ever mentioned.

This is a big year for Limerick- they have been telling everyone they're the coming team-remains to be seen. Teams appear to have figured them out a bit."
Tbh. You're probably right in a lot of what you wrote there.
The team needs to evolve and progress. The thinking all along was that they would be hitting peak around 2020,2021
The next year will tell a lot about where we're at.
It would be an awful shame if we can't be challenging for all irelands over the next few years.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1057 - 20/11/2019 11:50:57    2250480

Replying To Canuck:  "In 1990 the All-Stars football and hurling teams played in the Skydome in Toronto. I was please to be involved. Over 30,000 showed up. The pitch was a little short for hurling and picking the ball was different off the artificial surface. However the players told us the size was deceiving looking at it and when you were out there it was much bigger. This promoted the game properly. In talking with the players who had been on other trips they said this was the best. The players were put up in hotels, not farmed out as used be and each player received a commemorative ring of the occasion.
A bit of trivia. Ger Cunningham went head to head with Kelly Gruber (Blue Gays slugger) and drove the ball further with the bat and hurley. Wendal Clarke the great Maple Leaf told us if he was not a professional hockey player this is the sport he would want to play.
A memory was Babs shouting out out Nicholas English "Nicky if your not interested in playing f---off out of here."
Imagine Captain Crunch with a hurley!!!

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 20/11/2019 18:33:58    2250562

Replying To Breezy:  "Jaysus the bitterness from Galway since we stopped her 2in a row is awful. Was always the second team for me and many in Limerick before but christ ye can go do one.

That post was so bitter I assumed it was the resurrection of the recently quiet former crazy mouthpiece Katzer"
Most Galway supporters id say 99.9 % did nt begrudge Limerick their win in 2018
You will always get a few windups on these forums you should see what they say on their
own county forum

gboy (Galway) - Posts: 25 - 20/11/2019 23:20:11    2250600

Replying To McFan88:  "Yep - even more ridiculous given the recent history of recordings of members of the same county panel going viral"
Are people upset with the lad who recorded it just because it made it possible to get into the public domain or by recording it he was in fact part of it and condoned it? If he didn't record it and just watched, would he have been sent home?

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1800 - 21/11/2019 07:46:26    2250609

I hear more than one Limerick player was sent home. Any truth in the fact that another certain player put fire to a blue and gold jersey and Kiely got wind of it and sent the player home as well. Good few Limerick lads I know have mentioned it past few days. Could only be rumour but it's spreading like wild fire... Pardon the pun.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 21/11/2019 10:16:29    2250629

Replying To WildPundit:  "I hear more than one Limerick player was sent home. Any truth in the fact that another certain player put fire to a blue and gold jersey and Kiely got wind of it and sent the player home as well. Good few Limerick lads I know have mentioned it past few days. Could only be rumour but it's spreading like wild fire... Pardon the pun."
Player didn't go on the trip to New York. Yes it is correct this seems to be all I'm able to say as mods has blocked my last three messages. The act that you mentioned happened after a football County final but the video of the incident has only come out last week.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 21/11/2019 14:34:08    2250689

Replying To gboy:  "Most Galway supporters id say 99.9 % did nt begrudge Limerick their win in 2018
You will always get a few windups on these forums you should see what they say on their
own county forum"
Thanks gboy. Great to see somebody a bit of common sense into proceedings.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 21/11/2019 14:52:01    2250695

Replying To therealtmo:  "Player didn't go on the trip to New York. Yes it is correct this seems to be all I'm able to say as mods has blocked my last three messages. The act that you mentioned happened after a football County final but the video of the incident has only come out last week."
If I believed all the rumours I heard about Tipp players over the years I could write a small book on them.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 21/11/2019 14:53:38    2250697

Replying To lowballplease:  "I obviously touched a nerve there!

This is a big year for Limerick- they have been telling everyone they're the coming team-remains to be seen. Teams appear to have figured them out a bit."
The figuring out thing is hardly proven. While they lost to KK by a point, they also beat Clare, Tipp and Waterford by an average of sixteen points in Munster and also easily won the League.
However I do feel the culprits involved here should not be treated with kit gloves. However, there might be a silver lining to this cloud in that it might, at last, bring every panel member to their senses.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 21/11/2019 15:00:02    2250698

Replying To Oldtourman:  "If I believed all the rumours I heard about Tipp players over the years I could write a small book on them."
Have seen the video old tour man and not the New York one.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 21/11/2019 15:00:23    2250699

Replying To WildPundit:  "I hear more than one Limerick player was sent home. Any truth in the fact that another certain player put fire to a blue and gold jersey and Kiely got wind of it and sent the player home as well. Good few Limerick lads I know have mentioned it past few days. Could only be rumour but it's spreading like wild fire... Pardon the pun."
Truth

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2474 - 21/11/2019 15:06:57    2250702

Yeah, it's true.
We won't see him hurl for Limerick again under Kiely.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1057 - 21/11/2019 15:26:21    2250706

Disgraceful behaviour and likewise with what happened in NY. But I'd expect nothing less from "them".

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 21/11/2019 16:09:59    2250718

Replying To katser:  "Disgraceful behaviour and likewise with what happened in NY. But I'd expect nothing less from "them"."
Yawn.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1057 - 21/11/2019 16:35:14    2250721

Replying To katser:  "Disgraceful behaviour and likewise with what happened in NY. But I'd expect nothing less from "them"."
That's mild compare to what I've just being sent. Another incident from outside a well know Limerick night club. This lad may be in big trouble.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 21/11/2019 16:37:23    2250722

Replying To therealtmo:  "That's mild compare to what I've just being sent. Another incident from outside a well know Limerick night club. This lad may be in big trouble."
He will be in big trouble and rightly so. Appalling behaviour out of some of the panel recently.
It's very sad and causes genuine upset.
Apart from the likes of the WUM above you who'll wallow in it with their irrational hate of Limerick,
this should be recognised for what it is.
Destructive behaviour that could possibly ruin lives....

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1057 - 21/11/2019 17:09:34    2250725

Was it a Patrickswell jersey ? Maybe he was upset about the performance against Ballygunner

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 21/11/2019 17:14:05    2250726

Replying To skillet:  "He will be in big trouble and rightly so. Appalling behaviour out of some of the panel recently.
It's very sad and causes genuine upset.
Apart from the likes of the WUM above you who'll wallow in it with their irrational hate of Limerick,
this should be recognised for what it is.
Destructive behaviour that could possibly ruin lives...."
How do you think John Kiely will deal with this ? I know when one of own in Tipp was dropped in 2017 some people said it cost us the all Ireland that year. Jackie Tyrell reckoned if that player was not missing Tipp May have won the All Ireland. Can you see JK going down that road and if not could it all come back to bite him later in the year.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 21/11/2019 17:41:59    2250736