Kerry V Dublin

Replying To westkerry:  "Thank you Jim she's flying now,
Jacks a lovely genuine guy who those not take life too seriously when playing, I guess he sees real life difficult situations everyday and Football is put into context for him."
Think there's a lesson there for some, I see I can't even wish your daughter well without it being down thumbed.

Yep.. a much needed lesson indeed.

Happy to hear the good news regarding your girl and long may that continue. Must have been reassuring to know that she had good people around her when she needed it most.

Fair play for sharing that, a really class thing to say amongst some awful ignorance. Nothing but the best again to you and family again.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20614 - 23/08/2019 00:16:47    2228669

Replying To jimbodub:  "Think there's a lesson there for some, I see I can't even wish your daughter well without it being down thumbed.

Yep.. a much needed lesson indeed.

Happy to hear the good news regarding your girl and long may that continue. Must have been reassuring to know that she had good people around her when she needed it most.

Fair play for sharing that, a really class thing to say amongst some awful ignorance. Nothing but the best again to you and family again."
Glad to hear WestKerry's daughter is better.
But as I said on the Dublin County forum, there are some awful miserable b*st*rds on HS.
Redtumbing benign posts just because you don't like the poster is pathetic carry on.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 23/08/2019 10:26:33    2228703

Replying To avonali:  "Glad to hear WestKerry's daughter is better.
But as I said on the Dublin County forum, there are some awful miserable b*st*rds on HS.
Redtumbing benign posts just because you don't like the poster is pathetic carry on."
*thumbing*.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 23/08/2019 10:45:13    2228711

Replying To westkerry:  "Seasoned in the minors not in the big leagues."
We will see. I don't expect Kerry to freeze. Plenty of experience going into the final. Lets not forget the league campaign either. For sure dublin is the biggest step up possible, but the smaller steps are in situ and have been taken.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 23/08/2019 10:46:12    2228712

Replying To Donegalman:  "We will see. I don't expect Kerry to freeze. Plenty of experience going into the final. Lets not forget the league campaign either. For sure dublin is the biggest step up possible, but the smaller steps are in situ and have been taken."
Kerry will be ready for this game and won't freeze. They haven't all year and I think they have gotten better with each game. If they lose it will be because Dublin are better.

When you compare the two teams player v player it's clear Dublin have the advantage, particularly in the middle eight where their best players are concentrated, Fenton, McCarthy, McCaffery, Kilkenny and Howard. That doesn't mean Kerry can't win, just that they need a lot more things to go right for them.

We can talk about long grass and yerra this and yerra that but the bookies have Dublin as clear and outright favourites for a very good reason.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 23/08/2019 11:15:11    2228722

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Kerry will be ready for this game and won't freeze. They haven't all year and I think they have gotten better with each game. If they lose it will be because Dublin are better.

When you compare the two teams player v player it's clear Dublin have the advantage, particularly in the middle eight where their best players are concentrated, Fenton, McCarthy, McCaffery, Kilkenny and Howard. That doesn't mean Kerry can't win, just that they need a lot more things to go right for them.

We can talk about long grass and yerra this and yerra that but the bookies have Dublin as clear and outright favourites for a very good reason."
Hopefully not, i tihink we are all hoping for a good game and both team bring their very best. I was wondering would we try and starve Kerry of the ball in the opening stages tack on a few and see how they react. But on reflection i think we will more then likely do our ropeadope bit.

There isnt much data to analyse, between both teams in a modern context, two league games really last year and this, with both sides likely a bit under cooked to how they will shape up next Sunday. Although both managers will have their own tactical plans after much study im sure.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4448 - 23/08/2019 11:27:19    2228728

Really looking forward to the football all-ireland. Naturally the hurling wasn't the best for me!

Hard to look beyond Dublin. I suppose there's Kerry and their tradition and the fact they have quality forwards. The defence isn't the best though. And Dublin just look so strong all over. Even if Dublin happened to lose the game I think it's the finest team i've seen.

Defaulter1831 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 40 - 23/08/2019 11:35:13    2228733

Replying To avonali:  "Glad to hear WestKerry's daughter is better.
Redtumbing benign posts just because you don't like the poster is pathetic carry on."
Ya, spot on alright. Funny too how the aul cowards that they are will disappear when it becomes obvious the back up isn't there for them when they cross the line. I'd imagine they spend most of their lives on social media sites and haven't much else to be doing.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 23/08/2019 13:02:30    2228755

Replying To TheUsername:  "Hopefully not, i tihink we are all hoping for a good game and both team bring their very best. I was wondering would we try and starve Kerry of the ball in the opening stages tack on a few and see how they react. But on reflection i think we will more then likely do our ropeadope bit.

