Boycott Leinster Championship 2020

I'm too busy boycotting the cricket on TV at the moment :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 02/07/2019 13:09:01    2204272

Replying To legendzxix:  "Munster finalists earn a bye to the semi-finals in the following year. They can still be drawn against each other in the semi-finals despite that.

Kerry won this year's Munster Championship without any game in Kerry.

When did Dublin last win a Leinster title without a game in Dublin? When did Dublin last win an All-Ireland before state aid intervention?"
Will you stop with your nonsense . Kerry totally dominate Munster , byes or no byes , home or away makes no difference , 81 titles prove this , Munster is a mess , as is Leinster , you are only interested in Leinster , strange that !

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/07/2019 13:29:22    2204282

I dunno. You try to be impartial, you try to take off your Dublin goggles and get into the mind of the rest of the country, you start to see where they are coming from, then you come on here and you realise you might as well be picking your nose and eating it.

Feck the lot of yis. Ye say we are being intransigent.....have ye read yereserves?!

Bring on the 5 !

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/07/2019 13:31:01    2204283

Replying To legendzxix:  "Munster finalists earn a bye to the semi-finals in the following year. They can still be drawn against each other in the semi-finals despite that.

Kerry won this year's Munster Championship without any game in Kerry.

When did Dublin last win a Leinster title without a game in Dublin? When did Dublin last win an All-Ireland before state aid intervention?"
When did Dublin last win an AI having played just 3 games, yes 3 games!!!!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/07/2019 13:41:35    2204287

Replying To catch22:  "Is it just Leinster ? Is it just football ?
Great thing about these social media sites and forums is that it gives every eejit an opportunity to have an opinion. And by Jaysus do eejits love to let you know what they think.
Was it not these same counties Leinster representatives that voted to keep the Dubs in Croke Park. Would they not be better of turning on them and trying to do something in their own back yards ?"
Nail on head!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 02/07/2019 13:42:33    2204290

Replying To CornAghais91:  "Alternatively it could be the Leinster B (for boycott, obviously) games."
Or else a Dublin South, North & West!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1812 - 02/07/2019 13:45:08    2204292

How on earth any county could take satisfaction from winning a Dublinless Leinster championship is beyond me. Where's the fun in that? What's to be gained on a National level for the 'boycotting' counties?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 02/07/2019 13:49:14    2204296

Replying To jimbodub:  "Meath bottle it in final, kicking ludicrous wides, missing sitter free kicks, tactically inept, daft positional decisions from sideline. They let themselves down.

= Boycott Leinster

Eamon Callaghan wasn't calling for a boycott when Kildare lost against Carlow or Wicklow this decade or recently taken to a replay against Longford

Kildare are going through a very poor run at senior level. They've had a lot of impressive success at underage, why hasn't that berm brought forward.

Why won't Flynn play this season?

How about being hammered at home by Tyrone recently? How about getting embarrassed by Kerry last year!

All the same applies for Meath...

Both traditional counties are nowhere near the level to win major competitions

"Once great competition"

Dublin has always dominated Leinster. Only 2-3 teams have won the vast bulk of titles, Dublin owning the overwhelming chunk.

Across the 00's (A record equalling low seen in Dublin GAA history)

A poor enough Dublin side were numerous deficiencies were still good enough to win multiple titles in a row in Leinster and then couldn't beat anyone outside of Leinster!

Won multiple titles with ease and then weren't up to the standard outside it.

Leinster was described as the reason for Dublin's collapses, not enough competition, easy route, unprepared for battle, Croke Park was touted as a disadvantage etc

This was before all the perceived advantages.

A poor Dublin team was still good enough.

Leinster's problems go way back!

Yes it's gone very poor now but that's taking away the progress that Longford, Carlow and Westmeath have gained against traditional counties like Meath, Kildare, Offaly

Now I do agree that the Leinster council haven't helped at all and the introduction of the season ticket and the large uptake allocated has limited the options of where Dublin games can be played. They have no doubt picked €€€ over substance. This though has nothing to do with Dublin.

