5 In A Row

Replying To TheHermit:  "How many of them 28 games were played outside Croker Jimmy?
2, 3?
Kerry teams had to achieve what they did without home comforts but I suppose you'd like people to think playing in your home ground every match is no advantage at all ;D
To be frank given the artificial advantages bestowed on the Dubs these times - anything short of a 7 or 8 in a row would have to be seen as a failure.
But sure enjoy all the well earned success :D"
But how much of that Kerry success was achieved by beating a host of top teams. Lets be honest pre backdoor Kerry had 1 tough game against Cork to be in the AI series which was a pretty decent advantage over other being in Leinster back in the day.

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 06/08/2019 18:50:11    2221800

Replying To legendzxix:  "I respect Donegal more for their 2012 success."
Couldn't care less. Dublin don't want or need your 'respect'.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 06/08/2019 18:58:50    2221805

Replying To Joxer:  "
Replying To TheHermit:  "How many of them 28 games were played outside Croker Jimmy?
2, 3?
Kerry teams had to achieve what they did without home comforts but I suppose you'd like people to think playing in your home ground every match is no advantage at all ;D
To be frank given the artificial advantages bestowed on the Dubs these times - anything short of a 7 or 8 in a row would have to be seen as a failure.
I'd still rather play 3 games to win an AI like Kerry did in 1980 than have to play 8 games, 6 in Dublin and 2 outside of Dublin, as Dublin had to last year and this year to win an AI in an era where skill, athleticism and strategy are at a peak."
6 of your 8 matches in Dublin. It's just ridiculous.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 06/08/2019 19:11:58    2221811

Replying To lilylanger:  "So you've already said...or did you think you were logged in as someone else?"
Jaysus, you could be on to something there chief. You wouldn't know how many of these lads are the same fella with little to be doing with themselves.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 06/08/2019 19:24:09    2221818

Replying To Jackeen:  "Completely predictable post from the usual suspect (s)."
That's for sure !

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 06/08/2019 19:28:09    2221821

Replying To avonali:  "Couldn't care less. Dublin don't want or need your 'respect'."
also most of the Kerry wins were 3 games and they would play teams that didn't have the Croke Park experience. records from pre 2000 are not legit.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 06/08/2019 19:37:24    2221827

Replying To yew_tree:  "Have to disagree. If It's tarnished, then what do you make of Kerry's glory years when they only had to win 3/4 games to win Sam?

Anyway Mayo will end all that talk sat eve I hope ;)"
I hope your wrong obviously , but if it happens I really hope yea finally win it .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 06/08/2019 19:43:21    2221829

Replying To Breezy:  "
2, 3?
But how much of that Kerry success was achieved by beating a host of top teams. Lets be honest pre backdoor Kerry had 1 tough game against Cork to be in the AI series which was a pretty decent advantage over other being in Leinster back in the day."
They'd have beaten the pick of Leinster at their peak. You had a good Munster final usually and a semi and final. They had to beat the top teams of the time assuming they won their provinces surely? How many 'top teams' did Dublin beat last year? Over the years they have typically had a tough game v Mayo each year and Kerry got close to them in 2016 as well. That's the extent of the opposition they have really had.

If people want to trump up additional games that Dublin have had against hopeless opposition in Leinster as an obstacle that's their business. It's a weak argument designed to inflate what is an already great achievement. I don't know why people can't just enjoy it instead of looking for ways to run other successful teams down.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 06/08/2019 19:47:46    2221833

Hopefully not. That been said once Tyrone don't win it I really couldn't give a flying.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/08/2019 19:47:58    2221834

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "
Replying To Joxer:  "[quote=TheHermit:  "How many of them 28 games were played outside Croker Jimmy?
2, 3?
I'd still rather play 3 games to win an AI like Kerry did in 1980 than have to play 8 games, 6 in Dublin and 2 outside of Dublin, as Dublin had to last year and this year to win an AI in an era where skill, athleticism and strategy are at a peak."
6 of your 8 matches in Dublin. It's just ridiculous."]4 of those six games were semi finals and finals. Where do you propose to host semi finals and finals if not in the national stadium? The stadium has to be somewhere. Crazy isn't it?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 06/08/2019 19:49:25    2221836

Replying To maroondiesel:  "also most of the Kerry wins were 3 games and they would play teams that didn't have the Croke Park experience. records from pre 2000 are not legit."
Records pre 2000 are not legit?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
My God in the GAA, as with really every aspect of life, I never cease to be amazed at the arrogance of human begins and this notion that the here and now is all that matters that everything that has gone before is worthless.
Of any sport, to be so dismissive of the history of the GAA is very sad to see.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/08/2019 19:52:04    2221838

Replying To CornAghais91:  "It's something about the 5 in a row topic does funny things to the Kerrymen. Sure they even wrote a song about it once."
We just completed our second 5 in a row only 2 weeks ago when our Kerry juniors completed the feat with a win over Galway they now join our minors who have also completed a 5 in a row only last September.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/08/2019 19:52:33    2221839

Replying To CornAghais91:  "It's something about the 5 in a row topic does funny things to the Kerrymen. Sure they even wrote a song about it once."
That was a Cork band actually - but then again that all happened before the morning after the 2011 final so yourelf and a few of your fellow county posters would hardly be expected to know anything about the GAA before that ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/08/2019 19:54:34    2221841

Replying To maroondiesel:  "also most of the Kerry wins were 3 games and they would play teams that didn't have the Croke Park experience. records from pre 2000 are not legit."
So you've not won a single legit all Ireland then. awful record for a purely footballing county about the same size as kerry ;)

reithi (Kerry) - Posts: 52 - 06/08/2019 19:56:48    2221842

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "
2, 3?
Thanks Kermit, we will!"
Yerra its truly a golden age for ye Johnny look at the riches you've enjoyed.
From a Dublin fan point of view there's been great synchronicity between the rise of Dublin and the decline of Man U, so you lads had a new bandwagon all ready to jump onto ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/08/2019 20:00:08    2221845

Replying To Jackeen:  "Completely predictable post from the usual suspect (s)."
And a completely predictable post from you doll

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 06/08/2019 20:18:08    2221860

I have read some hilarious claptrap on here trying to discredit Kerry over the years but this has to take the biscuit. Jesus, the fact that you even thought of this let alone wrote it!!

You probably have a dartboard with Maurice Fitzs face on it after 97. Interesting cut off you picked

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 06/08/2019 20:23:45    2221862

I don't see this 5 in a row to be a walk in the park for the Dubs. There's 3 other teams who have to have one huge game in them. If anyone of them gets a big game then it might stop the 5 in a row.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 06/08/2019 20:33:40    2221865

Don't know about the rest of ye.. but I only post as jimbodub

As a few of you will remember I decided one time to post as beelzedub and not as jimbo

It's been a long time since I posted as beelzedub though

I'm my time Ive been accused of being, Snuff, Breff, Liam, Whammo, Keithlemom, Seany16 and a few others.. which I find quite flattering given that they are excellent posters.

So please keep them compliments coming.. I don't even have to be on HS to annoy some daft brushes.. which is odd but pretty amusing at the same time.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/08/2019 20:34:19    2221866

Replying To Breezy:  "
2, 3?
But how much of that Kerry success was achieved by beating a host of top teams. Lets be honest pre backdoor Kerry had 1 tough game against Cork to be in the AI series which was a pretty decent advantage over other being in Leinster back in the day."
Very well said Breezy

It won't be long until I'll be accused of being you ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/08/2019 20:36:22    2221869