Boycott Leinster Championship 2020

Is it possible to boycott this boycott?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 02/07/2019 10:11:05    2204151

Meath bottle it in final, kicking ludicrous wides, missing sitter free kicks, tactically inept, daft positional decisions from sideline. They let themselves down.

= Boycott Leinster

Eamon Callaghan wasn't calling for a boycott when Kildare lost against Carlow or Wicklow this decade or recently taken to a replay against Longford

Kildare are going through a very poor run at senior level. They've had a lot of impressive success at underage, why hasn't that berm brought forward.

Why won't Flynn play this season?

How about being hammered at home by Tyrone recently? How about getting embarrassed by Kerry last year!

All the same applies for Meath...

Both traditional counties are nowhere near the level to win major competitions

"Once great competition"

Dublin has always dominated Leinster. Only 2-3 teams have won the vast bulk of titles, Dublin owning the overwhelming chunk.

Across the 00's (A record equalling low seen in Dublin GAA history)

A poor enough Dublin side were numerous deficiencies were still good enough to win multiple titles in a row in Leinster and then couldn't beat anyone outside of Leinster!

Won multiple titles with ease and then weren't up to the standard outside it.

Leinster was described as the reason for Dublin's collapses, not enough competition, easy route, unprepared for battle, Croke Park was touted as a disadvantage etc

This was before all the perceived advantages.

A poor Dublin team was still good enough.

Leinster's problems go way back!

Yes it's gone very poor now but that's taking away the progress that Longford, Carlow and Westmeath have gained against traditional counties like Meath, Kildare, Offaly

Now I do agree that the Leinster council haven't helped at all and the introduction of the season ticket and the large uptake allocated has limited the options of where Dublin games can be played. They have no doubt picked €€€ over substance. This though has nothing to do with Dublin.

I would 100% be in favour of Dublin playing more games outside of HQ and if that means less revenue generated then so be it.

But what can be done? It's all been democratically voted in to keep it the way it is.

Hats off to Donegal for putting forward the idea of getting Dublin to play their game outside of HQ in Super 8's

But they were left in the cold by almost every other county

Dublin having such a large population will always receive more funding. That's not going to stop, it'll be reduced as has been happening in the last few years, it's dropped and it'll drop further but that's not going to impact much.

I'm telling you now.. the poor enough 00's Dub team would still be winning multiple titles this decade. They'd be more than good enough to beat the likes of Kildare and Meath considering they haven't been good enough this decade to beat Wicklow, Carlow, Longford and Westmeath

They'd have still been easily good enough to win multiple titles in a row just like they did in the 00's

So boycott all you want. You'll still get hammered outside of Leinster by the best teams who are equally miles ahead

The All Ireland series has been hugely competitive this decade.

Unfortunately Leinster hasn't. It hasn't been for for a long time.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/07/2019 10:18:07    2204156

Replying To Joxer:  "Doped one team? Comical. Heaven forbid your county might actually try and raise their standards. Instead they would rather compete against Carlow and Wexford. Oh how the mighty have fallen. The last I checked it was 15 players against 15 players. The manner in which Tyrone ripped Kildare apart in their home patch would suggest that the second tier in Leinster of Meath and Kildare both have some way to go to get to the standard of the top counties. It will be interesting to see how Meath get on in the super 8s with no Dublin to play against and to whinge about."
How the pompous have risen!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1812 - 02/07/2019 10:22:32    2204163

Replying To jimbodub:  "Meath bottle it in final, kicking ludicrous wides, missing sitter free kicks, tactically inept, daft positional decisions from sideline. They let themselves down.

= Boycott Leinster

Eamon Callaghan wasn't calling for a boycott when Kildare lost against Carlow or Wicklow this decade or recently taken to a replay against Longford

Kildare are going through a very poor run at senior level. They've had a lot of impressive success at underage, why hasn't that berm brought forward.

