Donegal Have The Friendliest Supporters In The Country

Ballybofey was buzzing on Saturday night and again on Sunday. A large group of the Meath support travelled on Saturday and received a real Cead Mile Failte from the locals. Could not believe how many Donegal people put out their hand before the game and wished us the best of luck. Nor did the Donegal support go into hysterics when they scored their goals or at the games end when victory was theirs, just clapped with good natured chanting. Bad language was at a minimum and they were eager to say that the end scoreline did not justify what happened in the match. Now I am quick to point out that we have a number of head bangers attached to the Meath support and more amongst some counties I will not even mention. But the 12,000 Donegal people in attendance appear a different breed. I applaud them for that, wish them well for the remainder of the championship and say that they are by the proverbial mile the best and friendliest support I ever encountered.

Triple H (Meath) - Posts: 551 - 16/07/2019 16:13:09    2211938

You're most welcome!

The Meath fans I spoke to were sound in the Villa Rose before hand. The game might have got away from ye in the end but everyone was very sporting.

Glad you enjoyed your trip to the Hills!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 16/07/2019 16:24:14    2211942

Glad you enjoyed Ballybofey Triple H, it's a fine wee town on matchday alright, great buzz around. It's one big plus with the Super 8s that towns like Ballybofey get to experience a big Championship match later in the summer.

All the best to Meath going forward, you could rattle Mayo although it's a lot of football in a short period for both teams so may come down to who makes less mistakes.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 16/07/2019 16:25:48    2211944

Replying To Triple H:  "Ballybofey was buzzing on Saturday night and again on Sunday. A large group of the Meath support travelled on Saturday and received a real Cead Mile Failte from the locals. Could not believe how many Donegal people put out their hand before the game and wished us the best of luck. Nor did the Donegal support go into hysterics when they scored their goals or at the games end when victory was theirs, just clapped with good natured chanting. Bad language was at a minimum and they were eager to say that the end scoreline did not justify what happened in the match. Now I am quick to point out that we have a number of head bangers attached to the Meath support and more amongst some counties I will not even mention. But the 12,000 Donegal people in attendance appear a different breed. I applaud them for that, wish them well for the remainder of the championship and say that they are by the proverbial mile the best and friendliest support I ever encountered."
You having a laugh?

TakeyourPoint. (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 16/07/2019 16:33:12    2211945

Aw shucks.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 16/07/2019 16:36:18    2211949

Always found Donegal supporters very classy. Lovely people.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 16/07/2019 16:36:27    2211950

Replying To Triple H:  "Ballybofey was buzzing on Saturday night and again on Sunday. A large group of the Meath support travelled on Saturday and received a real Cead Mile Failte from the locals. Could not believe how many Donegal people put out their hand before the game and wished us the best of luck. Nor did the Donegal support go into hysterics when they scored their goals or at the games end when victory was theirs, just clapped with good natured chanting. Bad language was at a minimum and they were eager to say that the end scoreline did not justify what happened in the match. Now I am quick to point out that we have a number of head bangers attached to the Meath support and more amongst some counties I will not even mention. But the 12,000 Donegal people in attendance appear a different breed. I applaud them for that, wish them well for the remainder of the championship and say that they are by the proverbial mile the best and friendliest support I ever encountered."
Sorry but too scarred by memories of Donegal fans singing and jeering us under the Hill as we left after the 2014 fiasco. It was entirely understandable but still and all...one never forgets these things.:-).

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 16/07/2019 17:25:51    2211969

Replying To avonali:  "Sorry but too scarred by memories of Donegal fans singing and jeering us under the Hill as we left after the 2014 fiasco. It was entirely understandable but still and all...one never forgets these things.:-)."
Are u sure it wasnt wee Daniel singing? That would scar anyone.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 16/07/2019 17:30:20    2211973

Replying To TakeyourPoint.:  "You having a laugh?"
You reckon Tyrone supporters are friendlier?

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 16/07/2019 17:33:31    2211975

Awwww..

Bless!!

This is all very cute.

Xx

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 16/07/2019 17:36:53    2211978

Donegal people great Craic, love Donegal people.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 16/07/2019 18:14:20    2211992

Ha ha yeah we are not so welcoming to our near neighbours. Things did get a bit toxic between Donegal and Tyrone in the 2013-2015 period and this was mainly due to the antics on the pitch from both sides. Things have calmed down a bit in recent meetings thankfully.

I always remember how good the Dublin supporters were when we beat them in 2014, took their beating and congragulated us, no excuses either, one of the reasons they are a great team.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 16/07/2019 18:24:38    2211997

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Always found Donegal supporters very classy. Lovely people."
Knowledgeable too!!

NuttyMeathMan (Meath) - Posts: 35 - 16/07/2019 18:45:19    2212000

They could be tearing strips off me & I couldn't care. The accent!!!! Swoon!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 16/07/2019 18:49:30    2212003

Replying To avonali:  "Sorry but too scarred by memories of Donegal fans singing and jeering us under the Hill as we left after the 2014 fiasco. It was entirely understandable but still and all...one never forgets these things.:-)."
Donegal fans singing after beating Dublin?

Disgraceful carry on!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 16/07/2019 18:53:12    2212005

Couldn't agree more. The most voice full good natured fans I have ever had the pleasure to encounter, me herself and 3 little ones were treated exceptionally well, no bad language think I was the worst when I shouted ah crap when goal was disallowed, a credit to their county and a credit to the gaa, other counties could take a leaf out of donegals book. Created a great friendly atmosphere. We had a lovely day out.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/07/2019 20:02:46    2212037

Where my sick bucket.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 16/07/2019 20:11:20    2212040

You won't see a thread on yourselves like this lol

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 16/07/2019 20:14:58    2212043

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Donegal fans singing after beating Dublin?

Disgraceful carry on!"
They were singing My Donegal Shore. It certainly was disgraceful. It took bleedin' 3 hours non-stop of Crazy World by Aslan to get that Daniel number outta ourzar heads.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/07/2019 20:15:54    2212044

They love the Dubs..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B4TaRl79pQY

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 16/07/2019 20:25:00    2212048