Laois V Dublin U20 Leinster Final

Archer is the obvious one, I said a couple of weeks ago he's the cut of a young Deano.

It's Peader O Cofaigh Byrne, I'm excited about, he was a 3 at minor, but he's been a beast since moving into midfield and been impressed, real player there.

There will be a few to breakthrough from this group.

Semi in Longford next weekend Vs Galway in Longford. They put us to the sword by double digits a couple of months ago, hopefully we can give them a run for their money. Though Joyce and co, may have a few chips on success at this grade.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/07/2019 23:53:38    2213376

Replying To waynoI:  "Is that not the point of underage structures and development teams ?"
ya true you do it well too
just curious about Na Fianna club
are they Dublin city based
I notice a good few from Na Fianna on the team
and on recent Dublin underage teams
they seem to be brining a very talented group through
A future county champion club perhaps

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 20/07/2019 00:01:56    2213379

Congrats to Dublin on a fine win tonight the ease of which throughout the championship scarily mirrored the seniors. This is now a competition weighed huge in Dublins favour and the ease was entirely inevitable with the changes made a couple of years ago. Without mentioning the obvious financial advantage the rules are evidently in their favour. When originally contemplating my shock yet not surprised thoughts about the rule denying players involved with a senior set up to be available with their age group I immediately thought of the big advantage this would be to namely Kerry and Dublin. However I did not factor Kerry's need to fast track a player of the quality of Clifford to their senior set up meaning this obviously biased rule was also a detriment to Kerry. I also did not factor that given the timing of the competition meant that many counties are having players not commit due to exam pressure something Dublin also have an advantage in given the size of the county with most of their students based there. I really hope that one of the other provincial winners can make this a competitive championship and having seen Tyrone live I think they can. However it does not get away from the fact that the GAA have made a mess of this championship on numerous levels which raises more than a suspicious eye.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 20/07/2019 00:39:45    2213387

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well I'm from Kerry and I'm definitely not laughing, I don't see what's going on with Dublin to be much of laughing matter to be honest."
Well theres a surprise kid -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 20/07/2019 00:46:44    2213389

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Dublins domination of the u20/21 grade over the last decade gets stronger. They've Hammered everyone this year. I know you Dubs have become well practiced cute kerry hoors but nobody believes your conveyor belt will end. As I said no other leinster county will beat you in a leinster championship ever again. Sad but very dark times ahead."
RoyalCelt Is that you ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 20/07/2019 00:54:15    2213390

This time last year Kildare comprehensively beat the Dublin u20 team. I think it's to be expected that Dublin win it most of the time. I think it was poor enough compared with the cork Kerry game. Let's wait and see

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 20/07/2019 02:13:34    2213397

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well I'm from Kerry and I'm definitely not laughing, I don't see what's going on with Dublin to be much of laughing matter to be honest."
Omg are you having a laugh? So your allowed win every football title going and if we win anything it's a disgrace . 5 minors in a row you keep telling us the greatest achievement ever but if we win anything it's no laughing matter? Man you want it all your own way. Kerry win Underage , clubs , schools you win everything but the minute we win anything your on here like wild fire saying how wrong it is.

Well done Dublin the scoreline flatters us and the ref gave us everything but the better team won and it should be two very exciting semi finals. I think the hot meals could be the difference in the end.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/07/2019 06:52:59    2213409

Replying To panamasam:  "Congrats to Dublin on a fine win tonight the ease of which throughout the championship scarily mirrored the seniors. This is now a competition weighed huge in Dublins favour and the ease was entirely inevitable with the changes made a couple of years ago. Without mentioning the obvious financial advantage the rules are evidently in their favour. When originally contemplating my shock yet not surprised thoughts about the rule denying players involved with a senior set up to be available with their age group I immediately thought of the big advantage this would be to namely Kerry and Dublin. However I did not factor Kerry's need to fast track a player of the quality of Clifford to their senior set up meaning this obviously biased rule was also a detriment to Kerry. I also did not factor that given the timing of the competition meant that many counties are having players not commit due to exam pressure something Dublin also have an advantage in given the size of the county with most of their students based there. I really hope that one of the other provincial winners can make this a competitive championship and having seen Tyrone live I think they can. However it does not get away from the fact that the GAA have made a mess of this championship on numerous levels which raises more than a suspicious eye."
I think that is very fair post. Our set up wants for little but thats down to sponsorship lets be clear about that as we know many counties spend similar if not more on there teams.

