Kerry V Dublin

Replying To jimbodub:  "Hmm not seeing anything there at all

'your chance to win tickets to see Dublin complete the historic 5 in a row' etc etc.

What exactly is untrue or self assured about the above ?

It even says "The 5 in a row" if it said "Their 5 in a row" I'd agree with you

It's a chance to see Dublin complete the 5 in a row, again what's untrue about that?

Sort of clutching at straws down there aren't yiz.. Quickly disproven Tin foil hat predictions, unfair misinformation and now this stuff ;)

Looking for any angle at all.. slight bang of fear about it or something

Hype isn't going to be a factor for this Dublin team despite how much certain quarters desperately want it to be."
Yerra ya it must the tin-foil hat that's affecting the eye-sight alright - I'm sure all those pictures of Dublin '5 in a Row Champions' t-shirts, license plates, flags, headbands etc are only figments of my imagination....
No way any Dublin supporter would be so cocky, sure you only have to peruse their comments on here to prove that ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 22/08/2019 14:19:12    2228531

https://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/dublin-kickout-press-205121

Fascinating read here. Wonder what the Dublin folks think of the analysis?

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 22/08/2019 14:20:02    2228532

Replying To jimbodub:  "Hmm not seeing anything there at all

'your chance to win tickets to see Dublin complete the historic 5 in a row' etc etc.

What exactly is untrue or self assured about the above ?

It even says "The 5 in a row" if it said "Their 5 in a row" I'd agree with you

It's a chance to see Dublin complete the 5 in a row, again what's untrue about that?

Sort of clutching at straws down there aren't yiz.. Quickly disproven Tin foil hat predictions, unfair misinformation and now this stuff ;)

Looking for any angle at all.. slight bang of fear about it or something

Hype isn't going to be a factor for this Dublin team despite how much certain quarters desperately want it to be."
Ive never seen anything like Jack McCaffery in a parade, breaking his cake, laughing, joking. messing and pulling faces into the crowd, im pretty certain he doesn't even know its final.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/08/2019 14:22:56    2228534

Ha ha just saw Kerry GAA are holding an "All Irealnd Monster Raffle".

Sure what would you do with a monster if you won one. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/08/2019 14:24:56    2228536

Replying To Donegalman:  "Ah God almighty, they are a bit further on than minors in fairness."
There facts like it or not.
Seanie Shea, David Clifford straight into seniors, OSullivan,Foley, Spillane, Ryan, Moynihan not far away from that either.
It's a team of young lads against seasoned pros so it is a big ask.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 22/08/2019 14:49:14    2228545

Replying To TheHermit:  "My godness, looking through so much stuff on social media and these dozens of competitions for All-Ireland tickets it's nothing but 'your chance to win tickets to see Dublin complete the historic 5 in a row' etc etc.
They must be cocky as hell up in the Big Smoke. Seems as if they think its a done deal already, sure they're probably right ;D"
Your first 2 words equate to an Oxymoron.
After that, well , it's not like ye boys had any T-shirts printed or anything ;-c

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 22/08/2019 15:16:56    2228549

Replying To TheHermit:  "My godness, looking through so much stuff on social media and these dozens of competitions for All-Ireland tickets it's nothing but 'your chance to win tickets to see Dublin complete the historic 5 in a row' etc etc.
They must be cocky as hell up in the Big Smoke. Seems as if they think its a done deal already, sure they're probably right ;D"
Well Hermit lad. Firstly I wouldn't pay too much attention to the ramblings of the odd over excited fan here or elsewhere.
Nor would I make assumptions based on the attempts of a few fast lads trying to anticipate the five in a row and make a few bob for themselves or charity. The players ain't the fans.
If you find the narrative about he hubris of the Cocky Dubs a comforting one sure indulge it and laugh at us all you want.
But I wouldn't be hanging my hat on the expectation that this Dublin team are going to be complacent.
That would be a mistake.Let's see what happens.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 22/08/2019 15:55:29    2228557

Replying To westkerry:  "There facts like it or not.
Seanie Shea, David Clifford straight into seniors, OSullivan,Foley, Spillane, Ryan, Moynihan not far away from that either.
It's a team of young lads against seasoned pros so it is a big ask."
I was at the league game in Kerry v Donegal last jan 12 months, both O'shea and Clifford were playing that day, correct me if I'm wrong. Were either minors back then?

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 22/08/2019 17:18:31    2228572

Replying To Donegalman:  "I was at the league game in Kerry v Donegal last jan 12 months, both O'shea and Clifford were playing that day, correct me if I'm wrong. Were either minors back then?"
Minor is U17, these lads are 20/21.