There isnt much data to analyse, between both teams in a modern context, two league games really last year and this, with both sides likely a bit under cooked to how they will shape up next Sunday. Although both managers will have their own tactical plans after much study im sure."
I just think Dublin are very strong around the middle of the field and will dominate there and on restarts no matter what tactical plans are in play. Our efficiency up front will need to be near perfect and we'll need several goals. We have not been scoring that many goals this year despite being able to kick points as well as anybody.

Not impossible for Kerry but they are up against it and there is no point saying otherwise, there are often shock results in sport and that's what we are hoping for.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 23/08/2019 13:09:36    2228757

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I just think Dublin are very strong around the middle of the field and will dominate there and on restarts no matter what tactical plans are in play. Our efficiency up front will need to be near perfect and we'll need several goals. We have not been scoring that many goals this year despite being able to kick points as well as anybody.

Not impossible for Kerry but they are up against it and there is no point saying otherwise, there are often shock results in sport and that's what we are hoping for."
Individual match-ups are the key as is the impact off the bench.
If you look at both sets of players individually I personally think the talent Kerry has means we compare well enough. Granted they have 3-4 outstanding players but so have we. Maybe a 8-7/9-6 divide in favor of Dublin.
It's really the collective strength of the Dublin a team, honed by 4 years of winning, that we have to overcome. Not easy at all. Think we will need to cause a bit of chaos in the middle third and make the most of any chances we get, that's crucial. We need to take every goal opportunity we get.
If we are on their coat-tails heading into the last 5-10 minutes (and that's a big if), I think we have a chance. We've finished strongly in our games and unlike Fitzmaurice's team this crowd don't squander leads or pettier out at the end of matches. They have legs and a great spirit.

Look we've probably only got a punchers chance, but you never know. I assume the Dublin players are human and that they do feel pressure. Despite the protestations on here, there is a lot of hype in Dublin. In fact I see a distinct lack of a build-up in the media which would attest to a prevailing feeling that this is a done deal already. If the talk of 5 in a row gets into their heads and accounts for a performance dip of 5 or 10% maybe strange things might start to happen.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/08/2019 13:30:17    2228763

Replying To TheHermit:  "Individual match-ups are the key as is the impact off the bench.
If you look at both sets of players individually I personally think the talent Kerry has means we compare well enough. Granted they have 3-4 outstanding players but so have we. Maybe a 8-7/9-6 divide in favor of Dublin.
It's really the collective strength of the Dublin a team, honed by 4 years of winning, that we have to overcome. Not easy at all. Think we will need to cause a bit of chaos in the middle third and make the most of any chances we get, that's crucial. We need to take every goal opportunity we get.
If we are on their coat-tails heading into the last 5-10 minutes (and that's a big if), I think we have a chance. We've finished strongly in our games and unlike Fitzmaurice's team this crowd don't squander leads or pettier out at the end of matches. They have legs and a great spirit.

Look we've probably only got a punchers chance, but you never know. I assume the Dublin players are human and that they do feel pressure. Despite the protestations on here, there is a lot of hype in Dublin. In fact I see a distinct lack of a build-up in the media which would attest to a prevailing feeling that this is a done deal already. If the talk of 5 in a row gets into their heads and accounts for a performance dip of 5 or 10% maybe strange things might start to happen."
Hermit I am living here. You have to understand Dublin is a very diverse place. A lot of non-Irish residents haven't a clue what's going on. A lot of Rugby and soccer people have no interest. I was asking my son's soccer coach was he going to the final and he said he had no interest in that 'sh*te". A lot of people living in Dublin actually don't like the GAA as an organisation and hate the sport.
You drive over the border from Limerick into Kerry and the Green and Gold is seen everywhere. I think it's brilliant. I live in Killester, on the Northside and you wouldn't know that the Dubs are going for 5 in a row.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 23/08/2019 13:44:33    2228768

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I just think Dublin are very strong around the middle of the field and will dominate there and on restarts no matter what tactical plans are in play. Our efficiency up front will need to be near perfect and we'll need several goals. We have not been scoring that many goals this year despite being able to kick points as well as anybody.

Not impossible for Kerry but they are up against it and there is no point saying otherwise, there are often shock results in sport and that's what we are hoping for."
I think we have a good ability to flood the line, what we have worked from a coahing angle, is hybrid footballers, you look at Dublin form 8 forwards and they can play in any line and litreally have. Where ever the need is that line will be flooded.

I feel a huge shift need to be put in by Howard, Scully, Kilkkenny, Con and Mannion defeinively, when momentum is against them becasue Kerry are a threat. If you give space. but primary focus will be on winning ball and the kickout and trying to strave pocession i would think. Kerry might flood the middle too with Sherwood at half back if Barry starts, but i like our options in there.