I dont see how the rule on U20 players benefits Dublin and Kerry at this level more then anyone else, whatever about us and we have a big population, Kerry have a similar population to Mayo, Donegal and less then far more. Additionally there is an argument there that the further yo get in the senior championship the more you are penalized at U20.

Take Clifford and O Connor, if Kerry were beaten in Munster both could have played against Cork last week. Last year we lost Even Comerford because he was needed by he seniors, equally there are some of this years U20 group who are in training with the seniors already, we cant bring them on when we are 10 points up in a game or even have them in match day squad. Weaker counties already knocked out can bring any qualifying players into their U20 squads. Galway for example can do it if they wish in the semis. So there is argument there of an advantage for your U20 team if your senior the team didnt have a great year and you have qualifying players.

Equally on exams, some of the Dublin players last night didnt play minor because they were doing there leaving. They also didnt even get out of the preliminary Leinster group.

I dont expect this team to go all the way as i say, i think there are better team at this grade, but they put up a huge performance last night and deserve the credit that achievement earned, they are young adults what ever about the seniors, let them progress to being adult footballers before starting to criticise them on some anti Dublin crusade.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/07/2019 09:09:09    2213423

Replying To TheUsername:  "Archer is the obvious one, I said a couple of weeks ago he's the cut of a young Deano.

It's Peader O Cofaigh Byrne, I'm excited about, he was a 3 at minor, but he's been a beast since moving into midfield and been impressed, real player there.

There will be a few to breakthrough from this group.

Semi in Longford next weekend Vs Galway in Longford. They put us to the sword by double digits a couple of months ago, hopefully we can give them a run for their money. Though Joyce and co, may have a few chips on success at this grade."
That John Keirns tournament game was a dead rubber. Dublin appear to have some really good individuals. Galway have a serious team with not many individuals standing out as such. PJ and co have them playing full press offensive football and in a sense this has added to the polarisation of view among the Galway football faithful in the context of where we now are at senior...a solid Div 1 team who have yet to make the next step. Many feel it won't happen under big Kev who has brought them as far as he can. The local rumblings is that he will see out the final year of his term and then open country for PJ or the few alternative options to stake a claim.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 20/07/2019 09:22:05    2213426

Replying To TheUsername:  "I think that is very fair post. Our set up wants for little but thats down to sponsorship lets be clear about that as we know many counties spend similar if not more on there teams.

I dont see how the rule on U20 players benefits Dublin and Kerry at this level more then anyone else, whatever about us and we have a big population, Kerry have a similar population to Mayo, Donegal and less then far more. Additionally there is an argument there that the further yo get in the senior championship the more you are penalized at U20.

Take Clifford and O Connor, if Kerry were beaten in Munster both could have played against Cork last week. Last year we lost Even Comerford because he was needed by he seniors, equally there are some of this years U20 group who are in training with the seniors already, we cant bring them on when we are 10 points up in a game or even have them in match day squad. Weaker counties already knocked out can bring any qualifying players into their U20 squads. Galway for example can do it if they wish in the semis. So there is argument there of an advantage for your U20 team if your senior the team didnt have a great year and you have qualifying players.

Equally on exams, some of the Dublin players last night didnt play minor because they were doing there leaving. They also didnt even get out of the preliminary Leinster group.

