Mayo V Meath

Replying To festinog:  "In fairness, while today was a horrible spectacle, no-one can accuse Mayo of not getting there on merit. They had to beat two of the teams your reference, and they did it well. They've been playing every weekend for over a month now, and that's got to be affecting their performance.

Meath on the other hand, after getting annihilated by Dublin, just had to beat Clare. That's the way the cookie crumbles, and all that, and more power to them. The competition structures in both codes have been fiddled with to the point that they make little sense; they're neither one thing nor the other, and that's not Meath's fault. But it certainly makes a bit of a joke of the so-called "Super" 8s. This format, surely, must go."
Agree with most of that but you missed my point in that a tired, ageing mayo side, and being kind their atleast 10-15% off their best 2/3 years ago, who were a magnificent side in their peak, should have been put to the sword in salthill by a young hungry Galway team or even by Armagh? That's why I think teams I mentioned need to ask themselves what they are at..

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 21/07/2019 17:22:01    2214075

Replying To cuttothebone:  "Agree with most of that but you missed my point in that a tired, ageing mayo side, and being kind their atleast 10-15% off their best 2/3 years ago, who were a magnificent side in their peak, should have been put to the sword in salthill by a young hungry Galway team or even by Armagh? That's why I think teams I mentioned need to ask themselves what they are at.."
It's a very very valid point, I hope Kevin walsh watches that today, wonders how we were bet by Mayo and do the decent thing and resign... because that today was pure rubbish, Mayo constantly giving out about Galways blanket and yet they did it all game against a limited Meath team...

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 21/07/2019 17:33:38    2214081

Replying To Belclare:  "It's a very very valid point, I hope Kevin walsh watches that today, wonders how we were bet by Mayo and do the decent thing and resign... because that today was pure rubbish, Mayo constantly giving out about Galways blanket and yet they did it all game against a limited Meath team..."
nobody on this thread ares about galway,
Done little or nothing for nearly 20 yrs now,

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 21/07/2019 17:51:04    2214098

Replying To BeJasus:  "nobody on this thread ares about galway,
Done little or nothing for nearly 20 yrs now,"
And what have Mayo and Meath done???

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 21/07/2019 17:58:27    2214108

Replying To BeJasus:  "nobody on this thread ares about galway,
Done little or nothing for nearly 20 yrs now,"
Good man. Try again.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 21/07/2019 18:09:22    2214121

9 points in the end is a big blow to Meath and it probably shows us where they are at. It goves them a good idea of where they need to get to with division 1 football next year. We have been there in recent seasons smd its not easy. I believe that Meath will have the ability to retain division 1 ststus though but will need to tweek some things.

The keeper has been a problem for so long now and it was summed up by the idiotic actions today. Its inexplicable that McAntee hasnt tried to address this yet. Is there a better option in Meath?

People will say that Mayo werent nine points better but they were. And Mayo were poor too.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 21/07/2019 18:30:28    2214139

Mayo were poor but stepped it up for 20 mins and got the job done. The over analysis of Mayo is hilarious. Same Meath team sliced Donegal open time and time again and could have put them away. But Donegal get a free pass. Mayo could well beat Donegal with Durcan, O Connor and Higgins back. And the same over analysis will be here again.

Until someone knocks Mayo out stop talking mince. A win is a win.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 21/07/2019 18:31:14    2214140

Based on the two games today, it's impossible to see anything other than a Donegal win in Castlebar. Especially as mayo don't seem to perform well at home. Prob a better chance if it was in Crocker, although they will prob have DOC, Ruane, and Durkan back.

Gaillimh11 (Galway) - Posts: 16 - 21/07/2019 18:38:52    2214148

You just wouldn't put money on Mayo not making a semi final in typical Mayo dramatic heart stopping fashion, big winners today.

They will relish the Donegal game in Castlebar and maybe a few bodies back. It's knock out football.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 21/07/2019 18:45:45    2214159

Just another day in the life of a Meath supporter . Won't kick Colgan when he's down but will ask why Andy McEntter allowed the lad to be totally exposed yet again . Has to be held accountable for his non action all year.
I know he gave one very poor pass but Seamus Lavin was a revelation today and has the makings of a great No 6 . McGill too was very good .Half back performed . Mention battles hard agin in middle but needs a strong partner . Shane McEntee again exposed today and if not addressed again Andy will be exposed .Upfront we are just lacking quality and strength . Shane Walsh has huge potential and should be a key player going forward . Too much expected of Conlon. Hasn't the physique and would be best suited as an impact sub when defenders are tired .
For the match against Kerry would welcome a change in keeper , Devine @ midfield and a forward line that includes Barry Dardis and Shane Walsh from the start .

royalpad (Meath) - Posts: 46 - 21/07/2019 18:54:27    2214170

Replying To TheUsername:  "You just wouldn't put money on Mayo not making a semi final in typical Mayo dramatic heart stopping fashion, big winners today.

