Wexford V Tipperary

Replying To ballydalane:  "As a Kilkenny man, Tiobraid, I have to apologise for that performance. His ineptitude wasn't ALL one way I know, but up until the Tipp red card I don't think ye got a single 50/50 call in yer favour. And I'm saying that as someone who'd gladly see Tipp lose every hurling match they ever play, including today.

I'm not one of these posters who blindly defends referees because they're countymen. If it's bad, it's bad."
I don't see the need to be apologizing tbh, bluster exhibiting drama. After the red card Tipp got every single decision, have looked at the game again and assessment correct imo, ref very much in Wex favor until sending off but after Tipp got every call.No idea why that should happen but it does tend to happen after red cards. In spite of that We had the game in our hands but mentally appeared to lose our way.
Good to be asking the questions again on the big days, if not you wouldn't have the interest and crowds of today. We will be back and at least have the Bob O Keefe.

bottletopbill (Wexford) - Posts: 71 - 28/07/2019 21:06:05    2217856

Replying To Viking66:  "Shouldve stuck to the shortpassing game for sure. Inexperience and pressure as well as tiredness maybe told on what is still a pretty young team. Tipp produced a great performance fair play to them. Especially the Mahers and Noel Mcgrath. The experience they had of big occasions defo stood to them in the last 10 minutes."
A few times during that period wexford had a 1 on 1 inside and instead of letting it in they went short and lost it. All it would have taken is one of those to end up a goal and they'd win. Plus if they lose possession at least it would be at the other end of the field not midfield.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 28/07/2019 21:18:38    2217861

I thought in the first half the ref had a decent game. Second half he had a shocker and needed more help from the line. As aggrieved as Tipp may feel, the Tipp man who punched the Wexford player in the chest should have been sent his marching orders putting Tipp down to 13. Wexford would surely have gone on to win it from there.

As bad as some of the decisions were over the weekend I'm firmly of the belief that the two best teams in both games are in the final and congrats to them both. Expecting a war in 3 weeks time. Can't wait.

Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 28/07/2019 21:19:59    2217864

Replying To Viking66:  "Shouldve stuck to the shortpassing game for sure. Inexperience and pressure as well as tiredness maybe told on what is still a pretty young team. Tipp produced a great performance fair play to them. Especially the Mahers and Noel Mcgrath. The experience they had of big occasions defo stood to them in the last 10 minutes."
Massive result for us. From what I could see Davy had Wexford over trained. Despite having an extra man from the 45 min they were the ones going down with cramp. Kk will be pi**ed that there man Cleere couldn't get Wexford to the final as Kk would fancy beating them at least once in the year. It was our subs that got us over the line with a contribution of 4 points.

Coopers_Helmet (Tipperary) - Posts: 154 - 28/07/2019 21:27:53    2217868

Replying To tiobraid:  "Good to see an honest assessment. We got one soft free for bubbles at the start of second half but a lot of other decisions went against us. I think the "square ball" was borderline at best and I had no issue with that but the not playing advantage was the biggest joke of all of them.
In a way I have sympathy for him. I don't believe for a second he reffed the game for Wexford to win but I do think he's simply just not up to the level required.
Having said all that I'm still buzzing after the game. Especially delighted for the older lads on tipp team. Brendan, paudie, seamie and Noel....could never question those lads. Many thought two of them were gone last year and the cruciate could've ended Brendan as well. They've been brilliant this year as was Bonner. When you see the likes of hogan and Reid yesterday and pat Horgan all year....maybe it's not a young mans game after all!"
Any concerns among Tipp people about Brian Hogan in goals.Thought he was poor for 2 of Wexford's goals today.Not a good shot stopper in my view.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2166 - 28/07/2019 21:29:12    2217869

Replying To bottletopbill:  "I don't see the need to be apologizing tbh, bluster exhibiting drama. After the red card Tipp got every single decision, have looked at the game again and assessment correct imo, ref very much in Wex favor until sending off but after Tipp got every call.No idea why that should happen but it does tend to happen after red cards. In spite of that We had the game in our hands but mentally appeared to lose our way.
Good to be asking the questions again on the big days, if not you wouldn't have the interest and crowds of today. We will be back and at least have the Bob O Keefe."
Not correct .Jake Morris goal should have stood, terrible decision not to allow it.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 28/07/2019 21:30:37    2217870

