Donegal Have The Friendliest Supporters In The Country

Replying To TakeyourPoint.:  "Aye its calmed down a fair bit alright. I live 2 mins from the border and had to listen to plenty of bad manners back then, and its tainted my view slightly.

funnily enough it was usually the people that hadn't a notion about football that gave the most bad manners, the people that actually new football never said a thing.

Aye Dubs have always been the best IMO. The atmosphere they brought to Omagh last year was something else, cant wait to get down to Dublin this weekend."
It always is the 1s who know very little about football that cause the trouble, just out for a day out and to get drunk!
Real supporters will go to watch football and appreciate the game being played by either side for the most part.

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 562 - 17/07/2019 12:14:57    2212298

Replying To Wally:  "Does everyone agree that the GAA gives people from certain counties unfair criticism or support.

By this I mean that as GAA followers our opinions are often screwed towards our personal experiences of meeting certain fans from different counties at football/hurling matches.

It's quite ridiculous really.

Personally I cant stand Meath supporters but it has given me an unfair opinion of the county as a whole. I have worked with Meath people and visited the county for work and holiday purposes and have always have a very enjoyable time and the people have been great craic and very welcoming. Yet I never want Meath to do well in football as I have had so many bad experiences with certain sections of their support. I know this is not representative of the entire county but I just cant help it.

On the contrary I know a lot of people on here hate the Dublins supporters but I couldn't speak higher of them as I have always had a fantastic time at Dubs games and their fans have been so friendly towards my friends and family. Yet I know that they have some bad eggs just like every other county.

Interesting isn't it."
Very true. I would go one further and say that people often form opinions based on their experiences on public forums like this also.

Tyrone get dogs abuse on here but it generally stems from some of their ejit posters on here.

I have always had very enjoyable experiences with Tyrone supporters and could never understand the attitude that people had on here to them.

As for Donegal. I have found their supporters to be very unsociable and on a lot of occasions quite rude. Of course this is not representative of the entire county but it has affected my opinion.

lambofgod (Mayo) - Posts: 116 - 17/07/2019 12:19:01    2212301

I have always found Down supporters very friendly and knowledgeable, Always a pleasure to meet. By far the best.

I have always enjoyed meeting the real Dublin GAA people at Dublin Club matches, But I would rather not spend time with the assholes that 'support' the Dubs in croke park.
Generally most Leinster Counties and Cork have a few gobdaws to let them down .A special mention to Westmeath, Louth ,and Cork followed by Mayo for best to wind up clowns

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 17/07/2019 12:21:08    2212305

Agree with the posts about Dublin. Some of the most knowledgeable, friendly and good rumored fans out there, if not the best, gracious in victory and defeat in my experience. They're an easy target to bash due to the size of the support, and with that you'll always get a few arseholes but percentage wise I dont think there would be any more than any other county. If there ever is any 'bother' it will inevitably be some from someone who wasn't even at the game and wouldn't know a size 5 from their elbow.

No matter what people say, a big championship match in Croke Park against the dubs is where everyone wants to be, I've had more craic before and after these games than any other team in similar games.

Antifa (Donegal) - Posts: 143 - 17/07/2019 13:06:19    2212325

Feeling the love lads...now say it again in that gorgeous accent :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 17/07/2019 13:14:52    2212330

Replying To Wally:  "Does everyone agree that the GAA gives people from certain counties unfair criticism or support.

By this I mean that as GAA followers our opinions are often screwed towards our personal experiences of meeting certain fans from different counties at football/hurling matches.

It's quite ridiculous really.

Personally I cant stand Meath supporters but it has given me an unfair opinion of the county as a whole. I have worked with Meath people and visited the county for work and holiday purposes and have always have a very enjoyable time and the people have been great craic and very welcoming. Yet I never want Meath to do well in football as I have had so many bad experiences with certain sections of their support. I know this is not representative of the entire county but I just cant help it.

On the contrary I know a lot of people on here hate the Dublins supporters but I couldn't speak higher of them as I have always had a fantastic time at Dubs games and their fans have been so friendly towards my friends and family. Yet I know that they have some bad eggs just like every other county.

Interesting isn't it."
Yeah id agree

I have seen Donegal supporters acting disgracefully on more than one occasion but I be there quite often and they are the best in the world.

I think the bottom line is all counties have there fair share of morons but you have to take it with a pinch of salt.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 17/07/2019 13:44:43    2212341

The friendliest fans I've encountered have been Cork, Dublin and more recently the Meath folk we wouldn't have crossed paths with them a lot before, we had good craic on Sunday with the Meath fans beside us, isn't it great we can all stand side by side and have the craic and enjoy the football.
fellas can get a bit excited at times but it all adds to the atmosphere.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2749 - 17/07/2019 14:01:25    2212348

I think the fans of all counties can give themselves a pat on the back. I have come across fans of every county bar New York in four decades following Dublin footballers and hurlers at all grades and there are great fans of all counties. A couple of eejits everywhere doesn't change that. The fact that for any game, in any venue, fans can freely mix says it all. That doesn't happen in LOI. So, every county should take pride in their fans and teams...

