Mayo V Galway

Hard luck to Galway and Kevin Walsh. I think overall he has done a good job with Galway but will still take a lot of unfair flak after this year. It could be good for him and Galway to have a change of scenery next year.

On the plus side, it is great to see Mayo in the Super 8s. It was as dull as dishwater without them in the super 8s last year and an inevitable procession to Dublin's 4 in a row. It will be great seeing them up against Kerry and Donegal/ Rockford.

Mayo should get lots of credit for making the Super 8s with the injuries they have had to deal with this year. Hopefully they will make the semi finals and see what happens from there. Coen is having a great season and giving them an extra dimension at full forward.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 07/07/2019 04:12:14    2206751

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ah here give us our Joe back! ;)

In all seriousness, neither side can complain about the ref, thought Mayo got the benefit in the first half and Galway the second. Some mad calls went both teams way, while each team Cavan feel aggrieved when those calls went against them.

A game of some great play and really naieve rush of the blood to the head stuff and naivety, both teams should know better at this stage. Though both were able to implement a bit of nous in the gamesmanship stakes. I've no problem with that myself, it's that type of rivalry so I wasn't to disappointed the ref was letting things go, no angels out there.

Didn't feel there was a lot in it, Mayo made the best of conversions when momentum was with them. The penalty miss was a turning point for Galway and swung momentum away from Mayo. Galway will rue the opening 10 if they had started the game alert the game was there's. Still felt if the had squeezed Mayo a bit more in the last quarter they could have won it.

Mayo seem to have improved their conversion rate, look to have a bit more depth and something they never had a variance is scorers. With a bit of momentum going into the S8 they won't fear anyone.

As for Galway I wouldn't be to gloomy, I think there is hidden depth of potential in that team and if KW goes and a new manager comes in, with a different philosophey I think Galway will be one of the top teams in Ireland for years to come, serious raw talent there."
Now now now, your balanced appraisal of the game has no place here at all. Better to make hysterical accusations that Mayo are in league with the GAA, despite there being absolutely no evidence of that whatsoever.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 07/07/2019 05:41:24    2206754

Loving the venom on display here (mostly from non-Galway fans in fairness, at least on this occasion). No one likes us, we don't care!

BTW will someone check on Belclare, he's gone awfully quiet for a man who's usually on here 30 seconds after a Mayo defeat or bit of bad news.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 07/07/2019 05:45:36    2206755

Replying To brisbane:  "MAYO JOE.. knew galway needed a strong ref but the GAA want mayo in the super8s so he got the job"
I CAlled this result over on the Kerry page on Wednesday , joe is the GAAs go to guy to get teams over the line.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/07/2019 08:06:21    2206772

Replying To yew_tree:  "We like a bad smell eh??? Haha . Loving the hatred towards us...be some Craic if it's Mayo v Meath in Croker"
I was actually praising Mayo, what I meant was every year people say it's the end of the road for this team yet they keep coming back the following year. Great bunch of players.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1337 - 07/07/2019 08:06:49    2206773

Replying To Thelonesomegoose:  "Who on Earth does Kevin Walsh be talking to on his mic all through a game, can he not make a decision himself.
It's way past time the GAA took time keeping from the ref and brought in a countdown clock like the ladies, there should have been at least another minute of injury time played at the end of the game
Mayo cannot complain about Dublin being a cynical team, they're right up there with them.
And again Aidan O'Shea disappear in a big game"
They learnt it from Dublin, the hard away and never one complained about Dublin after any defeat, instead rightfully congratulated them
They a truly one of the great teams of the modern era.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 07/07/2019 09:36:11    2206790

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "There was a point they got where the player avoided two tackles and took at least 10 steps before shooting.

Mayo, Kerry and Dublin. I can never understand why refs always favour these 3 teams."
Jays, it'll be some quandary for him so next week in Killarney. What do you think he'll do so in this case ?

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 07/07/2019 09:39:43    2206791

Replying To bdbuddah:  "I was actually praising Mayo, what I meant was every year people say it's the end of the road for this team yet they keep coming back the following year. Great bunch of players."
I know u were so was I. A man told me 2 years ago to watch out for young Carr and boy did he take his second goal well. Darren Coen immense again last night and well deserving of his MOTM.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 07/07/2019 09:59:26    2206810

I have to hand it to Mayo this year. They are a long way from the team of a few years ago but they still find a way of winning big games.