Two questions re Officials and games today. In the time frame between the Point that was and the goal that wasn't if a player was flattened by a hurl deliberately are they saying it never would have happened and if so why did Ref allow the play to be played? Secondly when one of the Tipp goals was ruled out, the ref asked the linesman, the two umpires and he was then seen talking into his microphone (also did so in first half) so who was he talking too? Surely not an official off the pitch because that is what it looks like, if so it is not in rules. The whole officiating of the game was a shambles, Maher pointed in early stages of game and it was ruled wide by ref as umpire was unsure, so why was Hawkeye not deployed? Something seriously amiss out there today

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 28/07/2019 21:32:37    2217873

Replying To Coopers_Helmet:  "Massive result for us. From what I could see Davy had Wexford over trained. Despite having an extra man from the 45 min they were the ones going down with cramp. Kk will be pi**ed that there man Cleere couldn't get Wexford to the final as Kk would fancy beating them at least once in the year. It was our subs that got us over the line with a contribution of 4 points."
He gave ye nothing up until the red card, and then he did what every bad club ref does when they've reduced a team to 14 men, he tried to "even things up" by giving Wexford nothing. Just a bad ref.

Having a Kilkenny ref was always going to be a disaster, and it's bad for Kilkenny too cos you lot are going to be using it as motivation for the next 3 weeks.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 28/07/2019 21:44:37    2217879

Replying To ballydalane:  "He gave ye nothing up until the red card, and then he did what every bad club ref does when they've reduced a team to 14 men, he tried to "even things up" by giving Wexford nothing. Just a bad ref.

Having a Kilkenny ref was always going to be a disaster, and it's bad for Kilkenny too cos you lot are going to be using it as motivation for the next 3 weeks."
Actually watching it again on TSG. Even after the Tipp red, while he ignored a few blatant frees for Wexford and a possible penalty, he still managed to allow an at best 50/50 Wexford goal and disallowed a perfectly good Tipp goal by giving zero advantage for a free (which may even have been a penalty).

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 28/07/2019 22:00:34    2217886

Replying To arock:  "Two questions re Officials and games today. In the time frame between the Point that was and the goal that wasn't if a player was flattened by a hurl deliberately are they saying it never would have happened and if so why did Ref allow the play to be played? Secondly when one of the Tipp goals was ruled out, the ref asked the linesman, the two umpires and he was then seen talking into his microphone (also did so in first half) so who was he talking too? Surely not an official off the pitch because that is what it looks like, if so it is not in rules. The whole officiating of the game was a shambles, Maher pointed in early stages of game and it was ruled wide by ref as umpire was unsure, so why was Hawkeye not deployed? Something seriously amiss out there today"
Hawkeye checks every score. If that ball was over the bar the ref would have got the call in the ear piece similar to that of the effort that was caught by the goalie and brought back. I've been at several games now where points were given or wides given for Hawkeye to overrule it. The fact Hawkeye didn't intervene shows the decision was correct.

Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 28/07/2019 22:05:52    2217888

Replying To HighStoolBandit:  "Says fellow Leinster man who has already posted how the referee was out of his depth. Out of interest was that not a secong red?"
Yes, Sean was out of his depth, I hate to say it because I really didn't want a Kilkenny ref to be at the centre of controversy in this match.

