Laois V Dublin U20 Leinster Final

Good article.

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/07/17/laois-u-20-boss-oloughlin-on-micko-eddie-brennan-and-leinster-final-against-the-dubs/?fbclid=IwAR1UCvdxRY78nw3xQNadQLD4h6TwS0v_37k-vo112rV7NrNkfER5VXlpUgc

Great quote!
'They are a typical Dublin side - they are tough and aggressive, and they have about 40 in their backroom staff. "When we played them here, they had two cameras behind each goal and a camera on the side. This was early February and they had all their gear given out and they had hot meals.'

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 19/07/2019 13:32:28    2213154

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Good article.

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/07/17/laois-u-20-boss-oloughlin-on-micko-eddie-brennan-and-leinster-final-against-the-dubs/?fbclid=IwAR1UCvdxRY78nw3xQNadQLD4h6TwS0v_37k-vo112rV7NrNkfER5VXlpUgc

Great quote!
'They are a typical Dublin side - they are tough and aggressive, and they have about 40 in their backroom staff. "When we played them here, they had two cameras behind each goal and a camera on the side. This was early February and they had all their gear given out and they had hot meals.'"
Great quote alright fair play to him for telling it how it is, it be great to see laois win here it would mean they bet kildare westmeath meath and dublin they would certainly be deserving champions.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 666 - 19/07/2019 17:23:12    2213241

The above is interesting in that it shows Dublin can afford these huge backroom teams at underage and bring so many cameras etc to a measly challenge match in February.

The argument 'well why aren't Dublin winning all around at underage' doesn't wash either. They're developing players with a view to Senior. From 2003-2007 Laois managed to beat Dublin teams underage with all their stars of 29 years plus. But we didn't have the financial clout to develop them into seniors like Dublin can.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 19/07/2019 18:01:34    2213249

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Good article.

Great quote!
'They are a typical Dublin side - they are tough and aggressive, and they have about 40 in their backroom staff. "When we played them here, they had two cameras behind each goal and a camera on the side. This was early February and they had all their gear given out and they had hot meals.'"
The two cameras were Laois GAA looking to see how it's done! ;)

To be fair we don't travel without a hot drop of coddle either.

Not confident tonight, Laois bringing back a strong contingent from the seniors for this.

Am expecting a Laois win.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/07/2019 18:32:00    2213258

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "The above is interesting in that it shows Dublin can afford these huge backroom teams at underage and bring so many cameras etc to a measly challenge match in February.

The argument 'well why aren't Dublin winning all around at underage' doesn't wash either. They're developing players with a view to Senior. From 2003-2007 Laois managed to beat Dublin teams underage with all their stars of 29 years plus. But we didn't have the financial clout to develop them into seniors like Dublin can."
I'd say a massive dose of hyperbole from Laois manager "40 member backroom team" if it was even 10% true why why why? 3 camera's sure why not 10 when 1 can do right? Hot meals hmm even a college inter team travelling away would get hot food what where they supposed to do? bring a packed lunch, then with 3 cameramen, 40 backroom team, a chef and throw in a few waiters, plus players so let me guess three coaches as well? I personally think the man is spoofing.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 19/07/2019 20:54:21    2213304

Replying To arock:  "I'd say a massive dose of hyperbole from Laois manager "40 member backroom team" if it was even 10% true why why why? 3 camera's sure why not 10 when 1 can do right? Hot meals hmm even a college inter team travelling away would get hot food what where they supposed to do? bring a packed lunch, then with 3 cameramen, 40 backroom team, a chef and throw in a few waiters, plus players so let me guess three coaches as well? I personally think the man is spoofing."
You couldn't make it up. "Hot meals". By God, disgraceful. And cameras behind the goals? My phone has a pretty good video camera on it. Dublin thinking outside the box at little cost while others continue to whinge. Get yourself a few GoPros and a bleedin microwave and stop whinging. Does every thread now have to descend into a crack at Dublin? The cute hoors in Kerry must be breaking their sides laughing at ye. Under the radar doesn't even begin to describe it.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 19/07/2019 21:08:53    2213307

Replying To TheUsername:  "The two cameras were Laois GAA looking to see how it's done! ;)

To be fair we don't travel without a hot drop of coddle either.

Not confident tonight, Laois bringing back a strong contingent from the seniors for this.

Am expecting a Laois win."
Bringing back 1 lad who played senior and 1 who was on senior panel. Strong contingent alright.

