Wexford V Tipperary

Replying To bottletopbill:  "Totally agree, it's a pity that everyone missing the point that this was a savage match. We bring great color and excitement, and occasionally get success.
It's always nice to see the big 3 being challenged, if that doesn't happen the game is dead. Ref should get some leeway as intensity out there was savage.
Good luck to Tipperary, think we can hold heads high as challenging the top table again, hurling needs the Wexford's, Clare's, waterfords, Dublin's, limericks asking those questions of the top teams."
Agreed. I think we need to provide more help to some of the lower tier counties as well. Sligo are putting a lot of work into growing the game.

Hawkeye9212 (Donegal) - Posts: 266 - 28/07/2019 18:47:51    2217773

Wexford's defeat meant all 4 Provincial winners , Senior and u17, were beaten. Coincidence?

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 28/07/2019 19:00:34    2217779

Replying To Hawkeye9212:  "Agreed. I think we need to provide more help to some of the lower tier counties as well. Sligo are putting a lot of work into growing the game."
Cycling set up an internatiol centre of excellence for riders outside of top countries who would not have the funding. Chris Froome went there back when he was still Kenyan. I know its a more individual sport but a national hurling centre where all lower division teams could book time and training with top experts that they could not otherwise afford. Youcan see qhat the likes of Kinnerk have done for Limk so its worth a shot

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 28/07/2019 19:03:13    2217781

Congrats Tipp ye had to do it the hard way
down to 14 men and getting not from a
very poor ref Tipps goal should have been
allowed Wexford should have got the point
and Tipp the goal Refs are unable to keep
up with the pace we need two refs and give
the other officials more power to make a decision

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 28/07/2019 19:12:53    2217784

Replying To ballydalane:  "I hate to say it but Sean Cleere was out of his depth in that match."
In fairness we can all criticise refs, but would any of us take their place. The failure on the GAAs part to move with the times and introduce technology to check out vital incidents is a big problem, for all teams. Anyway good luck to KK in final, but as native of the Mid West Ill have to shout for Tipp. Anyway KK have won enough already.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 28/07/2019 19:29:46    2217789

Sounds good. I think we need more coverage at a national level. Perhaps putting the final of the lower tiers on before the senior knockout games.

Hawkeye9212 (Donegal) - Posts: 266 - 28/07/2019 19:30:34    2217790

Replying To daytona11:  "Crazy stuff at this level that the jerseys can be let go like that. How hard can it be to coordinate it. Wexfords yellow jersey would help matters but surely tipp have a white strip?"
No I think they dont,but they have an alternative strip. They wore it for the Laois game and quite frankly it a strange kind of brown and black and looks awful.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 28/07/2019 19:35:38    2217794

Nobody saying this was not a fabulous game and great entertainment. Makes you so proud of our sport. However no point in cloaking over the poor level of officialism that can be corrected. Always will bw mistakes but should be reduced drastically. Note I do not say referees but want to include umpires and linesmen. Also the non enforcement of rules. I don't agree with Duignan about much but if it is a red card offence to tackle someone around the neck give it. This is increasing every year inspite of the rule.
On another subject. Are we going to have to listen for the next three weeks that this is the traditional final everyone want to see. Joanne Cantrell started already. Fake news. The majority of us would prefer to see anyone but Tipp, Kilkenny or Cork in the final. Kilkenny and Tipp fans are ecstatic about being in the final and rightly so. I am jealous like the majority of us but look forward to the best two teams hammering it out in the greatest sport in the world.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 28/07/2019 19:41:00    2217798

Replying To Canuck:  "Nobody saying this was not a fabulous game and great entertainment. Makes you so proud of our sport. However no point in cloaking over the poor level of officialism that can be corrected. Always will bw mistakes but should be reduced drastically. Note I do not say referees but want to include umpires and linesmen. Also the non enforcement of rules. I don't agree with Duignan about much but if it is a red card offence to tackle someone around the neck give it. This is increasing every year inspite of the rule.
On another subject. Are we going to have to listen for the next three weeks that this is the traditional final everyone want to see. Joanne Cantrell started already. Fake news. The majority of us would prefer to see anyone but Tipp, Kilkenny or Cork in the final. Kilkenny and Tipp fans are ecstatic about being in the final and rightly so. I am jealous like the majority of us but look forward to the best two teams hammering it out in the greatest sport in the world."
Where does it say in the rule that a tackle around the neck is a red card? Duignan ralking out his hat on that one.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 28/07/2019 19:48:06    2217799

Replying To wfkerry:  "Congrats Tipp ye had to do it the hard way
down to 14 men and getting not from a
very poor ref Tipps goal should have been
allowed Wexford should have got the point
and Tipp the goal Refs are unable to keep
up with the pace we need two refs and give
the other officials more power to make a decision"
Allowing the goals would have made as much sense as your post.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 28/07/2019 19:49:51    2217800

