Mayo V Meath

This is a must win game for both teams, Mayo are more than capable of winning these sort of matches under pressure and have done for the last decade against top teams. We on the other hand are still finding our feet but have started to win pressure games for the first time in quite a long time this year, albeit against Division 2 opposition (v Fermanagh in the league and Clare in the qualifiers).

I'd love if we got a result on Sunday, I really would, not because I hold any ill will towards Mayo, quite the opposite, I would have loved to see them finally land another All-Ireland over the last decade. No for me I would love to see us beat a Division 1 team in Croker, it's been a long decade for us.

The last time we had a big result in croker was v Dublin all the way back in 2010 and the last big one outside of Leinster was v Mayo in the 2009 AI QF, so it's been a long wait.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/07/2019 09:52:59    2213052

Very difficult game for Mayo. Looked very flat in the first half v Kerry. For Clarke's kick outs there was no one running to give him an option. Both teams will have played many games over the last few weeks so conditioning of the players will have a major bearing on the game. I feel that Mayo have the experience to see this over the line, but I think there will only be a kick of the ball in the game. Interesting to see if J Horan will make a few changes and maybe try and finish with his strongest team i.e. bring on Keegan, Mcloughlin, Higgins and Vaughan in the second half.

Giveitago (Mayo) - Posts: 86 - 19/07/2019 12:00:00    2213113

I think Mayo will have enough in reserve in terms of conditioning to win this game. The only way Meath can get over the line in my opinion is if they are 3-4 points up going into the last 10-15 mins, which is easier said than done. If the opposite is the case, then mayo will see the game out. Like all the top teams nowadays they get involved in whatever it takes to slow the game down- be it cynical fouling, going down "injured", making substitutions etc and they have got quite good at this, which has seen them win games when they were tired during the qualifiers. 6 mins additional time v Armagh- approx 1 minute of football played during it, same v Down and again v Galway. When they were behind against Kerry, none of these tactics were employed!

Gaillimh11 (Galway) - Posts: 16 - 19/07/2019 12:45:19    2213134

Replying To qwerty368:  "Lol a bit rich coming from a Meath man. Don't you remember the donegal motion earlier this year calling for the dubs to be taken out of croke park for the second super 8s match and how your own representative was very outspoken in his opposition to it? You won't see a bigger example of a county pathetically bowing down to the dubs"
The motion was that you can't nominate Croke park as both your home and neutral venue, meath voted against it as pairc taiteann (navan) will soon be closed or partially closed as the stadium is going to be completely rebuild. In other words meath if they reach super eights in those years they could nominate Croke park as there home venue and still play there as there neutral venue.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 19/07/2019 12:49:00    2213137

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "The motion was that you can't nominate Croke park as both your home and neutral venue, meath voted against it as pairc taiteann (navan) will soon be closed or partially closed as the stadium is going to be completely rebuild. In other words meath if they reach super eights in those years they could nominate Croke park as there home venue and still play there as there neutral venue."
Ehhhhhh… you can go and sing for it if you think you're getting our home ground to use for any potential home super 8 game in the future. On your bike. No way Pedro!!!! We will soon be telling worlds best band's and musicians the same if they think they can come to our gaff in the summer and ruin our pitch :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/07/2019 13:50:12    2213161

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Is Aidan O'Shea the most overrated player in the country? seems the man lets the team down and goes MIA when the chips are down, he is all bluster and good at throwing himself and his weight and opinions around but he isn't very effective in my opinion."
He has played very well against Donegal on several occasions, notably in the championships of 2013 and 2015, and in the last game of the NFL two years ago, in which Mayo needed to win to stay up. I'd argue he turned the game in Mayo's favour on that occasion.

You just sound like you're looking for anything Mayo-related to complain about at this point.

Will you brave the wild tribal territory of Castlebar in a few weeks, or will you listen to it on Highland Radio?

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/07/2019 15:04:41    2213196

Tough one for Mayo, this.

Having lived in Meath for several years, it is difficult to underestimate the disdain that exists for Mayo up there, so I have no doubt that Meath will be up for this one. They also have clearly improved under MacEntee and have some very decent young players, particularly back the field.

Mayo are vulnerable having shipped a heavy defeat last week and being on the road five weeks in succession (note to Congress: have a look at this for next year, it's clearly not in the interests of player welfare). There were definitely signs of leg weariness down in Killarney last weekend.

