Wexford V Tipperary

Replying To Thelonesomegoose:  "Never saw a stadium go so quiet waiting for ref to decide on the 'square ball' goal. What was the delay. And of course the television coverage panned away from him at the decisive moment. They really should have sports directors who know what they're at."
He wanted to get the call right. So he took his time, composed himself and consulted with his officials. Jaysus if he had of done a Martin Sludden on it he would be destoryed here. No win situation really

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 29/07/2019 10:04:46    2218002

Replying To bottletopbill:  "Complete rubbish, gave 70% of frees to Tipp post red which was complete deviation from pre red, was outside square for penalty you claim but whistle had been blown as no advantage accrued and Wexford goal legit, slow it down and you will see he wasn't in the square. Wex penalty claim could not be more obvious, he was rugby tackled, end of"
Ah stop. Some decisions went for wexford and other went for tipp. Thats the way it is.

If wexfords decision making had of been to the required standard when they had two on ones and three on twos they would have had the game put to bed with 10 to go.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 29/07/2019 10:07:19    2218004

Replying To arock:  "Sorry but you not answering the question at all, if every score is being analysed why in the name of God allow the play to continue?? That is my point my only point. Yes by all means give the point I get that, that is not what I am saying why oh why allow game to continue if they mic'ed up, and please don't say as GAA have said the noise!!! Pathetic officiating, it is a disgrace. I repeat what if a player was fouled aka red card in this bizarre twilight Hawkeye zone while some muppet reviews the screen while the place is dancing as a goal is scored!! You have to admit, its dumb"
I'm not sure what answer you are after. If you go to, watch or pay attention to games you'd know that It takes hawkeye about 15-20 seconds to check the score. It's even slower in Thurles. That was about the same length of time it took the ball to get to the other end of the field.

The ref was hardly going to stop open play to see if it was a point, the umpires didn't suggest it was a score. The ball went down the field and I would imagine the communication was happening at Tipp struck for the goal. As bad as the ref was, the speed of the technology is hardly his fault. It would have been different had the ball gone dead and they restarted from the puckout. There rightly would of been uproar then.

Don't understand why they don't have a watch like the soccer that tells if the ball crosses the line straight away instead of the current system which is far too slow. Forget about the screen graphic which takes another 5 seconds and let the ref point to his watch and get on with it.

Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 29/07/2019 10:52:55    2218033

Replying To Athcliath63:  "Lads what is so wrong with having 2 refs, one for each half of the field? Gaelic Football and Hurling fields are way bigger than soccer and rugby and sorry but GAA refs have difficulty keeping up with play. Both refs should be linked by headsets and in constant communication. The linesmen are too far away from a lot of the action too."
Couldn't see it working. Imagine having a Brian Gavin at one end and lads killing each other and then a McGrath at the other end blowing everything. There would be uproar. Hard enough get consistency out of one ref never mind two.

The only way I could see it working is to let one ref control the entire game and have a consultant ref in each half who can draw the main refs attention to off the ball stuff but from general play they have no input unless the main ref consults them over the mike.

Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 29/07/2019 11:00:42    2218042

Replying To Viking66:  "Barry Heffernan shouldve been sent off"
Yes, I'll give you that. He bottled that one.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 29/07/2019 11:11:38    2218052

Replying To Condorman:  "Not correct .Jake Morris goal should have stood, terrible decision not to allow it."
Yes true, but McDonald was denied a blatant penalty, just after John Mc was sent off. BTW John would want to cop on- this is the second time he was put off this year. Like Ryan Dwyer with Dublin, on another day he could have destroyed Tipps chances. He is not a dirty player, but he does foolish things.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 29/07/2019 11:22:37    2218060

Replying To bottletopbill:  "Complete rubbish, gave 70% of frees to Tipp post red which was complete deviation from pre red, was outside square for penalty you claim but whistle had been blown as no advantage accrued and Wexford goal legit, slow it down and you will see he wasn't in the square. Wex penalty claim could not be more obvious, he was rugby tackled, end of"
Yeah, he's a bad club ref. He did what every bad club ref does, rides one team raw for 3/4 of a match until they can take no more, then decides "oops, I need to start evening things up a bit here", hence no red card for Heffernan, hence no penalty for Wexford.

"Whistle had been blown as no advantage accrued" - can you not see how bad a decision that was? He never even allowed a millisecond of play to continue to see if any advantage would accrue. Jake Morris was scoring the goal around 3 or 4 seconds after the foul.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 29/07/2019 11:23:35    2218061

Genuinely don't think he saw the punch from watching the behind the goal angle on the Sunday game. It was inexcusable and a straight red. Player will no doubt receive a retrospective ban and rightly so. It doesn't help Wexford as Tipp should have been down to 13.

Wexford penalty shout was probably more blatant than the Limerick one however how the advantage was not played for the Tipp goal I don't know. The advantage rule is 5 seconds, Morris had the ball in his hand within a second.

The main problem with this weekend is that referees have dominated the games post match analysis. This could be a real problem in the final. If Croker throw out the orders now for everything to be blown it could turn the final into an awful affair. Tipp and KK will tear lumps off eachother in 3 weeks. The man in the middle needs to be on top form.

Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 29/07/2019 11:41:12    2218081

Blaming the referee is a cop-out. Simple as.
We lost our composure in the last 20 minutes, we won no ball from our own puck out. Our 5 subs had no impact.

Yes a few decisions went for/against us, I can assure you if a passage of play continued and we got a goal before being called back for a point, I would be APOPLECTIC. Yes Barry Heffernan should have been sent off. Yes John McGrath should have been straight red. Yes Conor Mc should have had a penalty.