I can't help but feel that they are going to have to improve a lot if they want to be there at the sharp end though.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 07/07/2019 10:11:29    2206815

Was i imagining things or did i see Damien Comer, attempt a bicycle kick?.

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 07/07/2019 10:22:40    2206825

Replying To Gleebo:  "Loving the venom on display here (mostly from non-Galway fans in fairness, at least on this occasion). No one likes us, we don't care!

BTW will someone check on Belclare, he's gone awfully quiet for a man who's usually on here 30 seconds after a Mayo defeat or bit of bad news."
'No one likes us and we don't care' you sound like the English soccer fans now Gleebo, you might ask yourself why no likes you?
truth is the super 8's will be better with Mayo there, it's like the world cup finals in soccer, you want england there for the entertainment and hype but you don't want them to ever win it. imagine the bs we'd hear if they ever did?
it's bad enough as it is,they are still talking about 1966, 1951 in Mayo's case.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 07/07/2019 10:30:50    2206833

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "'No one likes us and we don't care' you sound like the English soccer fans now Gleebo, you might ask yourself why no likes you?
truth is the super 8's will be better with Mayo there, it's like the world cup finals in soccer, you want england there for the entertainment and hype but you don't want them to ever win it. imagine the bs we'd hear if they ever did?
it's bad enough as it is,they are still talking about 1966, 1951 in Mayo's case."
Comparing us to England now...lord above you really are a bitter little person. Your very welcome to Castlebar by the way for the final super 8s game. and don't be afraid you won't be set upon or attacked by hooligans either.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 07/07/2019 10:53:48    2206849

Better team won, no complaints. Best of luck to Mayo and Roscommon in the super 8s, they could meet in the semi!!!!!

johnterry (Galway) - Posts: 582 - 07/07/2019 10:56:52    2206852

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "'No one likes us and we don't care' you sound like the English soccer fans now Gleebo, you might ask yourself why no likes you?
it's bad enough as it is,they are still talking about 1966, 1951 in Mayo's case."
I couldn't care less whether people like us or not. People will always find reasons to justify their feelings and behaviour and I'm damned if I'm going to try to convince them otherwise.

What I will say is that some of the commentary on Mayo GAA goes way beyond whatever sins may or may not have been committed by our supporters and enters into an unhealthy obsession and hatred.

I saw a meme yesterday, circulated by (who else?) a Dublin supporters site, comparing Mayo supporters to insects. Now, while we have a few beauts no doubt, that sort of deliberate "othering" through mass media occurred in places like Germany and Rwanda in the past with horrific consequences. I find it quite dangerous and way beyond simple footballing rivalry.

Last night, Galway finished the game with 12 men, having had three players shown the line, yet seemingly Mayo are the most cynical team of all time and were the aggressors.

People see what they want to see.

You clearly don't like us and it's eating you up. I don't think anything that I will say will make a difference to you, quite honestly.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 07/07/2019 10:57:56    2206854

Replying To Gleebo:  "Loving the venom on display here (mostly from non-Galway fans in fairness, at least on this occasion). No one likes us, we don't care!

BTW will someone check on Belclare, he's gone awfully quiet for a man who's usually on here 30 seconds after a Mayo defeat or bit of bad news."
Generally it was 80% focus on Mayo and 20% on Galway anyways .
Make that 100 % now.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 07/07/2019 11:03:52    2206860

Replying To Dec82:  "Was i imagining things or did i see Damien Comer, attempt a bicycle kick?."
Yeah, I saw that too, towards the end of the game.

Are they legal in Gaelic football?