Replying To Canuck:  "Nobody saying this was not a fabulous game and great entertainment. Makes you so proud of our sport. However no point in cloaking over the poor level of officialism that can be corrected. Always will bw mistakes but should be reduced drastically. Note I do not say referees but want to include umpires and linesmen. Also the non enforcement of rules. I don't agree with Duignan about much but if it is a red card offence to tackle someone around the neck give it. This is increasing every year inspite of the rule.
On another subject. Are we going to have to listen for the next three weeks that this is the traditional final everyone want to see. Joanne Cantrell started already. Fake news. The majority of us would prefer to see anyone but Tipp, Kilkenny or Cork in the final. Kilkenny and Tipp fans are ecstatic about being in the final and rightly so. I am jealous like the majority of us but look forward to the best two teams hammering it out in the greatest sport in the world."
I think it will great game but not one that will generate a lot enthusiasm unlike say a Wexford v Limerick final. It is what it is. I don't pay much attention to journalists. They will talk up any final regardless of who is in it.

Hawkeye9212 (Donegal) - Posts: 266 - 28/07/2019 19:51:28    2217802

Replying To Oldtourman:  "No I think they dont,but they have an alternative strip. They wore it for the Laois game and quite frankly it a strange kind of brown and black and looks awful."
Tipps change is a dark navy like the keeper and probably clash just as much. Wexford could have went for yellow but it wasnt much of a problem. Not like Limk v Kerry a few years back where different shades of green and a yellow band was enough

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 28/07/2019 19:55:52    2217806

Replying To arock:  "Hard luck Wexford did not really do much wrong except run out of puff near end. Tipp's bench was super and the difference. Almost back to the future with this final, can't wait."
Wexford's handpassing and short passing game disintegrated in the last quarter, they looked shattered, despite being the man up, I couldn't believe it. I think a few Tipp scores came directly from cheap Wexford turnovers.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 28/07/2019 20:11:19    2217812

Replying To daytona11:  "Where does it say in the rule that a tackle around the neck is a red card? Duignan ralking out his hat on that one."
If its not it should be before someone ends up with serious neck injury.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 28/07/2019 20:21:20    2217820

Replying To tiobraid:  "What a game! Absolutely delighted. I've never criticized a ref here before but that was a disgrace. He should be taken off the panel immediately for that.
Ronan Maher has to be a shoe in for hurler of the year now. Tipps best player in every game so far. His block in first half and catch in second were outrageous."
As a Kilkenny man, Tiobraid, I have to apologise for that performance. His ineptitude wasn't ALL one way I know, but up until the Tipp red card I don't think ye got a single 50/50 call in yer favour. And I'm saying that as someone who'd gladly see Tipp lose every hurling match they ever play, including today.

I'm not one of these posters who blindly defends referees because they're countymen. If it's bad, it's bad.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 28/07/2019 20:23:09    2217822

Replying To ballydalane:  "Wexford's handpassing and short passing game disintegrated in the last quarter, they looked shattered, despite being the man up, I couldn't believe it. I think a few Tipp scores came directly from cheap Wexford turnovers."
Shouldve stuck to the shortpassing game for sure. Inexperience and pressure as well as tiredness maybe told on what is still a pretty young team. Tipp produced a great performance fair play to them. Especially the Mahers and Noel Mcgrath. The experience they had of big occasions defo stood to them in the last 10 minutes.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11877 - 28/07/2019 20:25:45    2217826

Massive result for us. From what I could see Davy had Wexford over trained. Despite having an extra man from the 45 min they were the ones going down with cramp. Kk will be pi**ed that there man Cleere couldn't get Wexford to the final as Kk would fancy beating them at least once in the year.

Coopers_Helmet (Tipperary) - Posts: 154 - 28/07/2019 20:40:50    2217838

Best team won. Wexford had nothing left with 15 to go, why is that?. Ref was shocking again. Callinans goal was an unbelievable piece of skill.

Really feel sorry for Wexford people, i know after last year how hard it is to lose like that.

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 28/07/2019 20:46:30    2217842

Two most likable teams gone at the semi final stage

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 28/07/2019 20:50:28    2217848

Replying To ballydalane:  "As a Kilkenny man, Tiobraid, I have to apologise for that performance. His ineptitude wasn't ALL one way I know, but up until the Tipp red card I don't think ye got a single 50/50 call in yer favour. And I'm saying that as someone who'd gladly see Tipp lose every hurling match they ever play, including today.

I'm not one of these posters who blindly defends referees because they're countymen. If it's bad, it's bad."
Good to see an honest assessment. We got one soft free for bubbles at the start of second half but a lot of other decisions went against us. I think the "square ball" was borderline at best and I had no issue with that but the not playing advantage was the biggest joke of all of them.
In a way I have sympathy for him. I don't believe for a second he reffed the game for Wexford to win but I do think he's simply just not up to the level required.
Having said all that I'm still buzzing after the game. Especially delighted for the older lads on tipp team. Brendan, paudie, seamie and Noel....could never question those lads. Many thought two of them were gone last year and the cruciate could've ended Brendan as well. They've been brilliant this year as was Bonner. When you see the likes of hogan and Reid yesterday and pat Horgan all year....maybe it's not a young mans game after all!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 28/07/2019 20:59:13    2217849