I would 100% be in favour of Dublin playing more games outside of HQ and if that means less revenue generated then so be it.

But what can be done? It's all been democratically voted in to keep it the way it is.

Hats off to Donegal for putting forward the idea of getting Dublin to play their game outside of HQ in Super 8's

But they were left in the cold by almost every other county

Dublin having such a large population will always receive more funding. That's not going to stop, it'll be reduced as has been happening in the last few years, it's dropped and it'll drop further but that's not going to impact much.

I'm telling you now.. the poor enough 00's Dub team would still be winning multiple titles this decade. They'd be more than good enough to beat the likes of Kildare and Meath considering they haven't been good enough this decade to beat Wicklow, Carlow, Longford and Westmeath

They'd have still been easily good enough to win multiple titles in a row just like they did in the 00's

So boycott all you want. You'll still get hammered outside of Leinster by the best teams who are equally miles ahead

The All Ireland series has been hugely competitive this decade.

Unfortunately Leinster hasn't. It hasn't been for for a long time."
So one Meath person says this and it's everyon? Actually the players he is speaking of if my sources are correct are from Kildare and Westmeath. Never heard one Meath player utter this nonsense.
So a bit of perspective please.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/07/2019 13:49:57    2204298

Replying To Green_Gold:  "I know I have thrown this idea out before on other forum posts but would it help to move Dublin out of Leinster, say to Munster? I know Kerry and Cork probably wouldn't be too happy. It would be good for the other Leinster teams to have something to play for, also there is nothing in for Dublin winning Leinster titles is there?

Not sure what the right answer is but something needs to be done with the football championship. Every idea is shot down including the tier 2 championship - but surely we can't continue as it is can we? Teams need to have something to play for."
Every county should have one or two tier one teams who the other counties aspire to beat and to reach that standard. In Munster, a hurling province granted, it's Kerry. In Leinster it's Dublin. In Connaught it has been Mayo until recently. In Ulster it's arguably Donegal and Tyrone, no disrespect to Cavan. If you take Dublin out of Leinster it completely lowers the bar. So who will counties aspire to be like, Kildare??? This will arguably weaken Leinster further with no real high quality team to compete against. As any coach will tell you, you learn from losses and get better by playing stronger opposition. Surely Leinster would regress even further with no quality team in there. Has taking Galway hurlers out of Connaught suddenly seen the emergence of competitive hurling teams in the other western counties? Don't think it would work but for Dublin's part we play where we are told to play and against who we are told to play.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/07/2019 13:52:07    2204302

Funny how the Dubs argue that funding has nothing to do with their success, but when it's suggested their funding be distributed elsewhere they don't seem to like the idea! Lol

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1812 - 02/07/2019 13:56:37    2204304

If there is issues with funding/ fairness these are national issues not Leinster only issues. For me that's why Leinster teams boycotting the Leinster championship would be ridiculous.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1356 - 02/07/2019 13:58:12    2204306

Replying To superbluedub:  "Will you stop with your nonsense . Kerry totally dominate Munster , byes or no byes , home or away makes no difference , 81 titles prove this , Munster is a mess , as is Leinster , you are only interested in Leinster , strange that !"
I have stated that Munster and Connaught semi-final winners, and Leinster and Ulster quarter-final winners should be classified as Provincial Round 2 winners which should endure a qualifier spot for these teams in the mooted Tier 2 structure.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 02/07/2019 14:16:01    2204315

Hows the boycott going lads?

Anyone taking bets on whether there'll be a boycott or not?

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 02/07/2019 14:20:09    2204317

Replying To realdub:  "How on earth any county could take satisfaction from winning a Dublinless Leinster championship is beyond me. Where's the fun in that? What's to be gained on a National level for the 'boycotting' counties?"
How you could celebrate winning Leinsters and All Ireland's when the whole competition is rigged in your favour is beyond me. But here we are...