They will relish the Donegal game in Castlebar and maybe a few bodies back. It's knock out football."
True, but at the end of day , Dublin will be the winners and the rest .... losers.

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 21/07/2019 19:03:41    2214182

Replying To Belclare:  "Jesus two shocking teams.. Mayo are gone...
And yes Galway are worse...blah blah
But Mayo are legless, clueless, and gone..
Donegal will finish them.."
Would ye put your house on Donegal beating Mayo?

mayomanic (Mayo) - Posts: 85 - 21/07/2019 19:40:09    2214210

Replying To clondalkindub:  "This is the worst referring performance I've ever seen , somehow only a Meath player has been black carded,someone explain that one to me?. Meath threw that game away experience killed them , missed so many easy chances."
Average age is 22. Lacking experience has cost them. But all this is experience, very concerning regarding both Newman and lavin. Hopefully both ok. We kicked it away. And nativity cost us. Best of luck to mayo in the year ahead.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/07/2019 20:05:23    2214228

Replying To cuttothebone:  "In fairness I think Galway, Armagh and Kildare need to take along hard look at themselves when these 2 teams are able to progress further than either of us..
That game probably had the worst ever level of skill ever on display in croke park at this stage of the championship and we couldn't get this far.
O'Neill was man enough to fall on his sword, Walsh and Geezer, who I've alot of time for, and who both have proper quality players should really have questions to answer and starting to feel the pressure.."
I think Armagh are improving. On us definitely our style not the way football is going but we have quality footballers. Moulding a winning combination is the challenge and unlikely if KW finishes his term which has a year to run. I predicted this time last year that Kildare would be a team to watch and with the u20's 2018 win still think it will come good. On today's game the bits I saw looked okay and Meath have definitely made progress aided by the easier round 12 draw. Some good finds in Conlan and the Royal Shane Walsh. Still though Div 1 will be a big step up. Mayo could very well win the next day as a 9 point win is not to be sniffed at.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 21/07/2019 20:09:20    2214229

Replying To realdub:  "Dublin game aside, I'd like to say that Meath have acquitted themselves very well in the super 8s. They looked like a football team today and have definitely got something to go forward with."
We still 2/3 years off competing for major honors. However the super 8s have been fantastic for Meath. As I said our goals for this year have been achieved, while we want to win every game, this was never going to be our year average age of team is 22/23. Need a few tweaks here and there before league. But what a great turnaround mcentee has brought. Unbelievable.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/07/2019 20:10:31    2214230

Replying To royaldunne:  "We still 2/3 years off competing for major honors. However the super 8s have been fantastic for Meath. As I said our goals for this year have been achieved, while we want to win every game, this was never going to be our year average age of team is 22/23. Need a few tweaks here and there before league. But what a great turnaround mcentee has brought. Unbelievable."
A few tweaks..
Weve gone from mediocre to average .

Next year is all about using the experience from this seasons campaign ,
Finding more players , and stepping up for 70/75 minutes ,
and cementing our status as a Div 1 team.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 21/07/2019 20:23:59    2214241

Meath will be a challenger in 2/3 years , lots of potential there.

The margin of victory definitely flattered Mayo and I can see a 6/7 point victory for Donegal in Castlebar.

Ronan1989 (Donegal) - Posts: 81 - 21/07/2019 20:24:35    2214242

Replying To royaldunne:  "We still 2/3 years off competing for major honors. However the super 8s have been fantastic for Meath. As I said our goals for this year have been achieved, while we want to win every game, this was never going to be our year average age of team is 22/23. Need a few tweaks here and there before league. But what a great turnaround mcentee has brought. Unbelievable."
Seriously? Yes a good league campaign and division 1 football may help. But id argue the championship campaign has been poor 3 heavy defeats and a struggle against Clare and a win over Laois.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 21/07/2019 20:25:26    2214244

Replying To Wally:  "Horrible horrible match.

I still cant believe that Meath are in the super 8's.

They have to go down as one of the worst teams to feature at quarter final stage in a long long time."
Well they are there, and got there on merit..and have been at many more illustrious events then Tyrone down through the years, a johnny come lately in the grand scheme if things, so show some respect , go back to your game of Minecraft and stop going for the WUM approach

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 890 - 21/07/2019 20:46:23    2214262

Replying To Gaillimh11:  "Based on the two games today, it's impossible to see anything other than a Donegal win in Castlebar. Especially as mayo don't seem to perform well at home. Prob a better chance if it was in Crocker, although they will prob have DOC, Ruane, and Durkan back."
So you're predicting a Donegal win a Mayo win or a draw?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 21/07/2019 20:47:02    2214263