Boycott Leinster Championship 2020

Two prominent players from two different Leinster counties have come out in recent weeks calling on their counties to boycott Leinster championship next year. I've heard whispers from players in other counties and you can be sure there are many players behind them saying the same out loud. Momentum could build quickly on this.

I think it would be a fantastic idea and the right up yours to John Horan and his mob. Obviously idea is that GAA have doped one team behind any semblance of competition etc etc so its time to take back what was once a great competition.

Two groups:

Meath, Carlow, Offaly, Westmeath
Kildare, Laois, Louth, Wexford

Top two teams in semi finals. Final played in Tullamore or Portlaoise (or another ground that isn't home ground of a finalist).

I think it would attract great crowds and above all else it would be fair.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 01/07/2019 22:24:27    2204023

Replying To Crinigan:  "Two prominent players from two different Leinster counties have come out in recent weeks calling on their counties to boycott Leinster championship next year. I've heard whispers from players in other counties and you can be sure there are many players behind them saying the same out loud. Momentum could build quickly on this.

I think it would be a fantastic idea and the right up yours to John Horan and his mob. Obviously idea is that GAA have doped one team behind any semblance of competition etc etc so its time to take back what was once a great competition.

Two groups:

Top two teams in semi finals. Final played in Tullamore or Portlaoise (or another ground that isn't home ground of a finalist).

I think it would attract great crowds and above all else it would be fair."
wheres Longford and Wicklow???

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 738 - 02/07/2019 00:04:42    2204068

Replying To Crinigan:  "Two prominent players from two different Leinster counties have come out in recent weeks calling on their counties to boycott Leinster championship next year. I've heard whispers from players in other counties and you can be sure there are many players behind them saying the same out loud. Momentum could build quickly on this.

Two groups:

What exactly did Wicklow and Longford do to you ?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 02/07/2019 00:26:35    2204075

I think no Dubs game should be in Croke Park before Leinster Final. I think Dubs should only have one home game in super 8s. If the GAA can't see the chasm they are facilitating then maybe a boycott possibly IS a good idea.

We are good enough to beat anyone, anywhere.
We would beat Meath in Navan, Kildare in Newbridge. We would beat Kerry in Killarney or Donegal in Ballybofey.

Get the Dubs out of Croker bar the biggest games.

Level the field. Kill the excuses

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/07/2019 00:42:46    2204080

Funny I heard talk of that as well and not from the meath camp. Teams are sick of playing a province in Dublin in their own provincial championships year in year out.

I'd also suggest the GAA heavily invest in the underage football in counties like Louth who have the two biggest towns in Ireland but are struggling big time. If they focused their funding on the weakest of those 8 teams in 10/15 years we could have a leinster championship where on any given year 5 or 6 teams could win it.

If it was up to me I'd let Dublin do the 10 in a row next year, pat them on the back, well done lads, now enjoy your promotion to the railway cup next year.

I'd be delighted if the counties boycotted it while also voting to keep the provincial championship to really corner the GAA. Either way any fan with an ounce of sense will boycott it next year. Save your money for the qualifiers or the super 8's if you get there. And threat what ever division league you're in as the main competition of the year. Vote with your wallet.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 02/07/2019 03:46:35    2204086

The suggestion of a boycott was made without considering the new format that will be in place next year. Under the normal system a boycott would mean teams dropping straight into the qualifiers but this new 2 tier system means that Louth, Offaly, Longford, Carlow, Wicklow and Wexford would all go out of the championship. As unlikely as making a provincial final is, it offers all these counties the chance to avoid Tommy Murphy 2.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1655 - 02/07/2019 06:53:16    2204093

The State Aid Free Championship.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7868 - 02/07/2019 07:33:25    2204094

Two groups:

You forgot Longford and Wicklow. Though I think Longford should play in Connacht. That would give them 8 teams and they could just do an open draw at the quarter finals.

If you go down that road you could move Wexford and Wicklow/Carlow in to Munster to have 8 in Munster and 8 in Leinster. Solve a lot of the problems with the qualifiers.

If you want to talk about Ulster you could always move Cavan into Connacht and ignore New York and everything is a bit more even.

To go back on point the gaa need to start pumping money in to countries in the middle of the country. Meath, Kildare, Longford, Westmeath, Offaly, Laois, Tipperary and Limerick all have potential to improve.

skirge7 (UK) - Posts: 251 - 02/07/2019 07:39:04    2204095

Two groups:

Pathetic. How many of the Meath men who played under Sean Boylan would agree with this idea I wonder?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 02/07/2019 07:53:35    2204100

Those groups look like they might come from the All Ireland "B" championship in 2020.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 02/07/2019 07:55:20    2204101

Allow Kerry into Leinster along with their hurlers! Move half of the Leinster teams into Munster and the other half to Connacht. Ulster says NO! ;)

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1812 - 02/07/2019 08:18:31    2204104

Are you not going to include Wicklow, Longford or Kilkenny??

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 02/07/2019 08:39:28    2204108

Two groups:

So do Longford join with Ulster or Connacht and what about Wicklow. ?. Are they thrown out .

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 02/07/2019 08:53:07    2204116

Lets call a spade a shovel here, this isn't going to happen.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 02/07/2019 09:00:09    2204121

Two groups:

Doped one team? Comical. Heaven forbid your county might actually try and raise their standards. Instead they would rather compete against Carlow and Wexford. Oh how the mighty have fallen. The last I checked it was 15 players against 15 players. The manner in which Tyrone ripped Kildare apart in their home patch would suggest that the second tier in Leinster of Meath and Kildare both have some way to go to get to the standard of the top counties. It will be interesting to see how Meath get on in the super 8s with no Dublin to play against and to whinge about.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/07/2019 09:04:57    2204123

Is it just Leinster ? Is it just football ?
Great thing about these social media sites and forums is that it gives every eejit an opportunity to have an opinion. And by Jaysus do eejits love to let you know what they think.
Was it not these same counties Leinster representatives that voted to keep the Dubs in Croke Park. Would they not be better of turning on them and trying to do something in their own back yards ?

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 02/07/2019 09:11:18    2204128

It's not about 'doping". He never mentioned money . It's about the population imbalance.
So in the proposed new arrangement I presume the Meath forwards would suddenly find their shooting boot??

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 02/07/2019 09:34:03    2204137

Two groups:

How very inclusive of you, not satisfied with just shunning the Dubs but Longford and Wicklow aren't deemed compatible for your magically, utopian Leinster Championship. Bravo, good sir.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 02/07/2019 09:37:48    2204139

Two groups:

Great idea , but you've left out longford and Wicklow

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 767 - 02/07/2019 09:42:22    2204140

Two groups:

This is getting ridiculous..

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 02/07/2019 09:50:50    2204142