How about being hammered at home by Tyrone recently? How about getting embarrassed by Kerry last year!

"Once great competition"

Dublin has always dominated Leinster. Only 2-3 teams have won the vast bulk of titles, Dublin owning the overwhelming chunk.

A poor enough Dublin side were numerous deficiencies were still good enough to win multiple titles in a row in Leinster and then couldn't beat anyone outside of Leinster!

Leinster was described as the reason for Dublin's collapses, not enough competition, easy route, unprepared for battle, Croke Park was touted as a disadvantage etc

Yes it's gone very poor now but that's taking away the progress that Longford, Carlow and Westmeath have gained against traditional counties like Meath, Kildare, Offaly

Now I do agree that the Leinster council haven't helped at all and the introduction of the season ticket and the large uptake allocated has limited the options of where Dublin games can be played. They have no doubt picked €€€ over substance. This though has nothing to do with Dublin.

I would 100% be in favour of Dublin playing more games outside of HQ and if that means less revenue generated then so be it.

But what can be done? It's all been democratically voted in to keep it the way it is.

Hats off to Donegal for putting forward the idea of getting Dublin to play their game outside of HQ in Super 8's

Dublin having such a large population will always receive more funding. That's not going to stop, it'll be reduced as has been happening in the last few years, it's dropped and it'll drop further but that's not going to impact much.

I'm telling you now.. the poor enough 00's Dub team would still be winning multiple titles this decade. They'd be more than good enough to beat the likes of Kildare and Meath considering they haven't been good enough this decade to beat Wicklow, Carlow, Longford and Westmeath

They'd have still been easily good enough to win multiple titles in a row just like they did in the 00's

So boycott all you want. You'll still get hammered outside of Leinster by the best teams who are equally miles ahead

Unfortunately Leinster hasn't. It hasn't been for for a long time."
Decent post.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 02/07/2019 10:31:11    2204167

Replying To Greengrass:  "What exactly did Wicklow and Longford do to you ?"
Haha..sorry, I'm blaming the administrator. Longford and Wicklow were definitely in my original post. Just put one in each group.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 02/07/2019 10:37:06    2204171

Replying To cavanman47:  "Pathetic. How many of the Meath men who played under Sean Boylan would agree with this idea I wonder?"
See recent interview with two Meath legends from Boylan era on the 42.ie.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 02/07/2019 10:38:40    2204173

A very silly idea. Teams throwing their toys out of the pram just. Kilkenny dominated leinster hurling for the guts of 15 years and handed out some unmerciful hidings along the way, there was no talk of boycotting that??
Teams in leinster need to take a long hard look at themselves and their own shortcomings rather than constantly bemoaning Dublins dominance.
Dublin are the benchmark in leinster, its up to other teams to come up to their level, not boycotting the leinster champioship because they aren't good enough.
Dublins leinster dominance just shows up how poor the rest of the counties are. But sure theres a tier 2 competition in the works sure maybe they should consider entering that if they do boycott.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1913 - 02/07/2019 10:40:17    2204177

Replying To catch22:  "Is it just Leinster ? Is it just football ?
Great thing about these social media sites and forums is that it gives every eejit an opportunity to have an opinion. And by Jaysus do eejits love to let you know what they think.
Was it not these same counties Leinster representatives that voted to keep the Dubs in Croke Park. Would they not be better of turning on them and trying to do something in their own back yards ?"
Obviously its just Leinster, as per the title. And obviously its football, that's there the problem lies.

The two players involved are highly intelligent and articulate former recent players and I assure you there are far far from alone in what they are proposing should happen.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 02/07/2019 10:43:33    2204182

Dublin you are more than welcome in Connacht. We would love to have ye. Just to note generally we don't like our neighbours.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 597 - 02/07/2019 10:48:53    2204184

Replying To jimbodub:  "Meath bottle it in final, kicking ludicrous wides, missing sitter free kicks, tactically inept, daft positional decisions from sideline. They let themselves down.