I dont expect this team to go all the way as i say, i think there are better team at this grade, but they put up a huge performance last night and deserve the credit that achievement earned, they are young adults what ever about the seniors, let them progress to being adult footballers before starting to criticise them on some anti Dublin crusade."
A fair response user and again congrats on the win last night. To Dublin's credit most of their underage squads are well coached and conditioned which is something I think most counties can certainly aspire to and don't. From a Donegal perspective we seen both sides in that we had a very talented minor side poorly coached and probably one of our weaker underage teams of recent years in the under twenties well but not got the playing quality. Saying that which is in relation to my main point they could not play their best player similar to Kerry. Why deny the best players at the age group that right? My original post was also alluding to trying to compete with Dublin in Leinster. I know Kildare are making a concerted effort at underage level but that is it really. Take Meath for example. They are making efforts at underage but even this year had a couple of lads with the seniors who could not play. How can teams compete in Leinster when inevitably the best players will generally be with the seniors? This is not an anti Dublin bias but more a point at to what I think is a biased rule in Dublin's favour. Anyways best of luck looking forward. Hopefully it will be an entertaining championship for it's remainder. Sadly however given its timing there won't be much coverage given.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 20/07/2019 09:39:47    2213430

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Omg are you having a laugh? So your allowed win every football title going and if we win anything it's a disgrace . 5 minors in a row you keep telling us the greatest achievement ever but if we win anything it's no laughing matter? Man you want it all your own way. Kerry win Underage , clubs , schools you win everything but the minute we win anything your on here like wild fire saying how wrong it is.

Well done Dublin the scoreline flatters us and the ref gave us everything but the better team won and it should be two very exciting semi finals. I think the hot meals could be the difference in the end."
5 minors in a row you keep telling us the greatest achievement ever but if we win anything it's no laughing matter? Man you want it all your own way. Kerry win Underage , clubs , schools you win everything but the minute we win anything your on here like wild fire saying how wrong it is

A classic Kerry mentality it must be said.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 20/07/2019 10:05:32    2213435

Replying To kiloughter:  "That John Keirns tournament game was a dead rubber. Dublin appear to have some really good individuals. Galway have a serious team with not many individuals standing out as such. PJ and co have them playing full press offensive football and in a sense this has added to the polarisation of view among the Galway football faithful in the context of where we now are at senior...a solid Div 1 team who have yet to make the next step. Many feel it won't happen under big Kev who has brought them as far as he can. The local rumblings is that he will see out the final year of his term and then open country for PJ or the few alternative options to stake a claim."
It was to be fair but Galway won the thing pulling up unbeaten, putting a minor ALL Ireland winning Kerry team Cork and Kildare to the sword. It was impressive stuff. Thats two of the remaining three teams in the championship Galway have already accounted for this year.

I think we go into next week as underdogs, but id be delighted if we could pull it off dont get me wrong. We have some good players no doubt, i actually though Laois were very good last night and caused us problems, the goals killed them though.

Wow im surprised by that, i thought KW would walk for sure, i wouldn't be around Galway much bu anyone ive spoken seems to indicate their is a huge appetite for change.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/07/2019 10:06:36    2213437

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Omg are you having a laugh? So your allowed win every football title going and if we win anything it's a disgrace . 5 minors in a row you keep telling us the greatest achievement ever but if we win anything it's no laughing matter? Man you want it all your own way. Kerry win Underage , clubs , schools you win everything but the minute we win anything your on here like wild fire saying how wrong it is.

Well done Dublin the scoreline flatters us and the ref gave us everything but the better team won and it should be two very exciting semi finals. I think the hot meals could be the difference in the end."
Clon your wasting your time with him , the man is obsessed with Dublin , and long may it last -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 20/07/2019 10:36:36    2213447

Great for Dublin to get their hands on the U20 title

Unfortunately Laois put in their worst performance of the Championship to date.
They had the far tougher side of things on the way to final but were very flat in the final. They'll be gutted by that performance.

Dublin's running game was excellent and they won 90% of their one on ones pretty much.

This same Dublin side (well almost anyway) took a beating only last year so for them to come back so strong is a testament to them. It helped being able to build momentum on what could be considered the handier dude of things.

There looks to be some serious competition left to play and it's a considerable step up compared to anything they've faced so far.

They've had it handy enough so let's see what this side are really made of.