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 02/07/2019 14:41:54    2204331

In October 2013, the players of Clare, Limerick, Tipperary and Waterford threatened to boycott the 2015 Munster Football Championship. They were rightly annoyed with wrong decision to seed Kerry and Cork in opposite semi-finals.

It was about time these counties grew a pair to sort the mess. After extensive meetings, it was rightly agreed that Munster finalists would be seeded to the semi-finals in the following year but could be drawn against each other. Tipperary benefitted from this seeding a few years back. The seeding is now earned on the field of play.

Dublin are guaranteed home advantage in the Leinster final. Why not give the Leinster champions a bye to the semi-finals in the following year? In the case of Dublin, when they are defending champions after a home Leinster final win, why not let their semi-final opponent in the following year have home venue or choice of venue.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 02/07/2019 14:42:53    2204334

Replying To Joxer:  "Every county should have one or two tier one teams who the other counties aspire to beat and to reach that standard. In Munster, a hurling province granted, it's Kerry. In Leinster it's Dublin. In Connaught it has been Mayo until recently. In Ulster it's arguably Donegal and Tyrone, no disrespect to Cavan. If you take Dublin out of Leinster it completely lowers the bar. So who will counties aspire to be like, Kildare??? This will arguably weaken Leinster further with no real high quality team to compete against. As any coach will tell you, you learn from losses and get better by playing stronger opposition. Surely Leinster would regress even further with no quality team in there. Has taking Galway hurlers out of Connaught suddenly seen the emergence of competitive hurling teams in the other western counties? Don't think it would work but for Dublin's part we play where we are told to play and against who we are told to play."
Being hammered by double or treble scores year after year doesn't encourage any team and it deflates their morale. This happened in the hurling when KK were totally dominant and it took the GAA a good number of years to change the system due to opposition from the Leinster Council. The current set up in gaelic football, esp in Leinster, and in Munster to a lesser degree, is not fit for purpose. It must be addressed. If it's not addressed it won't be good for anyone, including Dublin.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1812 - 02/07/2019 14:42:55    2204335

My fellow Dubs & others.....you have to learn to stop explaining yourself to those that have already made their mind up about you.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/07/2019 14:43:14    2204336

Any counties calling for this boycott better be careful, as will just make the GAA think their even more in favour of the Tommy Murphy Cup 2.0.

eoghan6688 (Galway) - Posts: 154 - 02/07/2019 15:42:49    2204354

Replying To legendzxix:  "In October 2013, the players of Clare, Limerick, Tipperary and Waterford threatened to boycott the 2015 Munster Football Championship. They were rightly annoyed with wrong decision to seed Kerry and Cork in opposite semi-finals.

It was about time these counties grew a pair to sort the mess. After extensive meetings, it was rightly agreed that Munster finalists would be seeded to the semi-finals in the following year but could be drawn against each other. Tipperary benefitted from this seeding a few years back. The seeding is now earned on the field of play.

Dublin are guaranteed home advantage in the Leinster final. Why not give the Leinster champions a bye to the semi-finals in the following year? In the case of Dublin, when they are defending champions after a home Leinster final win, why not let their semi-final opponent in the following year have home venue or choice of venue."
Is the Munster final in killarney one year cork the next? By agreement of both counties? Or was it a Munster decision?

Monkeycatcher (Meath) - Posts: 155 - 02/07/2019 15:54:04    2204361

Replying To Crinigan:  "Why are Dublin supporters even posting on this thread?

This has nothing to do with Dublin GAA or Dublin fans. Ye can focus on playing with yourselves in Croke Park in front of John Horan, Bertie, Costelloe, Bailey and the lads. Do whatever ye want. Who cares.

This thread is about a fair competition for Leinster football counties which will bring back crowds and the players who aren't interested in playing in a rigged competition. What Dublin do is their own business."
On one hand "Why are Dublin supporters even posting on this"
But on the other "You can do whatever you want"

Is there any intelligence in there? Even just a tiny bit? ;)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 02/07/2019 16:10:13    2204370