I imagine that there's no rule expressly forbidding them but it may come under the general rubric of "dangerous play" or whatever wording is used.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 07/07/2019 11:14:43    2206869

Replying To johnjoe21:  "A bit more gracious than the Mayo "supporters" who were waving 2 fingers at the Galway bus as it left the stadium this evening. Clowns. Hope Kerry rip ye a new one."
Lets get 1 thing straight Mayo no more than Roscommon, Sligo, Leitrim always supported Galway in All Ireland championship if we are out of the competition as well as supporting the Galway hurlers but in 2016 All Ireland football final between Dublin and Mayo a family member was at a wedding in Galway, both the bride and groom were from Galway and the guests were from Galway, Mayo, Roscommon and Clare, everybody was backing Mayo their neighbours except the Galway people they were backing Dublin, that's some shower to have as neighbours, the one thing we have in the GAA is loyalty, we support our parish (club) then our neighbouring clubs, the county then our neighbouring counties, that's how it has always been and always will, fair play to the countless number of Galway people who wish their neighbours good luck but there are plenty of gobsites who should know better, we have those eejets in Mayo as well, they are in every county and deserve a decent kick up the arse. One thing in sport is to shake hands after a game and wish each other well for the rest of the year both players and supporters, unless that happens you will end up with violence in the stands and nobody wants that kind of nonsense happening, we have already seen in some club matches where trouble has happened on and off the pitch and in the stands. Wish each other well and get on with the rest of our lives. Hard luck to Galway, Laois and Cavan, best of luck to Kerry, Donegal, Meath, Clare, Dublin, Roscommon, Tyrone, Cork and Mayo, may the best team win the All Ireland title

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 07/07/2019 11:25:24    2206872

Replying To Gleebo:  "I couldn't care less whether people like us or not. People will always find reasons to justify their feelings and behaviour and I'm damned if I'm going to try to convince them otherwise.

What I will say is that some of the commentary on Mayo GAA goes way beyond whatever sins may or may not have been committed by our supporters and enters into an unhealthy obsession and hatred.

I saw a meme yesterday, circulated by (who else?) a Dublin supporters site, comparing Mayo supporters to insects. Now, while we have a few beauts no doubt, that sort of deliberate "othering" through mass media occurred in places like Germany and Rwanda in the past with horrific consequences. I find it quite dangerous and way beyond simple footballing rivalry.

Last night, Galway finished the game with 12 men, having had three players shown the line, yet seemingly Mayo are the most cynical team of all time and were the aggressors.

People see what they want to see.

You clearly don't like us and it's eating you up. I don't think anything that I will say will make a difference to you, quite honestly."
Yes Gleebo on our ill discipline borne out of frustration as much as anything. Happens to all teams at some point. But don't tell me Vaughan should not have gone for the two footed challenge. Ref copped out. He did give us a few soft ish frees in the 2nd half but during the 1st half we could not buy a free and think it was only 1 free to us after 25 mins. Overall ye deserved your win. We did not fire not helped by no recognisable midfielder starting. Patched up team in some respects with 4 changes just before throw in on top of a few key guys not match fit. I certainly will not be hard on our lads who fought to the end and will be a force under a different tactical nous.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 07/07/2019 11:39:09    2206882

Replying To Joxer:  "O'Connor is a blight on the game. He is constantly in the referee's ear, niggling at the opposition and then when he gets a tap he's on the deck glancing up at the ref looking for a free. His antics should be held up to every kid in the country as an example of how not to act on the field of play. On the game itself, cracking entertainment compared to the earlier snoozefest. Both team tried to play open football which was great, none of the endless halfway line hand-passing nonsense. Galway paid for those early goal concessions. Comer could have been the answer but they didn't seem to know how to play him. Mayo's experience and game management shone through. That's going to be some group in the S8s."
COC is a player you want on your team but hate him when he is not and I do hate him but
In fairness it's very hypocritical a dublin fan saying them things about him seen as ye have one of the worst of his kind to ever play the game Philly McMahon on your team and cooper aswell

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 07/07/2019 11:51:35    2206894

Replying To Gleebo:  "Yeah, I saw that too, towards the end of the game.

Are they legal in Gaelic football?

I imagine that there's no rule expressly forbidding them but it may come under the general rubric of "dangerous play" or whatever wording is used."
Ya very near the end.
I'll have to see it again but it was strange to see because if you can attempt that, surely there's enough time to wrap your hands around the ball and try set up a score.

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 07/07/2019 12:01:48    2206901