Dublin have given Championship debuts to younger lads then Kerry this year in truth, we just dont Yerra.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/08/2019 17:37:14    2228575

The notion that the whole country is mad excited for this final like Dara O'Sé suggested is rubbish. I work in Dublin and today was the first day a Dub even mentioned the match to me. He wasn't too bothered either.

There is no big Drive for 5 excitement. Not much real media coverage either. If it wasn't for the referee talk there'd have been even less media coverage. It's an incredibly quiet build up to the match.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 22/08/2019 17:51:46    2228580

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ive never seen anything like Jack McCaffery in a parade, breaking his cake, laughing, joking. messing and pulling faces into the crowd, im pretty certain he doesn't even know its final."
That's why we call him simple jack.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/08/2019 17:57:18    2228582

Replying To westkerry:  "There facts like it or not.
It's a team of young lads against seasoned pros so it is a big ask."
It's gas, the narrative from some over the past few weeks has been that this a young Dublin team, replenished annually by a never ending conveyor belt of classy U20 wannabe Paul Mannions. This was classified as another "advantage". Now we're being called "seasoned pros". Which is it? For what it's worth I think we're probably on the wrong side of "young", averaging 27yo for some matches but we do have a couple of young fellas in key positions. The narrative swings are amusing though.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/08/2019 17:57:35    2228583

Replying To HighKings:  "The notion that the whole country is mad excited for this final like Dara O'Sé suggested is rubbish. I work in Dublin and today was the first day a Dub even mentioned the match to me. He wasn't too bothered either.

There is no big Drive for 5 excitement. Not much real media coverage either. If it wasn't for the referee talk there'd have been even less media coverage. It's an incredibly quiet build up to the match."
There goes your hopes of refereeing an All Ireland Final!! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/08/2019 18:03:38    2228585

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "That's why we call him simple jack."
If you knew anything about Jack Mc you'd know he was far from simple. He is a very intelligent young man with a sense of humour. Now, if it suits ye all below in the incredibly intelligent Kingdom to call him simple for the sake of a cheap laugh, sure fire away.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 22/08/2019 18:07:27    2228587

You can tell him that when you're visiting him in A&E some day and he with the stethoscope around his neck and you with the keys of the Massey hanging out of your a€rse pocket.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/08/2019 18:08:30    2228588

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ha ha just saw Kerry GAA are holding an "All Irealnd Monster Raffle".

Sure what would you do with a monster if you won one. ;)"
Play him full forward?

reithi (Kerry) - Posts: 52 - 22/08/2019 18:25:16    2228593

Replying To Donegalman:  "I was at the league game in Kerry v Donegal last jan 12 months, both O'shea and Clifford were playing that day, correct me if I'm wrong. Were either minors back then?"
Both making a start in that game, Clifford having come straight for Minor, OShea the year previously.
Kilkenny and McCaffery did similar in 2013.
This Kerry team has been built over 2 years, called it yerra or whatever but that's the truth.
5 players were involved in 2015 from this panel.
As for Dublin not doing Yerra well they do PR controlled Dublin TV were they answer their own questions in a controlled environment and their players roll out the same sound bites that frankly are dull and boring at this stage.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 22/08/2019 18:26:54    2228596

Would you care to explain that comparison?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 22/08/2019 18:46:14    2228598

Replying To avonali:  "Well Hermit lad. Firstly I wouldn't pay too much attention to the ramblings of the odd over excited fan here or elsewhere.
Nor would I make assumptions based on the attempts of a few fast lads trying to anticipate the five in a row and make a few bob for themselves or charity. The players ain't the fans.
If you find the narrative about he hubris of the Cocky Dubs a comforting one sure indulge it and laugh at us all you want.
But I wouldn't be hanging my hat on the expectation that this Dublin team are going to be complacent.
That would be a mistake.Let's see what happens."
His tin foil hat is it?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 22/08/2019 18:48:06    2228600

Replying To Joxer:  "It's gas, the narrative from some over the past few weeks has been that this a young Dublin team, replenished annually by a never ending conveyor belt of classy U20 wannabe Paul Mannions. This was classified as another "advantage". Now we're being called "seasoned pros". Which is it? For what it's worth I think we're probably on the wrong side of "young", averaging 27yo for some matches but we do have a couple of young fellas in key positions. The narrative swings are amusing though."
Here's another one for you Joxer. The Dubs are a dislikable, robotic, passionless machine.
But when Jack McCaffrey shows he has a sense of humour he suddenly becomes 'simple' Jack in the Kingdom.

The narrative the Kerry lads are trying to spin is gas. They're trying to invoke the spirit of 1975. The young inexperienced lads from the Kingdom toppled the ageing, puffed up Dubs. Now the Dubs have become become 'seasoned professionals". Nobody is buying it. Sure there is not much difference in the average age of the teams at all.
You wouldn't be up to some of these lads. Laughing at us they are.....

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 22/08/2019 18:52:50    2228602