"Why Should Anybody Have The God-Given Right To See All Games On Television?"

It would be desirable to have the major games free to air . However there are a number of issues at play here . Firstly Joe Brolly is a paid employee of RTE making a case on RTE opposing a deal that The GAA have made with a competitor of RTE . His remarks have to be looked at in that context . Being brutally honest RTE's coverage of football in particular is atrocious. They do not broadcast a single second of live Gaelic football from the end of the All Ireland senior football final played on the first Sunday in September until the start of the championship in the middle of May the following year . It's the same with hurling . They completely ignore the league in terms of live broadcasts . Thank God for TG4 and Eir Sports. Joe Brolly stays very quiet about this . This year when RTE eventually started to broadcast live Gaelic Games again only one of the first ten games they broadcast was a game of football. Brolly had nothing to say about this either . Were it not for Sky and the BBC we would only have been able to see one game of football in the four provinces before the finals Nobody would have seen games like Armagh v Cavan or Roscommon v Mayo if we had been depending solely on RTE but Joe Brolly had nothing to say about that either . In that context I find these references to the elderly and to people in homes to be self serving and insincere . The GAA have a right to maximise their revenue from the games . I believe that the games should be free to air however given RTE's lamentable record in terms of the quality and scope of their coverage would you trust them with the sole rights to football ?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 06/08/2019 15:19:19    2221650

Replying To Wally:  "He may have an ulterior motive. That's not my point though.

I think you will find that I am not Mickey Hartes biggest fan and I am definitely not on here defending his comments just because he is the Tyrone manager.

My post is specifically regarding the ridiculous scenario were RTE are using their pundits as lobbyists for their own company while trying to pressurise the GAA to drop commercial television rights with another company.

Like it is just so unethical. You really couldn't make it up."
I can confirm Wally is not Mickey Harte's biggest fan!!! That's putting it mildly lol. Only joking Wally!!

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 06/08/2019 15:19:50    2221651

And I should say I'm a big fan of Sky's analysis for the most part although good god they should get a better man than Clerkin on co-commentary

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 06/08/2019 15:20:17    2221652

I was in Co. Galway last Saturday and many ppl of all ages in my parish were very interested in seeing the Mayo Donegal match. The local hotel and pubs can't afford Sky anymore so only those with cars and money could watch it. It's different if you're living in Dublin or Galway city but many rural parts of Ireland don't have Sky. It must have been very frustrating for rural fans in both Mayo and Donegal - this was a knock out All Ireland quarter-final and the GAA had sold the sole rights to Sky. What role has Sky played in volunteerism and community-based amateur games? This is the 21 century, the technology is here to show games freely and widely, most ppl pay for a tv licence - it's not surprising that many people believe the GAA has lost touch with rural Ireland and with the grassroots.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1806 - 06/08/2019 15:21:19    2221653

Just because something was not available years ago, doesent mean we should be happy to go back to the system. I have a family member in hospital and had to listen to the Mayo v Donegal game on radio, many people in the ward would liked to have seen that game but hospitals don't have sky naturally enough when they don't even have enough beds...

Fact is quarter finals used to be always free to air and now aren't.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 06/08/2019 15:21:56    2221654

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Their ethos is they're there to make a profit. At least they're taking a risk and they're not like RTE getting government funding, plus almost all the licence fee money, plus advertising money and producing output of questionable quality.

The GAA's ethos isn't so pure. Promote the elite football counties and don't bother about standards in so-called weaker counties.

Mickey Harte is spot on."
Clearly the GAA's ethos isn't pure and that's exactly the point. They should be better than that.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 06/08/2019 15:24:55    2221656

On another note I see that RTE are banning viewers from the 6 counties from their competitions on The Sunday Game etc.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 06/08/2019 15:34:07    2221665

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Guess I'll be one to go against the consensus here. The debate that's been sparked now isn't really about watching all games, it's about the availability of our national sport to as many people here as possible. The Sky deal was peddled as a great way for the diaspora to get access to games. Now people on our own island can't see them. The broadcasting rights weren't perfect before either. But it's my opinion that as much of the games should be free-to-air as possible. Take a look at other sports and you'll see that if you put a paywall up, interest drops, it's just the way it is. And to make some comment about people just wanting everything for free, are you telling me the Sky deal is the only thing keeping the GAA afloat? Nonsense.