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 19/07/2019 21:35:19    2213314

And so it continues the Dublin express
They will get at least 3or 4 lads off that team
To put into the senior panel and develop further
And in time will continue the evolution of this Dublin tem

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 19/07/2019 21:47:21    2213318

Replying To conordee:  "Bringing back 1 lad who played senior and 1 who was on senior panel. Strong contingent alright."
Well clearly stronger, by two isn't it depends on your definition of contingent.

Didn't see that coming to be honest as we hadn't really been tested, the way Laois had. Good win some of the fielding was sublime, POCB in particlar always excites me, I'm hopeful for a number of them.

I've a soft spot for this group after what happened in minor last year and it's done them no harm resilience wise and has stood to them.

Hopefully we can progress but Galway and Cork look very strong.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/07/2019 21:56:22    2213321

Replying To Joxer:  "You couldn't make it up. "Hot meals". By God, disgraceful. And cameras behind the goals? My phone has a pretty good video camera on it. Dublin thinking outside the box at little cost while others continue to whinge. Get yourself a few GoPros and a bleedin microwave and stop whinging. Does every thread now have to descend into a crack at Dublin? The cute hoors in Kerry must be breaking their sides laughing at ye. Under the radar doesn't even begin to describe it."
actually the truth is laois were poorly coached
they were slow moving the ball
in contrast the Dublin lads allways moved the ball at pace
and allways took the right option
that archer lad is some scoregetter
looking forward to the semi now
should be a cracker

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 19/07/2019 21:59:29    2213324

Replying To rhudson:  "And so it continues the Dublin express
And in time will continue the evolution of this Dublin tem"
Let''s hope so. That's the idea isn't it? A bit of ambition, good organisation, right people in place and damn hard work. And of course a couple of hot meals helps also. We recommend Ready Brek.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 19/07/2019 22:01:54    2213327

Replying To rhudson:  "actually the truth is laois were poorly coached
they were slow moving the ball
in contrast the Dublin lads allways moved the ball at pace
and allways took the right option
that archer lad is some scoregetter
looking forward to the semi now
should be a cracker"
Some day a coach will actually stand up and admit that his/her team was outcoached by the opposition instead of blaming it on hot meals and cameras. Archer looks the real deal but many have failed on the transition to senior so it's early days.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 19/07/2019 22:08:14    2213328

Replying To Joxer:  "You couldn't make it up. "Hot meals". By God, disgraceful. And cameras behind the goals? My phone has a pretty good video camera on it. Dublin thinking outside the box at little cost while others continue to whinge. Get yourself a few GoPros and a bleedin microwave and stop whinging. Does every thread now have to descend into a crack at Dublin? The cute hoors in Kerry must be breaking their sides laughing at ye. Under the radar doesn't even begin to describe it."
Well I'm from Kerry and I'm definitely not laughing, I don't see what's going on with Dublin to be much of laughing matter to be honest.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/07/2019 22:09:11    2213330

Brilliant performance from Dublin tonight against a fancied Laois side. Archer a is hop, skip and a jump away from the big time. Galway, fair play to them, consistently produce very useful underage teams and Cork slayed the dragon. Should be an exciting conclusion to this championship.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 19/07/2019 22:23:04    2213334

But but I thought Dublin were winning nothing at underage?

I'm sure jimbo will soon have paragraph after paragraph to explain it all to us

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 19/07/2019 22:27:25    2213339

Instead of complaining maybe other counties can look how to improve. Galway are far from paupers and have more talent at their disposal than most counties.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11238 - 19/07/2019 22:29:21    2213343

Replying To Joxer:  "Let''s hope so. That's the idea isn't it? A bit of ambition, good organisation, right people in place and damn hard work. And of course a couple of hot meals helps also. We recommend Ready Brek."
what about fruit n fibre

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 19/07/2019 22:35:55    2213348

Is that not the point of underage structures and development teams ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/07/2019 22:36:20    2213349

Was at the game..Dublin always the better team...ref was poor...gave Laois nothing....13 points flattered Dublin...Archer is a real talent

Dessie15 (Westmeath) - Posts: 214 - 19/07/2019 22:49:12    2213354

Dublins domination of the u20/21 grade over the last decade gets stronger. They've Hammered everyone this year. I know you Dubs have become well practiced cute kerry hoors but nobody believes your conveyor belt will end. As I said no other leinster county will beat you in a leinster championship ever again. Sad but very dark times ahead.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 19/07/2019 23:01:15    2213358