Im weirdly confident and not nervous, i usually am before a final, i dont put it down to arrogance as i think Kerry have a great chance, i think we have achieved so much that even if we loose this Dublin team will just always be loved and respected for the joy they have given, so it feels like bonus territory. The five for me, while great fun, is just a mental construct, ill enjoy it of course if its done as a nice bonus, but really i just want to win the All Ireland this year like most years. Maybe ill feel differently as the game gets closer.

Im really hoping for a cracking game.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4448 - 23/08/2019 13:55:35    2228773

Christ this thread is toxic
Sooner this is over the better

Westie, I am delighted to hear your daughter is well again.
Nothing worse.
My regards to ye :)

COYBIB

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 23/08/2019 13:59:44    2228775

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Christ this thread is toxic
Sooner this is over the better

Westie, I am delighted to hear your daughter is well again.
Nothing worse.
My regards to ye :)

COYBIB"
Thank you Liam, Sound man.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 23/08/2019 15:41:04    2228804

Going to take a sabbatical from HS for the next week.
Not good for the nerves maybe a few nights on the blaskets would sort me out.
I'll leave ye with this, id imagine most Dubs favourite song is Raglan Road, Remember that's a song about a West Kerry girl!
We have lots in common in the end of it all.
Up the Kingdom.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 23/08/2019 15:45:17    2228807

Replying To westkerry:  "Going to take a sabbatical from HS for the next week.
Not good for the nerves maybe a few nights on the blaskets would sort me out.
I'll leave ye with this, id imagine most Dubs favourite song is Raglan Road, Remember that's a song about a West Kerry girl!
We have lots in common in the end of it all.
Up the Kingdom."
WE have much in common. Enjoy the build up.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 23/08/2019 16:26:04    2228819

Replying To avonali:  "Hermit I am living here. You have to understand Dublin is a very diverse place. A lot of non-Irish residents haven't a clue what's going on. A lot of Rugby and soccer people have no interest. I was asking my son's soccer coach was he going to the final and he said he had no interest in that 'sh*te". A lot of people living in Dublin actually don't like the GAA as an organisation and hate the sport.
You drive over the border from Limerick into Kerry and the Green and Gold is seen everywhere. I think it's brilliant. I live in Killester, on the Northside and you wouldn't know that the Dubs are going for 5 in a row."
Yea it's easy to forget this avonali. fair play to those who choose to be gaa above all else in Dublin. After a big game at croke park you can lose yourself in pubs where there's oblivion to it (if needed ha) Impossible in kerry

reithi (Kerry) - Posts: 52 - 23/08/2019 17:30:20    2228830

Replying To reithi:  "Yea it's easy to forget this avonali. fair play to those who choose to be gaa above all else in Dublin. After a big game at croke park you can lose yourself in pubs where there's oblivion to it (if needed ha) Impossible in kerry"
I think those of us who follow GAA either had parents from strong football/hurling families or went to school in an area where GAA was strong. My Dad played for North Kerry and a cousin of mine played for Kerry- he only retired in the last few years. I went to school in Marino so St Vincents was the local club.
I drove down to see a sick uncle a few years ago and was blown away by the display of colour. From Abbeyfeale on it was the green and gold. The community was bound up in its loyalty to their county. It's much more diluted up here.
I guarantee you reithi there'll be pubs in Dublin showing a premiership match rather than the All-Ireland.

If we lose there will be a nice quiet soccer pub to go into so I can drown my sorrows.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 23/08/2019 18:16:20    2228839

Replying To avonali:  "I think those of us who follow GAA either had parents from strong football/hurling families or went to school in an area where GAA was strong. My Dad played for North Kerry and a cousin of mine played for Kerry- he only retired in the last few years. I went to school in Marino so St Vincents was the local club.
I drove down to see a sick uncle a few years ago and was blown away by the display of colour. From Abbeyfeale on it was the green and gold. The community was bound up in its loyalty to their county. It's much more diluted up here.
I guarantee you reithi there'll be pubs in Dublin showing a premiership match rather than the All-Ireland.

If we lose there will be a nice quiet soccer pub to go into so I can drown my sorrows."
Wasn't there more excitement about the Dubs in the leaner years? Is it not the case when a team wins 3 or four in a row that some supporters switch off? Neutrals do anyway and some within the winning county, eg Kerry & KK and now Dublin - all wonderful teams but the interest wanes except amongst the real fan(atic)s.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 23/08/2019 19:50:05    2228860

Yeh its true. I can take stick off the culchies, it's the rubbish from our 'own' I have a problem with. And God knows we get lots of it up here in the smoke. The soccer crowd hate us, I remember going in for pints after our big games in the early 90s and the abuse off 'Dublin' lads over being rubbish and not good enough to win etc, turned my stomach and got me in trouble.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8611 - 23/08/2019 20:12:35    2228864