I won't single out any players as the real stuff hasn't started. Hopefully Dublin can follow up on Kildare's brilliant win last year and maintain Leinster's hold on the competition

Hard luck Laois. I don't think yiz gave a true account of yourselves and didn't really show up. You can be proud of your team though after what was a great run to final.

Question marks remain over this Dublin side a wee bit and they'll have to beat some fine sides to follow up on a Leinster back to back.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 20/07/2019 10:40:29    2213448

Replying To rhudson:  "ya true you do it well too
just curious about Na Fianna club
are they Dublin city based
I notice a good few from Na Fianna on the team
and on recent Dublin underage teams
they seem to be brining a very talented group through
A future county champion club perhaps"
They are a City club one of the biggest membership wise. They also try to play homegrown club players and it is paying off. That said there 1999's where excellent at underage and it is probably coming good for club and county.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 20/07/2019 11:17:02    2213459

Replying To panamasam:  "A fair response user and again congrats on the win last night. To Dublin's credit most of their underage squads are well coached and conditioned which is something I think most counties can certainly aspire to and don't. From a Donegal perspective we seen both sides in that we had a very talented minor side poorly coached and probably one of our weaker underage teams of recent years in the under twenties well but not got the playing quality. Saying that which is in relation to my main point they could not play their best player similar to Kerry. Why deny the best players at the age group that right? My original post was also alluding to trying to compete with Dublin in Leinster. I know Kildare are making a concerted effort at underage level but that is it really. Take Meath for example. They are making efforts at underage but even this year had a couple of lads with the seniors who could not play. How can teams compete in Leinster when inevitably the best players will generally be with the seniors? This is not an anti Dublin bias but more a point at to what I think is a biased rule in Dublin's favour. Anyways best of luck looking forward. Hopefully it will be an entertaining championship for it's remainder. Sadly however given its timing there won't be much coverage given."
Personally i wasnt a fan of switching the grade to U 20. I do suspect though it was voted through in the spirit of easing the load on young players, in reality young players up until recently could be playing Sigurdson, Club, U 21 and Senior. Its a huge load for young players more so then seniors in a delicate stage of physical and psycho social development. Thats before you look at duel lads and most young of the best young players certainly at minor are duel players. Take someone like Con O Callaghan, in one year he won, Siggerson, Leinster U 21, All Under 21, Leinster Senior, All Ireland Senior and Club hurling All Irealdn a tremendous achievement but a huge load on the lad. The pressure were huge.

Largely i think the GAA had to act to manage the load on young players and demands i think that will aid development. I do do think they made a mess of the championship, bu bringing it to U20, one good decision led to a bad one in that counties felt is they wanted 21 year old payers available for seniors, so they lowered the grade. A good decision led on player welfare led to a decision to reduce the quality of the tournament. The rights and wrongs of that are debatable.

Its interesting to see how counties are approaching coaching, you mention our coaching but i know for a fact that many of last nights team are already training with our seniors and are being released to the U20's in preparation already for 2020, Gavin takes a very hands on approach with coaching with many of the U 20's especially those he sees developing toward senior, you could almost pick the ones he coaches last night out.

May be that is a difference really the hybrid approach between senior and U 20, certainly this group on U 20 didnt get out of the Leinster preliminary round as minors and Meath went deep into the minor Championhip last year and no where to be seen at U20 this year, Kildare similarly struggle with the transition from underage success to senior, it seems effortless to us, surely it has to be the model. We have some of them in the senior set up doing senior work and training but not being involved in senior panel for games.

Im not sure say Math or Kildare have many U20 in their senior panel, may be one of their fans with better knowledge can tell us.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/07/2019 11:31:12    2213464

Replying To TheUsername:  "Personally i wasnt a fan of switching the grade to U 20. I do suspect though it was voted through in the spirit of easing the load on young players, in reality young players up until recently could be playing Sigurdson, Club, U 21 and Senior. Its a huge load for young players more so then seniors in a delicate stage of physical and psycho social development. Thats before you look at duel lads and most young of the best young players certainly at minor are duel players. Take someone like Con O Callaghan, in one year he won, Siggerson, Leinster U 21, All Under 21, Leinster Senior, All Ireland Senior and Club hurling All Irealdn a tremendous achievement but a huge load on the lad. The pressure were huge.