= Boycott Leinster

"Once great competition"

Unfortunately Leinster hasn't. It hasn't been for for a long time."
Jimbo you've hit the nail on the head there.

Sums it up perfectly.

Its much easier to blame Dublin for your own shortcomings than admitting that you've been a woeful side for donkeys years now

Everyone should have a read of this

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 02/07/2019 10:50:22    2204186

Replying To Crinigan:  "Two prominent players from two different Leinster counties have come out in recent weeks calling on their counties to boycott Leinster championship next year. I've heard whispers from players in other counties and you can be sure there are many players behind them saying the same out loud. Momentum could build quickly on this.

I think it would be a fantastic idea and the right up yours to John Horan and his mob. Obviously idea is that GAA have doped one team behind any semblance of competition etc etc so its time to take back what was once a great competition.

Two groups:

Meath, Carlow, Offaly, Westmeath
Kildare, Laois, Louth, Wexford

Top two teams in semi finals. Final played in Tullamore or Portlaoise (or another ground that isn't home ground of a finalist).

I think it would attract great crowds and above all else it would be fair."
What a ridiculous post.

Prominent (ex) players? Are you for real?

Where are Longford & Wicklow? What was there crime to be omitted from your proposed Leinster Lite Games?

CornAghais91 (Dublin) - Posts: 126 - 02/07/2019 10:53:20    2204188

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Funny I heard talk of that as well and not from the meath camp. Teams are sick of playing a province in Dublin in their own provincial championships year in year out.

I'd also suggest the GAA heavily invest in the underage football in counties like Louth who have the two biggest towns in Ireland but are struggling big time. If they focused their funding on the weakest of those 8 teams in 10/15 years we could have a leinster championship where on any given year 5 or 6 teams could win it.

If it was up to me I'd let Dublin do the 10 in a row next year, pat them on the back, well done lads, now enjoy your promotion to the railway cup next year.

I'd be delighted if the counties boycotted it while also voting to keep the provincial championship to really corner the GAA. Either way any fan with an ounce of sense will boycott it next year. Save your money for the qualifiers or the super 8's if you get there. And threat what ever division league you're in as the main competition of the year. Vote with your wallet."
Cop on to yourself , never in the history of Leinster GAA has there ever been 5 or 6 teams capable of winning a Leinster senior football title , pumping money alone into the weakest teams , will never change this . Funny how you never gave a monkeys about the weaker counties in the Boylan era when Meath were winning Leinster and All Ireland titles !!

Boycott away and , and compete against 3rd and 4th division teams , that will really bring your lot on .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/07/2019 10:53:29    2204189

Id be open minded on the concept behind this in all honesty.

But dare i say the idea of a boycott is divisive and mean spirited. ;) Just messing!

Id say teams in Leinster are fed up to their back teeth playing Dublin, if teams want to have a second tier provincial championship and not play against the very top teams then i would listen to that. They can evenhave the deleany Cup for all i care. I would hope Leinster would be more proactive then say Munster who have content to be barreled fish for over 100 years.

Speaking from a Dublin perspective, we are bored to tears in Leinster, there is simply no entertainment in it. The final consisted of a team who got to a maximum of 4 points, its painful stuff. from our perspective i would be pushing hard for a two tier championship politically.

I honestly think if Dublin played the A's Vs B's in Croke Park next year over a three game championship there would be more in attendance then playing anyone in Leinster, sure throw the hurlers in to and make it a Dubfest. Maybe a play off then whoever wins the second tier Leinster Championship for the S8 place and the usual qualifier thing, i dont really like that as it would be similar to the old Kerry three game all Ireland thing, but if its what teams in Leinster want id listen to that.

