Mayo V Meath

Replying To daytona11:  "Seriously? Yes a good league campaign and division 1 football may help. But id argue the championship campaign has been poor 3 heavy defeats and a struggle against Clare and a win over Laois."
As you've said continuously

Thejoeshow (Meath) - Posts: 687 - 21/07/2019 20:51:12    2214266

Replying To Ronan1989:  "Meath will be a challenger in 2/3 years , lots of potential there.

The margin of victory definitely flattered Mayo and I can see a 6/7 point victory for Donegal in Castlebar."
Long way off, they were shockingly bad.. I predict straight back down to Div 2

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 21/07/2019 20:57:36    2214276

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Well they are there, and got there on merit..and have been at many more illustrious events then Tyrone down through the years, a johnny come lately in the grand scheme if things, so show some respect , go back to your game of Minecraft and stop going for the WUM approach"
awwwwww now come on southmeathgael, Minecraft has been rated as suitable for 7+ up .....i don't think he is allowed to play

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 21/07/2019 20:58:30    2214278

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "As you've said continuously"
Green eyed monster.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/07/2019 20:59:13    2214281

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Well they are there, and got there on merit..and have been at many more illustrious events then Tyrone down through the years, a johnny come lately in the grand scheme if things, so show some respect , go back to your game of Minecraft and stop going for the WUM approach"
Better off to ignore him, shows up when Meath are beaten ( which in fairness is too regular) but at least he choose an appropriate name.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2144 - 21/07/2019 21:00:32    2214282

Replying To Thejoeshow:  "As you've said continuously"
Whats that i have said continuosly?

A vague post.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 21/07/2019 21:02:22    2214283

Congrats mayo. We've faded badly in our last 3 championship matches this year coming down the stretch. In the league it tended to be the opposite where we excelled. I think this team went all in on the league and aimed to peak around the leinster final to make the super 8's. The lads just didn't have it in their legs. Hopefully they build on this for next year with the aim to make a league final or keep promotion and getting into the super 8's again.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 21/07/2019 21:12:18    2214293

Meath did have luck with the draw in Leinster and the qualifier (and Clare are not that bad either) but so had other teams in the past.

They have surprised neutrals and have acquitted themselves very well in the Super 8's so far being very competitive in both games. That is probably more so down to their defense rather than forwards, and they do need to find a few forwards, which is the hardest for any county to find, but if their average age is only 22/23, they do have potential.

Obviously they need to stay in division 1 and get into the Super 8's again next year, and that will be tough on both counts but not impossible, although being on the opposite side to Dublin in Leinster again will play a big part in their chances of making the super 8's.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 21/07/2019 21:38:42    2214324

Mayo, despite a nine point win getting slated on here again. With some of the regular contributors on here that's to be expected due to an amount of bitterness and lack of football knowledge. However the stick Meath are getting is pathetic. A team having been in the doldrums for a long time is re-emerging and taking one step at a time. They will definitely be competitive in the coming seasons and the game will be the better for that.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 21/07/2019 21:47:48    2214333

Just watched some disgusting behaviour from Meath corner forward on the Sunday game.

Screaming verbals at his marker while he lay on the ground and after he scored.

Really negative stuff and needs to be looked at by the powers that be.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 21/07/2019 22:16:11    2214358

Replying To ponga:  "Mayo, despite a nine point win getting slated on here again. With some of the regular contributors on here that's to be expected due to an amount of bitterness and lack of football knowledge. However the stick Meath are getting is pathetic. A team having been in the doldrums for a long time is re-emerging and taking one step at a time. They will definitely be competitive in the coming seasons and the game will be the better for that."
Couldn't agree more. We have to take it one step at a time. Every goal this year has been achieved, many people said we hadn't a hope of getting one of them never mind all 3. We were never going to win all ire (don't think anyone even said we would be near it) not even me. But we have a very young team. The lad that came on and kicked I think 5 points when Newman went off , did his leaving cert this year and is only 18. Conlon is 21, Devine 21 McCoy 20. Harna 24 McMahon 24. They in footballing terms a bunch of kids. Who have done themselves and their county proud, the most important thing is to keep the group together, there's a few lads to come back and a couple of additions will bring us on again.
Best wishes to mayo for rest of season.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/07/2019 22:18:27    2214361

Down through the years, down through the years.

The usual line from Meath. Always living in the past.

You need to get used to the fact that you are no longer relevant.

You did not get there on merit. You got destroyed in your provincial final. You got the handiest of all draws in the qualifiers. Now you have got beaten by cricket scores in your 2 super 8 games.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 21/07/2019 22:34:38    2214380

Replying To Wally:  "Just watched some disgusting behaviour from Meath corner forward on the Sunday game.