Largely i think the GAA had to act to manage the load on young players and demands i think that will aid development. I do do think they made a mess of the championship, bu bringing it to U20, one good decision led to a bad one in that counties felt is they wanted 21 year old payers available for seniors, so they lowered the grade. A good decision led on player welfare led to a decision to reduce the quality of the tournament. The rights and wrongs of that are debatable.

Its interesting to see how counties are approaching coaching, you mention our coaching but i know for a fact that many of last nights team are already training with our seniors and are being released to the U20's in preparation already for 2020, Gavin takes a very hands on approach with coaching with many of the U 20's especially those he sees developing toward senior, you could almost pick the ones he coaches last night out.

May be that is a difference really the hybrid approach between senior and U 20, certainly this group on U 20 didnt get out of the Leinster preliminary round as minors and Meath went deep into the minor Championhip last year and no where to be seen at U20 this year, Kildare similarly struggle with the transition from underage success to senior, it seems effortless to us, surely it has to be the model. We have some of them in the senior set up doing senior work and training but not being involved in senior panel for games.

Im not sure say Math or Kildare have many U20 in their senior panel, may be one of their fans with better knowledge can tell us."
Again some valid points user. The line about player welfare is what we were fed at the time but does it have any real credibility? I say this as if that really was the intention it would have been rolled out for both codes simultaneously which it was not. Plus what do the players themselves think? I know Oisin Gallen was bursting to play with the under twenties but could and I am sure David Clifford felt the same. The problem was not the competition but the planning of fixtures which can be easily solved. A couple of years ago we played ye in an All Ireland semi final at under 21 where I think ye had 2-3 weeks preparation and some of our lads were getting home at 2-3 am after playing an Ulster final on a Monday night in Armagh then had to try and prepare for Dublin the following Saturday. Where was the player welfare then? They had already made the decision to switch from under 21 to 20 yet the reasons for it were suddenly forgotten in this instance.

Alot of managers have spoken out about it. Clearly there is a disconnect between players and managers over this. I really hope the rule denying players involved with seniors is reversed as the competition really loses alot of its value as a result. I think most counties do have their under twenties involved to some degree with their seniors. However don't have the same resources to prepare like Dublin. I was at a Dublin minor game recently. I counted 5 members of the backroom team stationed at various vantage points in the ground plus a camera man behind one of the goals and guessing another in the stand. This was in addition to those on the bench and sideline. So not only do teams in Leinster have to compete with that but also the rule as alluded to.

On a separate note some value for money for supporters next weekend with triple headers in Longford and Tullamore. Looking forward to getting to one of the grounds anyways to see the talent on display.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 20/07/2019 13:23:21    2213508

Replying To panamasam:  "Again some valid points user. The line about player welfare is what we were fed at the time but does it have any real credibility? I say this as if that really was the intention it would have been rolled out for both codes simultaneously which it was not. Plus what do the players themselves think? I know Oisin Gallen was bursting to play with the under twenties but could and I am sure David Clifford felt the same. The problem was not the competition but the planning of fixtures which can be easily solved. A couple of years ago we played ye in an All Ireland semi final at under 21 where I think ye had 2-3 weeks preparation and some of our lads were getting home at 2-3 am after playing an Ulster final on a Monday night in Armagh then had to try and prepare for Dublin the following Saturday. Where was the player welfare then? They had already made the decision to switch from under 21 to 20 yet the reasons for it were suddenly forgotten in this instance.

Alot of managers have spoken out about it. Clearly there is a disconnect between players and managers over this. I really hope the rule denying players involved with seniors is reversed as the competition really loses alot of its value as a result. I think most counties do have their under twenties involved to some degree with their seniors. However don't have the same resources to prepare like Dublin. I was at a Dublin minor game recently. I counted 5 members of the backroom team stationed at various vantage points in the ground plus a camera man behind one of the goals and guessing another in the stand. This was in addition to those on the bench and sideline. So not only do teams in Leinster have to compete with that but also the rule as alluded to.