Harking back to 40 years ago sitting by a wireless is just an absolute nonsense point as well because the fact is, we're not back in those days, we're in 2019 and if the will is there, everyone COULD have access to these games. It's not about any "god-given" right or anything else, it's about community and access to our sports.

The only game with anything on the line at the weekend and half the country couldn't see it.

The same reason I don't have an issue with Dublin getting a lot of money for games development is the same reason I have an issue with the big championship matches not being free-to-air. The GAA first and foremost is about community and developing and promoting our games. Everything should be geared towards that in my opinion. It's not about wanting something for nothing, we all put plenty of money in the GAA coffers following our clubs and counties. So give me a break making this out to be some freeloading motive.

One final point, I find Mickey's comment here: "I've never seen so many people so interested in people in homes & other places around the country that can't see the games on TV. It seems strange that these people suddenly have such a grá for these kinds of people." extremely distasteful. But I'll say no more there."
Totally agree especially on your last point.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 06/08/2019 15:38:25    2221667

Completely disagree

See, this attitude which I note is in the majority here, it completely misses the point of the actual GAA itself.
Ye are viewing the GAA as being the same as soccer, rugby etc; ie just another sport.
The GAA and coverage of same however is NOT just another sport, it is so so much more than that, and to many many people means so much more than that. It is an Irish institution, no less than the 6 o clock news and the late late show.

The attitude that "sure so what if the old lads in the nursing homes can't see it, sure didn't they grow up not seeing it" or the ol "Sligo are never on tele anyways" completely insult everything many GAA people would have believed all their lives.
That attitude is a classic example of "i am alright John"
Those same "old lads" deserve to be able to watch their county, or for that matter, any county play a big game like a Super 8 clash. For many, GAA would have been an integral part of their lives growing up and into adulthood and beyond.
To simply wipe away their needs with a "what of it" is incredibly insulting and just bloody wrong

I am in the minority on this one, I get that, but it gals me to see so many GAA fans, who I have no doubt all have the capacity to either go to the match, or to the pub to watch the match, just deride older GAA people's entitlements to enjoy the sport this nation was bloody founded on.
And if you decry that and you throw your eyes to heaven at that, then you fail to grasp the importance and cultural significance the GAA has and has always had to this country since its inception, and to the older generations in particular
Perhaps the GAA is just another football team/Hurling team to you, but its so much more to so many, and many of those same people are in their dotage and deserve to be looked after.

But sure look, so long as ye got to see the games, eh lads..........

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/08/2019 15:42:09    2221669

Replying To Wally:  "He may have an ulterior motive. That's not my point though.

I think you will find that I am not Mickey Hartes biggest fan and I am definitely not on here defending his comments just because he is the Tyrone manager.

My post is specifically regarding the ridiculous scenario were RTE are using their pundits as lobbyists for their own company while trying to pressurise the GAA to drop commercial television rights with another company.

Like it is just so unethical. You really couldn't make it up."
The GAA is making enough money to have its own channel and show the games to their loyal followers instead of feeding a crocodile like Sky, or else give the rights to TG4. It is after all the 'Gaelic' Athletic Association!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1806 - 06/08/2019 16:05:16    2221679

I've never been a big fan of Mickey Harte or his political/religious views and while I do agree with what he said regarding tv coverage I think you have to take it with a pinch of salt considering his disdain for RTE.

As for the coverage itself, I prefer RTE for one simple reason, I can watch it in HD. I couldn't give a monkeys about the analysis, rarely ever watch it.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/08/2019 16:07:58    2221680

Replying To The_Fridge:  "I can confirm Wally is not Mickey Harte's biggest fan!!! That's putting it mildly lol. Only joking Wally!!"
Lol Fridge. I knew that was coming!