I do worry about Horan a bit as well. He's taken on a team in transition and has done a decent job so far in bringing through the likes of Carr, McDonagh, Plunkett, Darren Coen (beleatedly), Treacy, Murray etc. However, IMO tactically he still seems to have a blind spot (an aversion to playing a sweeper, for instance) and I would be a bit concerned if Meath are allowed to isolate our full-back with Newman.

I could see Meath trying to replicate Kerry's success in pressing our kickout, so there will need to be a plan put in place for that.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/07/2019 15:24:04    2213202

Replying To Gleebo:  "He has played very well against Donegal on several occasions, notably in the championships of 2013 and 2015, and in the last game of the NFL two years ago, in which Mayo needed to win to stay up. I'd argue he turned the game in Mayo's favour on that occasion.

You just sound like you're looking for anything Mayo-related to complain about at this point.

Will you brave the wild tribal territory of Castlebar in a few weeks, or will you listen to it on Highland Radio?"
I'll be in Castlebar Gleebo mixing with all the lovely natives, my point re AOS is very relevant, he goes missing when the chips are down,for a man of his size he looks lost at midfield at times, Moran gave an exhibition of how to play midfield the last day and also swing over some great scores, I can hardly ever rem AOS scoring though he must have got a few points over the years, the ship is sinking Gleebo and ye never reached the destination, sad enough story.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2749 - 19/07/2019 16:19:38    2213223

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I'll be in Castlebar Gleebo mixing with all the lovely natives, my point re AOS is very relevant, he goes missing when the chips are down,for a man of his size he looks lost at midfield at times, Moran gave an exhibition of how to play midfield the last day and also swing over some great scores, I can hardly ever rem AOS scoring though he must have got a few points over the years, the ship is sinking Gleebo and ye never reached the destination, sad enough story."
Get away up the yard, AOS has been one of Mayo's best performers for the past two years at least. They certainly wouldn't have made it through the qualifiers in 2017 without him.

Moran is a fine footballer and could do that against any team on his day. It probably didn't help that ball was being rained down on top of him from most of the Mayo restarts (Donal Vaughan was marking him to be precise, not AOS).

I remember him shrugging off the Donegal full-back before blasting to the net in 2015. Produced that day, as he did when destroying the Donegal midfield in 2013 and 2017...

Mayo may be in decline, maybe not, but football hasn't declined in popularity there and we'll be back sooner or later.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/07/2019 18:37:08    2213260

Meath will base there game around the halfback line running at mayo, laying off to Conlon and Newman and O'Sullivan.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/07/2019 19:11:32    2213265

Replying To royaldunne:  "Meath will base there game around the halfback line running at mayo, laying off to Conlon and Newman and O'Sullivan."
Good for them.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 19/07/2019 19:35:13    2213266

Replying To waynoI:  "Good for them."
Happy that you happy.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/07/2019 19:42:19    2213268

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I'll be in Castlebar Gleebo mixing with all the lovely natives, my point re AOS is very relevant, he goes missing when the chips are down,for a man of his size he looks lost at midfield at times, Moran gave an exhibition of how to play midfield the last day and also swing over some great scores, I can hardly ever rem AOS scoring though he must have got a few points over the years, the ship is sinking Gleebo and ye never reached the destination, sad enough story."
I think your rather harsh there with your criticism.
I've seen AOS have many a good game. Last week management had obviously told him not to pair up with Moran.

He also has a more defensive minded midfield role within Mayos squad today. I think the problem with Mayo is that they want him to play everywhere.

I don't think I'll forget the second half performance he had against Murphy in the league a few years ago. Completely negated his influence.

Talk of sinking ships is a poor comment. We in Donegal have had pundits and media foreseeing the sinking of the Donegal ship into the great abyss for many a year recently, so showing a bit of humility might be nice.

Mayo have plenty for the future from what I've seen throughout the league. I'll tell ye one thing we might just take notice on Castlebar.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 19/07/2019 19:48:41    2213270

Replying To Giveitago:  "Very difficult game for Mayo. Looked very flat in the first half v Kerry. For Clarke's kick outs there was no one running to give him an option. Both teams will have played many games over the last few weeks so conditioning of the players will have a major bearing on the game. I feel that Mayo have the experience to see this over the line, but I think there will only be a kick of the ball in the game. Interesting to see if J Horan will make a few changes and maybe try and finish with his strongest team i.e. bring on Keegan, Mcloughlin, Higgins and Vaughan in the second half."
Thinking along the same lines, expect this to come down to last 10/15 minutes. would like to see Meath management taking a chance with starting team and introduce Conlon, O Sullivan and James Mac early in second half. However expect them to go with same team that started last game and unfortunately same outcome, I know Mayo have been on the road for a number of week, however they have shown time and time again they can keep going for the full 70, Meath have played more or less same team since start of league and fatigue has now become a major issue.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2144 - 19/07/2019 20:34:56    2213293

Mayo win this handy enough.