CornAghais91 (Dublin) - Posts: 126 - 17/07/2019 14:09:47    2212356

I know I am going away from the original post but I have often been taken with how some fans can get on top of their own team if things are not going right on the pitch. The Donegal fans got behind the team on Sunday when things were not going right and I feel this does matter especially with young players.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 17/07/2019 14:34:20    2212368

Is this a joke? Haven't scrolled to the start here but I'm 99% confident it wasn't posted by any Tyrone supporter.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 17/07/2019 15:14:59    2212388

Donegal's GAA supporters are fantastic, but I wouldn't put ourselves above any of our neighbours.

We were let down badly for a number of years between 2011-2015 when the goings were good. I'd imagine for the most part this was due to a sudden influx of younger fans who hadn't been to too many matches before. I'm glad for the most part that our fans have cut out the booing rubbish that had somehow started in those years.

Of course we've seen the worst of Tyrone fans, and the same vice-versa. Still will always stay about cheer them on in a double-header against Munster/Connacht/Leinster opposition, like we would for any other Ulster team.

I agree that Dublin fans are great. Again, the odd head-the-ball here and there, but very knowledgeable and passionate GAA people for the most part.

We're all gaels at the end of the day.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 380 - 17/07/2019 15:25:42    2212394

Leitrim fans. I came across them in a back door game 12 years ago in Carrick. Great people. They waved us home through villages of south county leitrim as we drove to Manorhamilton. Havent seen the likes of this in a long while before or after. Same in 2013 when we played laois there. They were very friendly and as excited about the game as we were.

More games around the country like this please.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 17/07/2019 15:27:53    2212395

Yes i would agree they are the friendliest fans if I had to pick any county out. Certainly was the experience i had after the 2014 final.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 17/07/2019 16:38:21    2212418

As mentioned, all counties have their fair share of idiots, whereas all counties have a majority of knowledgeable, well mannered fans.

I honestly couldn't say who the best group of fans I've encountered are - Donegal would certainly be among the better ones.

There are 2 counties who I wouldn't have much time for as EVERY time I've been to a game involving these sets of fans, I've seen/heard things that don't belong at a GAA match. Both are fellow Ulster counties but I won't name them as I know genuine fans from both counties.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 17/07/2019 17:20:43    2212442

Replying To cavanman47:  "As mentioned, all counties have their fair share of idiots, whereas all counties have a majority of knowledgeable, well mannered fans.

I honestly couldn't say who the best group of fans I've encountered are - Donegal would certainly be among the better ones.

There are 2 counties who I wouldn't have much time for as EVERY time I've been to a game involving these sets of fans, I've seen/heard things that don't belong at a GAA match. Both are fellow Ulster counties but I won't name them as I know genuine fans from both counties."
Wudnt take a genius to know one of them.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 17/07/2019 17:24:18    2212445

Replying To Jackeen:  "Feeling the love lads...now say it again in that gorgeous accent :)"
Ah jackeen, if I was 30 years younger...........

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 17/07/2019 19:09:55    2212494

Tyrone definetly the most friendly very genuine respectful in defeat in Cavan recently.

neutral (None) - Posts: 358 - 17/07/2019 21:12:55    2212540

Replying To Ashrules:  "I have always found Down supporters very friendly and knowledgeable, Always a pleasure to meet. By far the best.

I have always enjoyed meeting the real Dublin GAA people at Dublin Club matches, But I would rather not spend time with the assholes that 'support' the Dubs in croke park.
Generally most Leinster Counties and Cork have a few gobdaws to let them down .A special mention to Westmeath, Louth ,and Cork followed by Mayo for best to wind up clowns"
I suppose it never occurred to you that it might be the clown doing the winding up. Probably not!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 17/07/2019 21:29:49    2212551

Replying To rorysboys:  "Wudnt take a genius to know one of them."
Well. . .yeah.

The other, their neighbour, are actually worse IMO.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 17/07/2019 23:11:38    2212587

Replying To Donegalman:  "Leitrim fans. I came across them in a back door game 12 years ago in Carrick. Great people. They waved us home through villages of south county leitrim as we drove to Manorhamilton. Havent seen the likes of this in a long while before or after. Same in 2013 when we played laois there. They were very friendly and as excited about the game as we were.

More games around the country like this please."
Ahh Donegalman, I was at that match. It was one of the few matches I shed tears at! A great match. One of the most spectacular goals I have ever seen was scored in the match. We didn't begrudge ye the win but we were heartbroken at the end. One of our biggest 'might have beens'. We have a huge amount of time for Donegal, particularly in North Leitrim. When ye won in 92 I think most of us went in to Sligo train station to greet the team on its return. Great memories.

offyertrolley (Leitrim) - Posts: 141 - 17/07/2019 23:37:57    2212597