Either that or create a two tier province, Dublin, Kerry, Meath Kildare, Cork maybe one or two others in P1 and the rest in P2. With a promotion and relegation. But would two places in the S8's one for each Div and the other going through the qualifiers.

in all honesty if there was no Leinster championship tomorrow or there was a boycott, i couldn't be less bothered based on its current standard, the mischief maker in me would hope it comes to pass, but i imagine it wont happen.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/07/2019 10:59:16    2204195

Replying To baire:  "How the pompous have risen!"
How your hurlers have fallen.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/07/2019 11:00:56    2204197

Replying To Crinigan:  "Obviously its just Leinster, as per the title. And obviously its football, that's there the problem lies.

The two players involved are highly intelligent and articulate former recent players and I assure you there are far far from alone in what they are proposing should happen."
Highly intelligent ? and proposing this ? Hmmmm doesn't sound right , are you sure about the highly intelligent bit ?
How can you assure everybody that they are far far from alone in what they are proposing ?
Would need more than your assurance to believe this nonsense.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/07/2019 11:02:31    2204199

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "Dublin you are more than welcome in Connacht. We would love to have ye. Just to note generally we don't like our neighbours."
Great idea. You take a hammering for the next 10 years by the GAA's financially doped golden boys and we in Leinster can have an enjoyable fair competition for the next decade. We'll see what state Galway county team is in after that. Thank you kind Sir.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 02/07/2019 11:03:41    2204200

Replying To Bon:  "A very silly idea. Teams throwing their toys out of the pram just. Kilkenny dominated leinster hurling for the guts of 15 years and handed out some unmerciful hidings along the way, there was no talk of boycotting that??
Teams in leinster need to take a long hard look at themselves and their own shortcomings rather than constantly bemoaning Dublins dominance.
Dublin are the benchmark in leinster, its up to other teams to come up to their level, not boycotting the leinster champioship because they aren't good enough.
Dublins leinster dominance just shows up how poor the rest of the counties are. But sure theres a tier 2 competition in the works sure maybe they should consider entering that if they do boycott."
Kilkenny were not receiving millions in state aid.

The Leinster Hurling Championship had a structure that saw the reigning champions start off in the semi-finals.

Under the current structure, Dublin or any defending Leinster champion should get a bye to the semi-finals.

In the case of Dublin, as all Leinster finals are in Croke Park, simply pass a Leinster motion for Dublin's semi-final opponents to have home advantage on any year that Dublin receive a bye to the semi-finals.

Leinster:
Preliminary Round: 8 teams reduced to 4.
Quarter-finals: 6 teams reduced to 3.
Semi-finals: Defending champions and quarter-final winners reduced to 2.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 02/07/2019 11:06:26    2204203

Replying To CornAghais91:  "What a ridiculous post.

Prominent (ex) players? Are you for real?

Where are Longford & Wicklow? What was there crime to be omitted from your proposed Leinster Lite Games?"
Leinster Lite. Fantastic. We need a tag line.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/07/2019 11:07:14    2204205

Why are Dublin supporters even posting on this thread?

This has nothing to do with Dublin GAA or Dublin fans. Ye can focus on playing with yourselves in Croke Park in front of John Horan, Bertie, Costelloe, Bailey and the lads. Do whatever ye want. Who cares.

This thread is about a fair competition for Leinster football counties which will bring back crowds and the players who aren't interested in playing in a rigged competition. What Dublin do is their own business.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 02/07/2019 11:10:18    2204208

Replying To Crinigan:  "Obviously its just Leinster, as per the title. And obviously its football, that's there the problem lies.

The two players involved are highly intelligent and articulate former recent players and I assure you there are far far from alone in what they are proposing should happen."
Well, my good man or woman , if that is the best these intellectuals can come up with I'd wonder what passes for highly intelligent.
I'd love to hear how they'd tackle their own delegates and what they'd propose in Munster or should they follow suit and boycott too but on a different basis I presume. I'd imagine it'd be a very different set up if these boys were in charge.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 02/07/2019 11:18:10    2204211