Donegal Have The Friendliest Supporters In The Country

Obviously things have changed since the 1990 semi final between the two sides. Also I heard a few Donegal fans at the '92 final had 'not from Meath' written on their green & gold regalia (Meath were in the minor final that year). The old Meath might have received a different reception in Ballybofey.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 16/07/2019 21:11:55    2212079

Replying To kiloughter:  "Obviously things have changed since the 1990 semi final between the two sides. Also I heard a few Donegal fans at the '92 final had 'not from Meath' written on their green & gold regalia (Meath were in the minor final that year). The old Meath might have received a different reception in Ballybofey."
I think the new appreciation comes from the league match. After the tragedy of 4 young people dying , Meath cb following a request from the management and players made a presentation of four candles before the match. Donegal fans appreciated the gesture and it was actually mentioned to me on Sunday, somethings transcend sport . And I would hazard a guess that is where the respect originated from.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/07/2019 21:24:30    2212083

Donegal people certainly are not reason nobody tuned in on sky to watch their county team just about beat Meath. You can't blame them for the fact most people preferred to watch the cricket. Jim McGuiness is to blame and Bonner for their boring style.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 16/07/2019 21:29:53    2212088

Replying To royaldunne:  "I think the new appreciation comes from the league match. After the tragedy of 4 young people dying , Meath cb following a request from the management and players made a presentation of four candles before the match. Donegal fans appreciated the gesture and it was actually mentioned to me on Sunday, somethings transcend sport . And I would hazard a guess that is where the respect originated from."
That was a poignant moment and a wonderful touch RD.

Glad you and family had a great day out.

Hope yous get a good result Sunday

IamDonegal (Donegal) - Posts: 134 - 16/07/2019 21:35:31    2212094

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "Donegal people certainly are not reason nobody tuned in on sky to watch their county team just about beat Meath. You can't blame them for the fact most people preferred to watch the cricket. Jim McGuiness is to blame and Bonner for their boring style."
Pot meet kettle

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/07/2019 21:45:39    2212101

What about this great attacking Tyrone team we were promised this year. Donegal weren't long putting yous back in your box, lol.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2406 - 16/07/2019 21:47:28    2212104

This thread has just reminded me of the QF replay in Castlebar in 2003. There was a few young Donegal lads in front of us who burst into "The Fields Of Athenry" at one point.
An elderly Donegal man beside them asked them why they were singing a Galway song, to which one of them replied "we're not singing a Galway song, it's a Celtic song"....

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 497 - 16/07/2019 22:07:12    2212112

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "Donegal people certainly are not reason nobody tuned in on sky to watch their county team just about beat Meath. You can't blame them for the fact most people preferred to watch the cricket. Jim McGuiness is to blame and Bonner for their boring style."
2/10, poor effort and quite lazy. Would be surprised if you get many bites

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 16/07/2019 22:14:11    2212114

Replying To streaker:  "This thread has just reminded me of the QF replay in Castlebar in 2003. There was a few young Donegal lads in front of us who burst into "The Fields Of Athenry" at one point.
An elderly Donegal man beside them asked them why they were singing a Galway song, to which one of them replied "we're not singing a Galway song, it's a Celtic song"...."
Haha, we've plenty of those about! I recall a family friend coming to an Ulster championship match against Cavan in the early 00's, big soccer head. Couldn't believe when q Cavan man sat beside him "in the Donegal end" haha

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 16/07/2019 22:15:36    2212115

Cricket.. I think the hurling quarter finals would be more of an attraction for a Gaelic fanbase.

Why is there such prominence given to an Irish D4 leading 'England' to World Cup glory?

Turncoat.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 16/07/2019 22:18:48    2212117

Replying To rorysboys:  "What about this great attacking Tyrone team we were promised this year. Donegal weren't long putting yous back in your box, lol."
Still one of 'rorysboys'? Fair play to you.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 16/07/2019 22:31:24    2212120

I thought that Tyrone supporters held the title of being the' friendliest supporters'.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 16/07/2019 22:42:34    2212123

Top class bunch of fans. We'd actually more nut jobs in ballybofey then donegal had which is quite impressive considering they outnumbered us 10:1. Always an enjoyable match day experience when donegal are playing. See you on Sunday for the double header. Safe travels.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 16/07/2019 23:21:05    2212133

Boring style - one of Ireland's highest scoring teams. Just about beat Meath... by 9 points lol... and you beat roscommon by 4.. what are you smoking?

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 16/07/2019 23:27:45    2212137

Have you watched Donegal this year? This isn't Jim's team or style of play anymore.