I honestly don't know how you can say he "decided" the match in Tipp's favour.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 28/07/2019 22:14:32    2217894

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "A few times during that period wexford had a 1 on 1 inside and instead of letting it in they went short and lost it. All it would have taken is one of those to end up a goal and they'd win. Plus if they lose possession at least it would be at the other end of the field not midfield."
This is it. The ref didnt decide anything today. Wexfords decision making was suspect and poor to many times.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 28/07/2019 22:15:48    2217896

Replying To Condorman:  "Not correct .Jake Morris goal should have stood, terrible decision not to allow it."
Had blown the whistle as didn't see advantage accruing, watched replay 5 times and slowed it down, end of story. Interesting to know what u thought of Conor Macdonald wrestling to ground? Probably fell over did he???

bottletopbill (Wexford) - Posts: 71 - 28/07/2019 22:19:57    2217899

Replying To ballydalane:  "Actually watching it again on TSG. Even after the Tipp red, while he ignored a few blatant frees for Wexford and a possible penalty, he still managed to allow an at best 50/50 Wexford goal and disallowed a perfectly good Tipp goal by giving zero advantage for a free (which may even have been a penalty)."
Complete rubbish, gave 70% of frees to Tipp post red which was complete deviation from pre red, was outside square for penalty you claim but whistle had been blown as no advantage accrued and Wexford goal legit, slow it down and you will see he wasn't in the square. Wex penalty claim could not be more obvious, he was rugby tackled, end of

bottletopbill (Wexford) - Posts: 71 - 28/07/2019 22:32:15    2217904

Replying To Faithfull:  "Hawkeye checks every score. If that ball was over the bar the ref would have got the call in the ear piece similar to that of the effort that was caught by the goalie and brought back. I've been at several games now where points were given or wides given for Hawkeye to overrule it. The fact Hawkeye didn't intervene shows the decision was correct."
Sorry but you not answering the question at all, if every score is being analysed why in the name of God allow the play to continue?? That is my point my only point. Yes by all means give the point I get that, that is not what I am saying why oh why allow game to continue if they mic'ed up, and please don't say as GAA have said the noise!!! Pathetic officiating, it is a disgrace. I repeat what if a player was fouled aka red card in this bizarre twilight Hawkeye zone while some muppet reviews the screen while the place is dancing as a goal is scored!! You have to admit, its dumb

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 28/07/2019 22:41:50    2217909

In 2017 Conor Gleeson got a straight red card for a harmless retaliation (swipe back) to a hurley in his gut. Missed an All-Ireland final and may be never play in one again. Not taking from Galway's win but probably worth more than 3 points to Waterford. Not complaining about the call but where is the consistency? McGrath pulls with force for no reason and gets a second yellow. He will play in the final. So will the player who punched.
No question but the referee was having sending off remorse after the dismissing McGrath today. Not his job to do. He did not do his duty by sending off Heffernan for punching. If he did Wexford would be in the All-Ireland. Full credit to Tipp for battling and the action of the ref not their problem. Noel McGrath scored wonderful points and is a class player all around.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 29/07/2019 00:09:02    2217936

Replying To ballydalane:  "Actually watching it again on TSG. Even after the Tipp red, while he ignored a few blatant frees for Wexford and a possible penalty, he still managed to allow an at best 50/50 Wexford goal and disallowed a perfectly good Tipp goal by giving zero advantage for a free (which may even have been a penalty)."
If Tipp had lost by one or two points after he didn't allow advantage for the last disallowed goal it would have been a travesty.

I'm just delighted that we showed great heart and character to keep coming back when things weren't going our way. The lads who have been there since 2008/2009 are a credit to our jersey.

Hard luck to Wexford, you fought until the end. Before today Wexford were the only unbeaten team in this year's championship. A disappointing end to what was a great season.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 29/07/2019 02:47:10    2217950

Barry Heffernan shouldve been sent off

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11876 - 29/07/2019 07:31:43    2217955

Replying To blackspot91:  "The fact that you have to go back over 20 years for examples kinda proves their point.."
Lads what is so wrong with having 2 refs, one for each half of the field? Gaelic Football and Hurling fields are way bigger than soccer and rugby and sorry but GAA refs have difficulty keeping up with play. Both refs should be linked by headsets and in constant communication. The linesmen are too far away from a lot of the action too.

Athcliath63 (Dublin) - Posts: 3 - 29/07/2019 08:05:27    2217960

Never saw a stadium go so quiet waiting for ref to decide on the 'square ball' goal. What was the delay. And of course the television coverage panned away from him at the decisive moment. They really should have sports directors who know what they're at.

Thelonesomegoose (Leitrim) - Posts: 204 - 29/07/2019 08:15:12    2217965