Rayo1 (Galway) - Posts: 140 - 19/07/2019 20:51:13    2213300

I think Mayo will have a hard time getting back to winning form after the Killarney Massacre, and while they'll enjoy playing in Croker, I just feel Meath could have a little more juice in the tank. Meath by two, though I wouldn't rule out a draw.

Where's that 123 fella gone? He's very silent since the Kerry win. I wonder if the drive home reminded him of anything this time...

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 19/07/2019 21:07:27    2213306

Mayo team named Clarke, S.Coen, Harrison, O'Donoghue, Keegan, Boyle, Higgins, SOS, Vaughan, McDonagh, AOS, Treacy, O'Connor, D. Coen, Doherty.

Interesting. Coen hardly start at C.b. AOS at 11? If Higgins goes back to C.B. and Coen goes to half back then maybe Vaughan and SOS midfield. If AOS and SOS play midfield what happens Vaughan? He Defo not a forward. Couple of utility players named, that in one respect will keep us guessing as they have not nailed down a position to date.

It's hard to know what will happen here but bound to be positional changes at the very least if not the usual late change(s) in personnel.

Gaillimh11 (Galway) - Posts: 16 - 19/07/2019 22:53:43    2213356

Replying To seadog54:  "Thinking along the same lines, expect this to come down to last 10/15 minutes. would like to see Meath management taking a chance with starting team and introduce Conlon, O Sullivan and James Mac early in second half. However expect them to go with same team that started last game and unfortunately same outcome, I know Mayo have been on the road for a number of week, however they have shown time and time again they can keep going for the full 70, Meath have played more or less same team since start of league and fatigue has now become a major issue."
They fell over the line in their games v Armagh and Galway. Mainly due to their cuteness/experience they held onto them games. I do not think they're ability to "Keep going for the full 70" as you said is very evidentso far this year at all neither is ours. I'd give us a great chance on Sunday of nicking the win.

In saying this I fear that we might be facing a wounded animal in this game and could possibly receive a heavy defeat if Mayo are at their best.

Meath are still maybe one win away from justifying all the talk about the top them being solid challengers amongst (Roscommon, Mayo, Galway, Cavan, Monaghan). A year or two away from the Top 4 (Donegal, Dublin, Tyrone and Kerry).

NuttyMeathMan (Meath) - Posts: 35 - 19/07/2019 23:26:23    2213364

Replying To NuttyMeathMan:  "They fell over the line in their games v Armagh and Galway. Mainly due to their cuteness/experience they held onto them games. I do not think they're ability to "Keep going for the full 70" as you said is very evidentso far this year at all neither is ours. I'd give us a great chance on Sunday of nicking the win.

In saying this I fear that we might be facing a wounded animal in this game and could possibly receive a heavy defeat if Mayo are at their best.

Meath are still maybe one win away from justifying all the talk about the top them being solid challengers amongst (Roscommon, Mayo, Galway, Cavan, Monaghan). A year or two away from the Top 4 (Donegal, Dublin, Tyrone and Kerry)."
If Mayo have anything at all left in them, they will win this. But we can't see into their heads and if they're not right, who knows?!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 19/07/2019 23:35:08    2213367

Replying To NuttyMeathMan:  "They fell over the line in their games v Armagh and Galway. Mainly due to their cuteness/experience they held onto them games. I do not think they're ability to "Keep going for the full 70" as you said is very evidentso far this year at all neither is ours. I'd give us a great chance on Sunday of nicking the win.

Meath are still maybe one win away from justifying all the talk about the top them being solid challengers amongst (Roscommon, Mayo, Galway, Cavan, Monaghan). A year or two away from the Top 4 (Donegal, Dublin, Tyrone and Kerry)."
They didn't fall over the line against us; they had us beaten all over the park fair and square. We got our match-up's wrong, we got our tactics wrong, and we got our starting 15 wrong, and Mayo capitalized fully.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 20/07/2019 04:04:03    2213401