Really negative stuff and needs to be looked at by the powers that be."
Yeah but you didnt see the pulling and dragging on him for the previous 50 minutes of the match!!

Context is key.

That said, I understand the frustration driving the reaction, but I dont condone it.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 21/07/2019 22:41:17    2214384

Replying To royaldunne:  "Couldn't agree more. We have to take it one step at a time. Every goal this year has been achieved, many people said we hadn't a hope of getting one of them never mind all 3. We were never going to win all ire (don't think anyone even said we would be near it) not even me. But we have a very young team. The lad that came on and kicked I think 5 points when Newman went off , did his leaving cert this year and is only 18. Conlon is 21, Devine 21 McCoy 20. Harna 24 McMahon 24. They in footballing terms a bunch of kids. Who have done themselves and their county proud, the most important thing is to keep the group together, there's a few lads to come back and a couple of additions will bring us on again.
Best wishes to mayo for rest of season."
Decent season for Meath with winning promotion and playing the Super 8's. Lets be honest though in terms of the Championship the draw in 2019 suited them and opened up a great chance of playing in the quarter finals. I'm not sure we'll see Meath back at this stage in 2020, they have a chance but without the luck of the draw I don't think Meath will make it. I also expect them to lose at least six Div 1 games next spring.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 21/07/2019 22:45:01    2214388

Replying To Wally:  "Down through the years, down through the years.

You did not get there on merit. You got destroyed in your provincial final. You got the handiest of all draws in the qualifiers. Now you have got beaten by cricket scores in your 2 super 8 games."
I seem to remember your all conquering side of the noughties, in their peak in 2007, couldn't beat Meath.

Ye couldn't beat them in 1996. Ye were gifted a win by the ref in 2018. If ye met them next Sunday I'm not sure you'd win.

What great things have Tyrone done recently? Donegal beat you easily in Ulster. You struggled against a Cork team you are 3 or 4 years ahead of in development. You never gave the Dubs a game in an All Ireland semi or final like Mayo.

Dublin posters have earned the right to crow. Tyrone 'in the present' have earned no such right. You've changed your style of play 3 times in the one year. Hardly inspires confidence.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 21/07/2019 23:28:32    2214415

Replying To Wally:  "Just watched some disgusting behaviour from Meath corner forward on the Sunday game.

Your some Wally!

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1063 - 21/07/2019 23:31:10    2214417

Replying To royaldunne:  "Couldn't agree more. We have to take it one step at a time. Every goal this year has been achieved, many people said we hadn't a hope of getting one of them never mind all 3. We were never going to win all ire (don't think anyone even said we would be near it) not even me. But we have a very young team. The lad that came on and kicked I think 5 points when Newman went off , did his leaving cert this year and is only 18. Conlon is 21, Devine 21 McCoy 20. Harna 24 McMahon 24. They in footballing terms a bunch of kids. Who have done themselves and their county proud, the most important thing is to keep the group together, there's a few lads to come back and a couple of additions will bring us on again.
Best wishes to mayo for rest of season."
Thanks for the insight. Only people close to the scene would know what's going on and some of the rest of us are interested and appreciative when you feed us information. Look forward to many big battles in the coming seasons.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 21/07/2019 23:32:49    2214418

Replying To ponga:  "Mayo, despite a nine point win getting slated on here again. With some of the regular contributors on here that's to be expected due to an amount of bitterness and lack of football knowledge. However the stick Meath are getting is pathetic. A team having been in the doldrums for a long time is re-emerging and taking one step at a time. They will definitely be competitive in the coming seasons and the game will be the better for that."
You should take the abuse as a compliment. All the keyboard warriors on here taking pot shots at Mayo and desperately hoping it's the end for this great team are simply jealous. Mayo are still in with a shout and considering their injury woes, all the set backs over the years, and the mileage of the team it's a credit to them that they're still fighting.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 21/07/2019 23:44:35    2214426

Conlon was holding his leg after he scored, he obviously wasn't happy with the tackle put in on him.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1354 - 22/07/2019 00:45:27    2214435

Replying To Wally:  "Down through the years, down through the years.

You did not get there on merit. You got destroyed in your provincial final. You got the handiest of all draws in the qualifiers. Now you have got beaten by cricket scores in your 2 super 8 games."
Bahaha did you not get embarrassed on the biggest stage of all last year

Utdroyal (Meath) - Posts: 61 - 22/07/2019 01:01:16    2214436