In all honesty I have nothing personal against Mickey Harte. It has only ever been his managerial decisons which I have had issue with. As a person I could not speak higher of the man.

Anyway as per usual I am 100% right on my comments within this forum topic!

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 06/08/2019 16:14:21    2221683

Replying To baire:  "I was in Co. Galway last Saturday and many ppl of all ages in my parish were very interested in seeing the Mayo Donegal match. The local hotel and pubs can't afford Sky anymore so only those with cars and money could watch it. It's different if you're living in Dublin or Galway city but many rural parts of Ireland don't have Sky. It must have been very frustrating for rural fans in both Mayo and Donegal - this was a knock out All Ireland quarter-final and the GAA had sold the sole rights to Sky. What role has Sky played in volunteerism and community-based amateur games? This is the 21 century, the technology is here to show games freely and widely, most ppl pay for a tv licence - it's not surprising that many people believe the GAA has lost touch with rural Ireland and with the grassroots."
We'll said. These games should never have been allowed to go to sky. Mickey Harte should just get over this RTE issue and stop being such a pain in the ......

mayomanic (Mayo) - Posts: 85 - 06/08/2019 16:30:20    2221691

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Completely disagree

See, this attitude which I note is in the majority here, it completely misses the point of the actual GAA itself.
Ye are viewing the GAA as being the same as soccer, rugby etc; ie just another sport.
The GAA and coverage of same however is NOT just another sport, it is so so much more than that, and to many many people means so much more than that. It is an Irish institution, no less than the 6 o clock news and the late late show.

The attitude that "sure so what if the old lads in the nursing homes can't see it, sure didn't they grow up not seeing it" or the ol "Sligo are never on tele anyways" completely insult everything many GAA people would have believed all their lives.
That attitude is a classic example of "i am alright John"
Those same "old lads" deserve to be able to watch their county, or for that matter, any county play a big game like a Super 8 clash. For many, GAA would have been an integral part of their lives growing up and into adulthood and beyond.
To simply wipe away their needs with a "what of it" is incredibly insulting and just bloody wrong

I am in the minority on this one, I get that, but it gals me to see so many GAA fans, who I have no doubt all have the capacity to either go to the match, or to the pub to watch the match, just deride older GAA people's entitlements to enjoy the sport this nation was bloody founded on.
And if you decry that and you throw your eyes to heaven at that, then you fail to grasp the importance and cultural significance the GAA has and has always had to this country since its inception, and to the older generations in particular
Perhaps the GAA is just another football team/Hurling team to you, but its so much more to so many, and many of those same people are in their dotage and deserve to be looked after.

But sure look, so long as ye got to see the games, eh lads.........."
I don't believe you're in the minority at all, the opposite in fact within the GAA.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1806 - 06/08/2019 16:31:50    2221692

Replying To Greengrass:  "It would be desirable to have the major games free to air . However there are a number of issues at play here . Firstly Joe Brolly is a paid employee of RTE making a case on RTE opposing a deal that The GAA have made with a competitor of RTE . His remarks have to be looked at in that context . Being brutally honest RTE's coverage of football in particular is atrocious. They do not broadcast a single second of live Gaelic football from the end of the All Ireland senior football final played on the first Sunday in September until the start of the championship in the middle of May the following year . It's the same with hurling . They completely ignore the league in terms of live broadcasts . Thank God for TG4 and Eir Sports. Joe Brolly stays very quiet about this . This year when RTE eventually started to broadcast live Gaelic Games again only one of the first ten games they broadcast was a game of football. Brolly had nothing to say about this either . Were it not for Sky and the BBC we would only have been able to see one game of football in the four provinces before the finals Nobody would have seen games like Armagh v Cavan or Roscommon v Mayo if we had been depending solely on RTE but Joe Brolly had nothing to say about that either . In that context I find these references to the elderly and to people in homes to be self serving and insincere . The GAA have a right to maximise their revenue from the games . I believe that the games should be free to air however given RTE's lamentable record in terms of the quality and scope of their coverage would you trust them with the sole rights to football ?"
RTÉ simulcasted 4 national leagues games live this year. I think 2 of them were football.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 06/08/2019 16:38:24    2221697