On a separate note some value for money for supporters next weekend with triple headers in Longford and Tullamore. Looking forward to getting to one of the grounds anyways to see the talent on display."
I do believe that was the intent behind myself, to be honest id back player welfare beyond anything to honest. Was there a disconnect between managers, players and the GAA in all likely hood yes, i dont think their is a single in the GAA that isnt. I think if you ask any player do they want to play a game they will say yes, especially younger ones. Like lads working on a building site at 17, lifting stuff badly, they dont appreciate or cant see the long term impact that may have on them. I do think the rule makers need to take that role. But i take on board the disconnect.

I remember what Donegal had to do well, it was wrong then and is still wrong today, id wholly acknowledge that one of the worst things ive ever seen watching GAA. Shocking.

Id take the resources Dublin have with a pinch of salt, id be surprised if there isnt camera at many minor games now, its not a big ticket iteam and any coach worth his salt should be watching his last game back. It happens at clubs now more often then not. You can do it on a 20 euro phone these days. Also there is an assumption that resources are paying for these backroom people thats not always necessarily the case.

My better half brother is on the backroom team of an intercouty minor side, not Dublin, he has a couple of degrees in the area of sports science essentially hes a highly qualified guy in the area. He is doing voluntarily and without pay and its a massive commitment, they have a big back room team. He was lucky to get the position even voluntarily and competition was huge, but its huge for him and his Cv to have this experience and involvement. Everything isn't always as it looks first hand. If thats the case in a county not at the same level as Dublin, imagine the que of people wanting to be involved with Dublin on the same basis for the same reward. It not necessarily that these lads are being employed and payed.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/07/2019 13:51:58    2213515

Galway v Croke Park in All Ireland Semi Final!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2229 - 20/07/2019 15:09:14    2213537

Replying To TheUsername:  "I do believe that was the intent behind myself, to be honest id back player welfare beyond anything to honest. Was there a disconnect between managers, players and the GAA in all likely hood yes, i dont think their is a single in the GAA that isnt. I think if you ask any player do they want to play a game they will say yes, especially younger ones. Like lads working on a building site at 17, lifting stuff badly, they dont appreciate or cant see the long term impact that may have on them. I do think the rule makers need to take that role. But i take on board the disconnect.

I remember what Donegal had to do well, it was wrong then and is still wrong today, id wholly acknowledge that one of the worst things ive ever seen watching GAA. Shocking.

Id take the resources Dublin have with a pinch of salt, id be surprised if there isnt camera at many minor games now, its not a big ticket iteam and any coach worth his salt should be watching his last game back. It happens at clubs now more often then not. You can do it on a 20 euro phone these days. Also there is an assumption that resources are paying for these backroom people thats not always necessarily the case.

My better half brother is on the backroom team of an intercouty minor side, not Dublin, he has a couple of degrees in the area of sports science essentially hes a highly qualified guy in the area. He is doing voluntarily and without pay and its a massive commitment, they have a big back room team. He was lucky to get the position even voluntarily and competition was huge, but its huge for him and his Cv to have this experience and involvement. Everything isn't always as it looks first hand. If thats the case in a county not at the same level as Dublin, imagine the que of people wanting to be involved with Dublin on the same basis for the same reward. It not necessarily that these lads are being employed and payed."
We will have to agree to disagree on the player welfare line given at the time. Like I said sortIng the fixture scheduling would have sorted most of that something the GAA have still not sorted despite some changes. It was one of these things that got voted through and most people myself and probably yourself left scratching their head. If that was the true intention it would have been universal to both codes but it was not. But hey that is the GAA congress for you where money talks if u ask me. In terms of Donegal despite the lack of underage success we can still produce 2 or 3 players to step up which is the ultimate goal. But it is much more difficult for perceived weaker counties to build probably based on underage success the way it is. It is not too long ago since the likes of Westmeath and Laois done this in Leinster. Anyways pleasure to discuss user even if we do disagree and all the best in the semi final. Hoping to possibly catch the game myself if I can.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 20/07/2019 16:33:25    2213564