But overall, we didn't do enough hurling in the last 20 and that is why we lost.

If all you ever do in life is blame somebody else for your shortcomings, you become a perennial loser.

On the subject of refereeing, there is too much for 1 man to do. Time keeping, score keeping (does he really need to do this at inter county level?), and following a ball driven 80 yards down the pitch.

Hurling needs 2 referees, proper umpires, togged out like referees not like lads working in a butchers. Linesmen should be calling frees when they see them like you see in soccer. Everybody's performance should be assessed, not just the referee.

Talk of VAR etc is nonsense, but it should be used if there a suspicion of foul play, and the referee wants to check what happened. See how quick the niggling, taunting (Ronan Maher was a disgrace yesterday after that point, surely he is better than that), diving, helmet pulling etc stops then.

Well done Tipperary and best of luck.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1733 - 29/07/2019 13:16:13    2218160

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Blaming the referee is a cop-out. Simple as.
We lost our composure in the last 20 minutes, we won no ball from our own puck out. Our 5 subs had no impact.

Yes a few decisions went for/against us, I can assure you if a passage of play continued and we got a goal before being called back for a point, I would be APOPLECTIC. Yes Barry Heffernan should have been sent off. Yes John McGrath should have been straight red. Yes Conor Mc should have had a penalty.

But overall, we didn't do enough hurling in the last 20 and that is why we lost.

If all you ever do in life is blame somebody else for your shortcomings, you become a perennial loser.

On the subject of refereeing, there is too much for 1 man to do. Time keeping, score keeping (does he really need to do this at inter county level?), and following a ball driven 80 yards down the pitch.

Hurling needs 2 referees, proper umpires, togged out like referees not like lads working in a butchers. Linesmen should be calling frees when they see them like you see in soccer. Everybody's performance should be assessed, not just the referee.

Talk of VAR etc is nonsense, but it should be used if there a suspicion of foul play, and the referee wants to check what happened. See how quick the niggling, taunting (Ronan Maher was a disgrace yesterday after that point, surely he is better than that), diving, helmet pulling etc stops then.

Well done Tipperary and best of luck."
Why are people stating that McGrath's second yellow have been red instead, because they said so on the Sunday game?

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 29/07/2019 13:20:53    2218161

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "Why are people stating that McGrath's second yellow have been red instead, because they said so on the Sunday game?"
Because he struck the player with his hurl. To strike or attempt to strike a player is an auto red.

Buachaillbui (Clare) - Posts: 118 - 29/07/2019 13:57:13    2218197

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "Why are people stating that McGrath's second yellow have been red instead, because they said so on the Sunday game?"
Ask Conor Gleeson who missed the chance to play in an All Ireland for retaliation to getting a hurley buried in his stomach.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 29/07/2019 14:06:07    2218206

Also not 100% on this but since it's 2 yellows i think he can play in final. Straight red he would've missed final.

Buachaillbui (Clare) - Posts: 118 - 29/07/2019 14:13:36    2218213

Replying To Buachaillbui:  "Because he struck the player with his hurl. To strike or attempt to strike a player is an auto red."
He didn't strike the player at all with his hurl, but it was a silly stroke when lying on the ground

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 29/07/2019 14:26:40    2218224

Replying To endgame:  "Any concerns among Tipp people about Brian Hogan in goals.Thought he was poor for 2 of Wexford's goals today.Not a good shot stopper in my view."
Would have had plenty of concerns at start of the year but he had had a good year...up to yesterday. I did expect Paul Maher would get the number 1 Jersey at start of the year but overall I think we have bigger concerns. He's a young player and will learn from yesterday.
I have regularly said here that eoin murphy is the best keeper I've seen but I don't think he's had a brilliant year himself. I think he'd be thinking he should have done better too.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 29/07/2019 14:47:09    2218238

Replying To Canuck:  "Ask Conor Gleeson who missed the chance to play in an All Ireland for retaliation to getting a hurley buried in his stomach."
Conor gleeson pulled back on the man if memory serves me correctly. I'd have no real complaints if it was a straight red but it was a very different incident. It was a one handed slap that was never going to cause an injury. I've done it myself in the tackle in nearly every game I played....maybe not as obvious as that but you do flick in across players. No kk man here is complaing either and the decision will effect them more than anyone else

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 29/07/2019 15:00:44    2218245

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "He didn't strike the player at all with his hurl, but it was a silly stroke when lying on the ground"
the replay was brutal because he had already struck reck at that stage.it was a straight red all day long

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 29/07/2019 15:09:30    2218252

Replying To perfect10:  "the replay was brutal because he had already struck reck at that stage.it was a straight red all day long"
The replay was fine, multiple angles shown, most gave the impression that McGrath struck Reck but the final angle from side on shows that there was no contact with Recks, just the hurl knocked from his hand and Reck going down holding his elbow.

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 29/07/2019 15:32:33    2218262

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "The replay was fine, multiple angles shown, most gave the impression that McGrath struck Reck but the final angle from side on shows that there was no contact with Recks, just the hurl knocked from his hand and Reck going down holding his elbow."
He 100% struck him, no way.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1733 - 29/07/2019 16:12:01    2218291

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "The replay was fine, multiple angles shown, most gave the impression that McGrath struck Reck but the final angle from side on shows that there was no contact with Recks, just the hurl knocked from his hand and Reck going down holding his elbow."
He struck him from behind with the hurl sitting on the ground. Theres no way he could claim he was trying to play the ball.....

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11890 - 29/07/2019 16:27:41    2218309