Replying To HighKings:  "My issue is not that all games should be televised. I don't think they should be. My issue is that the GAA should not be getting in bed with Sky. Sky's ethos is the antithesis to the GAA's supposed ethos.

I do agree with him that the analysis is better though."
Why/how is Skys ethis totally opposite to the GAAs?

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 06/08/2019 16:41:42    2221700

Replying To totalrecall:  "it's an amateur game being played by amateurs, it is not professional sport but we see fit to allow full time paid officials to make decisions who would not put the decision to go with Sky before congress.

Not everyone can afford Sky, and many who cant are GAA volunteers at local level who the Top Brass in the GAA have no regard or respect for. Older people who may not be physically able to attend games but who may have given lots of service to the GAA in the past are being ignored as well.

The GAA love to clap themselves on the back about community???....is pay per view TV central to community????.........put this to John Horan and no doubt he will behind the diaspora which seems to be GAA's standard answer to any difficult question these days."
That's a load of rubbish. Soccer is an amateur game in 90+% of all games played but that soesnt stop some games at top level being shown on fee paying TV. Same with all sports.
These full time officials act in the best interests of the association and it's their job to promote the sport.
This crap about older people is nonsense. How many are we talking about??

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 06/08/2019 16:44:59    2221704

Is the GAA a profit making organisation?

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 06/08/2019 16:45:10    2221705

Replying To Greengrass:  "It would be desirable to have the major games free to air . However there are a number of issues at play here . Firstly Joe Brolly is a paid employee of RTE making a case on RTE opposing a deal that The GAA have made with a competitor of RTE . His remarks have to be looked at in that context . Being brutally honest RTE's coverage of football in particular is atrocious. They do not broadcast a single second of live Gaelic football from the end of the All Ireland senior football final played on the first Sunday in September until the start of the championship in the middle of May the following year . It's the same with hurling . They completely ignore the league in terms of live broadcasts . Thank God for TG4 and Eir Sports. Joe Brolly stays very quiet about this . This year when RTE eventually started to broadcast live Gaelic Games again only one of the first ten games they broadcast was a game of football. Brolly had nothing to say about this either . Were it not for Sky and the BBC we would only have been able to see one game of football in the four provinces before the finals Nobody would have seen games like Armagh v Cavan or Roscommon v Mayo if we had been depending solely on RTE but Joe Brolly had nothing to say about that either . In that context I find these references to the elderly and to people in homes to be self serving and insincere . The GAA have a right to maximise their revenue from the games . I believe that the games should be free to air however given RTE's lamentable record in terms of the quality and scope of their coverage would you trust them with the sole rights to football ?"
Greengrass do you have to put spaces between words and questions and final word in sentence and your full stops. Really irritates and upsets my OCD/anxiety......

RTE dont show league live as they cant because they dont have the rights to. Games should be on more than one channel...

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 06/08/2019 16:51:44    2221710

Replying To KillingFields:  "That's a load of rubbish. Soccer is an amateur game in 90+% of all games played but that soesnt stop some games at top level being shown on fee paying TV. Same with all sports.
These full time officials act in the best interests of the association and it's their job to promote the sport.
This crap about older people is nonsense. How many are we talking about??"
Well it's questionable whether putting the big games behind a paywall is promoting the sport though isn't it? I'm all for spreading our games far and wide but when you can't watch it in your own home in Ireland there's something wrong there.

And that goes for geo-blocking games in the 6 counties as well that should be free-to-air. It's ridiculous carry-on.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 06/08/2019 16:54:51    2221711