Unlike a lot of people I would have nothing against Tyrone, the opposite in fact I'd want them to do well but maybe look a bit closer to home if you want to see boring/negative styles of play.

Highandmighty (Leitrim) - Posts: 54 - 17/07/2019 00:04:37    2212154

Replying To Highandmighty:  "Have you watched Donegal this year? This isn't Jim's team or style of play anymore.

Unlike a lot of people I would have nothing against Tyrone, the opposite in fact I'd want them to do well but maybe look a bit closer to home if you want to see boring/negative styles of play."
The best form of attack is defence though

TakeyourPoint. (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 17/07/2019 11:22:47    2212268

Couldn't make it on sunday unfortunately but I've stayed in Donegal many times in the past, often for work and couldn't say enough good things about the place. The people are dead sound and the scenery is breathtaking, always love an aul trip up to the hills.

Also one of my best neighbours is from Donegal, he loves his football and he's half mad but in a good way, would go out of his way to help you.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/07/2019 11:34:24    2212277

Does everyone agree that the GAA gives people from certain counties unfair criticism or support.

By this I mean that as GAA followers our opinions are often screwed towards our personal experiences of meeting certain fans from different counties at football/hurling matches.

It's quite ridiculous really.

Personally I cant stand Meath supporters but it has given me an unfair opinion of the county as a whole. I have worked with Meath people and visited the county for work and holiday purposes and have always have a very enjoyable time and the people have been great craic and very welcoming. Yet I never want Meath to do well in football as I have had so many bad experiences with certain sections of their support. I know this is not representative of the entire county but I just cant help it.

On the contrary I know a lot of people on here hate the Dublins supporters but I couldn't speak higher of them as I have always had a fantastic time at Dubs games and their fans have been so friendly towards my friends and family. Yet I know that they have some bad eggs just like every other county.

Interesting isn't it.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 17/07/2019 11:42:40    2212281

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Ha ha yeah we are not so welcoming to our near neighbours. Things did get a bit toxic between Donegal and Tyrone in the 2013-2015 period and this was mainly due to the antics on the pitch from both sides. Things have calmed down a bit in recent meetings thankfully.

I always remember how good the Dublin supporters were when we beat them in 2014, took their beating and congragulated us, no excuses either, one of the reasons they are a great team."
Aye its calmed down a fair bit alright. I live 2 mins from the border and had to listen to plenty of bad manners back then, and its tainted my view slightly.

funnily enough it was usually the people that hadn't a notion about football that gave the most bad manners, the people that actually new football never said a thing.

Aye Dubs have always been the best IMO. The atmosphere they brought to Omagh last year was something else, cant wait to get down to Dublin this weekend.

TakeyourPoint. (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 17/07/2019 11:53:37    2212286

Replying To Wally:  "Does everyone agree that the GAA gives people from certain counties unfair criticism or support.

By this I mean that as GAA followers our opinions are often screwed towards our personal experiences of meeting certain fans from different counties at football/hurling matches.

It's quite ridiculous really.

Personally I cant stand Meath supporters but it has given me an unfair opinion of the county as a whole. I have worked with Meath people and visited the county for work and holiday purposes and have always have a very enjoyable time and the people have been great craic and very welcoming. Yet I never want Meath to do well in football as I have had so many bad experiences with certain sections of their support. I know this is not representative of the entire county but I just cant help it.

On the contrary I know a lot of people on here hate the Dublins supporters but I couldn't speak higher of them as I have always had a fantastic time at Dubs games and their fans have been so friendly towards my friends and family. Yet I know that they have some bad eggs just like every other county.

Interesting isn't it."
Entirely agree. I think everyone will have both good and bad experiences with any county their own county has faced over the years. Just like the original poster on this thread had a great experience in Ballybofey the last day.

After 2014 I was quite vocal in airing my opinions on Donegal support. That day was an unpleasant experience for me and was subjected to listening to two clowns behind me direct pure nastiness at both our minor and senior sides. Tbh it was more the stuff shouted at the young lads in the minor game that really got my goat up. For a couple of years after that day I admit I had no time for anything to do with Donegal such was the bad taste it left me with. I'll also add it had nothing to do with the result as we were well beaten on the day by the better side. Since then I've met and married a Donegal woman from a footballing stronghold and spend a lot of time up there and have seen firsthand the pure passion they have for football and am happy to say my mind has been completely changed. A footballing mad county with so many genuine football fans. I'm annoyed I let a particular pair of idiots ever make me think otherwise.

I'd like to think Dublin fans are by and large decent but of course realise we have our fair share of idiots too just like all counties.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 17/07/2019 12:08:48    2212291